Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 3:06 pm

adnj wrote:Image

Believing in ivermectin has become a badge of affiliation indicating a particular worldview. It also signals that a person is most likely exposed to — and may even believe — other common misinformation tropes embraced by that community, for example, the belief that the number of Covid deaths has been exaggerated (in fact, it is likely to have been underreported), that the vaccines killed thousands (in reality they saved hundreds of thousands of lives) and that the public health measures were unnecessary and ineffective (just wrong).

The ivermectin believers never really address the conceptual inconsistency of why it makes sense to advocate for an unproven pharmaceutical treatment with known side effects over a vaccine that has a mountain of evidence demonstrating efficacy and safety. Again, I think ideology plays a role. A vaccine that is given free by the government for the benefit of the entire community smells like socialism, I guess. While taking an unproven therapy is something individuals do for themselves. Freedom! 

https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/i ... -rcna22901
I not putting that MRNA in my body, will do any thing else.
The fact that I am alive and unaffected, means I made enough good decisions.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 23rd, 2022, 3:10 pm

How is feel going tru here
1646722250937.jpg

Postby redmanjp » April 23rd, 2022, 3:31 pm

sMASH wrote:

Believing in ivermectin has become a badge of affiliation indicating a particular worldview. It also signals that a person is most likely exposed to — and may even believe — other common misinformation tropes embraced by that community, for example, the belief that the number of Covid deaths has been exaggerated (in fact, it is likely to have been underreported), that the vaccines killed thousands (in reality they saved hundreds of thousands of lives) and that the public health measures were unnecessary and ineffective (just wrong).

The ivermectin believers never really address the conceptual inconsistency of why it makes sense to advocate for an unproven pharmaceutical treatment with known side effects over a vaccine that has a mountain of evidence demonstrating efficacy and safety. Again, I think ideology plays a role. A vaccine that is given free by the government for the benefit of the entire community smells like socialism, I guess. While taking an unproven therapy is something individuals do for themselves. Freedom! 

https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/i ... -rcna22901
I not putting that MRNA in my body, will do any thing else.
The fact that I am alive and unaffected, means I made enough good decisions.

We have non MRNA vax too yuh know

Beside my mom had her 2nd MRNA booster 2 weeks ago (the first one was taken overseas in September) and is fine.

My 4 siblings abroad all got MRNA shots as their primary doses and most of them also got boosters. After a whole year that has passed since the first doses, the most that has happened was a fever, body ache and tiredness. For 2 days. That's it.

A year ago ppl were understandably hesitant because we didn't know much about how this new type of vaccine would affect us but time has passed and billions have gotten vaccinated. Hundreds of those millions got it OVER a year ago just like my family and a couple of days of slightly unpleasant side effects is the most that happened.

No long term effects. You safer with it than maybe driving a car.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 25th, 2022, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » April 23rd, 2022, 4:24 pm

ohh gorrr... covid done and we still arguing about ivermectin? :lol:

Who want to vax and boost, go ahead. Who want to use ivermectin and vitamin D, go ahead.

Who live, live yuh life and who dead... dead.

Postby aaron17 » April 23rd, 2022, 4:28 pm

Didn't know this thread was alive and kicking .
I was asking a few ppl about how come we aint hearing about side effects these days. And they said, they simply not reporting it and maybe ppl aint taking on because covid restrictions not bothering anybody atm... :?:

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 4:51 pm

Vax uptake die Down worldwide. So no new cases to report.

And as death rates die off too, less people seeing this thing as serious.

Postby redmanjp » April 23rd, 2022, 5:02 pm

aaron17 wrote:Didn't know this thread was alive and kicking .
I was asking a few ppl about how come we aint hearing about side effects these days. And they said, they simply not reporting it and maybe ppl aint taking on because covid restrictions not bothering anybody atm... :?:

Probably u not hearing about it cuz it not happening. A lil fever and tiredness fuh 2 days. Daz it. Take it from me. U doh have many vaxxed friends I take it?

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2022, 6:38 pm

The individual, who had several underlying conditions, caught COVID-19 in early 2020, and was in and out of the hospital multiple times over the next 72 weeks, according to the BBC. Each time, the individual tested positive for COVID-19 by PCR. Genetic sequencing showed that it was the same virus causing a persistent infection, and not a reinfection, the BBC reported.

https://www.livescience.com/longest-cov ... n-505-days

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 23rd, 2022, 6:40 pm

The individual, who had several underlying conditions, caught COVID-19 in early 2020, and was in and out of the hospital multiple times over the next 72 weeks, according to the BBC. Each time, the individual tested positive for COVID-19 by PCR. Genetic sequencing showed that it was the same virus causing a persistent infection, and not a reinfection, the BBC reported.

https://www.livescience.com/longest-cov ... n-505-days

505 days and he didn't die from the deadly virus

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2022, 7:31 pm

axe wrote:What is the mountain of evidence showing vaccine safety?

What are the side effects of ivermectin BEFORE covid?

This is misinformation a nail in the head of truth

BILLIONS took the vaccine and there were minimal side effects. Ivermectin, even coming from the manufacturers has NEVER been touted as an effective treatment for Covid.
Even the rabid Ivermectin proponents can't even give a dose, frequency, or regime for it.
If "I does take eet. and I still alive" is good enough for you, fix up :roll:

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2022, 10:11 pm

“The individual differences of Psychological Capital, narcissism, psychopathy, conscientiousness, and extraversion each relate to these two vaccine hesitancy dimensions, which ultimately causes them to relate to vaccination behaviors. Psychological Capital and extraversion related to more pro-vaccination perceptions and behaviors, whereas narcissism, psychopathy, and conscientiousness related to more anti-vaccination perceptions and behaviors.”

Psychological Capital describes an individual’s motivation to succeed, their expectancy of positive outcomes, their ability to bounce back from adversity, and confidence in their ability to achieve high levels of performance.

“Therefore, good (Psychological Capital), bad (narcissism and psychopathy), and relatively neutral (conscientiousness and extraversion) individual differences are associated with vaccine hesitancy and vaccination behaviors,” Howard explained.

But he was surprised to find that conscientiousness was associated with heightened vaccine hesitancy. Conscientiousness describes the tendency to be organized and exhibit self-discipline.

https://www.psypost.org/2022/04/new-res ... ancy-62883

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 23rd, 2022, 10:52 pm

“The individual differences of Psychological Capital, narcissism, psychopathy, conscientiousness, and extraversion each relate to these two vaccine hesitancy dimensions, which ultimately causes them to relate to vaccination behaviors. Psychological Capital and extraversion related to more pro-vaccination perceptions and behaviors, whereas narcissism, psychopathy, and conscientiousness related to more anti-vaccination perceptions and behaviors.”

Psychological Capital describes an individual’s motivation to succeed, their expectancy of positive outcomes, their ability to bounce back from adversity, and confidence in their ability to achieve high levels of performance.

“Therefore, good (Psychological Capital), bad (narcissism and psychopathy), and relatively neutral (conscientiousness and extraversion) individual differences are associated with vaccine hesitancy and vaccination behaviors,” Howard explained.

But he was surprised to find that conscientiousness was associated with heightened vaccine hesitancy. Conscientiousness describes the tendency to be organized and exhibit self-discipline.

https://www.psypost.org/2022/04/new-res ... ancy-62883

Yup, people who the system had worked for previously will believe in what the system tells them. That's why it's mostly black people that don't want to take the vaccine

Postby redmanjp » April 24th, 2022, 2:45 pm

so much for 98% recovery rate

Only 29% of UK Covid hospital patients recover within a year
Of the 750,000 hospitalised, many still report fatigue, muscle pain, insomnia and breathlessness, with women worst affected

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/apr/24/only-29-of-uk-covid-hospital-patients-recover-within-a-year

Postby adnj » April 25th, 2022, 8:46 am

“A new meta-analysis of standardised sero-prevalence study revealed that the true number of infections could be as much as 97 times higher than the number of confirmed reported cases,” said WHO Africa boss Matshidiso Moeti.

“This suggests that more than two-thirds of all Africans have been exposed to the COVID-19 virus,” she added.

The report analysed more than 150 studies published between January 2020 and December last year. It showed exposure to the virus jumped from just three percent in June 2020 to 65 percent by September last year.

“In real terms, this means that in September 2021, rather than the reported 8.2 million cases, there were 800 million,” said Moeti.

The global average of true infection numbers is believed to be 16 times higher than the number of confirmed reported cases.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/4/8 ... -who-study

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2022, 11:05 am

And 1/3 ded cause not Vaxed

Postby adnj » April 25th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Even with high immunization rates, unvaccinated people threaten the safety of people vaccinated against the COVID-19 virus, suggests a new study published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal.

“We’ve really tended to forget that we’re in a pandemic of a communicable disease, which means that our actions affect those around us,” Dr. David Fisman, the study’s coauthor and professor of epidemiology at the University of Toronto’s Dalla Lana School of Public Health, told Global News.

Published April 25, the study uses an infectious disease model based on the province of Ontario to reproduce the interactions between vaccinated and unvaccinated subpopulations in a mostly vaccinated population.

“We use models in a lot of different ways,” said Fisman. “They’re just simplified versions of reality.”

This particular model, used different mixing techniques to understand how infection rates differ between those with and without the jab.

The models parameters included vaccine effectiveness, a baseline immunity in unvaccinated people and an infection recovery rate, among others.

Attack rates among those who are vaccinated against COVID-19 were highest when they were randomly mixed within the unvaccinated subpopulation. They were lowest when they were surrounded by others who are also vaccinated.

https://globalnews.ca/news/8783380/unva ... ian-study/

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2022, 5:06 pm

Well that Vax is a dud.. What u expect

Postby alfa » April 25th, 2022, 5:19 pm

Imagine reading an article in the pre COVID era that said that the unvaccinated are causing a rise in cases of small pox amongst those vaccinated against small pox. That's exactly how this is sounding :roll:

Postby hover11 » April 25th, 2022, 5:34 pm

Stupid article....you vaxxed and the unvaccinated are the problem ? Waning immunity and inferior vaccines are non issues but unvaccinated are the problem lol

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2022, 6:20 pm

are the stats that all the 95% dead persons being unvaxxed still fake ?

Postby aaron17 » April 25th, 2022, 6:38 pm

Brought to you by pfizer.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 25th, 2022, 6:51 pm

Even with high immunization rates, unvaccinated people threaten the safety of people vaccinated against the COVID-19 virus, suggests a new study published in the Canadian Medical Association Journal.

“We’ve really tended to forget that we’re in a pandemic of a communicable disease, which means that our actions affect those around us,” Dr. David Fisman, the study’s coauthor and professor of epidemiology at the University of Toronto’s Dalla Lana School of Public Health, told Global News.

Published April 25, the study uses an infectious disease model based on the province of Ontario to reproduce the interactions between vaccinated and unvaccinated subpopulations in a mostly vaccinated population.

“We use models in a lot of different ways,” said Fisman. “They’re just simplified versions of reality.”

This particular model, used different mixing techniques to understand how infection rates differ between those with and without the jab.

The models parameters included vaccine effectiveness, a baseline immunity in unvaccinated people and an infection recovery rate, among others.

Attack rates among those who are vaccinated against COVID-19 were highest when they were randomly mixed within the unvaccinated subpopulation. They were lowest when they were surrounded by others who are also vaccinated.

https://globalnews.ca/news/8783380/unva ... ian-study/

You should've never post this, now self antivaxxers looking for vaccinateds to breathe on

Postby st7 » April 25th, 2022, 6:57 pm

check beat up... 6 in a row weeeyyy

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2022, 8:22 pm

st7 wrote:check beat up... 6 in a row weeeyyy
One time!

Postby adnj » April 26th, 2022, 7:32 am

News from the left-leaning.

OAN reporter Pearson Sharp, an Infowars favorite who previously lied that the vaccines alter people’s DNA, recently dismissed COVID-19 as a “mild cold” and said its fatality rate was “equivalent to a bad flu season.”

As usual, Sharp is not alone at OAN in pushing absurd claims about COVID-19 vaccines:

On April 4, an OAN anchor cited statistics from the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS) to falsely claim that “experimental shots” of COVID-19 vaccines “have caused 38,000 cases of heart inflammation, along with 13,500 heart attacks and almost 50,000 permanent disabilities.” Throughout the pandemic, right-wing media have misrepresented data from VAERS, an unverified database which does not actually determine if a vaccine caused the self-reported event; a disclaimer on the site even notes that its information may be “incomplete, inaccurate, coincidental, or unverifiable.” 

Promoting a “Defeat the Mandates” rally in California on his April 8 show, host Dan Ball brought on pro-ivermectin Dr. Pierre Kory, who claimed, “They’ve taken away our individual rights, and they’ve done so illegitimately. These vaccines do not prevent the spread. … It now has negative efficacy.” Kory also said the vaccine mandates are especially unnecessary since COVID-19 “in its current state, is actually quite mild.” Ball asserted that “it’s not a real vaccine, it’s not fully approved, it’s all bogus,” and Kory falsely whined that a vaccine requirement for employment “actually violates the Nuremberg Code. It’s immense coercion for an experimental medical intervention.”

Over a chyron fearmongering about a “pandemic of the vaccinated,” Ball said on April 11 that “we’re seeing massive outbreaks … and they’re new strains, and the vax isn’t even stopping it,” speculating that the vaccines are somehow creating new variants. His guest, a pro-ivermectin doctor, agreed with Ball, saying that “immune pressure” from vaccines could be “creating new variants every time they get infected.” He also said that “the virus was actually released by a bad actor, and new variants are also being released at opportune moments, in opportune places, for political reasons. And right now, perhaps the only reason we don’t have one is because politically, it’s inopportune” for the Biden administration.

Complaining about booster shots for children, Ball claimed on April 15 that he “shouldn’t even call it a vaccine, since technically it doesn’t follow the guidelines of the true definition of a vaccine.” He instead called the vaccines an “untested experimental shot” and asked viewers, “Will you be shooting up your kids with it?”

https://www.mediamatters.org/one-americ ... conspiracy

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 26th, 2022, 7:48 am

So after a year of the vaccine rollout the majority of deaths are in the unvaccinated.
Time to lock thread and move on.

Postby Les Bain » April 26th, 2022, 8:35 am

Nah, leave the thread open. For antivaxxers and some vaxxers this is the most human attention they get for the day.

Postby st7 » April 26th, 2022, 9:00 am

plus they'll just spam out the covid ched.... there needs to be some balance.

Postby aaron17 » April 26th, 2022, 11:05 am

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Didn't know this thread was alive and kicking .

Probably u not hearing about it cuz it not happening. A lil fever and tiredness fuh 2 days. Daz it. Take it from me. U doh have many vaxxed friends I take it?

I don't have any friends in life..hence my personal suicidal problem

Postby aaron17 » April 26th, 2022, 11:07 am

I wonder since Musk bought twitter and he saying so far its gonna be a free speech platform...I guess pfizer and stuff not controlling that social media for vaccine messages?