Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 27th, 2013, 8:50 am

ru$$ell wrote:^ where is charrans and pet shop boys located ?

I think pet shop boys is on a side street opposite sando market.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 27th, 2013, 11:23 am

Charrans in cunupia, cyah really giv directions to there i jus know how to reach...lol

Pet shop boys on mocorapo street jus t after d market on yuh right hand side...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 27th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Barley straw, where can I get? Really fed up with buying algae control tablets every 2 weeks for pond/ fountain thing

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 27th, 2013, 7:53 pm

Drive to d end of munroe road den take a left by d lights onto old southern main road, den first right which is opp scotiabank..drive straight and take the right by the intersection, I believe it's d first right. Drive until u see d sign on the wall but u shudd call before going

bir123

Postby bir123 » June 28th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Pet shop boys have bluediomond discus about 3to 4 inch imported they say 450 for 1 and orang discus that does get white and some that just orange 75

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 29th, 2013, 5:11 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1372540253.580751.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1372540273.289598.jpg

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 29th, 2013, 8:43 pm

^very nice,what pump you using on that?

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » July 1st, 2013, 7:52 pm

can anyone share their experience with using led's for a planted tank as opposed to fluorescent lights and using a t5 bulb? i am thinkin about buyin the marineland double led set up

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2013, 12:01 am

I've been using the marineland double bright led or the past year or so, it grows dwarf sag, Anubias, swords and crypts pretty well, it will give you good low light - low/medium light.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 2nd, 2013, 11:25 am

Changing water in my discus tank last night nearly cost me all of my fishes in the tank. Siphon water like normal then started refilling the tank, was not paying attention to the tank till it was about half filled. When i looked at the tank the discus was moving differently and to me look like they were going on top of the water for air by that time my rummy noise tetras started dying.I knew it had to be something with the water.

By the time i got a container and filled it with a different supply of water, the discus were laying flat on the tank.Took them out and placed them in the container, sinking one by one as i placed them in the container. Got an air supply to the container and started shaking the fish by them self to see if they had life in them still. They would make a shake and swim off my hands, then drop back on their sides. At that moment i had a feeling they were all going to die.

After and hour or so i placed them in a tank, still not really moving but i cud still see their gills and mouth moving. Got up this morning to see most ok and moving around while 3 were still down breathing. Hope they recover by the time i get home this evening.

Tested the water ph and it read around 5 and normally it would be around 6.5 to 7. My guess had to be the drop in the ph that caused that.

kl122

Postby kl122 » July 2nd, 2013, 1:30 pm

What percentage change u did? I do 30% bi-weekly

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 2nd, 2013, 3:55 pm

at first i used to change 95% 3-4 times a week, now i do 95% bi-weekly

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 2nd, 2013, 5:12 pm

That happened to me 2 days ago, did a 80% like I usually did and lost one of my rainbows, I'm going to buy an aging barrel, WASA not consistent these days.

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » July 2nd, 2013, 6:17 pm

i use a 30 gallon rubbermaid container as my aging tank with a powerhead with a srew on filter , never had a problem thus far

bir123

Postby bir123 » July 2nd, 2013, 9:05 pm

Want to set up ah lil breeding rack any body know where i could get some 24 ×12x 18 an
48 × 24 ×18 and a barral to age water in at a best price thanks

kl122

Postby kl122 » July 2nd, 2013, 9:10 pm

That a lot of water, I did 50% once and my fish were freaking out...my water was from a tank a few days old.....had to transfer them to my quarantine tank

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 2nd, 2013, 10:09 pm

I wid not recommend such big water changes bcuz its really hard to hav water wit similar conitiond an take a while to stabalize...

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 2nd, 2013, 10:43 pm

ryan99tt wrote:I wid not recommend such big water changes bcuz its really hard to hav water wit similar conitiond an take a while to stabalize...

50% is the most I'd change at once.

Postby meccalli » July 3rd, 2013, 3:15 pm

Planted guys do big changes all the time and are unaffected but here,,,can't take that chance. If i want to make a big change, i fill and let the 50 gal barrel sit for 3 days and change 25% everyday at a time.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » July 3rd, 2013, 3:32 pm

Guys, got a 5ft piece of Drift Wood to sell if anyone interested PM me. $300

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » July 3rd, 2013, 9:16 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 3rd, 2013, 10:42 pm

How much space that may take up?

Got some rocks recently from the sea side, how do I treat them before adding to my tank? I left them in a barrel of rain water to "soak" for a week.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » July 3rd, 2013, 10:59 pm

Depends....I had it in ah 8ft tank

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » July 3rd, 2013, 11:00 pm

Depends....I had it in ah 8ft tank

Regent

Postby Regent » July 5th, 2013, 2:10 pm

AH SELLING

4 FEET BY 18 INCHES BRAND NEW
treated pitch pine and sealed for moisture stand and cover $2600.00
100_0535.JPG
100_0532.JPG
100_0531.JPG
100_053.JPG

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » July 6th, 2013, 7:44 am

i need someone to build a cover 4ft (teak) for my tank, and also what lighting should i choose (freshwater tank non planted)

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » July 6th, 2013, 2:09 pm

Anybody knows where i can get some adult rancu and red fantail gold fish to buy in the north/ central area? Must be good quality. Want 3 each. 2 males 1 female. P.M. me what you have

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » July 6th, 2013, 2:55 pm

Another thing my mom is a plant freak and has a nice collection of lotus plants in a shallow pond my dad build for her. Recently we extended our garage to accomodate an additional car and the roof covered the pond so no sunlight at all. Is there a light i can install to attempt to replace the sunlight so the plants would be ok?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 6th, 2013, 4:26 pm

^^^ why don't you just change the roof sheeting in that area to the see through sheeting.

Regent

Postby Regent » July 6th, 2013, 4:30 pm

Night crawler if you serious message mr the specs and I can give you a quote