Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Sabot » October 20th, 2013, 12:09 am

Yes, bridge affi cross......

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 20th, 2013, 12:15 am

Yea, daz d spot...hold real fish there...ent try there since dey dredge higher up an scared away all d fish...

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 20th, 2013, 10:11 am

The guys in the thread with fishing Kayaks.

How is the fishing?
Was it a good investment?

Any other updates?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » October 20th, 2013, 7:12 pm

Just an update guys didn't hold anything this wknd but saw good signs offshore season is picking up ...dolphin skying out the water running down flying fish just outside tracking station and good shows of bait all around.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 20th, 2013, 7:49 pm

Last time i was fishing tarpon had real plenty dolphin around with plenty of young...saw about 30 of them in a pod...

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 21st, 2013, 12:05 am

Hate when dolphins around! We wrap up lines an leave! They distress bait and the fish you pulling in!

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » October 21st, 2013, 7:44 am

Lol think you guys got me wrong I mean dolphin fish.... They were so busy chasing the flying fish they had no time with us

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 21st, 2013, 7:54 am

Only Catfish landed and released. Got hooked up on 2 nice fish but both busted the wire leader while battling. One started to take line at a rate which caused the line on my caster to whip me leaving some nice abrasions on my skin. BTW the catfish were VERY Yellow, is it that they are coming out of a river or eating something that in turn makes them yellow???

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 21st, 2013, 8:21 am

Na man I think those are a di fferent breed of catfish. Not for eating at all. And they have a lot more poison in their fin spines. Or so I've heard. We never keep them.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 21st, 2013, 8:50 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Only Catfish landed and released. Got hooked up on 2 nice fish but both busted the wire leader while battling. One started to take line at a rate which caused the line on my caster to whip me leaving some nice abrasions on my skin. BTW the catfish were VERY Yellow, is it that they are coming out of a river or eating something that in turn makes them yellow???

The yellow ones are called (ca-beh-song)!

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 21st, 2013, 3:52 pm

Nah the yellow catfish supposed to be safe to eat, otherwise i have some partners who would't be around from eating too much of them. In manzan sometimes yuh does fedup catch them.

About 2 years ago surf fishing in manzan, can't remember d moon or date but 1 specific day from 7am till late evening, anywhere u threw a line in manzan could be far, close, anywhere as it hit the water catfish from small to like 4 pounds, yellow and the whitish one. As fast as we were catching ppl on d beach stringing dem up and toting away. I dunno if it was a spawn or wat but i never saw dat happen ever again in manzan.

I also think dat the golden hammerhead dat is found off our east coasts get their colour from eating the yellow catfish, I think dat a documentary was done in trindad, if I am not mistaken.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 21st, 2013, 4:28 pm

reeLpACE wrote:Just an update guys didn't hold anything this wknd but saw good signs offshore season is picking up ...dolphin skying out the water running down flying fish just outside tracking station and good shows of bait all around.

Good to know!!

You ever use belly strips or u does stick to ballyhoo and live bait?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » October 22nd, 2013, 11:50 am

Funny enough I had a bag full of bonito and cavali belly strips to try out (for the first time ever) on Saturday but I just didn't get around to using it. I've heard they are the best substitute for ballyhoo but I'm yet to test it

Postby meccalli » October 22nd, 2013, 6:41 pm

Bonito bellystrips are the bees knees lol. That bait will hold on to a hook for dear life ala bonito skin. Love it for set lines.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 22nd, 2013, 8:22 pm

Yeah they real good for deep banking, nice and bloody and tough. I want to give the belly strips a try for trolling next trip i make, behind a blue and white or pink and white sea witch, and see what happens.

akaash101

Postby akaash101 » October 22nd, 2013, 10:43 pm

hello i am new to this site i will like to know if there are any good spots in south Trinidad to catch tarpon.i will be fishing from shore and i have never fished for them so any tips will be greatful

krazed

Postby krazed » October 23rd, 2013, 7:51 am

A lil small thing off the North Coast
fishies.jpg
Big one about 18" Long

perrymlvr

Postby perrymlvr » October 23rd, 2013, 11:02 am

Omg.THE MAN WIPE OUT MOTHER AND CHILDREN ....u ARE a criminal :cry: :cry:

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 11:40 am

LOL wda ^...nice fish man. The big one is a sub/ mutton snapper and the others are beeliners/merriam, don't get stuck with the fins. and of course your common white grunt..ain't seen a merriam in a long time, usually get em in deeper waters as you could see the big reflective pupils.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 23rd, 2013, 2:38 pm

U sure them is merriam? looking more like plumhead reds.

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 5:03 pm

hmm, possibly... looking a bit more streamlined than a merriam- vermillion snapper maybe, not sure what species exactly is plumhead though?, heard guys call the caribbean red snapper that as well.

vermillion
caribbean red

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 23rd, 2013, 6:40 pm

Nah, i think is not ah plumbhead...

It hav plenty places u can fish tarpon in south...all u need to look for is areas near river mouths...they like live bait but make sure u use a leader so the line doesnt get cut wit their rough mouth...good spots are like anywere on the west coasts and rivers along the east coast...

Postby joker » October 23rd, 2013, 6:59 pm

Most of the times the ones in the rivers are juveniles

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 7:48 pm

Yeah, but when we're talking tarpon, juvi's run to 10-50lbs :) I fish for em in bamboo along caroni where the farmers plant. Thats through some 6ft razorgrass and rozo tho lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 23rd, 2013, 7:49 pm

All yuh hav to do is scale down yuh tackle an dem juvi is real gd game...trust me....

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 23rd, 2013, 8:23 pm

I used to work down on the Port of Spain Port back in the days,closer to Movietowne side. National flour mills used to cool their equipment with water, the hot water discharge used to flow into the sea in a waterway we used to call hot and cold. Monster tarpon used to be at the mouth of hot and cold, and all along the foreshore, before Derek Chin decimate the mangrove and all the juvenile species that used to call it home. He promised to replant it but that never happened, go figure....

Postby meccalli » October 23rd, 2013, 8:33 pm

oh my god, hot and cold, that's my first fishing memories @ 4. My dad grew up in luis st. and they used to swim up hot and cold, catch those hogleg mullet and the tarpon and mangrove snappers behind the jean pierre complex mangroves. It still pains me every time i pass there and see how everything changed. And its happening to williams bay too...sigh. btw you have to pay to go in there now or what ?? :/

Postby pugboy » October 23rd, 2013, 8:42 pm

the real place was the wooden jetty next to the pilots office
we hold many monster cavali and tarpon there

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 23rd, 2013, 8:45 pm

Never fished there but i still pass an see ppl fishing there...dunno if they still catch anyting ...