.:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

speedmelter

Re: .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

Postby speedmelter » July 30th, 2014, 11:20 am

to update you have to download the windows phone developers app.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 31st, 2014, 10:01 am

Got my 820 a few weeks ago , liking the windows OS . Not sure about updates though. Settings > phone updates says that the phone is up to date . Setting> about says software version is 8.0

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 31st, 2014, 10:52 am

^
thats where u will be until you are carrier updated to 8.1

however if u sign up for the developer preview, u can get 8.1 immediately and 8.1 update (most ridiculous name ever), next week.

Also, Cyan, a firmware update for all Lumias is also rolling out.

http://www.wpcentral.com/how-sign-windo ... developers

HIGHLY recommend u sign up and download 8.1

its an insane improvement over 8.0

xbox music royally sucks however.

if you're a reddit user, i suggest

http://reddit.com/r/windowsphone

lots of good stuff there

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 31st, 2014, 12:03 pm

tiger balm wrote:BBM for WP is said to be coming in August. It's development was confirmed by BB

BBM beta

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/app/bbm-beta/fc09e558-44e5-489c-a1b2-dc96c1b761fa

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » July 31st, 2014, 6:02 pm

Any one here selling a Lumia 520 used...inbox me please thank you

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 31st, 2014, 7:46 pm

original_lollybob wrote:^
thats where u will be until you are carrier updated to 8.1

however if u sign up for the developer preview, u can get 8.1 immediately and 8.1 update (most ridiculous name ever), next week.

Also, Cyan, a firmware update for all Lumias is also rolling out.

http://www.wpcentral.com/how-sign-windo ... developers

HIGHLY recommend u sign up and download 8.1

its an insane improvement over 8.0

xbox music royally sucks however.

if you're a reddit user, i suggest

http://reddit.com/r/windowsphone

lots of good stuff there

reddit link appreciated.

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » August 21st, 2014, 7:57 pm

What does the sad face on a Lumia 520 means???

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » August 21st, 2014, 7:58 pm

See the pic
1408665462660.jpg

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 21st, 2014, 8:22 pm

Anyone get Cortana to work on their phone yet?
If so, how?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 21st, 2014, 9:41 pm

you have to change your language settings to english usa also the other setting to english usa cant remember the name of the setting (think its voice or region). its just a female voice instead of the normal one :/ nothing special

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 22nd, 2014, 10:23 am

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 22nd, 2014, 10:27 am

dredman1 wrote:Anyone get Cortana to work on their phone yet?
If so, how?

firstly u need to have the wp8.1 developer preview or the official 8.1 release

secondly, u need to be living in the US. with wp 8.1 update 1, she came to different regions. (see more here http://mashable.com/2014/07/30/windows- ... -1-update/)

if you're not in any of those regions,

change the language settings to English (United States). To achieve this, head into Settings > Language and add the language as a new entry on the list by hitting the add button. Ensure English (United States) is active prior to continuing. The phone may require a reboot.

Head into region settings to move your virtual self from your current location to the US by changing the region. All that's required for this step is to head into Settings > Region and ensure "country/region" is set to the United States and "regional format" matches phone language (makes it easier when switching back). The phone may require a reboot.

Everything should be set up and ready to go. If you cannot see Cortana listed as an app on the app list, give the phone a final reboot. You should then be able to load up the Cortana app, which will run you through the initial setup wizard. However, if you alter the region and/or language settings from here on out, you will remove Cortana.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2014, 7:45 am

Thanks guys. Will give those settings a go and see if it works

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » December 12th, 2014, 4:37 pm

I've got a AT&T Lumia 635 Go Phone, what options do I have to get it unlocked?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » December 17th, 2014, 1:06 pm

I emailed AT&T and got ah code.. Thanks anyhow allyuh... :|

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 17th, 2014, 9:32 pm

http://www.theverge.com/2014/12/11/7377021/ive-given-up-on-windows-phone

windows phone boy....too far behind. they should have flooded the caribbean with cheap 520s and gotten a foothold.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 18th, 2014, 10:41 am

^
just cause tom warren and ed bott have given up means we should too?

and they digi tried flooding the market... didnt work too well...

im still a fanboi tho...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 18th, 2014, 10:43 am

original_lollybob wrote:^
just cause tom warren and ed bott have given up means we should too?

and they digi tried flooding the market... didnt work too well...

im still a fanboi tho...

digicel did not flood the market as they could have.
That 520 should have been sold for 200.00TT
that is flooding the market
Last edited by christopherwilliams2 on December 18th, 2014, 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 18th, 2014, 10:47 am

well i feel thats nokia/ms pricing madness

its just like the new 830... affordable at US$450?

steupes

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 18th, 2014, 11:11 am

it was shameful. this was supposed to be windows phone country after it was blackberry country..now it's Samsung in charge.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 25th, 2015, 12:57 pm

What are the best Windows Phones on the market now? I want to upgrade from a Lumia 610 to something faster with a bigger screen. I also want something that should be fast enough to upgrade to WP10 later this year.

Thoughts?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 25th, 2015, 1:01 pm

Humes wrote:What are the best Windows Phones on the market now? I want to upgrade from a Lumia 610 to something faster with a bigger screen. I also want something that should be fast enough to upgrade to WP10 later this year.

Thoughts?

the lumia 930 or wait till MSFT brings out their flagship with the release of windows 10 phone

Humes

Postby Humes » January 25th, 2015, 1:07 pm

I'm thinking 930 now as I'm sure the new mid-range and high-end WP10 phones will be out of my price range.

I'm seeing it for an okay price on Amazon, but I always prefer to buy something like that locally. What's a good phone retailer who has it in stock?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 25th, 2015, 11:42 pm

We prolly won't see a flagship win 10 phone till summer... So yea the 930 or 1520 is a phablet is your scene

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 26th, 2015, 9:48 pm

You can check trinCity mall. A store called let's talk has them. Though I'm sure they trying to sell off their windows phone stock as the brand weak.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2015, 1:58 am

I know the place. I'll give them a sale if the price and warranty are reasonable.

goodygood

Postby goodygood » January 27th, 2015, 5:03 am

Anybody here owns a lumia 900?gonna get one today.what u all think?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 27th, 2015, 5:27 am

nah boi I feel you better off with 920/925/830/930

The 900 cannot upgrade beyond windows phone 7 (7.10 I think is the latest)
and they don't support that OS again.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 27th, 2015, 6:48 am

goodygood wrote:Anybody here owns a lumia 900?gonna get one today.what u all think?

don't waste your money.

Postby mero » January 27th, 2015, 7:45 am

Anyone with the 930? Contemplating to finally upgrade from my 920, battery life beginning to seriously annoy now.

Is it really a big jump and battery life significantly better?