Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 125210 (+722) cases, 3596 (+14) deaths, 20994 active, 100620 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » February 24th, 2022, 8:24 pm

smash, you sound hurt that we made a choice that was not your choice, and real relentless about it.

why is that? i thought we were free to make our own choices?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 125210 (+722) cases, 3596 (+14) deaths, 20994 active, 100620 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2022, 8:35 pm

baaaaahhhhh.

Postby adnj » February 24th, 2022, 8:59 pm

CDC to update masking guidance as soon as Friday

The CDC plans to announce as soon as tomorrow that it has created new metrics for determining when people should use masks and take other COVID precautions, according to sources familiar with the plan, including a source involved in developing the system.

Why it matters: The new metrics would allow less masking for most of the U.S. population, and would suggest universal masking only in places being hit hardest by the virus.

State of play: The CDC has developed the new benchmarks over the last six weeks or so, the source said, as Omicron hit the U.S. and then receded.

The goal is to move away from using case counts alone to determine when to mask and take other precautions, like distancing or avoiding high-risk settings.

Currently, the CDC recommends universal indoor masking in areas of substantial or high transmission, which includes the vast majority of U.S. counties.

The new benchmarks will instead tie masking recommendations to a combination of a community's level of cases, hospitalizations and hospital capacity, the source said.

The CDC is basing its updated benchmarks on data from previous surges as well as modeling.

Between the lines: As vaccination and booster rates have risen, case counts have become an increasingly less meaningful measure of the severity of the pandemic. Many experts argue that hospitalizations and the amount of severe cases are much better indicators of how serious an outbreak is.

Yes, but: The new guidance may not have much of a practical impact for many Americans.

Many cities and states have already lifted their mask mandates as Omicron subsides — and plenty more haven't had a mask mandate for a long time, if ever.

https://www.axios.com/coronavirus-masks ... 2ef77.html

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2022, 9:04 pm

st7 wrote:smash, you sound hurt that we made a choice that was not your choice, and real relentless about it.

Anti vaxxers choice not to vax is the only "right" choice it seems. remember, they are the only thing preventing total anarchy and mind control by Bill Gates. :lol:

Postby redmanjp » February 24th, 2022, 9:07 pm

we need to do this here as well just like with AZ

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2022, 9:25 pm

dogg wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:
Redman wrote:
Monk BANzai wrote:Conversations Change with Context... I like this.... even for myself..that you can walk back from a certain position... doesn't make you "right all along" but context....

Regarding the 4 o'clock analogy, Joe wasn't saying "he was right all along", he was saying that we need to be able to discuss things because nothing is set in stone. If anything Joe has always proved himself to be able to 'stand corrected' BECAUSE nothing is set in stone.

Rogan taking a beating tho

3 or so podcasts out of 2000+

Rumble counter offers with 100 million reasons to migrate- Great move...

PBD drooling for a Musk/Rogan JV....Bosss Concept...

Jordan Peterson thinks they would be lunatics to drop him, contrasts CNN being ignorant of what it takes to have 11M followers.
MSM being beaten by a non journalist.

White house says drop him for fake news...but stayed quiet when Biden,Fauci and CNN said vaccines stopped transmission and infection.
DESPITE KNOWING THAT THE VAX DONT WORK. LIKE THAT.
Their doc lied,admitted to it on JRE but that ain't fake.

All of a sudden the C19 fake news is pushed back because he used the N word.

Lines are being drawn.
Main Stream Media is fighting for it's life, no rules and no prisoners.

Take a reacharound dey.

yuh posting sense again Reddo. Stop it.

Clearly you haven't seen Noah's response to the racist podcasts from Joe Rogan, maybe your admiration might drop a tad. :roll:

I have. Admiration levels like Bodi. Unaffected. Whats you point exactly tho. I not like dem others in here who does pick sense from your muffler bearing. Spell it out. What. Is. Your. Point?

I can tell you mine. I was never and continue to NOT have a solid stance on the issues being discussed within this thread. If anything i am constantly learning....Difference with you is you does buy the whole Vene apartment complex in Felicity and then when Police/GEB/SORT/Immigration raid does say "BUH I DIDNT KNOW THE OWNER WAS......"

you are Chief cook and bottle washer when it comes to taking other ppls medicine...doh stop!! its entertaining to us!

ok that was reaching ...hahahahahhaahaha but i'll leave you to type some cryptic response...yuh have time tho....Smallies coming fast and furious these days...

Also this. I am 1000% in agreement with this. So do the math.

You're an embarrassment to black people. A white man denigrates black people and your lame arse response is not to criticize it, but to try to denigrate me? :roll: Keep not having a solid stance because the last thing needed is a Trini Uncle Tom.

Why are you folks still arguing about irrelevant murikan talking heads??

Not irrelevant because we have black people here not only not condemning it, but actually gleeful that he's "making money" and "owning the libs"
Typical racist GOP talking points, while said GOP dismantling black people's rights left right and center. Then again, the guilty ones are incapable of original thought, so whatever is fed to them, either by white American millionaires, or blackest PM's ever, they swallow and regurgitate without question.

Postby st7 » February 24th, 2022, 10:05 pm

st7 wrote:smash, you sound hurt that we made a choice that was not your choice, and real relentless about it.

Anti vaxxers choice not to vax is the only "right" choice it seems. remember, they are the only thing preventing total anarchy and mind control by Bill Gates. :lol:

it seem so. i feel antivaxxers are scientologists without being scientologists.

Postby adnj » February 25th, 2022, 8:04 am

Looks like non-mRNA vaccines can be as good as Pfizer and Moderna in certain scenarios

February 24, 2022

More than 20 COVID vaccines are in use globally, each one based on the ancestral coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 that surfaced in Wuhan, China, over two years ago. Among them, mRNA vaccines are believed to offer the best protection against severe disease.

"It's been clear for quite a while that none of them is as good as the mRNA vaccines that dominate the U.S. landscape," says Nathaniel Landau, a virologist at NYU Langone Health in New York, referring to the Pfizer and Moderna shots.

But a new preprint study shows that other vaccines can be as effective as mRNA shots when given to people who've had a prior SARs-CoV-2 infection.

For these individuals "it doesn't matter which vaccine they get," says Theodora Hatziiouannou, a virologist at The Rockefeller University in New York who helped lead the study. "They will likely be protected against [reinfection from] all the current variants."

During the study, scientists collected blood samples from 197 fully-immunized people in Mexico, where five types of COVID vaccines have been deployed so far. Roughly half these individuals were infected prior to vaccination, and the researchers had records of which type of shot they were each given.

Then the team measured how well immune cells and the molecules they produce in those blood samples could recognize and bind to portions of the SARS-CoV-2 virus — specifically its spike proteins. Spike proteins jut from SARS-CoV-2 like studs on a tire and hook onto human cell receptors to initiate an infection. When the immune components are able to bind to these proteins and block them, the virus is unable to enter a cell and is therefore unable to replicate.

The researchers tested the immune response to spike proteins from the ancestral coronavirus as well from newer variants, including omicron BA.1. The newer omicron BA.2 variant had only recently surfaced when the study began and was not evaluated

To compare how well the vaccines worked to prevent viral spike proteins from binding to cells, the team zeroed in on two of the immune system's key components.

First, are neutralizing antibodies — they provide a frontline defense that deflect spikes from their human cell target.

Second are antibody-producing B cells that provide long-term reinforcements. These cells retain a memory of the virus' spike protein and can rapidly generate new and even better antibodies against it long after the front-line neutralizing antibodies have waned.

Analyzing the blood samples revealed two sets of results. In people who hadn't yet been infected with SARs-CoV-2, mRNA shots elicited the best anti-viral responses from antibodies and memory B cells. But the strength of those responses dwindled a bit more with each successive variant of the virus. And while mRNA retained a consistent lead against the variants, neither the mRNA shots nor the other vaccines could mount appreciable responses to prevent infection by omicron — although according to Moore, other immune components called T cells can provide added protection from severe disease. T cells were not measured in the study.

In people who had been infected with SARs-CoV-2 and were then vaccinated, the outcome was completely different: All the vaccines provided a major immunological boost against re-infection, and the differences between the mRNA shots and the other ones "began to blur," says John Moore, a virologist at Weill Cornell Medicine in New York who was not involved in the study.

https://www.npr.org/sections/goatsandso ... ertain-sce

Postby adnj » February 26th, 2022, 5:09 am

Coronavirus Briefing: A Powerful New Vaccine

The makers of a new coronavirus vaccine announced results from their clinical trials today — and they are very promising.

The pharmaceutical companies, Sanofi and GSK, which are based in Europe, said two doses of their new Covid vaccine achieved 100 percent efficacy against severe disease and hospitalizations. The new vaccine had an efficacy of 75 percent against moderate to severe disease.

It showed 58 percent efficacy against symptomatic disease in its Phase 3 clinical trial. That is a lower number than in initial Pfizer and Moderna trials but “in line with expected vaccine effectiveness in today’s environment dominated by variants of concern,” Sanofi and GSK said in a statement.

The companies also said that the new shot could be an effective booster. When used as an extra dose after one of the other available coronavirus vaccines, it increased antibody levels by 18- to 30-fold. The vaccine was safe and well tolerated by adults of all ages, the companies said. The data has not yet been published.

The new vaccine, one of four that received funding from the Trump administration’s Operation Warp Speed program, is based on a conventional approach. The best target for Covid vaccines is the spike protein that covers the surface of the virus like a crown, and the Sanofi-GSK vaccine uses a slightly modified version of the protein to stimulate an immune response. The mRNA vaccines, by contrast, contain the genetic instructions for making the protein.

This familiar approach may persuade some people who have been hesitant to adopt the newer mRNA technology. Protein-based vaccines are also relatively inexpensive to manufacture and may not require the ultracold storage needed for the mRNA vaccines, making them more likely candidates for use in African nations where vaccine coverage is still low.

The companies said they intended to submit the vaccine for authorization in the U.S. and Europe. They were expected to seek authorization last year, but clinical trials showed disappointing results in older adults. They then developed a stronger version for new trials.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/02/23/brie ... efing.html

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2022, 5:54 am

Bill gates vex the count get thr jabs into people before omicron hit
FB_IMG_1646301192961.jpg

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2022, 10:58 am

We will soon have treatments to keep ppl out of hospital, though Merck's pill is only 30% effective. Paxlovid will be the game changer with 90% effectiveness. this is when we can live with covid, without dying from it.

https://www.reuters.com/business/healthcare-pharmaceuticals/who-recommends-mercks-covid-pill-high-risk-patients-2022-03-02/

Postby adnj » March 4th, 2022, 4:21 am

Are medicines affecting our response to infections like COVID19

2 March 2022

A wide-reaching global review has found that some of the most common pain and fever medicines might increase vulnerability to infections like COVID-19, while others may hold hope for improving our immune response.

Key findings of the clinical review

For pain: Morphine suppresses key cells of the immune system and increases the risk of infection, particularly after cancer surgery.

For fever: Antipyretics – e.g. Paracetamol, Ibuprofen, Aspirin – can reduce the desirable immune response when taken for vaccination. 

Aspirin could be an affordable and accessible therapeutic option for tuberculosis – which mainly afflicts poor countries, with beneficial results shown in animals and humans.

Anti-inflammatory medicine indomethacin may reduce viral replication in Covid-19 but large-scale human trials are needed.

The largest clinical review of immune responses to paracetamol, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) and opioid analgesics, with a focus on infectious diseases, has provided insights into unintended impacts of these commonly used medicines. The findings highlight the potential for some of these medicines to join the fight against old and new infectious diseases. 

Although research into these drugs has focused on their effects on pain and fever management, until now, their impact on the treatment of infectious diseases specifically was unclear. The findings highlight the need for more studies in this under-recognised area of research, with wide-reaching implications.

https://www.sydney.edu.au/news-opinion/ ... vid19.html

Postby hover11 » March 13th, 2022, 4:48 pm

The barrel empty but they still scraping. Big announcement Barack has a scratchy throat. Wow
FB_IMG_1647204243764.jpg

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2022, 4:52 pm

hover11 wrote:The barrel empty but they still scraping. Big announcement Barack has a scratchy throat. WowFB_IMG_1647204243764.jpg

the point is its only a scratchy throat because he got 3 doses of a vaccine.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 13th, 2022, 5:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:The barrel empty but they still scraping. Big announcement Barack has a scratchy throat. WowFB_IMG_1647204243764.jpg

That is like thanking a buss condom for twins instead of triples.

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2022, 6:04 pm

Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

nope, the condom is intended to prevent pregnancy, the vax is intended to prevent severe disease, not infection

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 14th, 2022, 6:58 am

redmanjp wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

nope, the condom is intended to prevent pregnancy, the vax is intended to prevent severe disease, not infection
Condoms work the way they are supposed to, unlike the vax and its constantly moving goalposts.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 14th, 2022, 7:14 am

The shot will (w) when it doesnt (w) deny, deny, deny. When they denying looks crazy claim its purpose to be (x). Same thing happens to (x) then (y) until it reaches (z) where the shot becomes so seemingly useless that there taking it is for non covid reasons.

Postby adnj » March 14th, 2022, 7:30 am

Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Condoms work the way they are supposed to, unlike the vax and its constantly moving goalposts.
The amount of shitt not known on this forum...

The male condom has a user failure rate (typical use) of 18%. This means that, among all couples that use condoms, 18 out of 100 become pregnant in 1 year. Among couples who use condoms perfectly for 1 year, only 2 out of 100 will become pregnant.

https://wa.kaiserpermanente.org/kbase/t ... 190504spec

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2022, 9:50 am

China battles multiple outbreaks, driven by stealth omicron

China banned most people from leaving a coronavirus-hit north-eastern province and mobilized military reservists Monday as the fast-spreading “stealth omicron” variant fuels the country’s biggest outbreak since the start of the pandemic two years ago.

The National Health Commission reported 1,337 locally transmitted cases in the latest 24-hour period, including 895 in the industrial province of Jilin. A government notice said that police permission would be required for people to leave the area or travel from one city to another.

The hard-hit province sent 7,000 reservists to help with the response, from keeping order and registering people at testing centres to using drones to carry out aerial spraying and disinfection, state broadcaster CCTV reported.

Hundreds of cases were reported in other provinces and cities along China’s east coast and inland as well. Beijing, which had six news cases, and Shanghai, with 41, locked down residential and office buildings where infected people had been found.

“Every day when I go to work, I worry that if our office building will suddenly be locked down then I won’t be able to get home, so I have bought a sleeping bag and stored some fast food in the office in advance, just in case,” said Yimeng Li, a Shanghai resident.

While mainland China’s numbers are small compared to many other countries, and even the semi-autonomous city of Hong Kong, they are the highest since COVID-19 killed thousands in the central city of Wuhan in early 2020. No deaths have been reported in the latest outbreaks.

Hong Kong on Monday reported 26,908 new cases and 249 deaths in its latest 24-hour period. The city counts its cases differently than the mainland, combining both rapid antigen tests and PCR test results.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/china-battles-mu ... h-omicron/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2022, 11:09 am

https://twitter.com/drericding/status/1 ... 84641?s=24

Not sure this panic is warranted - I hope it isn’t.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 14th, 2022, 12:07 pm

come tru nah half ah trinidad say dey have natural immunity we ready 4 carnival 2023

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 14th, 2022, 2:05 pm

adnj wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

The amount of shitt not known on this forum...

The male condom has a user failure rate (typical use) of 18%. This means that, among all couples that use condoms, 18 out of 100 become pregnant in 1 year. Among couples who use condoms perfectly for 1 year, only 2 out of 100 will become pregnant.

https://wa.kaiserpermanente.org/kbase/t ... 190504spec
If you put on a rubbers properly but still end up buying pampers its recognized as an incident, when you get t̶r̶i̶p̶l̶e̶ quadruple "vaxed" and still got the same symptoms as the detestable plague rats it means its working as intended.

Postby adnj » March 15th, 2022, 5:41 am

New deltacron subvariant of COVID-19 almost as infectious as measles: Expert

LONDON: The new omicron subvariant of COVID-19 was almost as infectious as measles, one of the most contagious diseases in human history, a top virus expert has warned.

The variant — dubbed deltacron because it combines elements of the omicron and delta variants — has been detected in parts of France and is understood to have been circulating since January.

Prof. Adrian Esterman, a former World Health Organization epidemiologist, told ABC news that although the symptoms of deltacron were not any more severe than omicron, it was more transmissible.

He said: “That means we’re going to see case numbers skyrocketing.”

In a tweet, he added: “Omicron BA.2 is about 1.4 times more infectious than BA.1. The basic reproduction number (R0) for BA.1 is about 8.2, making R0 for BA.2 about 12. This makes it pretty close to measles, the most contagious disease we know about.”

Just a few cases of the latest variant have so far been detected and it was not yet clear how vaccines would perform against it.

In a tweet, Soumya Swaminathan, the WHO’s chief scientist, said: “We have known that recombinant events can occur, in humans or animals, with multiple circulating variants of #SARSCoV2.

“Need to wait for experiments to determine the properties of this virus. Importance of sequencing, analytics, and rapid data sharing as we deal with this pandemic.”

Also in a tweet, COVID-19 technical lead for the WHO, Maria van Kerkhove, said her team was “tracking and discussing” the new variant.

https://www.arabnews.com/node/2042256/world

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2022, 6:34 am

is it as infectious as the common cold?

Postby timelapse » March 15th, 2022, 6:39 am

sMASH wrote:is it as infectious as the common cold?
Yessir

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2022, 7:54 am

Here we go again
Screenshot_20220315-075315_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2022, 7:55 am

If yuh know how I fraid to travel abroad at all eh. Things could change in an instant

Postby redmanjp » March 15th, 2022, 11:48 am

so BA.2 = Deltacron ? because we have BA2 confirmed here already?

Postby hover11 » March 15th, 2022, 1:56 pm

Weyz I thought covid done