:: The official TOOLS thread ::

carluva

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby carluva » October 11th, 2020, 3:13 pm

It's possible that those holes are to install rollers that run within a track. Are the holes threaded? Are there any means to access the hole through the frame to use a spanner for a backup on a nut and bolt? Was any other hardware included in the packaging?

Where did you get the door from? Can't you ask the supplier to provide guidance or maybe try good old Google if you got it overseas.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2020, 3:23 pm

got it locally, planning to go to them tomorrow to find out
but when they sold me they insisted that the 28 inch door frame must be exact and straight because the door cant be modified, so with that i assumed a regular 28inch door frame with hinges install.....

didnt get any hardware except the handles,

google all sorta thing but not seeing anything like that door

Postby adnj » October 11th, 2020, 4:49 pm

^^ that looks like a pivoting hinge door.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 11th, 2020, 8:57 pm

True. I forgot about those types.

Postby X_Factor » October 11th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:need to cut a rectangular hole in a mirror for a power socket

went a few glass places and they say i hadda get somewhere with a water jet machine

watching some videos on youtube where they using diamond tile disc, diamond circular bit etc

would a dremel with a diamond disc work?

test it on any glass bottle to determine how clean it cuts
also put some tape on the mirror where u cutting and cut on top the tape using it as a buffer to stop the glass from possibly having chips on the edges

team 394

Postby team 394 » October 12th, 2020, 8:50 am

Greetings all, can anyone tell me the customs duty on imported tools? I have looked at the calculator but I am not seeing anything on tools?

Postby adnj » October 12th, 2020, 8:59 am

Tools are 0% duty.

Postby supercharged turbo » October 12th, 2020, 3:08 pm

Where can I get a cheap boroscope locally?

Postby adnj » October 12th, 2020, 3:38 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a cheap boroscope locally?
I sent you a PM.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 12th, 2020, 3:39 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a cheap boroscope locally?

Don't think those three words go together.

team 394

Postby team 394 » October 13th, 2020, 7:55 pm

adnj wrote:Tools are 0% duty.

Thanks for the info

Postby Ted_v2 » October 17th, 2020, 8:12 pm

looking for a timing light locally, who having?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 18th, 2020, 5:21 pm

where selling the 110v arc welder at good price. looking for something for around a $1000 TT.

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2020, 5:38 pm

better to pay a little more and get a real 220v machine

i see total making one for around $1300

screwbash wrote:where selling the 110v arc welder at good price. looking for something for around a $1000 TT.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 19th, 2020, 4:41 am

pugboy wrote:better to pay a little more and get a real 220v machine

i see total making one for around $1300

screwbash wrote:where selling the 110v arc welder at good price. looking for something for around a $1000 TT.

i have a red lincon electic 220v i buy 20 years ago and still going stong.but dese days a padna feel is he one more than mine so i want to know where have the best price so he cud buy he own. he cant afford $4000 for the lincon. i go look for the total i have a few of their tools and i dont see a problem.

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2020, 6:00 am

classic hardware balmain have it

Postby Ted_v2 » October 19th, 2020, 9:52 pm

razorweld still gets my vote, reall compact.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2020, 6:02 am

all them igbt inverter welders are very similar inside, I own 3 of them.

the sweet spot for their compact design is around 160amps 220v which is more than adequate for the average user.
any bigger requires a lot more circuitry and complexity based on the igbt transistors available today

if you go on aliexpress you will see many factories selling bare circuit boards so companies can design their own externals and branding.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » October 21st, 2020, 12:03 pm

Looking for a decent digital tire pressure gauge.
Anyone knows where has locally?

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2020, 2:00 pm

I'm looking for a dial gauge.

Postby maj. tom » October 21st, 2020, 2:17 pm

The dial gauge i saw at Bhagwansingh's and Allied Home Center.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2020, 9:02 pm

i burn some 6013 2 days ago, today i used my mig. I eh able again. i going to sell it.

Postby Chimera » October 21st, 2020, 9:16 pm

anyone know if these type of induction motors/centrifugal pumps ( 3 phase) have any sort of value these days beyond their copper value?

found a bunch of them cleaning out a old stock room
motor 4.jpeg
motor 3.jpeg
motor 2.jpeg
motor 1.jpeg

hindian

Postby hindian » October 22nd, 2020, 6:45 am

You could possibly look into converting them into phase converters, 220v single phase input to 3 phase output current.

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2020, 1:41 pm

where sells these type of magnetic bars locally?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2020, 11:05 am

Ted_v2 wrote:i burn some 6013 2 days ago, today i used my mig. I eh able again. i going to sell it.

Selling what, the mig? What price if it is the mig for sale?

Postby pugboy » October 25th, 2020, 11:33 am

check commercial kitchen supply places
they are used for knives

Phone Surgeon wrote:Image

where sells these type of magnetic bars locally?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2020, 7:52 pm

bought at allied, 14 or 16" long. PT branded.

where can i get a Spill Proof Radiator Coolant Filling Funnel Kit ?

already checked tool store, and duncan village tool store. Salt

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2020, 7:59 am

fellaz

i have to clean some rust from my hub/spindle to install some new brakes soon.

i have a drill, but no grinder. Which one of those wire wheel scrubber things allyuh will recommend to clean the metal surface?

next thing: anitseize.
I seeing copper based, aluminium based and nickel based.....which is best for the hub to rotor surface?

Postby Dave » October 27th, 2020, 8:12 am

I have a simple circular one that attaches to a drill to make the work quick and easy.
For the binding, I have always used a thin layer of heavy grease. Waterproof helps even better.