Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 7:33 pm

Was considering the H80.....not sure if to go with Corsair again :/

More comfortable with the Noctua/V6GT

This is a side view of my mobo btw

iM@st@1

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » September 27th, 2012, 7:56 pm

Ya might def get problems mounting the d14 next to that mobo HS, the v6 have a similar size as well. Think about if u ever need to replace a ram stick, ur gonna have to take off the cooler to do so. I was glad I got rid of my d14 cause it was such a hassle to work around despite the bess performance

The corsairs coming with a 5yr warranty so ya safe. The antec units are g8t also, but if u deadset on one of those massive air coolers go strong bro

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 27th, 2012, 9:05 pm

Dat NB cooler reminds me of the EVGA 775 Sli boards dem, was a real pain to mount certain heatsinks.

The V6GT might be a better bet than the Noctua.

Postby M_2NR » September 27th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Dat looking like fun to clean.
A good hose down could work on that type of HS HCCA? I have a CM one I need to clean and I too lazy to wipe... It won't cause it rust or anything ent?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 27th, 2012, 9:44 pm

M_2NR wrote:Dat looking like fun to clean.
A good hose down could work on that type of HS HCCA? I have a CM one I need to clean and I too lazy to wipe... It won't cause it rust or anything ent?

Nah no rust, they usually aluminium/nickel coated.

I does dust the hsf with a brush first, then hose it out, then soak it in a bowl with water and vinegar, then rinse it out and put it in the sun to dry. :D

Did that to a Frio cooler i buy today.

Does flush my liquid systems with vinegar/distilled water sometimes.
Last edited by HCCA on September 27th, 2012, 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 10:23 pm

I heard that distilled water is better to use than coolant :?
Kinda hard to believe though :|

WRT to the V6GT....I think it would be safer :lol:

Just don't wanna end up like Price @10:10 :shock:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 27th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I heard that distilled water is better to use than coolant :?

Yeah i was reading that yesterday.

I gonna run distilled water plus a biocide called PT Nuke in my systems next rongs. I already have uv reactive coloured tubing so i don't need coloured coolants again. :D

Plus dem fancy coolants expensive and does leave deposits in the tubing and blocks after a while.

Postby M_2NR » September 27th, 2012, 11:17 pm

HCCA wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Dat looking like fun to clean.

Nah no rust, they usually aluminium/nickel coated.

I does dust the hsf with a brush first, then hose it out, then soak it in a bowl with water and vinegar, then rinse it out and put it in the sun to dry. :D

Did that to a Frio cooler i buy today.

Does flush my liquid systems with vinegar/distilled water sometimes.

thanks! :)
Just needed confirmation on that.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 28th, 2012, 6:14 am

firstchoicett wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:Those SEA Laptops are password specific for the IT admins,as in each school would be different depending on what password the IT Tech for the school comes up with.Same as Bios password except for the 2nd year lenevo laptops,which have no bios passwords.

It have many ways around that .

Really now?

when you find out a method to work around the cmos password let us know cupcakes :lol: :lol:

xaira

Postby xaira » September 28th, 2012, 6:37 am

jed, i just put the hdd in another pc and reset the Vendor password using a boot up usb tool, i doubt the people who will be checking them have the HP vendor password so i leave the other 2 admin accounts untouched

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 28th, 2012, 7:09 am

ru$$ell wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:Those SEA Laptops are password specific for the IT admins,as in each school would be different depending on what password the IT Tech for the school comes up with.Same as Bios password except for the 2nd year lenevo laptops,which have no bios passwords.

It have many ways around that .

Really now?

when you find out a method to work around the cmos password let us know cupcakes :lol: :lol:

Use Google you will get the answer.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 28th, 2012, 9:15 am

How to Upgrade Your Notebook Graphics Card Using DIY ViDOCK

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.a ... s+notebook

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 28th, 2012, 11:33 am

^^ that is VERY badass!!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 28th, 2012, 11:57 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:How to Upgrade Your Notebook Graphics Card Using DIY ViDOCK

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.a ... s+notebook

Might take a go at this !!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 29th, 2012, 7:34 am

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 29th, 2012, 9:09 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Scout 2 has reached Newegg :D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119263

On amazon too:

http://www.amazon.com/CM-Storm-Scout-Co ... out+2+case

Free shipping vs the $17 shipping from newegg.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 30th, 2012, 6:15 pm

anyone here tried gaming with a 3d monitor?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 30th, 2012, 6:27 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:anyone here tried gaming with a 3d monitor?

Yup.

AOC 23 inch.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 30th, 2012, 6:46 pm

^^ is it worth it?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 30th, 2012, 7:17 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:^^ is it worth it?

Well to me, yeah.

Makes a big difference in visuals for gaming mostly.

Some movies in 3d look nice but gaming is where you get the most effects.

Played batman arkham city, borderlands, metro 2033, nfs hot pursuit, singularity in 3d mode already. Note that u need to have a pretty good system since your fps pretty much cuts in half when rendering the 3d images.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 30th, 2012, 7:43 pm

HCCA wrote:

Well to me, yeah.

Played batman arkham city, borderlands, metro 2033, nfs hot pursuit, singularity in 3d mode already. Note that u need to have a pretty good system since your fps pretty much cuts in half when rendering the 3d images.

I was considering this for a while, but just can't make up my mind. You ever got head aches after playing for a while on it? Any strain in the eyes?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 30th, 2012, 8:00 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Well to me, yeah.

I was considering this for a while, but just can't make up my mind. You ever got head aches after playing for a while on it? Any strain in the eyes?

I got one too, prob the same one HCCA got, paid $1675 and feels a lot bigger than 23" to me... and you get 2 free glasses. Anyway yesterday i started batman arkham city once again just because of how epic the game looks in 3d, played all day, not a single headache or eye strain, it's even more comfortable than in the movies. Like HCCA said some movies look great but the games are where you see the depth. And it converts any video to 3d too. I would say it's a must.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 30th, 2012, 9:31 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:

Nah no strain/headaches. The included glasses fit nice over my prescription glasses.

Usually play games for like 2-3 hrs at a time and never got any eye strain or anything.

I think with the nvidia 3d system you get eye strain cuz it's active shutter glasses vs the passive ones for the AOC.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » September 30th, 2012, 9:38 pm

HCCA wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Nah no strain/headaches. The included glasses fit nice over my prescription glasses.

Usually play games for like 2-3 hrs at a time and never got any eye strain or anything.

I think with the nvidia 3d system you get eye strain cuz it's active shutter glasses vs the passive ones for the AOC.

exactly so.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 30th, 2012, 10:22 pm

As ollour on the topic, I went ahead and got the AOC e2352phz monitor (for FPS gaming) because I was getting mixed feedback about the input lag of the Dell U2312HM. I still have to get another monitor (for non-gaming), but not immediately, and might as well get the Dell U2312HM (unless a better model comes out) mainly because of the IPS panel.

Usually when you ask someone about input lag, you wouldn't get a precise answer. What a person who is playing something like Darksiders 2 might refer to as 'not noticeable', might be very noticeable to a someone who is trying to snipe a guy on a motorcycle at 200 kph.

I took some pics while using the Flatpanels input lag program (which is not 100% accurate but it still gives a good idea)

Almost 0-input lag :shock:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 30th, 2012, 10:25 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:I was considering this for a while, but just can't make up my mind. You ever got head aches after playing for a while on it? Any strain in the eyes?

I have been using my tv (passive3d) for quite a while and never got any headache/eyestrain in 3d mode. If you running game for like 12+ hours in one stretch, sure, your eyes might not feel well, but that would happen in 2D mode as well :|

Both active & passive 3d have their advantages/disadvantages.
Active3d usually causes headache/eyestrain because of the way it displays the individual frames to the left & right eyes, causing flickering (even though you won't notice the flickering, you will 'feel' it)
An upside is that active 3d needs a 120Hz monitor so if you aren't using 3d mode, you can use the 120Hz in 2d mode.

Passive doesn't usually cause headache/eyestrain because there is no flickering. The only downside I can see with passive 3d is that it 'supposedly' delivers half the resolution to each eye (compared to active 3d which 'supposedly' delivers full resolution to each eye) which, if you are really looking to spot the difference, you will notice it. If you sit far from your screen, you probably will not.

Oh yeah, as mentioned by ichiniisama99 and HCCA, games have the better effects, and you need a good GPU (regardless of Active3D or Passive3D). My GTX460 was able to run Arkham City and Mirror's Edge in 3D at 720p without stuttering. Didn't get to try Arkham City at 1080, but Mirror's Edge ran really slow at 1080.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 1st, 2012, 10:15 am

New phantom coming soon. Can't wait to see what updates were made. Feel like I could hold on to mine forever, really great chassis.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 1st, 2012, 10:30 am

good feedback, HCCA, ichiniisama99 what AOC model do you guys use, I was checking the AOC E2352PHZ 23. Descent price for a 3D Monitor. Is it the same as yours?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 1st, 2012, 10:48 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:good feedback, HCCA, ichiniisama99 what AOC model do you guys use, I was checking the AOC E2352PHZ 23. Descent price for a 3D Monitor. Is it the same as yours?

Yup same one i haz.

However is two 'normal' (over the ear type) glasses u get, not a clip on and a normal type.

Wizz and supertech selling dem now.

Bought mine from tech n fiz on here for $1750 i believe, got 3 years warranty so i good with that. :D

iM@st@1 wrote:New phantom coming soon. Can't wait to see what updates were made. Feel like I could hold on to mine forever, really great chassis.

Hopefully dey introduce triple rad support on top and ah external 2.5" drive bay for card readers, fan controller etc.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 1st, 2012, 11:36 am

HCCA wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:good feedback, HCCA, ichiniisama99 what AOC model do you guys use, I was checking the AOC E2352PHZ 23. Descent price for a 3D Monitor. Is it the same as yours?

Yup same one i haz.

However is two 'normal' (over the ear type) glasses u get, not a clip on and a normal type.

Wizz and supertech selling dem now.

Bought mine from tech n fiz on here for $1750 i believe, got 3 years warranty so i good with that. :D

iM@st@1 wrote:New phantom coming soon. Can't wait to see what updates were made. Feel like I could hold on to mine forever, really great chassis.

Hopefully dey introduce triple rad support on top and ah external 2.5" drive bay for card readers, fan controller etc.

Yeah same here, but i bought mine in supertech for $1675 with one year warranty. Yuh won't be disappointed.