The Religion Discussion

megadoc1

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby megadoc1 » September 25th, 2010, 2:48 pm

Kasey wrote:what lies? The man related stuff which you (or your scripture) disaggre with, so they are lies? You keep calling ppl liars when they just simply say things that you yourself dont BELIEVE.

Mega, the more I read, the more I realise what an idiot you really are, everytime you disrecpectfully call ppl liars, when all they doing is stating their opinions.

d spike wrote:One must certainly be an arse of the highest degree, if he doesn't realise that someone's BELIEFS guides that person through life, provides a basis for making decisions and forming OPINIONS. What I told the cretin was that my religious beliefs were not for public consumption (in other words, I was not going to discuss them in public) but I was just stating my opinion.
Obviously, various unmitigated backsides were unaware that one's opinions were based on one's beliefs! Are you one of these?

Postby 16 cycles » September 25th, 2010, 5:40 pm

what happens to the soul when one dies?

are you judged immediately or do you have to wait....for how long?

do all living creatures / plants / trees have a soul or just humans?

what is the purpose of last rights? - is it for the soul to travel in peace? but to where and for what?

does the concept of the soul differ for different religions?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 25th, 2010, 7:12 pm

16 cycles wrote:what happens to the soul when one dies?

are you judged immediately or do you have to wait....for how long?

do all living creatures / plants / trees have a soul or just humans?

what is the purpose of last rights? - is it for the soul to travel in peace? but to where and for what?

does the concept of the soul differ for different religions?

good questions.........i'd like toyo to answer the first two, especially since he said the guy who died and was revived explained to him that the experience was very dark and hot.........

according to islam, if i remember correctly, the soul returns to the body after burial, where its questioned(i cant remember who does the questioning), then, depending on the answers to the questions, the grave will either become comfortable or uncomfortable until the day of judgement..........

d spike

Postby d spike » September 25th, 2010, 9:26 pm

d spike wrote:Why are you suggesting that he "read what is" in order for him to "make an informed post" (a highly commendable act)...

megadoc1 wrote:simply because you choose to ignore that I told him do some research

How could I state that your telling him to do some research is a commendable act, and at the same time, choose to ignore that you told him to do some research?
You can't see something is wrong here... Like you aren't firing on all cylinders or something...

d spike

Postby d spike » September 25th, 2010, 9:36 pm

toyo682 wrote:
d spike wrote:Remarkable... you can choose to ignore questions directed at you, but when answers are not forthcoming from others based on questions of your asking, you claim it is because they "cannot answer". Why assume a lack of knowledge on their part? Could it be a lack of relevance on your query's part?
exactly why I do not answer... :wink:

Really? Are you sure it's not because you CANNOT answer?
Please...
The same respect you expect, or prefer to accept from others, you must first practice... You cannot ignore the queries of others, and when they return the favour, you sneer at them, claiming ignorance on their part. The only ignorance highlighted by this behaviour, is on your part. Again, try and leave that for Megadoc - you should know better.

d spike

Postby d spike » September 25th, 2010, 9:39 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:One must certainly be an arse of the highest degree, if he doesn't realise that someone's BELIEFS guides that person through life, provides a basis for making decisions and forming OPINIONS. What I told the cretin was that my religious beliefs were not for public consumption (in other words, I was not going to discuss them in public) but I was just stating my opinion.
Obviously, various unmitigated backsides were unaware that one's opinions were based on one's beliefs! Are you one of these?

Wow, you quoted me... how nice.

I hope you read it, too. :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 12:03 am

megadoc1 wrote:good so why not put yourself in a position to determine if I am acting unfairly?
why not dig into the reason behind it ?
but we all know why you are biased and acting unfairly and the reason is because you yourself said you are intolerant of others - it seems you are myopic and closed minded as you state your beliefs are the truth while the beliefs of others that contradict your beliefs are lies.

You are unable to accept anything other than what you believe in. You have yet to provide proof though that what you claim is the truth is in fact the truth and what others claim are in fact lies.

Since you stated to us that you ARE biased, how then can we take what you are saying with an open mind?

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2010, 1:08 am

if Duane grew a beard, wore a robe and carried a staff, I'd follow

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 26th, 2010, 6:59 am

You'd follow him if he wore a robe?

Right :|

d spike

Postby d spike » September 26th, 2010, 8:53 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:You'd follow him if he wore a robe?

Right :|

He has to carry a staff as well... I think that was one of the criteria... :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2010, 1:18 pm

AND A BEARD... don't forget the beard.........and NOT the silly goatee he has on now eh

d spike

Postby d spike » September 26th, 2010, 5:57 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
the first time i posted it was for you to see what Catholicism was really about

That's a good laugh.
First of all, you barely understand your own religion, but you are attempting to explain another religion...
To put the icing on the cake, you are using an anti-Catholic article to explain Catholicism? That's like expecting a Klu Klux Klan member to be able to define and explain "Black Pride"...
You wanted to show "what Catholicism was really about"? Hey, do you even know what you are really about? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Are the "precise" words of scripture that important? So that in quibbling over which is right and which is wrong we can prove some religions wrong? Don't we all believe in one True God? Aren't we all just trying to find a way to be with Him in the end?
d spike wrote:If writing scripture was the most important thing the disciples could do, then most of them failed miserably. (Jesus should have picked a bunch of scholars instead of a gang of fishermen - in which case, thank goodness for Matthew.)
Peter wrote two letters and dictated a gospel (Mark was his secretary), Matthew wrote a gospel, John wrote a gospel and some letters (let us not forget Revelation! without which many small churches would simply be charitable organizations), and James and Jude each wrote a letter... Poor lads, what a let-down... Thank goodness for educated late-comers like Doctor Luke and Saul, Paul, whatever...

If your faith in God can be shaken because of something someone wrote, whether today or 2000 years ago... what does that say about your faith?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 26th, 2010, 8:14 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Kasey wrote:what lies? The man related stuff which you (or your scripture) disaggre with, so they are lies? You keep calling ppl liars when they just simply say things that you yourself dont BELIEVE.

Mega, the more I read, the more I realise what an idiot you really are, everytime you disrecpectfully call ppl liars, when all they doing is stating their opinions.

Well spike spoke about two things there, an arse, and a cretin (do you know what it is? :lol: :lol: :lol: , cause he was referring to you).
Which one of these are you allowing me (the powerful being that you are) an opportunity to class myself into?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 27th, 2010, 11:06 pm

hello guys this is the message the bible brings to you
lets take a look

is there anyone on here who have been freed from sin another way?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2010, 1:13 am

^ is that he video that convinced you?

megadoc1 wrote:is there anyone on here who have been freed from sin another way?
do you have any proof that THAT is in fact the only way to be freed from sin?

A hindu or a muslim or a buddhist would say there are other ways besides your own. What makes their way wrong and your way right?

oh and the last part of that video: "Learn how to share your faith through the online school of biblical evangelism", you should try that school, perhaps then you might be able to convince people that what you claim and believe is actually true.

Postby 16 cycles » September 28th, 2010, 6:58 am

think that cartoon is flawed - guy was doing good things with the expectation of heaven.

some people do good because they want to.....selflessly...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 28th, 2010, 7:01 am

Yup, that guy was prideful, just like mega when he refers to 'his way'.

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2010, 9:03 am

^^ and after accepting jesus as lord and saviour (astigfirallah) one does not sin, and so goes directly to heaven.
so u would eye dong yuh neighbor; ur good, u have been washed and good to go.
yuh could short change somebody u sell, but u washed so u go to heaven.
u could take two barrow ah gravel when u ask for 2 bucket, but u good to go.
u could go to church and watch dem gyul do their modern interpretive dance, skinnin up all over the stage, but dat all good.

why cant someone ask god for forgiveness when they err, try to rectify the wrong they have done, and try to do better the next time they are presented with a situation like dat again.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2010, 9:13 am

sMASH wrote:why cant someone ask god for forgiveness when they err, try to rectify the wrong they have done, and try to do better the next time they are presented with a situation like dat again.
because you can do that and have ANY religious belief i.e. you can do that as a hindu, muslim etc etc so then what would be the point on insisting that everyone be a christian? That is why each religion insists on these particular ritualistic beliefs rather than ONLY doing good.

just doing good without religion telling you so is secular. How would the church, temple or mosque have control there?

unnastan?

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 28th, 2010, 10:14 am

sMASH wrote:^^ and after accepting jesus as lord and saviour (astigfirallah) one does not sin, and so goes directly to heaven.
so u would eye dong yuh neighbor; ur good, u have been washed and good to go.
yuh could short change somebody u sell, but u washed so u go to heaven.
u could take two barrow ah gravel when u ask for 2 bucket, but u good to go.
u could go to church and watch dem gyul do their modern interpretive dance, skinnin up all over the stage, but dat all good.

Who said that we can do these things? Obviously there is some confusion between those who call themselves Christian and those who are actually following Christ.
Last edited by toyo682 on September 28th, 2010, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 28th, 2010, 10:17 am

sMASH wrote:why cant someone ask god for forgiveness when they err, try to rectify the wrong they have done, and try to do better the next time they are presented with a situation like dat again.
because you can do that and have ANY religious belief i.e. you can do that as a hindu, muslim etc etc so then what would be the point on insisting that everyone be a christian? That is why each religion insists on these particular ritualistic beliefs rather than ONLY doing good.

just doing good without religion telling you so is secular. How would the church, temple or mosque have control there?

unnastan?

Don't you guys think that our justice system should work like this as well, I mean if it is good for God it should be good for us as well. So the next time a rapist stands before the court and says that he is sorry and he won't rape again we should release him don't you think?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 28th, 2010, 10:30 am

unnastan?

shh!! the illuminati is listening....

Humes

Postby Humes » September 28th, 2010, 11:05 am

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/28/us/28religion.html

Researchers from the independent Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life phoned more than 3,400 Americans and asked them 32 questions about the Bible, Christianity and other world religions, famous religious figures and the constitutional principles governing religion in public life.

On average, people who took the survey answered half the questions incorrectly, and many flubbed even questions about their own faith.

Those who scored the highest were atheists and agnostics, as well as two religious minorities: Jews and Mormons. The results were the same even after the researchers controlled for factors like age and racial differences.

“Even after all these other factors, including education, are taken into account, atheists and agnostics, Jews and Mormons still outperform all the other religious groups in our survey,” said Greg Smith, a senior researcher at Pew.

That finding might surprise some, but not Dave Silverman, president of American Atheists, an advocacy group for nonbelievers that was founded by Madalyn Murray O’Hair.

“I have heard many times that atheists know more about religion than religious people,” Mr. Silverman said. “Atheism is an effect of that knowledge, not a lack of knowledge. I gave a Bible to my daughter. That’s how you make atheists.”

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2010, 12:55 pm

"I gave a Bible to my daughter. That's how you make atheists"

ROFL ah love it
actually in my case, the more I searched for answers based on a belief in god and religion, the less it made sense
I am much more comfortable accepting that sh!t happens, than accepting 'he works in mysterious ways"

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 28th, 2010, 1:30 pm

MG Man wrote:"I gave a Bible to my daughter. That's how you make atheists"

ROFL ah love it
actually in my case, the more I searched for answers based on a belief in god and religion, the less it made sense
I am much more comfortable accepting that sh!t happens, than accepting 'he works in mysterious ways"

Nah, it have too much $#!+ going on in this world not to believe in a 'higher power'. Yuh cyah tell me "WE" did all this! :drinking:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 28th, 2010, 8:01 pm

Computerman wrote:

ROFL ah love it

Nah, it have too much $#!+ going on in this world not to believe in a 'higher power'. Yuh cyah tell me "WE" did all this! :drinking:

i always thought that if god had a hand in the workings of the earth things would be much different, but apparently he likes to see little children die slowly while their bodies are slowly and painfully rotting away..........

QG

Postby QG » September 28th, 2010, 8:15 pm

Computerman wrote:

ROFL ah love it

very much true

QG

Postby QG » September 28th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Even my hindu padna told me yesterday that he converting to Christianity, he just need to say the prayer to become a born again!
I told him to be sure that this is what he wants and not for anyone!

One of the reason he said why he doing it because scientist found the Ark and other things that the BIBLE has stated and he hasn't really seen anything strong/proof in Hinduism.
His Relatives as well who were Hindus and now Christians...told him what good Jesus has done to their LIVES!!!!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 28th, 2010, 8:32 pm

^^ your friend is now a believer and hands his brains to the priest

d spike

Postby d spike » September 28th, 2010, 9:12 pm

nareshseep wrote:^^ your friend is now a believer and hands his brains to the priest

I don't think "born again" folks have 'priests...
QG wrote:Even my hindu padna told me yesterday that he converting to Christianity, he just need to say the prayer to become a born again!

They are led by tithe-collectors who use the title, Pastor... not to be confused with Bluefete, who is a Paster. The difference is, one pastes up what he is cutting, and the other ups the cut from what he is pastoring...