Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

rx80

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby rx80 » May 14th, 2013, 9:23 pm

I do the same with kois, plecos, tetras, bala sharks, silver dollars, chiclids, puffer, loaches and non seem to bother with 30% changes... In my koi pond I'm a bit more careful and leave a tank to stale for a week before adding..

Btw guys I have 2lbs of spirulina flakes for sale if anyone interested they can pm for details..

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 15th, 2013, 8:07 am

Like I said, I only do a 30% water change, and I do not have 'delicate' fish in my tank. And I have been getting away with this technique for over a year now.

The main reason for this shortcut, is because due to to where the tank is, it is very tedious, to transport water to the tank, as it can only be done in buckets. Thats alot of buckets for a 4ft tank. And also, I really dont have a container big enough to treat so much water before putting it into the tank. So I just easily run a water hose from the tap and refill the tank. So far fish are happy, and most importantly, I am happy, cause ah doh ha plenty bucket to tote!!

Postby meccalli » May 15th, 2013, 4:16 pm

I always do my water changes the old fashioned way, no conditioners. Just fill a barrel, drop an air stone in and let it sit 1 week, sun exposure and all. 40% water change per week, use it for marine top off and fresh, any nitrates, w/e in it, I let the tank's bio filter handle it. buckets out = buckets in LOL, I fraid your method Kasey haha. Dunno if we have chloramines in our tap water and that always bugged me but I guess its worked out so far for donkey years.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 15th, 2013, 4:23 pm

^ I'm curious, what's your water parameters in Valsayn, ph & hardness

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 15th, 2013, 4:29 pm

I didnt say it is the right way, and I am also stressing: 'Do at your own risk!!' The tap water has been kind to us in Gaspy I guess.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 15th, 2013, 6:53 pm

ryan99tt wrote:U takin plenty chance there bro...jus do it before putting it in to be safe...if u wanna just add tap water to the tank it also depends on the size of your tank...the ratio of non-chlorinated to chlorinated water...

That is rall chance you takin dan. SUppose as you turn on the hose it start to fizz up?

Went to Chai's, Charrans, Pet Shop Boys and about 3 other pet shops in Sando by accident today lol.

Chai's - bought a amazon sword leaf for $30 and a wisteria for $15. he had some of what I thought were zebra tetas until I asked the girl who said they weren't tetas but more of an armored catfish (for $30). Might buy that Saturday. He had some arowanas for $170 but after Fishy Bizniz had them for $70 I go wait for the right opp to buy 'em :3 I forgot how big Arapaimas got until I saw them today O.O Good luck to whoever minin dem tings

Petshop Boys - Arapaimas, alligator gars, bichirs, bess discus tank, real nice place. Bought a amazon sword leaf for $30. Even though it had some holes in the leaves it'll fill up the tank nice. Even though I don't really fancy siclids They had some nice ones in the front tank. What really got my eye though was that discus tank. the lil pebbles look like cereal and the small plants looked like a carpet. Ah hadda link up some ah dem inna timin.

Charrans - Place looked deserted till the young boy come out. He say they ain't have no fish but Monday he getting. The only thing he had was arapaimas ($3000). Saw a covered down R35 too :)

Nature World - had an alligator gar that looked sick and 2 paimas (again for $3k). Had canaries for $1350 but only Daddy get excited for that - I was still takin een the paimas. Had a orange Asanti Range and a 350Z - just like Charrans I liked the car more than the fishes.

Postby meccalli » May 15th, 2013, 9:58 pm

mojosodope wrote:^ I'm curious, what's your water parameters in Valsayn, ph & hardness

Never tested, but if I had to guess, very hard(it is hard) and a pH that suits amazonians, my Oscar and tinfoils been happy for years. My area is right by the training college. The quality has been very poor since the last couple years. Always dirty/lots of dissolved solids, yellow water :/ Settles out after a few days. edit, rainwater is pure gold for me, fish LOVE IT. I change water everyday once rain falling and i collecting.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 16th, 2013, 10:56 am

Lake Wanam Rainbowfish

ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21368716185.168253.jpg

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 16th, 2013, 10:13 pm

Yodins wrote: Charrans - Place looked deserted till the young boy come out. He say they ain't have no fish but Monday he getting. The only thing he had was arapaimas ($3000). Saw a covered down R35 too :)

That sounds about right. Young boi kool tho. Charran's do not really cater for normal resales, they cater mostly for wholesale.

Postby meccalli » May 16th, 2013, 10:29 pm

Anybody have experience with planted tanks? wanna start one. Any idea on what substrate I can use?

mojosodope

Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby mojosodope » May 17th, 2013, 12:26 am

meccalli wrote:Anybody have experience with planted tanks? wanna start one. Any idea on what substrate I can use?

I just use regular pool filter sand with root tabs and occasional liquid fertilisers, a lot of people locally just use regular gravel tho.

Postby meccalli » May 17th, 2013, 5:35 am

Cool, thanks!

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 17th, 2013, 8:58 pm

Kasey wrote:
Yodins wrote: Charrans - Place looked deserted till the young boy come out. He say they ain't have no fish but Monday he getting. The only thing he had was arapaimas ($3000). Saw a covered down R35 too :)

That sounds about right. Young boi kool tho. Charran's do not really cater for normal resales, they cater mostly for wholesale.

The Wholesale is where the money is at.
Yunno the first building that painted an ting in front?, that one gonna be for imports and the other 2 building in the back gonna be for exports. Daddy friend does sell dem baby tetas. Sometime 4 bucket full with 200 teta each @ $1 for one an ting. It come like they raping the rivers and making a killing.

Foreigners be like "Is that the Armoured Plecostomus? The Blue Acara? dat time is normal coscarob an teta an ting. Doh talk for the wolf fish (guabine)"

meccalli wrote:Anybody have experience with planted tanks? wanna start one. Any idea on what substrate I can use?

I used the finest river gravel I could find from Lopinot. Only problem is is it had a LOT of mud in it and was a pain to get clean. Maybe if I planned out how I was supposed to rinse it out before it would have been eaasier. I goin and upload some pics dey now

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 17th, 2013, 10:31 pm

So I wanna do a filtration system for my tank. Its three fresh water six foot tanks on a rack one on top the other. Want to use one tank as filter. Any ideas how do do this without drilling holes in the tanks?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 17th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So I wanna do a filtration system for my tank. Its three fresh water six foot tanks on a rack one on top the other. Want to use one tank as filter. Any ideas how do do this without drilling holes in the tanks?

Overflow boxes

Postby meccalli » May 17th, 2013, 11:16 pm

http://www.melevsreef.com/allmysumps.html
Here's a good source on explaining that weir/overflow wet/dry stuff. Useful when I was considering it.

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 4:27 pm

i have 7 discus but my 2 biggest ones are only hiding, i had them for about a week and a half now can you please help me.
my aquarium is 48 by 18 by 18 inch
it is a dirted thak and had lots of plants like amazon sawords , jungle val ,sage, javer fern ,javer moss,star grass , squirl tale ,roteller
i also have 6 neon tetras ,7 serape tetra ,8 bronzer corys ,2 germ blue rams

will post a pic
1369087281075.jpg
Last edited by bir123 on May 20th, 2013, 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JM

Postby JM » May 20th, 2013, 6:11 pm

^what exactly is the problem?
the hiding? Discus hiding can be normal....Especially if they arent famiilar with the surroundings or with people being infront the tank. Are they feeding?
Are there non discus fish in the tank?

mojosodope wrote:

I just use regular pool filter sand with root tabs and occasional liquid fertilisers, a lot of people locally just use regular gravel tho.

Ive had good success using normal gravel. But the plants werent......anything fancy.......
It was in a discus tank though so not many fish in the tank. But tank must have the right lighting or adequate sunlight exposure....which in itself...can cause problems....

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 6:55 pm

yes they are but i have to put by them they won't come out . they only come out when i am not there . and yes there are non discus fish in the thank. 6 neon tetras ,7 serape tetra ,8 bronzer corys ,2 germ blue rams
1369087211156.jpg

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 6:57 pm

discus hiding
20130520_180639.jpg

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 7:01 pm

do you need a heater for the discus because my pet store have a thank and they don't keep a heater and where can i get some one to build a wooden stand for my four feet

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 20th, 2013, 7:54 pm

I've had issues with my discus in the past where the temperature in the tank was only 79 degrees and they weren't as active, also I kept rams with them for a time and they were bullying the discus.

GBRs and other dwarf cichlids have a tendency to get territorial especially when mating or not given enough natural boundaries. So you might want to check your temp and monitor aggression, also poor water quality from the dirt releasing ammonia into the water column can be the cause of hiding.

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 8:49 pm

I do weekly 75 %water change but i don't have a heater or thermometer so i do not know the temperature of the thank .i am going to buy one and do you have any suggestion on the brand and places in San Fernando that have also send me a pic of the albino discus please

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 20th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Closest ill be able to suggest is pet shop boys. I recommend either fluval or eheim heaters, but if your tank hovers around 82 degrees throughout the day you don't need to get one.

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 20th, 2013, 11:30 pm

It is around that but during the rainy days it gets cold thats why i want to invest in one

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » May 21st, 2013, 1:16 am

Get a thermometer and monitor your tank temps. My discus tank is a little bigger and I use a 48x18x18 that I had as a sump. Even though I have 2 x 300w heaters in the sump, the volume of water takes quite a while to drop temps.

For the size tank you have, get at least a 300w heater. And if you are serious about discus, invest in a temperature controller for any tanks where you use heaters. Had.the experience of the thermostat control on a heater blowing and boiling a breeding pair of angels.

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 21st, 2013, 6:08 am

Where can i get a thermometer for a reasonable price i saw pet shop boys have one for 50 .

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » May 21st, 2013, 7:17 pm

Got a few cheap digital ones on amazon. I use 2 per discus tank.one digital and one liquid filled.

1NZ-FE Powered

Postby 1NZ-FE Powered » May 21st, 2013, 7:18 pm

Got a few cheap digital ones on amazon. I use 2 per discus tank.one digital and one liquid filled.

bir123

Postby bir123 » May 21st, 2013, 8:20 pm

Thanks nu image have for 20

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app