Re: Windows 10

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2015, 4:47 pm

Lolls, link yuh boy with ah genuine copy/ product key nah boidanboidawgboi

Postby skylinechild » August 7th, 2015, 6:44 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:You said somewhere on this same thread a while ago that pirated versions wont be able to upgrade for free to windows 10. But maybe I read wrong, its possible.

As for my PC I have a custom built PC, built it myself

brother man....Please check page 16 of this thread...i laid it out CLEAR AS DAY.
good with the building a pc yourself.
in your case you DID have to buy a windows license...and convert the key to a windows 10 key.

if you had continued using your pirated os / key it WILL update to and install windows 10 but it wont be activated.
activated meaning no support from microsoft no updates no nothing.

hope i cleared up what activated means.
nex time...send a pm nuh if clarification needed.

you make yourself look.....nevermind

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 7:45 pm

^ ow ho ok yeah I understand what you saying now. Well its a good thing then I buy the key cause I am looking forward to updates and killer instinct etc

I understand what you saying by activated means now.

I just wondering though thinking of selling my current board and CPU, and buy a intel.

But since it was an OEM license key I bought online on a 3rd party site is there anyway to transfer the key out to another mainboard? how would I transfer it would it be a windows 10 key I am transferring since I already upgraded and activated windows 10 and did the full reset?

Postby Spitfir3 » August 7th, 2015, 9:56 pm

as far as i know you can't transfer an OEM key although i have read of this method though ive never tried it personally to see if it works
http://wind8apps.com/windows-8-license- ... -computer/

what i can advice you on is this you could always just install windows 7 and then do the free update to 10 the reason i say install 7 is because activation is A LOT more simple as you can use a windows 7 key to activate numerous systems and windows 7 keys are bountiful

if you want i can even provide you with a genuine windows 7 key

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 7th, 2015, 10:08 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:if you want i can even provide you with a genuine windows 7 key

Provide me nah please

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 10:48 pm

spitfire sure I sent you a PM I appreciate it.

Postby Spitfir3 » August 8th, 2015, 2:26 am

NR8 wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:if you want i can even provide you with a genuine windows 7 key

Provide me nah please

will handle you on monday when i get to the office

brickman

Postby brickman » August 8th, 2015, 3:18 am

Reports of the SR1 update coming as soon as this monday/early august.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » August 8th, 2015, 4:12 am

Anybody have truoble downloading apps and games from windows 10 store? When i try to download one its says "cant find the app" code 0x80070002....windows updated today and still having de same problem

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 8th, 2015, 4:25 am

Just completed the installation

Postby Ted_v2 » August 8th, 2015, 6:41 am

Please and thanks for the Windows 7 product key.

Postby DVSTT » August 8th, 2015, 7:02 am

Postby skylinechild » August 8th, 2015, 3:03 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ ow ho ok yeah I understand what you saying now. Well its a good thing then I buy the key cause I am looking forward to updates and killer instinct etc

I understand what you saying by activated means now.

I just wondering though thinking of selling my current board and CPU, and buy a intel.

But since it was an OEM license key I bought online on a 3rd party site is there anyway to transfer the key out to another mainboard? how would I transfer it would it be a windows 10 key I am transferring since I already upgraded and activated windows 10 and did the full reset?

time for corrections ...yet again...

please STOP using the term OEM -

OEM stands for original equipment manufacturer.
this is like big brand names - like dell hp acer lenovo toshiba etc etc etc
these companies DESIGN their hardware and have other companies build the board by the thousands for them also the pc comes fully assembled and windows preinstalled.

RETAIL - this is what you buy at the store go in..purchase a disc with a product key
this is usually bought by ppl who build their own pcs and can be used on one machine at a time
you cannot install it on multiple pcs simultaneously.

to answer your question - you should be able to use the windows on newer hardware but you MUST first deauthorize / remove the key from the old pc- thereby setting it back to trial mode.

now you can feel free to use it on new hardware.

tuner spitfir3 gave u a link...i recommend u check it...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2015, 4:38 pm

^ thanks btw as for OEM the only reason I said so was because this is what I bought

https://www.g2a.com/microsoft-windows-8 ... lobal.html

Notice its $20 but the actual one without the word OEM costs twice the amount.

Maybe now you can have an idea of what I am talking about.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2015, 4:40 pm

Ooh and Spitfir3 thanks for this link didn't realize this was actually possible

http://wind8apps.com/windows-8-license- ... -computer/

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » August 8th, 2015, 5:53 pm

Postby ismithx » August 8th, 2015, 6:49 pm

have the win10 upgrade and loving the interface so far... I actually am using Edge for half of my browsing as it is faster and smoother than chrome

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » August 8th, 2015, 7:03 pm

after posting this i will be rolling back to windows 8.1, can anyone tell me after I get back to windows 8.1, can I install windows 7 after this, my copy of windows is genuine.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 8th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Ok so I completed my install today. Everything was good shut down now I start back up a audio drivers and battery status disappeared. Need help. me liking the interface so far. I have a Asus transformer t100ta

Postby The_Honourable » August 8th, 2015, 8:35 pm

lost to all wrote:after posting this i will be rolling back to windows 8.1, can anyone tell me after I get back to windows 8.1, can I install windows 7 after this, my copy of windows is genuine.

You can create a partition on your Hard-drive and install windows 7 on it. Once you did that, you can dual boot between Windows 7 and 8.1. Here is a link to help you:

http://www.pagestart.com/win8dbwin701181301.html

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 9th, 2015, 2:40 am

Just gone back to 8.1. Windows 10 is nice but still too buggy for me

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2015, 9:25 am

It's only buggy because you didn't clean install. Everyone has these issues until clean install.

Invest in and commit to backup and then format and do it over. Win 10 has been working fine for me after an entire week of headache when it was layered on Win 7.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 9:45 am

maj. tom wrote:It's only buggy because you didn't clean install. Everyone has these issues until clean install.

Invest in and commit to backup and then format and do it over. Win 10 has been working fine for me after an entire week of headache when it was layered on Win 7.

This isn't 2005 anymore.

There is a reset button in windows 8 and 10 that simply resets everything to factory default the exact 100% same thing as if you were to waste time with formatting and reinstalling manually.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 9th, 2015, 9:53 am

maj. tom wrote:It's only buggy because you didn't clean install. Everyone has these issues until clean install.....

This.

For the past week I've been helping clients with these issues. Found it really strange as I've personally installed win10 on three systems in the house each of which have very different hardware configurations. No issues at all. The instant I clean install win10 on my client's machines, the issues are gone. My advice, as S_2NR and a few others have said, is to do a clean install.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 9th, 2015, 9:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:It's only buggy because you didn't clean install. Everyone has these issues until clean install.

This isn't 2005 anymore.

There is a reset button in windows 8 and 10 that simply resets everything to factory default the exact 100% same thing as if you were to waste time with formatting and reinstalling manually.

Didnt use the reset option in windows 10. Doesn't it require you to "upgrade" first, then perform a reset?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 10:16 am

^ yes just upgrade from 8 to 10. Then reset it, pick the option to wipe out everything and you will have a clean install of windows 10.

All traces of garbage gone as if you did a clean install. Part of the reason Microsoft implemented this cause it was a bit annoying to have to do clean install all the time. They just made it automatic with the reset option.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2015, 10:18 am

No the reset doesn't fix the bugs. I did it 4 times and 4 times my start menu and taskbar stopped working randomly and never worked again.

Do a clean install.

And you are still going to have a lot of folders remaining on your disk taking up space that you can't access or delete because of permission issues.

Windows.old
Windows.old(1)

etc.

even when you gain permission in security tabs, it's still a mess. And the registry will still be in a mess. Do a clean install.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2015, 10:26 am

No the windows.old folder is where the windows 8 is stored incase you want to do a rollback. And had you done a full proper reset that folder would never exist because a proper reset is the equivalent of formatting the HDD nothing remains.

The reset I am talking about is different from the reset you did. The fact that you actually have old folders ESPECIALLY the windows.old folder means you didn't do a proper reset.
You kept your old files the reset I am talking about is a full wipe that brings it back to factory settings down to the last byte of information

The reset button does do a full clean install and format but only if you actually know what you are doing. You resetting and keeping old sheit, thats not a real reset. But I get what you saying the first time I did a reset I too was confused and I did the half ass reset.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2015, 10:35 am

boy you not understanding what i telling the man. do a backup and then clean install. A clean install is the "keep nothing" option.

If you don't backup and want to keep personal files but not settings, that doesn't fix things. So he has to use another drive to copy the personal files and then do the clean install.

Where you does get this "argue about everything because i'm always right" woman mentality in all the threads from?

I don't have time for this nah.

30hz

Postby 30hz » August 9th, 2015, 10:46 am

Computer just died. Got w10 updates yesterday. Was watching YouTube videos and then it just switched off. The battery led, HDD led, nothing works, not switching on.