Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby Swisha » November 18th, 2010, 8:51 pm

BTW Woz was misquoted...

woz like he suffering from a classic case of backpedal

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 18th, 2010, 8:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:Guys need some advice, a relative of mine looking at the Galaxy Tab. There real interest is for Emails and PDFs but they liked it cuz of the size, etc.

What i need to know is what are the good PDF apps that allow for loading of bookmarks in a PDF. I was looking at the Adobe Reader for Android and well that didnt cut it, and i found one searching named Repligo but that's 7.95usd. Are there any others?

thanks for the help in advance. Remember, /must/ load bookmarks for the PDFs.

http://www.quickoffice.com/quickoffice_ ... e_android/

http://www.dataviz.com/products/documentstogo/android/

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2010, 9:00 pm

mitch wrote:
BTW Woz was misquoted...

woz like he suffering from a classic case of backpedal

clearly... engt too.

rizer

Postby rizer » November 18th, 2010, 10:12 pm

yea so i have a xperia x10 mini pro.. great phone for the size and price and everything.. but i experiencing some extreme lag with it... that is only because the memory almost full or are there other factors?

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2010, 6:52 am

any HTC users here ?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 19th, 2010, 1:43 pm

DFC wrote:
bigga514 wrote:Image
first time art ever um move me so yes.

which my touch you have? (your in i.t and still don't know details matter smh)

T-Mobile MyTouch 2
T-Mobile MyTouch 3G
T-Mobile MyTouch 4G
T-Mobile MyTouch Slide
i use android forums for my info and updates

Tmobile MyTouch 3G slide.

I"m an average I.T person i meant. My field is engineering.

I'm afraid to mess too much with my phone.

Bigga help me out. What forums do you use? and Is it wise to put Froyo on my phone now?

And with froyo, can you connect to ad-hoc networks?

its not too hard eh but your gonna have to do some reading.dont be fraid to do most task, few things could truly brick your phone BUT STILL BE CAREFULL!!!
http://androidforums.com/t-mobile-mytouch-slide/
http://androidforums.com/t-mobile-mytouch-3g/

@pug which htc? the mytouch is htc i have a few too (tp2,s720,legend) what u wanna know.

Isha_Se7en

Postby Isha_Se7en » November 19th, 2010, 2:22 pm

Is anyone else having problems with The Market? I can't seem to update or install any new apps even though Google said the problem is fixed. Anyone can help me out? Thanks ..

Postby tr1ad » November 19th, 2010, 2:53 pm

haven't had any problems with the market

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 19th, 2010, 3:24 pm

Just did some app updates things went fine.

Postby r3iXmann » November 19th, 2010, 7:37 pm

Isha_Se7en wrote:Is anyone else having problems with The Market? I can't seem to update or install any new apps even though Google said the problem is fixed. Anyone can help me out? Thanks ..

what phone and os version?

i can only download from the market via wifi

if you have android 1.6, just delete the updates

rizer

Postby rizer » November 21st, 2010, 1:29 pm

i downloaded whatsapp for my xperia x10mini pro, after it upgraded to eclair..and it doesnt work. when i try to start whatsapp it says “whatsapp messenger and your 3rd party task manager are incompatible. please remove your task manager and try again.” anyone else experiencing this? how can i fix it?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 21st, 2010, 3:14 pm

*facepalm

Please remove taskmanager and try again.

Postby M_2NR » November 21st, 2010, 6:51 pm

um i think he was sincerely asking for help yuhno :|
tough crowd in here.

BTW does anyone know anything about this....
M_2NR wrote:Guys need some advice, a relative of mine looking at the Galaxy Tab. There real interest is for Emails and PDFs but they liked it cuz of the size, etc.

What i need to know is what are the good PDF apps that allow for loading of bookmarks in a PDF. I was looking at the Adobe Reader for Android and well that didnt cut it, and i found one searching named Repligo but that's 7.95usd. Are there any others?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 22nd, 2010, 2:31 pm

M_2NR wrote:um i think he was sincerely asking for help yuhno :|
tough crowd in here.

he asking the wrong question, i gave hime the answer he looking for. (bonus hint: Advanced Task Killer Free)

as for yuh relative : ezPDF Reader .99c

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 2:44 pm

bigga514 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:um i think he was sincerely asking for help yuhno :|
tough crowd in here.

he asking the wrong question, i gave hime the answer he looking for. (bonus hint: Advanced Task Killer Free)

as for yuh relative : ezPDF Reader .99c

thanks.

Postby Greypatch » November 22nd, 2010, 2:58 pm

men still running 1.6 ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 22nd, 2010, 4:38 pm

got a notification about a system update in 2 parts.

part 1 said i needed to restart the phone so the new android software can be installed.

but when i restarted, nothing yet, OS version is still 2.2.1...

Gingerbread man finish bake?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 22nd, 2010, 4:50 pm

ok gingerbread is still baking.

apparently this is a minor froyo update. my build number now says FRG83D

Nexus One gets an update to FRG83D (no, it's still not Gingerbread)

The Google Nexus One just got itself a little update. It's still Android 2.2.1 -- no Gingerbread yet, folks -- and the 1.3MB download looks to be a bunch of patches and bugfixes. We've poked around it for a few minutes, and here's what we see:

The Froyo framework has been patched, as has the applications debugger. When we look at the system applications, each has a small patch, but Vending (the Android Market, which is now at Version 2.12), the Google services framework, and the GoogleEmail application (not Gmail) has a larger patch in place. There's also a small patch to the stock recovery.

So, no Gingerbread yet, but this is likely an update to get us ready for it.

http://goo.gl/kSA8o

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 22nd, 2010, 5:05 pm

Google Cloud Connect Syncs Microsoft Office With Google Docs

Love the awesomeness of Google Docs, with real-time collaboration and never worrying about your hard drive exploding, taking down all of your documents, but stuck using Microsoft Office? They just got together with Google Cloud Connect.

A simple plug-in from Google launching today effectively turns Microsoft Office into a front-end for Google Docs (aptly named "Google Cloud Connect for Microsoft Office plug-in"). So everything you type in Word, every number you punch in Excel or spreadsheet you whip up in Powerpoint is perfectly synced and backed up to your Google Docs account—and you can collaborate with other Google Docs users.

The catch? Right now it only works for Office on Windows, because the APIs aren't there for Office on Mac.

Combined with editing for mobile devices, Google Docs just got a lot more awesome. It's pretty clever, too—while not everybody's down with editing and working with documents in a browser window, using Google Docs as a web tying together documents from all kinds of devices and applications makes it a lot easier to slip into.

http://goo.gl/xlnlr

Postby tr1ad » November 22nd, 2010, 5:19 pm

me nah get update yet

Postby Greypatch » November 22nd, 2010, 5:47 pm

got my update today as well 2.2.1

Postby tr1ad » November 22nd, 2010, 6:20 pm

ok i just got it now up to FRG83D

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » November 24th, 2010, 3:05 am

For Sony Xperia X10 users :- Android 2.2 Custom Rom (Alpha)

Link:-http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=835308

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 24th, 2010, 8:57 am

ok ppl... i had a G1 and since i sold it ive been outta d loop... i wanna get another android phone but dunno which really standing out these days... Any suggestions? Like a list of d top 5.....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 25th, 2010, 2:49 pm

XDA Exclusive: Gingerbread 2.3 / Nexus S Pictures

Well, we have a little Thanksgiving treat for all of you. Thanks to a source that chooses to remain anonymous, we got exclusive pictures of the elusive Gingerbread! We can now confirm Gingerbread is Android 2.3 and not 3.0. As you can see in the pictures, we also got some pictures of the Samsung Nexus S, it is a thin and curved device, it features a 720P camera. We are working to pull more info and pictures from our source.

Here are some specs of the Nexus S:

ArmV7 CPU – Could be Dual Core
Open GL ES Supported
512 or 328MB Ram (Not 100% known)
1GB or 2GB Internal Memory (Not 100% known)
800×480 Screen Resolution
4″ Screen Size
SuperAmoled2 – Possibly
720P HD Video
As for the pictures, enjoy below and leave your comments, more pictures will be coming!

http://goo.gl/XyTDF

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2010, 9:37 am

anyone know where the "reset" button is on a htc hera?

trying to do a hard reset but dunno where the eff the reset button is

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 26th, 2010, 9:58 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone know where the "reset" button is on a htc hera?

trying to do a hard reset but dunno where the eff the reset button is

combination of buttons. i think its hold menu and end.
i cud be wrong but try that

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2010, 10:04 am

hold up volume and power when it is off

Postby DFC » November 26th, 2010, 2:56 pm

no update for me yet :(

Postby DFC » November 26th, 2010, 2:59 pm

in other news- WOW

Acer to bring a 4.8-inch Android phone in Q2 2011

Acer has announced that they will be bringing their own spin on an Android phone, in a very big way come April 2011. The yet unnamed 4.8-inch (yes, 4.8 inch) Android phone will feature a 1024x480 touchscreen, a 1 GHz Snapdragon processor, 8MP rear camera and 2 MP front facing camera, HSDPA, DLNA, and more.

Sounds quite impressive. And quite big. Only thing is that Acer has been unable to break into the U.S. market on any platform.

ACER Next Generation Smartphone

100% Smartphone, 100% Tablet:

New York, November 23rd 2010 – The new Acer smartphone with the soul of a tablet perfectly combines the capabilities of a smartphone with a tablet-like format: a huge 4.8” widescreen with a 21:9 aspect ratio and a super cool chassis.
Its revolutionary design , characterized by a stretched out, thin and slightly curved shape, makes it a fascinating device that will not go unnoticed. Its full metal body, enriched by subtle wavy patterns, conveys a sense of timeless elegance. What’s more, it offers a perfect fit in your hand thanks to its smoothly curved back and minimal width (64mm).
The front is entirely dominated by the extraordinary, multi-touch, high resolution 4.8″ screen, with 4 keys: Home, Search, Back, and Menu. While on the back there is an 8MP camera, complete with LED Flash.
This truly innovative device is perfect for fashion addicts or tech savvy people looking for the latest and cutting edge technology available ensuring superior browsing and excellent multimedia entertainment.
This latest Android smartphone is extremely powerful, guaranteeing long-lasting fun. It will also be able to wirelessly control all the multimedia content of your home environment, thanks to the integrated clear.fi media sharing system.

IDEAL FOR BROWSING
•No limit in assessing any web sites with the same user experience as using a traditional PC, so web sites don’t need to be resized and adjusted, thanks to its exceptional resolution of 1024×480 and a very large 4.8″ screen (12.2cm diagonal), there is no need to zoom in on web pages, or to scroll left & right. The only thing you need to do is scroll up & down, just like on your PC.
•Fast and fully featured, the Android browser offers: multi-touch, Java script optimization, Adobe Flash Player 10.1 support, and multiple page opening.
•Ultra-fast high-speed connectivity via HSDPA @ 14.4 and WiFi N for data connection.
•Bluetooth 3.0

GREAT FOR MOVIES
On the 21:9 screen you can watch a movie in its original format, for an engrossing cinema-like experience. What’s more the LED backlit display uses the same technology as TV showing super bright and vivid images; to top it off, Dolby Mobile technology delivers vibrant, immersive sound. Not enough for you yet? Thanks to DLNA technology or the HDMI cable, you can connect it to your TV to view your content on an even bigger screen!

POWERFUL
Inside the product beats the powerful 1GHz Snapdragon processor, which, in addition to the large screen, turns this smartphone into a perfect game console. Together with 6-axis motion sensing (Gyroscope + accelerometer), this smartphone will exceed any gaming expectation.
Equipped with an 8MP camera and LED flash, and a 2MP front camera for high quality IP video calling.
With a screen resolution of 1024×480, more content can be displayed on screen, in all regular apps, such as, Contacts, Google Maps, Email, Instant Messaging conversations, etc.
100% Smartphone, 100% Tablet: a revolutionary experience for people who want it all!