3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2012, 1:13 pm

Guys, I just heard from a friend UWI south is having their photography courses starting soon.

ANyone interested could contact them to find out more.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 4th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Some shots knocking about with the kit lens... All post processed in lightroom. (cause my shots never come out good straight from the camera :lol:)

and my personal fav: "Sun touch'd"

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2012, 10:33 pm

^^ NICe shots bra

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 5th, 2012, 12:17 am

thanks man.

Postby foss » February 5th, 2012, 12:21 am

wicked pics there MISHI

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2012, 6:14 am

smooth bokeh
what lens is that ?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 5th, 2012, 8:16 am

Note-this is not an HDR :|

Postby RBphoto » February 5th, 2012, 8:36 am

Chemical wrote:^^Mississauga this morning !

This belongs in the musccle babe thread brah... :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 5th, 2012, 9:57 am

pugboy wrote:smooth bokeh
what lens is that ?

the 18-55 kit lens with the canon.

trini mk5 that first shot really is nice...

Postby DVSTT » February 5th, 2012, 10:11 am

MISHI wrote:Some shots knocking about with the kit lens... All post processed in lightroom. (cause my shots never come out good straight from the camera :lol:)

and my personal fav: "Sun touch'd"

What's the major difference between lightroom and photoshop?

Postby RBphoto » February 5th, 2012, 11:22 am

MISHI wrote:trini mk5 that first shot really is nice...

For real. Nice light.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 5th, 2012, 12:23 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
MISHI wrote:trini mk5 that first shot really is nice...

For real. Nice light.

thanks guys...that day was a miserable day to shoot tho

deliah

Postby deliah » February 5th, 2012, 1:52 pm

tryin ah ting
Caroni swamp (1024x768).jpg
Last edited by deliah on February 5th, 2012, 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » February 5th, 2012, 2:00 pm

This one bess.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 5th, 2012, 3:10 pm

DVSTT wrote:What's the major difference between lightroom and photoshop?
Adobe Photoshop is for photo editing and image manipulation

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom is for photographer's workflow:
Library to catalog your photos - ability to sort and find by keywords or even by aperture size e.g. find all the photos you ever took at f/2.8 or at 35mm ir with a 70-200mm lens.

Loupe style photo sorting and ranking
Perfect for choosing a photo or shortlist of photos from a photoshoot

Photo editing for photographers:
Colour correction, A|B comparison, levels, histogram even corrections for specific lenses.

RAW and jpg editing

Lightroom is non-destructive photo editing since the original files are not touched yet no more hard drive space is consumed in making copies. (regular photoshop is destructive photo editing)
Read more about non-destructive editing here
http://thelightroomlab.com/2008/12/unde ... nt-system/

all in all Lightroom is Photoshop but made for photography, all the excess tools are removed and all the photography tools are expanded or added.

Postby DVSTT » February 5th, 2012, 7:14 pm

so lightroom is kinda like cameraraw then?

Postby MG Man » February 5th, 2012, 9:44 pm

Tobago today
tryin out new Fuji waterproof point and shoot Fujifilm XP20 14MP
Think price smart has these now for $1,500

first time using this panoramic thingy..figure a tripod will make this more seamless

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » February 5th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Nice shots MG Man.

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2012, 10:04 pm

lightroom is very good

newer photoshop does everything as a layer which can be kept nondestructive and saved a layered tiff
you can also send the photo directly to ps from lightroom and when saved it will be kept as a duplicate copy in lightroom

Postby wagon r » February 6th, 2012, 3:33 pm

MISHI wrote:
wagon r wrote:interesting pic Mish hopefully i could get up to your level one day... :P

Me? you downgrading yourself boy...

I trying to reach up to GW photography for 2 years now. :lol: :lol: :lol:

..reach up, homie, all i do is point the camera and pray it works out. :oops: :oops:

Postby wagon r » February 6th, 2012, 3:55 pm

IslandShack wrote:To all the photographers here maybe you can give me some advice. I have a bridge camera, but I really want to upgrade to a dslr, but since the cost is kind of high is there any where in Trinidad that rents DSLRs for a reasonable price?

I am looking at the t2i but to me that's still expensive, so I really wanted to use a DSLR first before I make the jump.

Also in an attempt to justify the cost, I just want to get an idea of how many of you all are professional or part time photogs? Do you use entry level DSLR's or do you need a full frame to really get into being a professional? Also other than being a wedding photographer how else can you make money in this area? I am asking all of these questions because I am interested in this but have no clue.

Renting is not an issue, there's a guy in Chaguanas, Raymond, you could rent from. Maybe a bit pricey, all his equipment is top notch and many people rent from him, I included.

You don't need an expensive camera to jump in. I would say though that the lower crop of cameras now are coming with the sensors and features of the bigger ones, so you get many of the pros w/o the high price.

As for how we make money, we don't, in the earlies. I shot 3 weddings of friends before I got my 1st paying one. And to be honest, I had no idea what I doing to a point, but havin an eye for what you are shooting is key. The best thing I did was ask a pro to second shoot with me and teach me the ropes. Never regreted it and he still works with me now whenever I need a 2nd shooter. I even did a couple by myself.

True story, one of those free weddings, the couple chose to use my shots over the guy they paid to shoot their wedding. The same guy even asked me to shoot for him, after seeing me handle the camera.

Weddings can and are VERY time consuming. And it starts before the wedding day. You have to check all your gear, sight visit the venue around the time it starts to gain an idea of lighting. Find portrait location, hope it doesn't rain, so then you have to get a back up locaton. You have watch what you eat the day before (cyar have rumblin bowels), there's the day, the couple, the family, the guests and then, the editing...!

It takes time to make money and gain a reputation in photography, as their are many established names. Also, it may be good to find one particular area you are good at. Motorsports has no money in it, that I could tell off the bat, and whatever you make goes right back into gear.

To me, despite what some may say, it's still a hobby for me. I don't consider myself a professional, even though by practice I am. Every day, every event, I learn something and never be afraid to try something new. 8-)

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 6th, 2012, 5:30 pm

^^great advice there gerrad

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 6th, 2012, 6:36 pm

Which is why I stopped really... I went into the idea that I'd frame my shots of birds, floweres, scenery etc and sell it but when you calculate the costs to put everything together how many people gonna really buy em to make a fair profit... or just break even for that matter.

And added to that so many other established and well known people doing shots with MUCH better cameras and lenses I can't even dream of owning... I just don't see the market for a "poser" like me. So now I just shoot for fun from time to time.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 7th, 2012, 1:28 am

Boom!
Hold dat dey...

Taken with:
D200 with 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 AFS Kit lens
Processing - Adobe Lightroom 3.0

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 7th, 2012, 2:09 am

Backshot of the navara is win!!

Nice to see some shots from the sibe-b crew :D

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2012, 7:23 am

Nikon hitting the 2012 marketing campaign hard with D4 and D800
Canon yet to respond

Postby RBphoto » February 7th, 2012, 8:09 am

pugboy wrote:Nikon hitting the 2012 marketing campaign hard with D4 and D800
Canon yet to respond

Nikon was smart. They introduced many nice lenses over the last coupple of years to support these new high resolution beasts. Now when somebody buys one of these, and realize that the limit of their sytem resolution is the glass... guess what... Nikon has just what they need.

I am assuming that someone who buys these actually care for all of that resolution, will be checking for it on test charts and will see the need for new glass. The hobbyist who would buy this already bought the good glass.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 7th, 2012, 9:15 am

the new D4 is magical....

Hmmm.. maybe I can put down for a lightly used d300??

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 7th, 2012, 9:37 am

crossdrilled wrote:
pugboy wrote:Nikon hitting the 2012 marketing campaign hard with D4 and D800
Canon yet to respond

Nikon was smart. They introduced many nice lenses over the last coupple of years to support these new high resolution beasts. Now when somebody buys one of these, and realize that the limit of their sytem resolution is the glass... guess what... Nikon has just what they need.

I am assuming that someone who buys these actually care for all of that resolution, will be checking for it on test charts and will see the need for new glass. The hobbyist who would buy this already bought the good glass.

Canon coming out with some good stuff too. Nikon needs more lenses though

Postby RBphoto » February 7th, 2012, 10:37 am

What you mean to say is Nikon need some "Tweeen" lenses. I don't think that they think so. They are concentrating on making their good lenses better, but not offering a confusing amount of variations, such as canon did with it's 70-200mm offerings, just so a poor man could get a great lens with half of the functions. With Nikon you have to go all in for the good glass with all the bells and whistles. One thing to note, they still manufacture many older lens options. Nikon will be nikon and canon will be canon... their marketing strategies work for them.