Building a house in Trinidad

low-profile

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby low-profile » May 19th, 2016, 6:44 am

rspann wrote:I buy pine from a sawmill in Penal,at less than the price of boxing board. I build two buildings with one set of board, using it on the ring beams and fence walls too.

whats the same of the sawmill and where exactly in penal?

Postby rspann » May 19th, 2016, 7:39 am

It's on the left after Morne Diablo junction when you are driving along PenalRock rd. Ask anybody where Gobay sawmill is.

low-profile

Postby low-profile » May 19th, 2016, 8:01 am

rspann wrote:It's on the left after Morne Diablo junction when you are driving along PenalRock rd. Ask anybody where Gobay sawmill is.

ok thanks alot
but do these pine boards warp? im thinkin as they are freshly cut green boards, they might warp while drying
also do u get exact 12" wide boards?

Postby rspann » May 19th, 2016, 8:05 am

12" 14" 10" 2x2 2x4 ,and once when you finish use them ,you put them flat ,they stay real good.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 26th, 2016, 10:12 pm

Fellas, how much material i would need to cast a driveway 40' long by 20' wide by 6" deep? And if any builders here want to give me a estimate to do the job, all that welcome. Area would already be dug out to depth for casting

York

Postby York » May 31st, 2016, 10:56 am

Kronik wrote:Fellas, how much material i would need to cast a driveway 40' long by 20' wide by 6" deep? And if any builders here want to give me a estimate to do the job, all that welcome. Area would already be dug out to depth for casting

2 loads gravel, 60-70 bags cement, water, labour + wood material to box / form area.

Postby dougla_boy » May 31st, 2016, 12:55 pm

Anthony P Scott has a home made with the steel channels and concrete board up for viewing.....saw that the starting price is $ 225, 00.00....not too bad IF its for a 2 bedroom house as per the sample they have up

Postby rspann » May 31st, 2016, 5:22 pm

Kronik wrote:Fellas, how much material i would need to cast a driveway 40' long by 20' wide by 6" deep? And if any builders here want to give me a estimate to do the job, all that welcome. Area would already be dug out to depth for casting

Kronik, use readymix. less hassle, better consistency , 12 cu m @$900. You have an hour so they can use wheelbarrow to push it in.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 31st, 2016, 10:11 pm

rspann wrote:

Kronik, use readymix. less hassle, better consistency , 12 cu m @$900. You have an hour so they can use wheelbarrow to push it in.

was considering the readymix but was unsure of the cost. That $900 is cost of 1 cu m?

Mta

Postby Mta » May 31st, 2016, 10:16 pm

York wrote:

2 loads gravel, 60-70 bags cement, water, labour + wood material to box / form area.

Call me give best price on 1/2 & 1/2 gravel..3408920

The Raven

Postby The Raven » May 31st, 2016, 10:58 pm

Looking to backfill a yard with dirt. Any one with trucks that will be able to provide around 15 to 20 loads?
Pm please.
Thanks.

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby nervewrecker » June 1st, 2016, 5:53 am

Kronik wrote:
rspann wrote:

was considering the readymix but was unsure of the cost. That $900 is cost of 1 cu m?

Donno if is a typo but looks like he said 12m^3

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 1st, 2016, 6:17 am

Kronik wrote:
rspann wrote:

The cost of the readymix concrete is around $900 per cubic metre. Whether you go with readymix concrete or on site machine mixed concrete, just ensure that it will give you a 28 day cylinder compressive strength of 21N/mm^2 (N/mm^2 = Newtons per square millimetre). That is the minimum compressive strength for structural concrete.

Readymix companies will have standard mix designs for this strength of concrete. If you are going to mix it on site, you should proportion the concrete mix as follows to achieve this strength:

- One 42.5kg bag cement
- One wheel barrow of sand (sharp sand)
- One and a half wheel barrows of gravel (19mm guanapo gravel or 19mm crushed limestone)
- Two buckets water

That hand mixed concrete mix design is from the local publication TTS 599: 2006.

I didn't see anything mentioned about steel reinforcement for the slab. You should use a welded wire fabric, 75mm x 75mm x 10 gauge, placed about 50mm from the underneath and edges of the slab.

When you are finished casting the slab and it has set a bit, you should cover it with construction plastic, or wet concrete bags, or anything to prevent the slab from losing moisture too quickly while it is setting. You should also wet the slab twice a day, even though it is covered, for about three days after it has been cast. This should prevent those fine (shrinkage) cracks from forming that you see in a lot of domestic construction.

Kronik

Re: RE: Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby Kronik » June 1st, 2016, 6:40 am

Kronik wrote:
rspann wrote:

when i saw it i read it as the same thing, 12 cu m (12 cubic meters) 12m^3 (12 meters cube), i know it wasnt 900 for 12 cu m, no way you getting that lol

Rory, thanks for the additional info.

Postby rspann » June 1st, 2016, 7:25 am

I thought it would have been understood that the "@" meant the unit cost ,but I should have put it in. If that was the total cost that would have been nice, next week I have to get that amount.lol.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 2nd, 2016, 9:54 pm

Anyone ever bought the crush bricks from Abel or best Crete ?
Need at least 3 loads.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 5th, 2016, 7:23 am

Guys, pm some number for me please. I am considering adding on to my steel structure an extension in front, need some advise on joining onto my existing steel frame. It's a small structure, a porch about 15 feet wide and 20ft long. Could I bolt onto the frame?
Thanks.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » June 6th, 2016, 11:27 pm

Hi Guys, Can anyone tell me about what it takes to build with Shipping Containers here in Trinidad. I have seen some very modern structures built using these, and was contemplating doing one for myself.

York

Postby York » June 7th, 2016, 10:42 am

rspann wrote:

which company selling at $900/cu m? last co i checked said $1357 / cu yard i think.

plus you still have to pay labour to wheel barrow and level eh...and doh forget yuh brc / steel bars reinforcement.

allblacks

Postby allblacks » June 7th, 2016, 11:57 am

York wrote:
rspann wrote:

which company selling at $900/cu m? last co i checked said $1357 / cu yard i think.

plus you still have to pay labour to wheel barrow and level eh...and doh forget yuh brc / steel bars reinforcement.

I used Advance last week for ground beam work...about $850 cu m for 25N /sq m. Good service.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 9th, 2016, 7:51 am

Guys please give the specs for septic building, materials, size depth and soak away information.
Thanks.

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 11th, 2016, 9:48 pm

Hi Guys,

Looking for a thread regarding a certain house that was built, it showed images from Start to finish.

The only pic i remember was the garage with a Audi TT in it

triniwildmeat

Postby triniwildmeat » June 19th, 2016, 10:44 pm

Hey guys...can anyone tell me the average cost to build a six foot wall around a lot of land? The back wall has already been built.

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2016, 6:31 am

So advance selling for $850 according to allblacks and Rory says $900 I paid $900, where YOU paying $1357? When you hand mix you have to use the same men to wheelbarrow it to the spot,and to level, so what's the point?

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2016, 6:47 pm

The Raven wrote:Guys, pm some number for me please. I am considering adding on to my steel structure an extension in front, need some advise on joining onto my existing steel frame. It's a small structure, a porch about 15 feet wide and 20ft long. Could I bolt onto the frame?
Thanks.

Yeas you can bolt/weld onto the existing frame with adequate bracing.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 20th, 2016, 9:05 pm

One thing for sure, donot trust any builders, most of them lie. Had a recent experience with one, he lie from the start to end of the job and did not do what was agreed. I was not around, you can not trust them at all. Especially when you pay money up front.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 23rd, 2016, 9:16 pm

What is the average depth piling is done for two stories homes?
Caroni area.

Postby rspann » June 23rd, 2016, 10:00 pm

The Raven wrote:What is the average depth piling is done for two stories homes?
Caroni area.

When they drilling/augering they go until they get a certain resistance,so it might be different for every area, and sometimes within the same area too.they usually tell you when they start to drill. Sometimes not all the holes go the same depth. A guy who does it says that he usually has to go 8 to 12 ft in those areas.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » June 24th, 2016, 7:51 am

Yeah you are spot on, they were able to go around 8-10 feet before meeting resistance.

low-profile

Postby low-profile » June 26th, 2016, 7:24 am

hey guys , can anyone tell me when casting a floor on decking sheets, how thick should the concrete be above the sheet? is it 2 or 3 inches? and whats the overall thickness of the floor with the decking sheet?

also whats the maximum height a stair riser could be?