WASA Thread ...

Re: WASA Thread ...

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2023, 4:23 pm

st7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:This past Saturday for the first time since having a water tank (somewhere in the 1990s) I had to bathe with a bucket and cup.
Apparently water was gone for a while and the tank was empty.

But this is par for course under this administration. Roads feel like its 1920s and now water supply also feels like its from a past generation.

you in couva?

Tunapuna.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 11th, 2023, 10:52 am

REDUCED PRODUCTION AT POINT LISAS DESALINATION PLANT

The Water and Sewerage Authority (the Authority) advises customers in parts of Central
and South West Trinidad, who are presently experiencing low water pressures or in some
cases no water that, this is due to a cutback in production at the Point Lisas Desalination
Plant.
The Desalination Company of Trinidad and Tobago – DESALCOTT owned and operated
facility, which normally supplies the Authority with 40 million gallons of water per day
(mgd), has indicated that production has been reduced to 24 mgd, as a result of a
collapsed 42 inch backwash pipeline at the facility.
DESALCOTT has commenced works to repair the pipeline, but could not provide a
timeframe for the completion of these works and the restoration of full production. The
Authority will however maintain communication with the company and provide
subsequent updates.
Areas affected include:

AFFECTED AREAS
Caroni, Warrenville, Cunupia, Chaguanas, Caparo, Chase Village, Couva, Point Lisas,
California, Claxton Bay, Plaisance Park, Pointe a Pierre, City of San Fernando,
Vistabella, Marabella, Gasparillo, South West Union Hall, Pleasantville, Palmiste,
Phillipine, Duncan Village, Esperance, Gulf View, Bel Air, La Romain, South
Oropouche, Otaheite, Rousillac, Aripero, parts of La Brea, Avocat, Fyzabad, parts of
Siparia including De Gannes Village and Quarry Village, San Francique, Debe, Syne
Village, Lowkie Trace, Sunrees Road, Mora Dam Road.

Customers are asked to manage their water use efficiently, as it may take up to 24 hours
for the supply to normalize to some affected areas, after the Plant returns to full
operation.

Postby Rovin » February 11th, 2023, 11:17 am

no wonder why d water falling lil bit like if u peeing ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2023, 2:59 pm

Unconfirmed reports of a water schedule to be introduced soon...press conference tomorrow

Like we have a regular supply for them to be talking about schedule

Postby Rovin » April 5th, 2023, 5:53 pm

i surprise wasa eh start with d water restrictions schedule guidance as they usually do at d beginning of d year

as long as u have sufficient storage tanks & use it conservatively it shouldnt be a problem ...

Postby Dizzy28 » April 19th, 2023, 9:37 pm

Now see where I live on a schedule where we have no water at all on Weds and Sats and either all day or half day the rest of the week.

Can't say here ever had an official schedule like that before.

Postby redmanjp » April 19th, 2023, 10:03 pm

i on a 2 day a week schedule now, down from 3 days

Postby Dizzy28 » April 20th, 2023, 9:19 am

redmanjp wrote:i on a 2 day a week schedule now, down from 3 days

Mine isn't bad when compared to this. At my schedule my single 400g tank would be suffice to cover the days with no service (assuming they stick to it)

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2023, 10:52 am

redmanjp wrote:i on a 2 day a week schedule now, down from 3 days

Mine isn't bad when compared to this. At my schedule my single 400g tank would be suffice to cover the days with no service (assuming they stick to it)

good thing i have 2 1000g tanks and only 2 ppl in the house using water. sometimes due to the elevation we might still not receive if there is low pressure or something.

the hose ban not implemented yet but they said it coming. and we have plenty plants to water which makes bucket and watering can inconvenient. :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 21st, 2023, 4:57 pm

They not sticking to the schedule. What’s the point

Postby maj. tom » April 21st, 2023, 5:05 pm

To make sure it have enough water to maintain the wasa pipelines leaks. These must continue at every cost.

Postby Rovin » May 15th, 2023, 12:28 pm

if what this man saying is true then how come this is not making headlines or causing any stir but only has less than a 100k of views on fb ...

ATTENTION TRINIDAD
YOU ARE DRINKING RAW SEWAGE
PLEASE SHARE IMMEDIATELY
Due to Wasa’s lack of maintenance and incompetent waste water operators they destroyed $650 million TTD plant that was designed to last 100 years in 3 years
Wasa had the choice to hire the competent and willing staff but refused due to internal & political interference

https://www.facebook.com/10000232287757 ... 1188943902

Postby maj. tom » May 15th, 2023, 12:35 pm

Well he appears to know what he's talking about because he said he worked in the plant and was the head operator and trained the staff.

This is quite serious though if it's true. MPs need to be tagged on the video and ask questions in Parliament. The Minister needs to address this concern in a presser and tell all of us that he lie and is a Kamla stooge trying to create disruption.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2023, 1:02 pm

they go say he is a disgruntled ex worker
ema supposed to respond to reports of fish mills though

Postby nervewrecker » May 15th, 2023, 4:50 pm

Rovin wrote:if what this man saying is true then how come this is not making headlines or causing any stir but only has less than a 100k of views on fb ...

ATTENTION TRINIDAD
YOU ARE DRINKING RAW SEWAGE
PLEASE SHARE IMMEDIATELY
Due to Wasa’s lack of maintenance and incompetent waste water operators they destroyed $650 million TTD plant that was designed to last 100 years in 3 years
Wasa had the choice to hire the competent and willing staff but refused due to internal & political interference

https://www.facebook.com/10000232287757 ... 1188943902
Because it's nothing new. It's a well known fact many wastewater plants do not function properly.

Take a drive and observe how many people septic systems leaking. It's the norm now. Even my own sister whom is a heath inspector says that's no big deal, where the water go it goes.

It contaminates surface waters and ground water reserves. Many wells have been abandoned from ever since (not wasa) due to this. There are 2 wells waking distance from where I live. Abandoned for the same reason.

The treatment process for making potable water does take care of this however. Coagulation & floccolation, sedimentation and filtration and disinfectation. Chlorine is an oxidizing agent that deals with biological matter.

An issue can arise where ground waters are used and the amount of chlorine does not correspond to the organic load.

We have bigger issues than this however.

Postby nervewrecker » May 15th, 2023, 4:51 pm

It could be fuel for boosting bottled water sales also.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2023, 4:53 pm

almost all septic tank builders build aoakaway with a drain out to box drain, proper way is with a chlorination exit but who replacing chlorine tablets every month?

i wonder if them farmers pumping that septic box drain water for crops does get sick or they build up
immunity ?
of course eating raw veggies watered with septic water ain’t the most healthy practice.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2023, 4:54 pm

the reality is however our pipe borne water is actually a lot safer to drink bacteria wise than many big countries where you just don’t drink the water.

Postby nervewrecker » May 15th, 2023, 5:19 pm

pugboy wrote:the reality is however our pipe borne water is actually a lot safer to drink bacteria wise than many big countries where you just don’t drink the water.
Not so much.

The distribution grid supposed to be built in a way that sections can be isolated for repairs and then flushed.

When they dig and do repairs all that's in the trench gets into the pipes. Flushing point is the consumer pipes. And this is post chlorination from the supply.

But again, bottled water seems to be the way to go or one of those reverse osmosis systems for home.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2023, 5:24 pm

yeah, the ol mauby after pipe work
we have always boiled water in our household and then a brita filter simply for taste

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2023, 6:12 pm

Anyone affected by no water since Tuesday?

Stress

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 6th, 2023, 6:14 pm

bluefete wrote:Anyone affected by no water since Tuesday?

Stress

Yes bai. Never had such a long period of no water EVER.

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2023, 6:17 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Stress

And it still has not come back as yet. People without tanks under real pressure. It will take 3 working days to get truck-borne water!

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2023, 6:20 pm

yuh doh have tank(s) ?
yuh didnt know it was gone ?

I have a backup 400 locked off for just this reason
I also have a light which comes on when no water in the mains
using a oil pressure sensor.

Stress

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2023, 6:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Stress

And it still has not come back as yet. People without tanks under real pressure. It will take 3 working days to get truck-borne water!

u don't have a tank?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 6th, 2023, 6:22 pm

Have a tank but need a water pump to pump it through the plumbing. So full bucket and tote for me. :(

Postby bluefete » July 6th, 2023, 7:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Stress

u don't have a tank?

Did you see my statement about truck-borne water? Tank almost empty.

wing

Postby wing » July 6th, 2023, 7:49 pm

bluefete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Stress

u don't have a tank?

Did you see my statement about truck-borne water? Tank almost empty.
Join the club consisting of the majority of south who make do with 1 or 2 days per week. State sponsored banditry.

Postby Rovin » July 6th, 2023, 7:51 pm

allyuh from d north orrr, i see on news tonight they fixing a ruptured main & they said water shud be back soon

DMan7 wrote:Have a tank but need a water pump to pump it through the plumbing. So full bucket and tote for me. :(

water pump like dem chinese total etc is around 500 & d better goulds or pentax wud be above 1000 , u shud invest in 1 ...

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2023, 7:51 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh doh have tank(s) ?
yuh didnt know it was gone ?

I have a backup 400 locked off for just this reason
I also have a light which comes on when no water in the mains
using a oil pressure sensor.

Stress

u usually get water 24/7 i take it?

cuz by me my 2 1000 gallon tanks always on and having no water in the main is the norm like 75% of the time so no sensor needed :lol: