Flow Internet Thread

joshuarshah

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby joshuarshah » July 9th, 2023, 5:55 pm

ed360123 wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:got a call from flow that they upgrading everyone from the ultra package. they are switching the old boxes to the new wireless tv box and upgrading the speeds from 200mb to 500mb. changes to the channels of course. no price increase yet....
Makes sense. Right now they maintaining 2 separate TV systems, the Hybrid (Flow Evo) and the full IPTV (HubTV). That not cheap.

*3 seperate TV systems. I saw a business still using the old DVS system up to last year (The small box with the orange/yellow power light).

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 9th, 2023, 9:24 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:got a call from flow that they upgrading everyone from the ultra package. they are switching the old boxes to the new wireless tv box and upgrading the speeds from 200mb to 500mb. changes to the channels of course. no price increase yet....

wow dont like the sound of that cause new channel has not sportsmax

Postby Dizzy28 » July 9th, 2023, 10:11 pm

Still rocking this home and haven't yet received any notice about a switch to newer packages.
joshuarshah wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Makes sense. Right now they maintaining 2 separate TV systems, the Hybrid (Flow Evo) and the full IPTV (HubTV). That not cheap.

*3 seperate TV systems. I saw a business still using the old DVS system up to last year (The small box with the orange/yellow power light).
PXL_20230710_020954731~2.jpg

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » July 10th, 2023, 6:27 am

fred1266 wrote:

sportsmax dont have anything good on it anymore (premier league gone)

Postby Rovin » July 10th, 2023, 10:59 am

flow working hop n drop since saturday - i guess is not jes me alone ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2023, 11:02 am

Rovin wrote:flow working hop n drop since saturday - i guess is not jes me alone ...

I noticed the same.
Packets dropping occasionally, hadda reload pages sometimes. across devices, so it's def flow. Thought it was the router, but if everyone else complaining they have a wider issue

Postby teems1 » July 10th, 2023, 11:03 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Rovin wrote:flow working hop n drop since saturday - i guess is not jes me alone ...

I noticed the same.
Packets dropping occasionally, hadda reload pages sometimes. across devices, so it's def flow. Thought it was the router, but if everyone else complaining they have a wider issue

It's been spotty for the past few days.

Postby S_2NR » July 10th, 2023, 12:59 pm

X3

Thought it was just me as well. Tried all kinda thing to troubleshoot and same issue

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 10th, 2023, 6:59 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:

sportsmax dont have anything good on it anymore (premier league gone)

still watch basket ball on it

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2023, 8:26 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Still rocking this home and haven't yet received any notice about a switch to newer packages.
joshuarshah wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

bossman ent this thing is standard-definition. u doh want HD bai. or VoD so you can watch beavis and butthead free bai

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 10th, 2023, 9:09 pm

Seems like HubTV is down again in the Couva area. Anybody else is having issues?

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » July 10th, 2023, 10:33 pm

Hub Tv is down again, I think its across the board. Second time its down for the week. Plus Flow internet has been a lot slower and sticking in the last week. The Hub Tv is inferior to the flow ultra package. The box is a cheap android tv box, it cannot even run any apps such as Paramount + or HBO Max, none of Flow Video on Demand works on it. Flow will tell you to use the FLOW sports app on your phone or tablet instead. Total failure.
Looks like Flow is changing out the system to one that's cheaper for them ..customer will have to settle for the inferior TV packages and slower internet speeds, the box is using up your wifi bandwidth once its on.

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » July 10th, 2023, 10:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:X3

Thought it was just me as well. Tried all kinda thing to troubleshoot and same issue

x4
pages failing to load ...just a lot slower in general.

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2023, 11:02 pm

WM_Tuner wrote:Hub Tv is down again, I think its across the board. Second time its down for the week. Plus Flow internet has been a lot slower and sticking in the last week. The Hub Tv is inferior to the flow ultra package. The box is a cheap android tv box, it cannot even run any apps such as Paramount + or HBO Max, none of Flow Video on Demand works on it. Flow will tell you to use the FLOW sports app on your phone or tablet instead. Total failure.
Looks like Flow is changing out the system to one that's cheaper for them ..customer will have to settle for the inferior TV packages and slower internet speeds, the box is using up your wifi bandwidth once its on.

but the steady advertising they improving reliability and service :drinking:

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2023, 9:03 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Still rocking this home and haven't yet received any notice about a switch to newer packages.
joshuarshah wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

bossman ent this thing is standard-definition. u doh want HD bai. or VoD so you can watch beavis and butthead free bai

HBO Max, D+ and Prime Video all are 1080P and higher with movies and some series in 4k.
Cable box is for Zee TV only and that's not for me.

Postby paid_influencer » July 11th, 2023, 5:34 pm

I am an avid ZeeTV watcher and I can tell you for a fact that ZeeTV is in HD. I also use the replay TV feature to watch episodes they put late in the night. Imagine they move Laxmi Bhagya to 10:00pm in the night with the rerun at 4:30am. How normal people suppose to keep up with the stories at those hours.

also bro I donno if this is the correct thread for this, but get your TV color calibrated with a colorimeter. ZeeTV benefits a lot from it. Indian soaps love on-set colored lighting during filming. They also heavily use post-processing effects with color filtering. You can only get the true director's intention for a more dramatic soap opera experience with a properly calibrated television.

Indian people from India are also a rainbow of skin tones. With a color calibrated television, you can see what your favorite actors and actresses actually look like in real life!

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » July 21st, 2023, 12:50 am

Seems like FLOW is down in Couva. Looks DNS related.

https://imgur.com/a/LmINlLD

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 22nd, 2023, 12:35 pm

Upgraded to 300 MPS phones pcs etc. Everything works with the internet available TV and Data

Those new remotes are something from a different company eats batteries every two months with only 7pm news watching.

Something is wrong , on whats app ( sporadic response) , Calling is a waste why can we have simple customer service ?

brickman

Postby brickman » August 11th, 2023, 1:46 am

Looks like prices & packages changed overnight,forcing the only internet peeps to pay more for less now.People are dropping their tv bundles for cheaper & better alternatives & it's hurting them.Had 500/50 mbs for $335 & was gonna upgrade but not anymore.
20230811_014454.jpg

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 11th, 2023, 4:31 am

They always seem to have issues on their website, try this link.
https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/internet-streaming

flow_1.png

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » August 17th, 2023, 5:06 pm

Flow launched 1Gbps down speeds today

https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/bundles/overview

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2023, 5:30 pm

^ only good if their service actually wukking. i rather a 200mb reliable service than an unreliable 1gbps speed that goes down.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » August 17th, 2023, 6:14 pm

Looks like they've upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1. I find it funny that they're calling it fibre powered making people think that it's FTTH but it's the same FTTN/FTTC Hybid Coax that they're using. They've also disabled the comments on their posts on Facebook :lol: .

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 17th, 2023, 6:48 pm

jsm1985 wrote:Flow launched 1Gbps down speeds today

https://discoverflow.co/trinidad/bundles/overview
Cheaper than I was expecting.

Postby redmanjp » August 17th, 2023, 7:45 pm

joshuarshah wrote:Looks like they've upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1. I find it funny that they're calling it fibre powered making people think that it's FTTH but it's the same FTTN/FTTC Hybid Coax that they're using. They've also disabled the comments on their posts on Facebook :lol: .

because everyday ppl complaining about their service :roll: :lol:

Postby st7 » August 17th, 2023, 7:56 pm

joshuarshah wrote:Looks like they've upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1. I find it funny that they're calling it fibre powered making people think that it's FTTH but it's the same FTTN/FTTC Hybid Coax that they're using. They've also disabled the comments on their posts on Facebook :lol: .

care to enlighten everyone what you saying?

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2023, 8:14 pm

It's not real Fiber To The House like Digicel and Amplia. It's the same copper coaxial cable as always while their some of their transmission network would be a fiber optic network. By their marketing "fiber network" means from their server rooms to local network nodes. The "last mile" from the node to your house is coaxial cable. Hybrid.

DOCSIS 3.1 is a new protocol (2013) that coaxial copper cable modems can use up to 10Gbit/s Down 1Gbit/s Up. It saves power too. As you know the traditional bandwidth of coaxial copper cables are much more limited than fiber, so this uses new frequencies and multiplexing and channel widths, etc. to make better use of the potential transmission rate of a coaxial cable.

Currently everyone will be using DOCSIS 3.0.
If you log into 192.168.100.1 under Hardware/Firmware tab you will see this:
Hardware Information
System: ARRIS DOCSIS 3.0 / PC 1.5 Touchstone Residential Gateway
HW_REV: 5
VENDOR: ARRIS Group, Inc.
BOOTR: 2.2.0.45
SW_REV: 9.1.103DV8BA1

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2023, 8:15 pm

st7 wrote:
joshuarshah wrote:Looks like they've upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1. I find it funny that they're calling it fibre powered making people think that it's FTTH but it's the same FTTN/FTTC Hybid Coax that they're using. They've also disabled the comments on their posts on Facebook .

care to enlighten everyone what you saying?
I don't see how 3.1 is required if the speed isn't above the 3.0 speeds.

Edit: I see the answer in the prior post.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » August 17th, 2023, 8:29 pm

maj. tom wrote:It's not real Fiber To The House like Digicel and Amplia. It's the same copper coaxial cable as always while their some of their transmission network would be a fiber optic network. By their marketing "fiber network" means from their server rooms to local network nodes. The "last mile" from the node to your house is coaxial cable. Hybrid.

DOCSIS 3.1 is a new protocol (2013) that coaxial copper cable modems can use up to 10Gbit/s Down 1Gbit/s Up. It saves power too. As you know the traditional bandwidth of coaxial copper cables are much more limited than fiber, so this uses new frequencies and multiplexing and channel widths, etc. to make better use of the potential transmission rate of a coaxial cable.

Hardware Information
Some places market vdsl as fiber network too .lol
I saw some fiso gateways in YouTube videos that have both fiber and coaxial connection. And before massy started fiber . i saw flow fiber at a business location (Hi lo) so i guess flow can do FTTH but docsis is cheper

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 17th, 2023, 11:06 pm

lchan485 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:It's not real Fiber To The House like Digicel and Amplia. It's the same copper coaxial cable as always while their some of their transmission network would be a fiber optic network. By their marketing "fiber network" means from their server rooms to local network nodes. The "last mile" from the node to your house is coaxial cable. Hybrid.

Hardware Information
Some places market vdsl as fiber network too .lol
I saw some fiso gateways in YouTube videos that have both fiber and coaxial connection. And before massy started fiber . i saw flow fiber at a business location (Hi lo) so i guess flow can do FTTH but docsis is cheper
Yeah, Flow Tobago is full fiber IIRC