Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby adnj » March 31st, 2022, 2:46 pm

Trials of Ivermectin for COVID-19 Between Regions With High and Low Prevalence of Strongyloidiasis

Key Points

Question  Does prevalence of strongyloidiasis interact with the relative risk (RR) of mortality in ivermectin trials for the treatment of COVID-19?

Findings  In this meta-analysis of 12 randomized clinical trials involving 3901 patients, favorable mortality results were limited to trials in high-prevalence regions, with no evidence that ivermectin had a mortality benefit in low-prevalence regions. Meta-regression found an association between the regional prevalence of strongyloidiasis and risk of mortality, with a decrease in RR of 39% for each 5% increase in strongyloidiasis prevalence.

Meaning  Evidence supports that strongyloidiasis prevalence interacts with the RR of mortality in ivermectin trial results; no evidence was found to suggest ivermectin has any role in preventing mortality in patients with COVID-19 in regions where strongyloidiasis is not endemic.

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamane ... le/2790173

Postby timelapse » March 31st, 2022, 4:00 pm

adnj wrote:Trials of Ivermectin for COVID-19 Between Regions With High and Low Prevalence of Strongyloidiasis

Key Points

Question  Does prevalence of strongyloidiasis interact with the relative risk (RR) of mortality in ivermectin trials for the treatment of COVID-19?

Findings  In this meta-analysis of 12 randomized clinical trials involving 3901 patients, favorable mortality results were limited to trials in high-prevalence regions, with no evidence that ivermectin had a mortality benefit in low-prevalence regions. Meta-regression found an association between the regional prevalence of strongyloidiasis and risk of mortality, with a decrease in RR of 39% for each 5% increase in strongyloidiasis prevalence.

Meaning  Evidence supports that strongyloidiasis prevalence interacts with the RR of mortality in ivermectin trial results; no evidence was found to suggest ivermectin has any role in preventing mortality in patients with COVID-19 in regions where strongyloidiasis is not endemic.

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamane ... le/2790173
Aye,yuh lie!

Postby redmanjp » March 31st, 2022, 5:01 pm

so basically - the steroids which covid patients were taking were suppressing the immune system which allowed the strongyloidiasis to take hold killing those who didn't receive ivermectin. those who did take IVM were saved not because it treated covid but the strongyloidiasis.

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 8:16 am

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 8:44 am

Meanwhile in China....

Hong Kong authorities are asking the entire population of more than 7.4 million to voluntarily test themselves for COVID-19 for three days in a row.

https://abcn.ws/3K7sfrq

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 1:17 pm

CDC confirms risk of heart issues after COVID-19 infection, 2nd vax dose

TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — For the millions of Americans that have gotten COVID-19, the health care journey isn’t over. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention confirmed in a new report that the risk of cardiac complications persists following infection and recovery.

The report released April 1 paints the picture of ongoing risks and negative health outcomes that could spring up after a patient has gotten COVID-19. The report also touches on the potential risk of heart issues after receiving an mRNA vaccine for the coronavirus. The two mRNA vaccines available are from Pfizer and Moderna.

The report said cardiac complications, “particularly myocarditis and pericarditis,” have been tied to COVID-19 infection and mRNA COVID-19 vaccination. Additionally, the study by the CDC found cases of multisystem inflammatory syndrome, which the health agency described as “a rare but serious complication of SARS-CoV-2 infection with frequent cardiac involvement.”

https://www.wfla.com/community/health/c ... -dose/amp/

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 1:22 pm

'Hybrid immunity' gives best COVID protection: studies

People with the "hybrid immunity" of having been both fully vaccinated and previously infected with COVID-19 have the strongest protection against the virus, two new studies said on Friday.

After two years of a pandemic that has seen nearly 500 million people infected and billions vaccinated, the studies highlighted the importance of getting jabbed for those who have natural immunity after recovering from the disease.

One of the two studies published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases medical journal analyzed the health data of more than 200,000 people in 2020 and 2021 in hard-hit Brazil, which has the world's second-largest COVID death toll.

It found that for people who have already had COVID, Pfizer and AstraZeneca's vaccines offered 90 percent effectiveness against hospitalization and death, China's CoronaVac had 81 percent and Johnson & Johnson's one-shot jab had 58 percent.

"All four of these vaccines have proven to provide significant extra protection for those with a previous COVID-19 infection," said study author Julio Croda of the Federal University of Mato Grosso do Sul.

"Hybrid immunity due to exposure to natural infection and vaccination is likely to be the norm globally and might provide long-term protection even against emerging variants," Pramod Kumar Garg of India's Translational Health Science and Technology Institute said in a comment piece linked to the study.

A study using Sweden's nationwide register up to October 2021 meanwhile found that people who recovered from COVID retained a high level of protection against re-infection for up to 20 months.

And people with two-vaccine-dose hybrid immunity had a further 66 percent lower risk of re-infection than those with just natural immunity.

Paul Hunter, a professor in medicine at the University of East Anglia who was not involved in the study, told AFP that the 20 months of "very good protection" from natural immunity was "far better than we would expect for the original two-dose vaccine schedule".

But he cautioned that both studies were completed before the Omicron variant became dominant across the world, and that it had "notably dropped the protective value of a prior infection".

A study in Qatar published on the medRxiv pre-publication website last week gave an insight into the protection offered by hybrid immunity against Omicron.

It found that three vaccine doses had 52 percent effectiveness against symptomatic infection of the BA.2 Omicron subvariant—but that number jumped to 77 percent when the patient had been previously infected.

The study, which has not been peer reviewed, found that "hybrid immunity resulting from prior infection and recent booster vaccination confers the strongest protection" against both the BA.1 and BA.2 subvariants.

https://medicalxpress.com/news/2022-04- ... -covid.amp

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 3:35 pm

Rubbish.
Once u infected, the jab not giving any additional protection. Just wasting a needle.

Jan only helping if it duesnt kill u, or u don't have comorbidities.

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 3:53 pm

sMASH wrote:Rubbish.
Once u infected, the jab not giving any additional protection. Just wasting a needle.

Where you get that?

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 4:41 pm

Since last year adnj post them studies, evaluation of hospitalizations and the combination of Vax and previous infection.
I just highlighted that part of the graph.

No infection no Vax had a higher rate of hospitalizations.

Vax alone had low rate of hospitalization.

Vax + previous infection had lower rate of hospitalization than Vax alone. but the previous infection alone curve practically overlapped the Vax +previous infection curve.

So once ur previously infected, it didn't matter if u were vaxed or not, u had Same protection. Which was better than vaxed alone.

Israel at that time showed the Vax had waning immunity four months after, hence the push for boosters. But previous infection giving immunity more than a year pay infection,

No change to those observations, even now with UK data. Except that, everyone is expected to get omicron irrespective of Vax or infection with an older strain, and that, once u live, it will give u immunity.

Time to stop PUSHING Vax, just mske it available to those who want, cause omicron out performing it.

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 4:48 pm

Where you get that?
And still no response. Still no link. The earlier post was just stupid-talk.

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 6:18 pm

adnj wrote:

Where you get that?

have u taken ur 4th jab? if not, u may be undervaxed and susceptible to covee.
remember, wear ur non N95 cloth mask in open air, and stay home stay safe.

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 6:48 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

Where you get that?

have u taken ur 4th jab? if not, u may be undervaxed and susceptible to covee.
remember, wear ur non N95 cloth mask in open air, and stay home stay safe.
And still no response. Still no link.

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 7:08 pm

watch ur graphs, bri... bro.

Postby redmanjp » April 2nd, 2022, 9:30 pm

i think it was a Dr Campbell vid that showed protection from prior infection was almost as good as the vax. that said, no vulnerable person should try that approach - i.e. depending on natural immunity from infection, especially the 1st time infected without being vaxxed previously.

Postby adnj » April 3rd, 2022, 7:50 am

redmanjp wrote:i think it was a Dr Campbell vid that showed protection from prior infection was almost as good as the vax. that said, no vulnerable person should try that approach - i.e. depending on natural immunity from infection, especially the 1st time infected without being vaxxed previously.
The salient point is that vaccination plus infection (before or after vaccination) offers enhanced resistance to both infection and symptomatic response to COVID.

[T]the additional antigen exposure from natural infection substantially boosts the quantity, quality, and breadth of humoral immune response regardless of whether it occurs before or after vaccination.

https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/sciimmunol.abn8014

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2022, 8:09 am

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i think it was a Dr Campbell vid that showed protection from prior infection was almost as good as the vax. that said, no vulnerable person should try that approach - i.e. depending on natural immunity from infection, especially the 1st time infected without being vaxxed previously.
The salient point is that vaccination plus infection (before or after vaccination) offers enhanced resistance to both infection and symptomatic response to COVID.

[T]the additional antigen exposure from natural infection substantially boosts the quantity, quality, and breadth of humoral immune response regardless of whether it occurs before or after vaccination.

https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/sciimmunol.abn8014

Nah, antivaxxers say to half arse it makes more sense :roll:

Postby adnj » April 3rd, 2022, 1:20 pm

The new iteration of the virus, isolated from a mild Covid-19 patient in a city less than 70 km from Shanghai, evolves from the BA.1.1 branch of the Omicron variant, Global Times reported, citing sequencing data from local health authorities.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/govern ... ceed-13000

Postby redmanjp » April 3rd, 2022, 2:23 pm

Is that the new XE strain?

Postby hover11 » April 3rd, 2022, 2:37 pm

Is this why they on lockdown , how long were they aware of this new variant ?

Postby adnj » April 3rd, 2022, 4:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:Is that the new XE strain?
No. It is a new subvariant. XE is a recombinant variant. All of this information is in the story.

Postby hover11 » April 4th, 2022, 5:56 am

China has sent more than 10,000 health workers from across the country to Shanghai, including 2,000 military medical staff, as it struggles to stamp out a rapidly spreading COVID-19 outbreak in China's largest city.

https://abcn.ws/3J4bxaX

Postby adnj » April 4th, 2022, 7:59 am

Effectiveness of SARS-CoV-2 vaccines in the post-natural infection world

Published March 31, 2022

Primary exposure to an antigen leads to epitope-specific B-cell memory known as immune imprinting. Barring the ancestral virus infection, subsequent SARS-CoV-2 infections during multiple waves caused by variants have led to heterologous exposure to virus antigens. How immune imprinting by the first exposure, either by the virus or vaccine, affects the durability and breadth of immune responses remains to be studied. What additional protection does natural infection provide to vaccinated individuals and how durable is this protection? And what is the optimal timing of vaccination after natural infection? These questions are important in view of the large swath of the global population who have been exposed to natural infections caused by delta (B.1.617.2) and omicron (B.1.1.529) variants.

Hybrid immunity due to exposure to natural infection and vaccination is likely to be the norm globally and might provide long-term protection even against emerging variants. Besides vaccination, continued surveillance for further emergence of variants for their immune evasiveness and pathogenicity should continue.

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/laninf/article/PIIS1473-3099(22)00207-9/fulltext

Postby matr1x » April 4th, 2022, 8:26 am

Shrugs, it's just killing stragglers now.

There will be a million substrains. Nothing to really beat-up over.

Postby Les Bain » April 4th, 2022, 11:25 am

sMASH wrote:y we still wearing mask?

From 2014. Basically, hygiene, courtesy if the wearer is under the weather, or hiding just fuggin how cute some japanese are desu uwu.

https://japantoday.com/category/feature ... th-reasons

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2022, 2:08 am

If omicron is bad, prolly we need to lock back down like China...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 11th, 2022, 5:53 am

sMASH wrote:If omicron is bad, prolly we need to lock back down like China...

dem dread boi.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2022, 6:27 am

Fear d omicron, Bai. Fear d omicron!

Postby aaron17 » April 11th, 2022, 6:41 am

Fear China!

Postby hover11 » April 12th, 2022, 9:06 am

UK PRIME MINISTER TO BE FINED FOR BREACHING RESTRICTIONS.

The Metropolitan Police is set to fine Boris Johnson and Rishi Sunak for breaching lockdown rules.
The fixed penalty notice sent to the prime minister and Mr Sunak is part of fines sent to government staff who attended parties in Whitehall when COVID restrictions were in place during 2020 and 2021.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.c ... t-12577277