S_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:hi
It is proven the brain can only truly focus on one thing at a time so.... *yawn*
Stephon. wrote:
@Stalker Boy 64 - click menu and "share" and open it wit an image editing program and save it from there. Saw that answer on an android forum.
M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
@Stalker Boy 64 - click menu and "share" and open it wit an image editing program and save it from there. Saw that answer on an android forum.
And u can do the same if u want to tweet it, fb it, send it to Dropbox or whatever. Something iOS has yet to copy/implement properly. Gotta love this feature in android.
hatch is best wrote:Firmware 4.1.2 out now for TSTT S3
christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
And u can do the same if u want to tweet it, fb it, send it to Dropbox or whatever. Something iOS has yet to copy/implement properly. Gotta love this feature in android.
The ability to use any thing anywhere in android is something that ios needs to get in, and get right before they get any of my mobile money.
achillies wrote:streetlifestyle wrote:^^^ I tried all that. All the buttons stopped working
Lawd, hmmm, then if you were running an old build, which probably didn't have the fixes, you may have suffered the SDS
Period kind of short though, usually it happens due to a lot of I/O reads/writes, well hopefully bmobile fixes it
turbotusty wrote:achillies wrote:streetlifestyle wrote:^^^ I tried all that. All the buttons stopped working
Lawd, hmmm, then if you were running an old build, which probably didn't have the fixes, you may have suffered the SDS
Period kind of short though, usually it happens due to a lot of I/O reads/writes, well hopefully bmobile fixes it
this is one of the reasons i dont us custom roms. especially in trinidad.. those custom rom developers have an entirely different market in mind with different needs. not to mention the hooks and skeletons that could possibly be added to the device even tho much else has been removed.
increased i/o writes sounds to me like the actions of a swap. maybe u set up additional swap area on ur internal flash and not the sdcard. or maybe it was a default with the custom rom.
i create my own custom roms by first backing up and then stripping my rom manually, reassigning permissions to apps as i would want them etc and only installing what i need. a fancy looking device is nice.. but a functioning one is better. especially if the functions themselves are fancy B)
it takes alot of work but in the end, it's worth it. especially when devices nowadays reach into the $5000 range.
Stephon. wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
The ability to use any thing anywhere in android is something that ios needs to get in, and get right before they get any of my mobile money.
I don't think iOS fans seem to mind. Apparently the 5GB they get on iCLoud and apples "eco system" seems to be their justification for all of apples short comings. Meanwhile alternatives like drop box and media fire both offering droid users 50GB of cloud storage, but I dunno whats so "eco" about a company that released their last line of devices forcing you to buy new dongles for all your older iOS products due to their new lighting port.
M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
I don't think iOS fans seem to mind. Apparently the 5GB they get on iCLoud and apples "eco system" seems to be their justification for all of apples short comings. Meanwhile alternatives like drop box and media fire both offering droid users 50GB of cloud storage, but I dunno whats so "eco" about a company that released their last line of devices forcing you to buy new dongles for all your older iOS products due to their new lighting port.
One of my reasons why I'm on iOS is currently being discussed by Achilles and tusty. Laziness and things just working as it should is a factor. My days of debugging died along with Sony Ericsson and the Ericsson moniker.
M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
One of my reasons why I'm on iOS is currently being discussed by Achilles and tusty. Laziness and things just working as it should is a factor. My days of debugging died along with Sony Ericsson and the Ericsson moniker.
turbotusty wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
yup this is actually a brand and model related issue. my Droid 4 aint got time fo dat lol. bring ur iphone ill leff it in the dust with this motorola. thats why i went with motorola.. a company thats been in the fone business from day one. samsung now jump in this game.
Jonathan_337 wrote:turbotusty wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:M_2NR wrote:Stephon. wrote:
yup this is actually a brand and model related issue. my Droid 4 aint got time fo dat lol. bring ur iphone ill leff it in the dust with this motorola. thats why i went with motorola.. a company thats been in the fone business from day one. samsung now jump in this game.
Samsung's been around for a while. Their phones just were never as popular. With hundreds of millions of devices sold, one flaw doesn't mean the rest of their phones are bad.
M_2NR wrote:What I don't get is how Samsung has some of the best lcds for tvs but some of the worst on phones. I just hoping the sIV isn't pentile again.
achillies wrote:turbotusty wrote:achillies wrote:streetlifestyle wrote:^^^ I tried all that. All the buttons stopped working
this is one of the reasons i dont us custom roms. especially in trinidad.. those custom rom developers have an entirely different market in mind with different needs. not to mention the hooks and skeletons that could possibly be added to the device even tho much else has been removed.
increased i/o writes sounds to me like the actions of a swap. maybe u set up additional swap area on ur internal flash and not the sdcard. or maybe it was a default with the custom rom.
i create my own custom roms by first backing up and then stripping my rom manually, reassigning permissions to apps as i would want them etc and only installing what i need. a fancy looking device is nice.. but a functioning one is better. especially if the functions themselves are fancy B)
it takes alot of work but in the end, it's worth it. especially when devices nowadays reach into the $5000 range.
Not swap, any I/O reads and writes, weather it be an app writing/reading information to/from the eMMC or you taking a picture with your camera and that being saved on the device, that's why the phone was failing between a 150 and 200 days of use as reported by people who suffered the SDS, the action of using your phone, weather it be stock based or AOSP based was destroying the eMMC
Since no one knew what the issue was they didn't know how to fix it, when Samsung released the kernel sources, that's when devs knew what the issue was and how samsung planned to patch it, on a kernel level, the problem is still there, but we are hoping that this patch works.
Once this patch was was released, devs updated their kernels with it, on average within 36 hours of it being released, that was 2 weeks ago, in this case, ROM devs also include the fixed kernels in their ROMs, Samsung is now pushing updates out to all regions that includes the fix, so in essence people who were on 'custom' ROMS/Kernels were 'safe' long before people who were on stock, even after the patch was available, people still reported SDS, only to find out, if they had flashed a custom kernel, it may not have happened.
Reason I asked how old the CM nightly was, the CM team would have also included this patch once it was released, if however, he was running a nightly that was older than 2 weeks, then he could not have had the patch, also, people who suffered the SDS report it after, (on average) 6 or 7 months of use (6 months of the eMMC being written to and read from) so his device failing, after only 3 months raises some questions, so when I said above " usually it happens due to a lot of I/O reads/writes" I didn't mean an increase due to something like swap, I meant the accumulation of reads/writes over time
ismithx wrote:M_2NR wrote:What I don't get is how Samsung has some of the best lcds for tvs but some of the worst on phones. I just hoping the sIV isn't pentile again.
'scuse me but you never see an S3 screen yet.... You would not be talking that way
turbotusty wrote:my Droid 4 aint got time fo dat lol..
M_2NR wrote:ismithx wrote:M_2NR wrote:What I don't get is how Samsung has some of the best lcds for tvs but some of the worst on phones. I just hoping the sIV isn't pentile again.
'scuse me but you never see an S3 screen yet.... You would not be talking that way
More than one.
Can't even come near an HTC One X or iPhone 4/s/5
christopherwilliams2 wrote:me eh know what happen to allyuh screen. my s3 screen shows beautiful!!!
ZeroOne wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:me eh know what happen to allyuh screen. my s3 screen shows beautiful!!!
X2 there is no way you can see a big difference between a s3 and iphone during normal use 1ft away from your face.
ZeroOne wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:me eh know what happen to allyuh screen. my s3 screen shows beautiful!!!
X2 there is no way you can see a big difference between a s3 and iphone during normal use 1ft away from your face.
jsm1985 wrote:Pentile arrangement on my S3 is a let down, you don't have to look too closely to see the patterns in the pixel arrangement.