COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 20 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » April 17th, 2020, 1:24 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody know of a any cloth stores opening in central?
Gg say all clothes store to be closed. In looptt

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2020, 1:26 pm

Redman wrote:
rspann wrote:No there aren't any branches of Jimmy Aboud and sons.

Spoken like a true 99% er :D
Damm rspann getting hit from redmsn.

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2020, 1:36 pm

I wonder if they going to keep the virtual court or we going back to paying for transporting prisoners after the restriction is lifted .

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Redman wrote:
rspann wrote:No there aren't any branches of Jimmy Aboud and sons.

Spoken like a true 99% er :D
Damm rspann getting hit from redmsn.

We go make up when we meet up in Balisier house , doh beat up.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 17th, 2020, 1:38 pm

rspann wrote:I wonder if they going to keep the virtual court or we going back to paying for transporting prisoners after the restriction is lifted .

Amalgamated was not built on being boy scouts guarding buildings alone. They need those Justice on Time bucks

Postby gastly369 » April 17th, 2020, 1:44 pm

Convo with one of the supplier I deal with from a industrial complex in wuhan

Screenshot_20200417_134114.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 17th, 2020, 2:19 pm

gastly369 wrote:Convo with one of the supplier I deal with from a industrial complex in wuhan

Seems obvious this is the new way of life until a vaccine or we reach herd immunity. Remember 99% of our population has yet to get it and it's near impossible to eliminate it entirely unless we lockdown fully for another month or two and keep courses borders closed until we're vaccinated. By that time, we might have inevitably killed the economy leading to more deaths via collateral damage.

Postby 88sins » April 17th, 2020, 3:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:Convo with one of the supplier I deal with from a industrial complex in wuhan

and when I tell ppl that this thing nowhere near being under control where it started they feel like I was joking.

Anyway
I was doing some research recently, and saw that there's apparently 8 different strains of coronavirus making their way around the globe during this pandemic, with 3 of them affecting humans the most, in very similar ways with differing degrees severity. They've identified the most prolific strains affecting humans as type A, B & C.
So, that being the case, I don't recommend allyuh getting allyuh hopes a vaccine will be developed too elevated. Because they not sure yet how to tackle Type A, and they have no clue if any vaccine they develop for Type A will be of any benefit to patients with types B or C.

Interesting times we living in.

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Seems obvious this is the new way of life until a vaccine or we reach herd immunity. Remember 99% of our population has yet to get it and it's near impossible to eliminate it entirely unless we lockdown fully for another month or two and keep courses borders closed until we're vaccinated. By that time, we might have inevitably killed the economy leading to more deaths via collateral damage.

I hear everybody saying we have to keep our borders closed. The reality is that it's porous and people are still entering . What is the outlook in this position ?

Postby supercharged turbo » April 17th, 2020, 4:22 pm

rspann wrote:I wonder if they going to keep the virtual court or we going back to paying for transporting prisoners after the restriction is lifted .
It will be a permanent fixture from next week and the government will be saving approximately 80 million per year according to the AG.

Postby sMASH » April 17th, 2020, 4:24 pm

when the camera stop workin, the mic go missing, the servers get full and start to accumulate virus....
wham to the scanners on the port.

Postby paid_influencer » April 17th, 2020, 4:27 pm

latest MoH release, still at 1298 samples tested.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 17th, 2020, 5:47 pm

I know one test was done today.. waiting on results they said in 24 to 48 hours..family member passed away.

Postby Kenjo » April 17th, 2020, 5:56 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I know one test was done today.. waiting on results they said in 24 to 48 hours..family member passed away.

Sorry to hear about your family member

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 17th, 2020, 5:57 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:I know one test was done today.. waiting on results they said in 24 to 48 hours..family member passed away.

Condolences to you and your family man

Postby MaxPower » April 17th, 2020, 5:58 pm

Condolences to you and your family.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 17th, 2020, 6:30 pm

Sorry to hear man, was this from a suspected Covid-19 case or unrelated?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 17th, 2020, 6:37 pm

Yea its a suspected case.. hence the test.. really hoping it's not c-19 as that gonna stress even more

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 17th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Condolences bro. Did he have any travel history?
nismotrinidappa wrote:Yea its a suspected case.. hence the test.. really hoping it's not c-19 as that gonna stress even more

Postby redmanjp » April 17th, 2020, 6:45 pm

sorry to hear that- they waited till things was bad to do a test?

Postby paid_influencer » April 17th, 2020, 7:15 pm

Dr. Birx on TV (CNN/MSNBC, etc) talking about possible algorithm of tests for Point-of-Care testing.

Some states looking at least July to open. "Only 4 states could start reopening in Early May"

Postby The_Honourable » April 17th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Condolences to you and the family dappa.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 17th, 2020, 7:20 pm

No travel history and never left the house in months. Doctor visited yesterday

Postby paid_influencer » April 17th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Birx: required testing capacity for re-opening would be 30 per 1,000 population.

Current testing is Nucleic acid (PCR) testing. There will never be capacity for hundreds millions of tests with nucleic acid tests, but it is possible Antigen testing (which is not yet available).

Postby sMASH » April 17th, 2020, 8:36 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Yea its a suspected case.. hence the test.. really hoping it's not c-19 as that gonna stress even more
condolences to u and urs.
rest that they did what they could to guard against it, and was not reckless.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 17th, 2020, 10:39 pm

sMASH wrote:

There have been some Covid-19 cases like this. Who was bringing food/supplies for him? It seems like a case of asymptomatic transmission to him (if it was Covid).

Postby sMASH » April 17th, 2020, 10:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:

There have been some Covid-19 cases like this. Who was bringing food/supplies for him? It seems like a case of asymptomatic transmission to him (if it was Covid).

official govt data is, there is little to none community, or local spread. all cases were imported and quarantined.

Postby sMASH » April 17th, 2020, 11:48 pm

Postby Kenjo » April 18th, 2020, 6:34 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:No travel history and never left the house in months. Doctor visited yesterday

Oh yes until the tests come back then you will know if to continue isolation . But we have to remember too that the parallel health conditions that were there before still exist like
Klebsiella, Pneumococcus, rsv , mycoplasma , pseudomonas, influenza, Pcp etc especially for older persons so please update us when it’s confirmed or not

Postby adnj » April 18th, 2020, 7:49 am

The U.S. May Be Heading To A Second (Or Even Fourth) Wave Of The Coronavirus Epidemic. Here’s What That Means

Marley Coyne Forbes Staff

Business

[IMG]https://specials-images.forbesimg.com/imageserve/1216476047/960x0.jpg?fit=scale
[/IMG]

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - APRIL 02: A masked woman waits for a bus in lower Manhattan on April 02, 2020

GETTY IMAGES

Topline: Some scientists and commentators, like leading coronavirus expert Dr. Anthony Fauci, have referenced the possibility of a “second wave” of the coronavirus pandemic in the fall, following expected slower growth rates of COVID-19 cases during the summer, while infectious disease specialist Dr. Kent Sepkowitz suggests a “fourth wave” may already be upon us. Here’s what you need to know.

The Centers For Disease Control yesterday warned that the United States may face a second wave of the virus come fall, as happened in 2009 with swine flu. 

By this time, many initial cases will have resolved or ended in death but a large swath of the population will still be susceptible to the infection, said CDC director Dr. Robert Redfield. 

Kent Sepkowitz, an infectious disease specialist for Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, in an op-ed on  CNN, offered an alternative definition for tracking coronavirus waves. 

The first wave, according to Sepkowitz, started on the West Coast, where coronavirus ravaged a Washington-state nursing home, and in the second wave, the virus hit New York City, the country’s current epicenter, where nearly 50,000 patients have been infected so far. 

In the third wave, coronavirus moved to other urban centers now emerging as “hot spots,” like New Orleans, Detroit and Atlanta.

Now, the United States has entered a fourth wave, he argues, with the virus infiltrating mid-sized and smaller cities, undercutting the popular belief that only densely populated areas could be hard hit. 

Crucially, smaller cities and rural towns may lack the hospital capacity to care for an influx of patients and may be forced to lean on bigger cities already buckling under their own caseloads. 

“The disruption of the well-established chain of care that goes from community hospital to local major medical center, then to regional super-specialty care may result in the largest tragedy of all,” Sepkowitz concludes. 

Critical quote: “It is highly likely that we will have—I don’t know whether you want to call it a second wave—but we will have a return of infections as we get into the next season,” Dr. Anthony Fauci said of the virus’ progression. 

[URL]https://www.forbes.com/sites/marleycoyne/2020/04/02/the-us-may-be-heading-to-a-second-or-even-fourth-wave-of-the-coronavirus-epidemic-heres-what-that-means/
[/URL]