Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 14th, 2009, 8:52 pm

^^^ looking really nice

but the fish might need some more light kinda looking dark,

and some hiding places.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 14th, 2009, 8:59 pm

nice setup dey.
could do with some more live rock but otherwise simple and effective.
how much them Imperator Angelfish does go for?

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » July 14th, 2009, 9:53 pm

Looking to get more live rock but gulf has it to expensive... as mention saving up to buy a proper lighting system.

Got the Juvenile Emperor for around $750 or so...

Guy i bought it from had a 4" Achilles Tang for $1200 :shock:

Postby UML » July 14th, 2009, 10:21 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/UpE1TVPmDZ0&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

my set up when power fails....will post a vid of my tank soon

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 14th, 2009, 10:26 pm

joashmgn wrote:
norstar2k wrote:^Isn't the rule one fish per gallon?

Pal... the "rule" is one inch of fish per gallon... that 10 gallon tank you've got there is way too small for most if not all of the fish you've got there... reason being... even if the each of the fish are one inch now... when they grow and trust me... they will all grow... a lot... they will be too much for the tank...

it actually isn't even a rule to follow because of the fact that different fish produce different amounts of biological waste depending on their lifestyle, eating habits and all sorts of different things... the biological filter needs to be able to handle the bioload excreted into the tank for the fish to be healthy...

right now your 10 gallon is severly overstocked!..

i'd deal with the violence in another post when i look at the stocking list again...

Thanks. Maybe I should either turn the 10 tank into a Tetra only tank. I'm switching to a 20gal., maybe I'll get a bit more flexibility.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 14th, 2009, 10:48 pm

jus a vid for the wile....

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/TnzTzRvIvwk&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 15th, 2009, 8:51 am

Many would be fish enthusiasts find it expensive to setup and maintain aquariums. But I guess all hobbies take some degree of investment.

I've noticed Chai's prices to be really good on equipment like heaters, thermometers, plants and accessories. The store in Valpark is v.expensive.

The cost of Azoo and Tetra products tend to vary from location to location.

From experience y'all, who has the best prices overall on Aquarium equipment and supplies/consumables?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 15th, 2009, 9:15 am

I would say Chai and Fishy Bizniz

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 15th, 2009, 9:36 am

Zh@ne wrote:Looking to get more live rock but gulf has it to expensive... as mention saving up to buy a proper lighting system.

Got the Juvenile Emperor for around $750 or so...

Guy i bought it from had a 4" Achilles Tang for $1200 :shock:

yo gulf have everything expensive they buy their stuff from raj.

Fellas i was thinking about creating a post for just us reef/fowlr guys, what do you guys think ? to aid in trade and sales between ourselves.
Sorry if i'm discriminatig.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 15th, 2009, 10:16 am

madman.devin, that is ah good idea.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 15th, 2009, 11:29 am

madman.devin, yea daz a gd scene dey...

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 15th, 2009, 1:33 pm

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 15th, 2009, 1:50 pm

ingalook wrote:Help!!

Mih Crown fighter (about 1 year old) has white stuff on his fins

He is looking pretty badly off... I hope he lasts the night

I got an "ick" tablet in the mall... it is for 40 gallons and he is in less than 1, so I just average and saw off a lil piece an throw it in

I had on the air conditioning and the water in his tank get real cold (like 18-20 degrees)

I think that did him in :(

Any suggestions?

My wife will cry if he dies :cry:

It is my regret in inform you guys that after a 3-day harrowing battle with "ick" my fighter "Fishy" lost his first fight

:cry:

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » July 15th, 2009, 3:10 pm

The mods lock d damn thread :?

JM

Postby JM » July 15th, 2009, 7:23 pm

norstar...if you think the bigger tank wont be big enough then putting rock formations and plants can help separate them. THe sharks...other than the bala and columbian are all teritorial so once they have their own little spot to guard they wont really run out and attack anyone. see if that helps!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 15th, 2009, 9:58 pm

^^Thanks JM I appreciate the tip.

Is a 20 gal gonna be ok though?

Postby UML » July 15th, 2009, 11:25 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/326zUgI3NuE&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

i know it dark.....but if i take the video in the day i get glare off the glass

and well i also have a black background.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 16th, 2009, 1:04 am

by the way ppl...anybody got butterkoferi cichlids for sale? need another to try an make up a pair....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 16th, 2009, 11:25 am

Recommendations for a 20 gal. (24"L x 13"W x 17"H) community tank please.

I've always wanted exotics, but I guess the 20 gal. may be too small. I like the Arowana, Ghost Knifefish, Elephant Nose, etc.
Last edited by NorStar2K on July 16th, 2009, 2:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 16th, 2009, 12:08 pm

NEED TO GET A MALE SOUTHERN PAINTED TURTLE .MALE HAS VERY LONG CLAWS AND UNDERSIDE OF SHELL IS SLIGHTLY CONCAVE
770-2436
Last edited by SHARIFF on August 15th, 2009, 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 16th, 2009, 2:41 pm

norstar2k wrote:Recommendations for a 20 gal. (24"L x 13"W x 17"H) community tank please.

I've always wanted exotics, but I guess the 20 gal. may be too small. I like the Arowana, Ghost Knifefish, Elephant Nose, etc.

Come on guys, recommendations please. :)

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 16th, 2009, 2:56 pm

norstar2k: for that size i would look into neon tetras or other tetra types. The only exotic fish I can think of that may be ok for that size are Ghost Glass Cat fish.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 16th, 2009, 3:05 pm

Fishman wrote:norstar2k: for that size i would look into neon tetras or other tetra types. The only exotic fish I can think of that may be ok for that size are Ghost Glass Cat fish.

Tetras/Types-only?? A pair of Discus would be too big?? A shark and loach tank perhaps??

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 16th, 2009, 3:12 pm

IMO Discus should not be kept in anything smaller than a 50 Gallon. Sharks even though they can be bought small grow fairly quickly so I do not think that a 20 gallon would be good for them.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » July 16th, 2009, 4:07 pm

anyone has a mechanical / bilogical filter, pump design for a small pond

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 16th, 2009, 6:39 pm

lookin for a couple of these to buy peeps...ASAP!!!

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 16th, 2009, 8:56 pm

francis1979 wrote:anyone has a mechanical / bilogical filter, pump design for a small pond

For Ponds I would suggest using a settling tank with plants.

Have been using one in my 4000g pond and together with vacuming have had great results.

Postby UML » July 16th, 2009, 10:09 pm

ryan99tt wrote:by the way ppl...anybody got butterkoferi cichlids for sale? need another to try an make up a pair....

have one to sell

is about 4 or 5 inches

741-0422

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 17th, 2009, 1:09 pm

DELETED
Last edited by SHARIFF on July 17th, 2009, 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 17th, 2009, 1:11 pm

SHARIFF,