3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby TRAE » February 16th, 2012, 4:02 pm

lighthammer wrote:@MG Man

nice shots of tobago there meng, but if I may offer you some critiques (since you asked for it)... I shall be as neutral and constructive as possible.

Now, most of your shots are of great scenes in tobago, however the problem doesn't lie in the scene or the camera - it's the angle and composition.
A couple of the shots esp of the sailboat were framed well using the trees & foliage while the other shots suffered a bit from "typical tourist shot" syndrome (and yes, we're all guilty of that, myself included!).

Out of all those shots, two of them stood out in particular for suffering this syndrome:

and this one:

I mean, oh gawd.. how many times has anyone gone through their friends summer vacation pics on facebook and seen the same boring snapshot?

Yet despite the overused cliche of a beach scene, just a simple shift in angle would make the photo so much more interesting and dynamic. Whether shot with a DSLR or a point & shoot, just a different angle in perspective would make a huge difference between a "m'eh" photo and a "whoa awesome!!" photo. Usually it's these basic fundamentals of creating a good photo that will distinguish your shots from everyone else's and make you look like a pro (even with a pricesmart-bought point & shoot).

Here's what I mean (using my own shots):

When doing a landscape or at least a wide-angle shot, always remember your FOREGROUND and BACKGROUND. Usually in a landscape there's not much of a SUBJECT, but attention should be paid to where you want the viewer's eyes to go. In a Landscape, you generally want the viewer's eye to start where your feet would theoretically be in the photo (if it were viewed directly through your eyes) and then wander off into the far horizon/background like a cowboy riding off into the sunset.

Also, it helps to move your position, USE YOUR FEET! Don't just zoom in and out... move around. Get higher, or get lower, and use that rule of 3rds (yes, that same rule) to FILL 2/3rds of your viewfinder screen with either the sky or land. This is especially helpful if you have an interesting texture to either the sky/clouds or the sand/soil beneath your feet.

Example:

Or you could even make a small object/interesting thing at your feet to be the subject of your photo, with the landscape behind it stretching waaayyy out to form your background (this works especially if you have lines that are leading away from you, going out to the horizon):

The bottom line is (and everyone listen up cuz this is important) - in order to get shots that are different from everyone else's (and less boring too!) you have to PUT YOUR CAMERA in different places and take shots from different angles from everyone else's. Your aim as a photographer should be to make your viewer move their eyes around in a picture, not just to simply see it one-dimensionally.

Remember a good photograph (esp. multidimensional and multi-layered ones, for those who feel cocky enough to try it) are built step-by step. With time you'll be able to compose a shot so quickly you'll look like you came outta your mammy while holding a camera when you was born!! People will ask you "but how you does take such good pittures bai, yuh have a good camera??" while taking shots with a sheitty camera phone... they'll name city streets and avenues after you, you'll get your own public holiday, they'll ask you to be their children's godfathers... you know what I mean!

Next week - we'll talk about light and how it gives your photo shape and texture, and some colour too!

aye check meh homeboy ranger... Chris yuh large!

Postby meccalli » February 16th, 2012, 11:36 pm

The norms guys, updates of new stuff
High Aloft by meccalli, on Flickr

Dove by meccalli, on Flickr

Nectarine by meccalli, on Flickr

Valen by meccalli, on Flickr

Tine Rose by meccalli, on Flickr

Holy Basil Batman! by meccalli, on Flickr

Postby meccalli » February 16th, 2012, 11:58 pm

deliah wrote:tryin ah ting

Loving this shot, pure bliss when a friend had a boat when i was younger heading out to entice some snapper.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 17th, 2012, 12:11 am

Good tips there lighthammer, missed seeing some of your stuff in the thread.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 17th, 2012, 5:29 am

^ thanks bro, it's been a while since I picked up the camera (the wifey discovered how awesome a D200 can be and I haven't gotten to use it since last year!)

hoping to grab a new lens soon... will post when i get it :)

Postby buzz » February 18th, 2012, 10:34 am

Thanks a lot for all the feedback and tips guys, and yeah i did lean so much from lighthammer's posts. I'd definitely delve more into the theory/guidelines but i like shooting what i like, i see an angle, like it and go for it

but again thx guys !

Postby gastly369 » February 18th, 2012, 12:10 pm

:? :? .. bored playing xbox...sees camera take picture

Postby SMc » February 18th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Some shots in the garden.I had to compress the shots, I dont know if theat affect the quality...anyway

Blackbird....

blue Tit..

Collard dove...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 18th, 2012, 7:14 pm

Nice stuff fellas...

was just looking for aircraft to spot today and just hit me to try the slow shutter of splashing water on the rocks below. Didn't have the benefit of a tripod so was held about 1/4 Shutter Priority; yes there's blur but it's not for national geographic... oh and of course i cleaned it up a bit in lightroom cause I suck :lol:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 19th, 2012, 9:53 am

^^ Thats cool for handheld

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 19th, 2012, 10:27 am

Camera used : K850i

Parvin

Postby Parvin » February 19th, 2012, 6:39 pm

Ah try ah ting :oops:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 19th, 2012, 6:59 pm

nice...

mercenary that's a nice composition there IMHO

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2012, 7:20 pm

great guidelines there light hammer... that sums it well, *even though i did like mg's first jetty shot*

napster16

Postby napster16 » February 19th, 2012, 9:37 pm

CRITIQUE PLEASE.... any tips would be accepted as I'm just budding in this game...

Port of Spain Sunset by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

Child Receiving Piece of Wedding Cake by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

Wedding Cake Top by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

Sharing of The Rings by Genesis Creations, on Flickr

Postby meccalli » February 20th, 2012, 6:49 am

You should probably work on getting your exposures correct before watermarks/BnW edits. And look at other peoples work, these aren't really much of wedding photos.

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » February 20th, 2012, 8:14 am

Some of my hobby shots. comments (all) welcomed :)
------

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 20th, 2012, 10:18 am

^^ The one with the wave is cool but you need to straighten it the people look like they will slide out of the sea .

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 20th, 2012, 10:23 am

they all loook greattttttttttttt
love the one with the wave :)

but d first one, yuh take that while driving??? :D :D :D

Postby Trini Hookah » February 20th, 2012, 11:55 am

Dragist wrote:^^ The one with the wave is cool but you need to straighten it the people look like they will slide out of the sea .

I like it though, with the angle and all. :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 20th, 2012, 12:29 pm

The one with the wave gives it an interesting perspective...

Postby DVSTT » February 20th, 2012, 12:45 pm

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 20th, 2012, 12:50 pm

very nice tone to it DVSTT

any of all yuh using ah point and shoot owa? :D

Postby Trini Hookah » February 20th, 2012, 12:55 pm

*raises hand*

Still haven't explored enough on a P&S to upgrade yet.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » February 20th, 2012, 1:01 pm

i get ah fujifilm av200 for xmas that what ah using yes

Postby RBphoto » February 20th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Yup, can't cary a DSLR all the time. I use a JOBY tripod whenever I use my P&S (as much as possible)

Postby RBphoto » February 20th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Yup, can't cary a DSLR all the time. I use a JOBY tripod whenever I use my P&S (as much as possible)

Postby shogun » February 20th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Really nice shots there, mrkessy.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » February 20th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Good day all, im interested in purchasing a used DSLR, im looking at the Canon T2i but im not restricted to this decision. Anything within this class could work, either in the Canon or Nikon range.

any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Shivam- 790-3156, 358-9407

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=423219

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 20th, 2012, 8:40 pm

Some more stuff done over the weekend. As usual all edited.