3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

trini mk5

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby trini mk5 » February 7th, 2012, 1:34 pm

crossdrilled wrote:What you mean to say is Nikon need some "Tweeen" lenses. I don't think that they think so. They are concentrating on making their good lenses better, but not offering a confusing amount of variations, such as canon did with it's 70-200mm offerings, just so a poor man could get a great lens with half of the functions. With Nikon you have to go all in for the good glass with all the bells and whistles. One thing to note, they still manufacture many older lens options. Nikon will be nikon and canon will be canon... their marketing strategies work for them.

Thats is true, their marketing strategy is different and since NIKON is a much smaller company than canon, i guess they can't make gear to fit every budget like canon can....which is cool.
I started off with NIKON by chance and so far so good with them. From their ergonmics to the feel and build of the cameras/lenses i'll stick with them, although their glass and bodies tend to be a couple hundred more than canon's but hey its a small price to pay. Once i get the hebrew trinity and a good body to go with it, ill be satisfied...........until :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » February 7th, 2012, 1:52 pm

best software to do HDR photo editing?

have a couple photos i'd like to see in HDR....the 600USD for photoshop cs5 is a bit steep...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 7th, 2012, 2:18 pm

^^why you want to do HDR editing for anyway?

Postby 16 cycles » February 7th, 2012, 2:51 pm

have some pics shot in raw format that i'd like to put in HDR.....

Postby RBphoto » February 7th, 2012, 4:07 pm

16 cycles wrote:have some pics shot in raw format that i'd like to put in HDR.....

Are they bracketed?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 7th, 2012, 4:11 pm

I use Photomatix Pro 3 for HDR not sure if it takes raw or if you have to convert first .

Postby 16 cycles » February 7th, 2012, 4:27 pm

thanks for the suggestions...

had to look up what 'bracketing' was....

i was hoping to use one image manipulated to look like 3 different images from a single raw format picture to create the HDR......

if that fails...i will take the 3 pics using tripod method...

Postby DVSTT » February 7th, 2012, 4:44 pm

Its exposure bracketing. You can set cameras to take consecutive photos at different exposure levels. How much depends on the camera.

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2012, 8:45 pm

tutorial to do cheap upgrade to Canon glass

http://www.petapixel.com/2012/02/09/how ... -kit-lens/

Postby DVSTT » February 11th, 2012, 10:21 pm

pugboy wrote:tutorial to do cheap upgrade to Canon glass

http://www.petapixel.com/2012/02/09/how ... -kit-lens/

HAHAHAHA!!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 11th, 2012, 11:53 pm

LOL

I have an extra kit lens, gonna try it LOL

Postby buzz » February 13th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Afraid to throw my hat into the ring here but here goes...
jetty 1 copy.jpg
cuevas tree small copy.jpg

Postby DVSTT » February 13th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Got my 50mm today!!!! Havent been able to test it out much though, due to school and lessons! But from what I have seen so far its damn awesome!!!!!!!!!! Great lens!

Postby DVSTT » February 13th, 2012, 8:39 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:LOL

I have an extra kit lens, gonna try it LOL

If u try it and it works, i will do my lens.

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2012, 9:34 am

buzz wrote:Afraid to throw my hat into the ring here but here goes...

Pretty good. I love the beach shot. The pier is a lil cliche tho. Finally glad to see someone just shoot to make a nice composition instead of forcing the rule of thirds BS on their composition. Many new photographers hear about the some framing rule, and make their compositions a study in geometry instead of shooting what makes them feel good and looks natural.

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2012, 9:44 am

^^^^yeah but an equal number of phototakeouters buy a fancy camera and never even give a glancing thought to framing and composition...they just try to be artsy and have no clue......I see nothing wrong with the rule of thirds when u now starting out.....at least lots of the 'rules' give you a good starting point before you start experimenting.....I doub't I'll ever buy an SLR so most I can do other than play with 'manual' mode is work on my composition.....hopefully I'm improving..... but yeah, buzz post some decent shots

Cid

Postby Cid » February 14th, 2012, 10:03 am

Id like to think that photography has no rules , just guidelines.

You dont have to always shoot thirds if you dont want to , its totally up to the photographer and the particular effect he wants .
Its a mistake alotta noobs make..... that you always have to have to have to do it a particular way...You have to shoot thirds, you have to keep a low ISO always.... which is really bs, its better to have a slightly grainy shot than no shot at all.

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2012, 10:23 am

well tek a look at my shots on the previous page and gimme a critique nah............I still a struggling novice needing feedback :(

Postby RBphoto » February 14th, 2012, 10:43 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rule_of_thirds#History

Read the vintage on the rule of thirds..... if it does not scream BS... well... let's just say I put it in the same category as religion. Everyone needs some moral guidelines, but following an arbiitrarily contrived rule based on arbitrary data.....nevermind.... :lol:

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2012, 10:45 am

*waitin on feedback*

Cid

Postby Cid » February 14th, 2012, 11:01 am

...:):):)
your shots are good mg, I love the one with the rain falling....only a waterproof camera could capture a shot like that , also the panorama is pretty good....If i had to say something about the shots it would be about your camera, even though it took some great shots in the water which is a perspective that very few dslr could achieve ,the picture quality is a bit low, the dynamic range is low as well, most shots have either the sky too bright or the trees too dark.Thats the thing with dslr, their ability to capture the extreme light and dark in the same shot surpasses most point and shoot cameras mainly because of the size of the imaging sensor.
For a casual phototakeoouter who uploads to fb ur shots are really good, but if you plan on taking it to the next level it would be a good idea to think about upgrading your gear as soon as you can....or as soon as you capture some pips ...

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2012, 11:13 am

lol pips scarce these days :(
Thanks for the feedback. I haven't played with manual mode yet, which based on past experience with the other fuji, would help with some of the light issues, but of course nothing close to what a DSLR can do. But yeah, the waterproof cam is definitely limited..

Postby DVSTT » February 14th, 2012, 8:30 pm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2012, 2:58 am

@MG Man

nice shots of tobago there meng, but if I may offer you some critiques (since you asked for it)... I shall be as neutral and constructive as possible.

Now, most of your shots are of great scenes in tobago, however the problem doesn't lie in the scene or the camera - it's the angle and composition.
A couple of the shots esp of the sailboat were framed well using the trees & foliage while the other shots suffered a bit from "typical tourist shot" syndrome (and yes, we're all guilty of that, myself included!).

Out of all those shots, two of them stood out in particular for suffering this syndrome:

and this one:

I mean, oh gawd.. how many times has anyone gone through their friends summer vacation pics on facebook and seen the same boring snapshot?

Yet despite the overused cliche of a beach scene, just a simple shift in angle would make the photo so much more interesting and dynamic. Whether shot with a DSLR or a point & shoot, just a different angle in perspective would make a huge difference between a "m'eh" photo and a "whoa awesome!!" photo. Usually it's these basic fundamentals of creating a good photo that will distinguish your shots from everyone else's and make you look like a pro (even with a pricesmart-bought point & shoot).

Here's what I mean (using my own shots):

When doing a landscape or at least a wide-angle shot, always remember your FOREGROUND and BACKGROUND. Usually in a landscape there's not much of a SUBJECT, but attention should be paid to where you want the viewer's eyes to go. In a Landscape, you generally want the viewer's eye to start where your feet would theoretically be in the photo (if it were viewed directly through your eyes) and then wander off into the far horizon/background like a cowboy riding off into the sunset.

Also, it helps to move your position, USE YOUR FEET! Don't just zoom in and out... move around. Get higher, or get lower, and use that rule of 3rds (yes, that same rule) to FILL 2/3rds of your viewfinder screen with either the sky or land. This is especially helpful if you have an interesting texture to either the sky/clouds or the sand/soil beneath your feet.

Example:

Or you could even make a small object/interesting thing at your feet to be the subject of your photo, with the landscape behind it stretching waaayyy out to form your background (this works especially if you have lines that are leading away from you, going out to the horizon):

The bottom line is (and everyone listen up cuz this is important) - in order to get shots that are different from everyone else's (and less boring too!) you have to PUT YOUR CAMERA in different places and take shots from different angles from everyone else's. Your aim as a photographer should be to make your viewer move their eyes around in a picture, not just to simply see it one-dimensionally.

Remember a good photograph (esp. multidimensional and multi-layered ones, for those who feel cocky enough to try it) are built step-by step. With time you'll be able to compose a shot so quickly you'll look like you came outta your mammy while holding a camera when you was born!! People will ask you "but how you does take such good pittures bai, yuh have a good camera??" while taking shots with a sheitty camera phone... they'll name city streets and avenues after you, you'll get your own public holiday, they'll ask you to be their children's godfathers... you know what I mean!

Next week - we'll talk about light and how it gives your photo shape and texture, and some colour too!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2012, 3:12 am

Cid wrote:Id like to think that photography has no rules , just guidelines.

You dont have to always shoot thirds if you dont want to , its totally up to the photographer and the particular effect he wants .
Its a mistake alotta noobs make..... that you always have to have to have to do it a particular way...You have to shoot thirds, you have to keep a low ISO always.... which is really bs, its better to have a slightly grainy shot than no shot at all.

Photography is as much an art, as it is a science.
We could spend all day arguing about ISO level, Pixel spacing, photons per square mm, etc. etc. while also debating the Golden Rule, the Rule of 3rd, Sunny 16, Blue Hour, Golden Hour, f/8 and f*ck it... etc. etc.

The point is - no GOOD and WELL-RESPECTED photographer got to where he/she is by sticking to rules. Sure, they all would have had to build their base by learning some guidelines and how to get a good technical shot, but you see, the part where they emerge as being an accomplished photographer is where they take the same rules and bend or even break them, or apply their own twist to the rules.

Look at Joe Mcnally, he takes the concept of light and totally twists it around. He can take a rainy day and make it seem like a sunset on a clear evening by taking a couple speedlights, putting an orange gel on them and flashing them in sync through the window and effectively make fake sunlight. Who said rainy days couldn't be sunny?

Look at Annie Leibovitz and other famous photographers. They all put their own personal spin on what a photograph should look like (here comes the "Artistic" part of the formula) while still understanding the fundamentals of Lighting (how much light? Soft? Hard? What direction? Shadows? Texture?), Composition (what angle? Which direction? Frame? Reference subjects? Size?), Subject/Foreground/Background (What is where and who's in it??) and so on (that's the Science, mathematics and logical backing of the whole operation).

And don't worry - even casual photo-taker-outers can take these same basic rules and apply them to even camera phones, blackberries, etc. and still get better shots than your coworkers/family/fellow cult members. A good photographer who understand a bunch of basics will take a better picture with a cameraphone, than a sheitty photographer/poser with an expensive yet useless DSLR. (good example - Chase Jarvis)

So I don't believe anyone should stick to the rules once they learn them - but first make sure you know what it takes to get a good photo. Only when you start to put your own personal spin on a particular technique, can you say you're making an artistic expression. Otherwise, IMO, you're just a poser who's trying to attention-whore for the camera.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 16th, 2012, 7:30 am

speaking of chase jarvis

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 16th, 2012, 8:18 am

424994_10150659818846171_523151170_11605432_9388015_n.jpg

just one of my puppies

Postby MG Man » February 16th, 2012, 9:21 am

lighthammer, thanks for the feedback!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
you are definitely right about the tourist shot thing, and it's something I'll definitely work on....after thinking about what you said, I think I was subconsciously trying to replicate pics of the jetty I had seen before, rather than trying to put my own personal spin on it, because for the most part, I like to get down low as you said, and get more foreground into the shot.
Points noted, and hopefully I'll do better next time

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 16th, 2012, 10:55 am

I think I learnt more in those two posts from lighthammer than I did in phototakerouting class.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 16th, 2012, 11:03 am

uploadfromtaptalk1329404476903.jpg

View from Beaumont Ridge.