Sint

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Sint » January 31st, 2013, 5:43 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
turbotusty wrote:
Sint wrote:Hi,
Does the Nexus 4 work well on bmobiles 4g?
From what i reading is a 3g phone running on hspa+, which to be honest I aint sure I know what that means. From what ive read bmobile is not a true 4g (?) or not the most advanced (not LTE)? I did speak with a bmobile agent and they really werent any help!
Thanks peps

yeah all u need is a 3g phone with the correct bands to get tstt '4g'. hspa or hsdpa works just fine. or rather as fine as tstt limited service provides. the rates suck and it's only a marginally noticeable speed increase from edge if u ask me unless u in a 3g hotspot area of which there are few and far between.
does anyone actually get a 4g symbol on tstt?

The difference is much faster than edge. You must live in the bush.

Thank you folks, allyuh does respond real fast!

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2013, 5:50 pm

M_2NR wrote::rofl:
on digicel the speeds are quite good anywhere i go. Except unless i go inside a well covered/insulated building. And unless you are running an AT&T or carrier modded firmware, HSPA will always be detected as an H on android. You'll only see 4G if you have carrier touched firmware or a package that will affect the way the phone displays HSPA eg. a theme also.

Truth.
Gf has an at&t s3 and sees 4G

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 7:09 pm

S_2NR wrote:
on digicel the speeds are quite good anywhere i go. Except unless i go inside a well covered/insulated building. And unless you are running an AT&T or carrier modded firmware, HSPA will always be detected as an H on android. You'll only see 4G if you have carrier touched firmware or a package that will affect the way the phone displays HSPA eg. a theme also.

Truth.
Gf has an at&t s3 and sees 4G

Your gf, her amazing tastes in phones. You on the other hand need to come to the 21st century with us :'(

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2013, 7:14 pm

I realise once u own something ull just be a big fanboy to that brand/product. The day u get an iPhone eh :lol:

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 7:20 pm

The day I get an iPhone is the day whoever buy it for me collect one hard slap!

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 7:32 pm

Galaxy S4 launch happening by early April, New Zealand contest seems to reveal

Samsung Galaxy S4 rumors continue to abound and this time around we’re looking at a leak that seems to indirectly confirm that the Galaxy S4 will be available to customers in early April.

An internal contest at a mobile retailer in New Zealand reveals that the handset could be launched by April 8, with the handset being one of the prizes offered to all winners.

The contest happens to end on April 8, so it only seems logical to see the Galaxy S4 in stores by that time, in order for it to be awarded to winners. However, the leaked documents do not specify when the prizes will be given.

Furthermore, the docs do say that all winners will go to an event in Auckland in late May, so who’s to say that they’ll get the Galaxy S4 units before that particular event? Naturally, we expect the Galaxy S4 to hit various stores by late-May.

Will the handset hit carriers in early April? That seems possible, especially considering that competitors like Sony and HTC will already have their flagship devices in stores by that time.

Existing rumors suggest that the handset is going to be unveiled at a special U.S.-based Mobile Unpacked event that will take place in March, with the device expected to be released in the following month. So an early April release date is not out of the question, at least for some markets, although today’s leak can’t really confirm that.

Android Authority

Also:
-16GB Nexus 4: Gone in 20 minutes on Google Play Store in Australia
-iPad marketshare down to 43% due to intense Android competition
-Google Play Store to surpass Apple App Store in revenue by the end of the year, report says

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 31st, 2013, 8:43 pm

yup pretty much a hack to force displaying the 4g icon lmao. i believe at&t are running the same setup as tstt so the handset has the hack embedded to pass 3.5g as 4g lol

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » January 31st, 2013, 9:22 pm

Allyuh not to intrude eh but ah selling meh note 2 for a 3900. Link meh. Gonna put that money on my soon to come child

Postby Trini Hookah » January 31st, 2013, 11:17 pm

Fellas, question here, on dropbox for android how to copy files to phone without removing it from the dropbox itself?

achillies

Postby achillies » February 1st, 2013, 12:47 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Fellas, question here, on dropbox for android how to copy files to phone without removing it from the dropbox itself?

Long press on the item, click 'export' then you should see Sdcard as an option

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 3rd, 2013, 12:01 am

been having a ball with android icon customizing. just changed a few of my default icons. check out tapatalk trinituner style, in dedication to the 2 day long site outage that happened earlier today leaving us all stranded.

the app dock contains a customized app dock. red dragons dock button illuminates to launch the app drawer courtesy go launcher ex.

iwhat?

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » February 3rd, 2013, 11:23 am

Hey guys, does anyone have a non working S2 that they are willing to part with? I need some parts urgently! PM me please.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 3rd, 2013, 8:06 pm

ismithx wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
ismithx wrote:^^^ YES ENT

this one rite: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... 2hlcjgiXQ..

is very stable and nice

oh and it's ad free :D

You don't find it to be a tad laggy?

not in the least! what device are you using?

sound boy 64 wrote:X2

Currently using a S3. I flashed it Friday with a new ROM [was stock before] so I'll retest and let you know. The lag was very minute though. The actual launcher had less lag than a REAL windows 8 phone I used today, low end one though. Lumia 610 or something so.

Friday gone I had some time on my hands and I flashed a ROM, stock based but many additional tweaks, Omega and it's working pretty smooth so far. You guys should check it out.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1663656

After flashing Omega, I used Omega Files to remove the V6 Supercharger mod and then flashed this - - - >

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1888081

It TOTALLY fixes the multitasking. I had temple run 2 open, switched to dead trigger.. Had some intense shoot outs and back to temple run resuming exactly where it left off with no reloading. To top it off, all my tabs remained open on Dolphin browser beta.

If you're gonna try this, make sure to remove the supercharger mod as it causes A LOT of random reboots. I've had ONE lockup since I removed it but otherwise smooth sailing. Just waiting for it to settle in. Battery life is good too. I must admit though, the mod doesn't seem to agree with chrome. I don't experience reloads with chrome but chrome causes the phone to lag a lot. I'm assuming it's very memory intense. But Dolphin browser Beta works very nicely. Hope this helps some of you guys!

Postby Stephon. » February 3rd, 2013, 8:12 pm

X-Axis wrote:Allyuh not to intrude eh but ah selling meh note 2 for a 3900. Link meh. Gonna put that money on my soon to come child

aww congrats!

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2013, 8:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:
X-Axis wrote:Allyuh not to intrude eh but ah selling meh note 2 for a 3900. Link meh. Gonna put that money on my soon to come child

aww congrats!

X2 meng.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 4th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Jonathan_337 glad you tried Omega I recommended it a few pages aback.....probably the best out there.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 4th, 2013, 8:43 pm

Any HTC Inspire users? Any ROMS worth recommending?

Postby maj. tom » February 4th, 2013, 8:57 pm

Postby S_2NR » February 4th, 2013, 10:52 pm

Gonna try this Omega Rom and see what all the fuss is about :lol:

I may get an iphone (free of course :lol:) so s2 may be up for sale soon. or the iphone depending on how resistant i am to change

Postby Stephon. » February 5th, 2013, 12:04 am

S_2NR wrote:Gonna try this Omega Rom and see what all the fuss is about :lol:

I may get an iphone (free of course :lol:) so s2 may be up for sale soon. or the iphone depending on how resistant i am to change

Ey boy ... hmmm I swear eh, you was now telling me about how I studying new phone already smh but I swear if you sell your S2 for an iPhone, yuh is never to show yuh face in dis ched again eh! Go in d apple thread with d rest of dem bullaman

Postby Ted_v2 » February 5th, 2013, 1:21 am

ohsnapz

Postby S_2NR » February 5th, 2013, 1:24 am

Feelings activated :lol::lol::lol:

Postby Stephon. » February 5th, 2013, 3:49 pm

Y'all think we getting any new tablets this year?

Val

Postby Val » February 5th, 2013, 5:44 pm

stingray316 wrote:Hey guys, does anyone have a non working S2 that they are willing to part with? I need some parts urgently! PM me please.

I have one with a non-working wifi chip so it needs a mainboard replacement. Sent it to the states and the authorised shops say it is not feasible to repair based on cost (still in the states and may sell it to one of those cash for phones sites).

It works just overheats and shuts down, everything else is intact and in great shape.

How much you offering?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » February 5th, 2013, 6:34 pm

Stephon. wrote:Y'all think we getting any new tablets this year?

I think Samsung coming with the tab 3, and a note 8" and a new note 10.1

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 5th, 2013, 6:57 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Jonathan_337 glad you tried Omega I recommended it a few pages aback.....probably the best out there.

Yeh its really smooth and unlike AOKP or CM10 you keep all your Samsung stuff. I would like to attempt a dual boot with something a bit different eventually though.

Stephon. wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Gonna try this Omega Rom and see what all the fuss is about :lol:

Ey boy ... hmmm I swear eh, you was now telling me about how I studying new phone already smh but I swear if you sell your S2 for an iPhone, yuh is never to show yuh face in dis ched again eh! Go in d apple thread with d rest of dem bullaman

^ LOL

Postby S_2NR » February 5th, 2013, 7:01 pm

yea omega is sheit imo.
i hate samsung touchwizz and the pointless samsung apps + bloat which slows down your phone.
aokp ftw

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 5th, 2013, 7:03 pm

S_2NR wrote:yea omega is sheit imo.
i hate samsung touchwizz and the pointless samsung apps + bloat which slows down your phone.
aokp ftw

How's the smoothness of AOKP and multi tasking and stuff vs a Samsung based ROM? I've always wanted to try one but I know they're generally somewhat buggy :/

Postby S_2NR » February 5th, 2013, 7:05 pm

using resurrection remix ics stable and not a single problem whatsoever. have this and siyah kernel months now. not a single issue and smooth as ever. and every single feature you would ever need.

the jb version not stable yet so holding off on updating for now cause i want stability over anything else.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 6th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Fellas do certain roms cause any parts of the screen to become unresponsive? Or would it be the digitizer itself?