3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby Trini Hookah » February 20th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Mirin' your dog MISHI.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 20th, 2012, 10:45 pm

:lol: not mine... was at some relatives and was mirin it myself...

Postby RBphoto » February 20th, 2012, 10:49 pm

ShIvAm wrote:Good day all, im interested in purchasing a used DSLR, im looking at the Canon T2i but im not restricted to this decision. Anything within this class could work, either in the Canon or Nikon range.

any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Shivam- 790-3156, 358-9407

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=423219

We beat this to death already.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 20th, 2012, 11:03 pm

Oho fellas, as he asked that. What would you all recommend for a step up from my P&S?

Note: not interested in HD video, will get a separate cam for that.

I'm liking the XSi and D5000, but more the Nikon, the quality of sample shots i've seen are amazing.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 20th, 2012, 11:47 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
ShIvAm wrote:Good day all, im interested in purchasing a used DSLR, im looking at the Canon T2i but im not restricted to this decision. Anything within this class could work, either in the Canon or Nikon range.

any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Shivam- 790-3156, 358-9407

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=423219

We beat this to death already.

i was more asking for help acquiring the camera rather than choosing one.

guess i should have been more clear

Postby RBphoto » February 21st, 2012, 9:12 am

ShIvAm sorry dey bhai. Chech the classifieds... fellas piping out this rounds. But on another note, I actually do have something to add about my thoughts on camera choices, so i will answer the question that you and ramps post.

Consider the new mirrorless compacts like the sony NEX7, nikon V1, olympus, samsung etc before checking a DSLR. If you are not shooting sports or action, these have been shown to have DSLR quality in a small body. This segment of the market has shown a great deal of innovation in the past 6 months and worth a look, especially since they are much more portable.

All of the NEW DSLR's on the market, even the low end ones, smoke the middle consumer tier and even the upper consumer tier of DSLRs from just a few years ago. I would forget the D5000. For nikon, the D3100 beats my D90 in quality of images as far as I am concerned, whether or no it has the pro features that I want. Only if you need more than the D3100, I suggest you bite the bullet and spring for the D7000, which is the ultimate crop sensor camera right now. I think the canon 60D is the direct competitor of the D7000, but canon guys can tell you more about canon cameras.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 21st, 2012, 9:42 am

I initially only looked at Canons you know, only when I read you and trini mk5 talk about the Nikons I decided to look up some of the reviews.

And ironically would you believe I was checking out the D3100 just this morn. :lol:

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 21st, 2012, 9:56 am

mishi dat puppy cute ^^ haha

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 21st, 2012, 10:21 am

Canon T2i and T3i were cheaper around December last year during Christmas sales. Started doing research into buying first DSLR around November last year, decided on the T3i. Then discovered the Micro Four Thirds World which is getting very popular, the format is still relatively young. I've noticed that the good prime and telephoto lenses are still expensive. Right now looking for a good deal on either E-PM1, E-P3 or GH2. Sony being an electronic superpower crammed a APS-C sensor in a tiny body, which is supposed to give excellent photos, it doesn't seem that appealing and there aren't that many lenses for the Sony EVIL cameras. Olympus indicated that they're planning to introduce more budget friendly lenses this year. The Olympus OM-D E-M5 is really nice.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 21st, 2012, 11:09 am

compared to canon are nikon lenses more expensive?

Postby Trini Hookah » February 21st, 2012, 11:24 am

From the reviews, they said the T2i is better off in the long run should you decide do do a bit of video shooting. And it's a better build quality.

And yes shaneelal, I thought I was the only one that noticed, it was down to $579 just the other day!

Postby RBphoto » February 21st, 2012, 12:00 pm

ShIvAm wrote:compared to canon are nikon lenses more expensive?

By a negligible amount. Both are expensive. Canon has more variety of lenses, of varying quality and features, so there are many which are dirt cheap. Nikon has fewer lenses, and some of these may be more expensive than canon counterparts of lesser quality, but equivqants are not that far off in price..

That said, how many lens you think you need? I have 5 nikon, and three canon lens, but I usually only use a 50mm canon most of the time on canon full frame bodes for a normal lens, 50mm nikon on digital crop bodies for a short telephoto, and 35mm on my nikon digital crop bodies when I need a normal lens there. All of my wide and telezooms get use only about 20% of the time.

Postby DVSTT » February 22nd, 2012, 11:54 am

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 22nd, 2012, 12:13 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

By a negligible amount. Both are expensive. Canon has more variety of lenses, of varying quality and features, so there are many which are dirt cheap. Nikon has fewer lenses, and some of these may be more expensive than canon counterparts of lesser quality, but equivqants are not that far off in price..

That said, how many lens you think you need? I have 5 nikon, and three canon lens, but I usually only use a 50mm canon most of the time on canon full frame bodes for a normal lens, 50mm nikon on digital crop bodies for a short telephoto, and 35mm on my nikon digital crop bodies when I need a normal lens there. All of my wide and telezooms get use only about 20% of the time.

Very true, I have 3 lens and my "walk around" lens usually stays locked up with my telephoto and I just use the kit lens everyday.

Only used the telephoto twice locally for the whole year Ive had it actually. :lol:

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 22nd, 2012, 12:42 pm

DVSTT wrote:Image
Lights of the night. by DHARIN, on Flickr

nice... T2i right?

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 22nd, 2012, 12:46 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

humm ok... the first lens i think i might get is a 50mm

Postby RBphoto » February 22nd, 2012, 1:48 pm

^^^Get the 35mm first for nikon digital bodies bro. The 50mm has a pleasing tlephoto perspective, but you end up backin up about 4 feet for a headshot and about 12-15 feet for a full lenght portrait. The 35mm f/1.8DX lets you get closer as it is wider. Also, when you want to get in close with the canon 50mm, you will realize that it can only focus close up to 1.5 feet. Real bummer when trying to capture details, even if you get the crop you want. I use the 50 more, but having the 35mm is essential IMO because of the shots that the 35 could take that the 50 would miss, while in a pnch I could take the same shot and crop it with the 35mm to get the shot I would have gotten with the 50mm.

Postby DVSTT » February 22nd, 2012, 2:25 pm

ShIvAm wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Image
Lights of the night. by DHARIN, on Flickr

nice... T2i right?

Yup!

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 22nd, 2012, 2:50 pm

crossdrilled wrote:^^^Get the 35mm first for nikon digital bodies bro. The 50mm has a pleasing tlephoto perspective, but you end up backin up about 4 feet for a headshot and about 12-15 feet for a full lenght portrait. The 35mm f/1.8DX lets you get closer as it is wider. Also, when you want to get in close with the canon 50mm, you will realize that it can only focus close up to 1.5 feet. Real bummer when trying to capture details, even if you get the crop you want. I use the 50 more, but having the 35mm is essential IMO because of the shots that the 35 could take that the 50 would miss, while in a pnch I could take the same shot and crop it with the 35mm to get the shot I would have gotten with the 50mm.

aight well when that time comes I'd pick up the 35mm first

Postby RBphoto » February 22nd, 2012, 3:35 pm

^^I suggest you try out both focal lenghts instead of relying on anyone else to tell you where to spend your money. For all you know you might want a 85mm prime as your standard lens.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 22nd, 2012, 3:59 pm

i read that 50mm lenses mimic the field of the human eye and on a cropped sensor the 35mm is equivalent to 50mm so yea, I'd try the 35mm first

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » February 22nd, 2012, 10:07 pm

IMG_2948 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_2971 by A.M Production, on Flickr

Postby DVSTT » February 23rd, 2012, 11:46 am

Postby Trini Hookah » February 23rd, 2012, 12:04 pm

One thing I must commend you on is your imagination when titling your shots!

Postby DVSTT » February 23rd, 2012, 4:34 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:

One thing I must commend you on is your imagination when titling your shots!

Thanks man!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 23rd, 2012, 5:05 pm

miguel granville wrote:Image
IMG_2948 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_2971 by A.M Production, on Flickr

Now this is a quality I wish i could contantly get: I guess this is the T2i metering over the T1i to an extent that gives this sorta "cinematic" image look. I tend to find my shots look "too real" :lol:

Postby DVSTT » February 24th, 2012, 4:05 pm

Cid

Postby Cid » February 24th, 2012, 4:13 pm

nice concept ... howd u do it without photoshop??

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2012, 6:29 pm

hey, this kinda vivid color, especially in the night shots, what sorta gear do u guys think is involved... nearly every pic i enjoyed. reminds me of the pic in the national geographic magazines i used to watch when i was in college.

http://www.theatlantic.com/infocus/2012 ... 12/100248/

Postby SMc » February 26th, 2012, 6:58 am

Taken yesterday with my kit lense...