Mountain Biking

hindian

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby hindian » December 9th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Question, Do I have to purchase a bike that costs 5k? What exactly will i be paying for besides build quality? Would not a cheaper bike not yield the same results wrt performance, fitness level to be gained and reliability? What are the advantages and disadvantages of paying 5k and upwards for a mountain bike for recreational use as compared to lets say a $1500 bike? I'm asking because i recently began rebuilding a cheap frame to get back into the hobby and i'm custom building it to suit me but it wont have the quality and type of mechanicals as seen in the video posted by EFFECTIC DESIGNS and it will be for road use only, at least for now.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 9th, 2013, 3:10 pm

anybody have cleats for crank brother pedals to sell i need them like yesterday

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2013, 7:26 pm

hindian wrote:Question, Do I have to purchase a bike that costs 5k? What exactly will i be paying for besides build quality? Would not a cheaper bike not yield the same results wrt performance, fitness level to be gained and reliability? What are the advantages and disadvantages of paying 5k and upwards for a mountain bike for recreational use as compared to lets say a $1500 bike? I'm asking because i recently began rebuilding a cheap frame to get back into the hobby and i'm custom building it to suit me but it wont have the quality and type of mechanicals as seen in the video posted by EFFECTIC DESIGNS and it will be for road use only, at least for now.

I was going to do what you planned on doing but the steel frame put me off. Not gonna spend money on quality parts to put on some old heavy crappy frame that can rust.

This bike was only $4k, it used to be $5k but since its a 2013 model you can get it now for $4k.

If I have to bleed this brake system or do anything with it I not even bothering to waste money, I going on Amazon and buying a nice quality cheap Mechanical Disk brake caliper and lever combo, while using my current disk rim and just do a conversion. However I estimate this brake system to last me 10 years without service. This thing eh have no cable is just piston and brake fluid. Hydraulic is incredibly difficult to service, just to adjust the stiffness of the brake that was rubbing slightly on the rotor I had to carry it back to the bike shop because I was clueless on how to get it done but i learned it had too much brake fluid in the line.

You honestly do not need hydraulic, is not like you going to be constantly riding DOWN a steep mountain for miles.

Everything else is decent ok quality. Its not high end its mid range. I think mid range is always the sweet spot, good value for money. I like my Acera shimano combo, nice aluminum alloy material used but you can get away with cheaper and just as good

http://www.amazon.com/Shimano-Tourney-T ... d_sim_sg_3

In these more expensive bikes you more or less pay for the brake setup, stronger rims (Very Important) and 29 inch tiers. You pay for Aluminum alloy Handle bars, better crankset, expensive matt paint. More durable expensive bottom bracket here have a look

http://www.amazon.com/Shimano-SM-BB70-S ... el+bracket

don't go cheap on these if you are a fat person like me. I am a 260 pounder and I crushed the bearings and thing in my steel frame chinese custom trash from mikes bikes.

The difference between spending $1600 on a steel frame chinese trash build up and a $2600 Fuji budget bike nevada 1.9 is like a rotten down cortina that can't start vs a brand toyota corolla for less than twice the price.

If I had to do it over would buy the Fuji Nevada 1.5 29er for $4700. It has Hutchinson Cobra tubeless tiers with tubeless ready rims. And its matt black with a wicked blue

If you want a boss bike for road use then buy the Fuji Absolute 1.4 its $4500 in bike inn.

I prefer my mountain bike for road use because I often get forced into the off road when trucks approach me and mad evil drivers. And when you taste that quality front suspension you don't want anything else

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » December 9th, 2013, 8:31 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok here is the video hope u all like it. Its in 1080p

Whoever considering this bike you not gonna find this much detail anywhere on the internet, believe me I know I researched before I got it LOL

hell it don't even have a video of a 1.6 29er 2013 model anywhere on the internet.

Cool video. Was kinda funny to see the bike still chained up though :lol: . People might think it's not really yours.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » December 9th, 2013, 8:40 pm

Park Tool chain lube in stock
we carry a wide range of Park Tool products

hindian

Postby hindian » December 9th, 2013, 11:15 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
hindian wrote:Question, Do I have to purchase a bike that costs 5k? What exactly will i be paying for besides build quality? Would not a cheaper bike not yield the same results wrt performance, fitness level to be gained and reliability? What are the advantages and disadvantages of paying 5k and upwards for a mountain bike for recreational use as compared to lets say a $1500 bike? I'm asking because i recently began rebuilding a cheap frame to get back into the hobby and i'm custom building it to suit me but it wont have the quality and type of mechanicals as seen in the video posted by EFFECTIC DESIGNS and it will be for road use only, at least for now.

I was going to do what you planned on doing but the steel frame put me off. Not gonna spend money on quality parts to put on some old heavy crappy frame that can rust.

This bike was only $4k, it used to be $5k but since its a 2013 model you can get it now for $4k.

If I have to bleed this brake system or do anything with it I not even bothering to waste money, I going on Amazon and buying a nice quality cheap Mechanical Disk brake caliper and lever combo, while using my current disk rim and just do a conversion. However I estimate this brake system to last me 10 years without service. This thing eh have no cable is just piston and brake fluid. Hydraulic is incredibly difficult to service, just to adjust the stiffness of the brake that was rubbing slightly on the rotor I had to carry it back to the bike shop because I was clueless on how to get it done but i learned it had too much brake fluid in the line.

You honestly do not need hydraulic, is not like you going to be constantly riding DOWN a steep mountain for miles.

Everything else is decent ok quality. Its not high end its mid range. I think mid range is always the sweet spot, good value for money. I like my Acera shimano combo, nice aluminum alloy material used but you can get away with cheaper and just as good

http://www.amazon.com/Shimano-Tourney-T ... d_sim_sg_3

In these more expensive bikes you more or less pay for the brake setup, stronger rims (Very Important) and 29 inch tiers. You pay for Aluminum alloy Handle bars, better crankset, expensive matt paint. More durable expensive bottom bracket here have a look

http://www.amazon.com/Shimano-SM-BB70-S ... el+bracket

don't go cheap on these if you are a fat person like me. I am a 260 pounder and I crushed the bearings and thing in my steel frame chinese custom trash from mikes bikes.

The difference between spending $1600 on a steel frame chinese trash build up and a $2600 Fuji budget bike nevada 1.9 is like a rotten down cortina that can't start vs a brand toyota corolla for less than twice the price.

If I had to do it over would buy the Fuji Nevada 1.5 29er for $4700. It has Hutchinson Cobra tubeless tiers with tubeless ready rims. And its matt black with a wicked blue

If you want a boss bike for road use then buy the Fuji Absolute 1.4 its $4500 in bike inn.

I prefer my mountain bike for road use because I often get forced into the off road when trucks approach me and mad evil drivers. And when you taste that quality front suspension you don't want anything else

Dude ah following what yuh saying, I have already started the build so I might as well finish it. It's a 26" frame with dual suspension with Shimano components. You raised a valid point about the weight issue as I am clocking around 260lbs myself so I guess I hadda look out for bearing issues :shock: until then I will continue to pester my brother to sell me his HARO frame that he has doing nothing lol. Thanks for the reply...

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 10th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Trinibajan. I have.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 11th, 2013, 9:03 am

That Fuji looks nice.

Postby eliteauto » December 11th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Amit

Postby Amit » December 11th, 2013, 9:43 pm

www.jensonusa.com they have sale

Mini

Postby Mini » December 12th, 2013, 7:29 am

Storage room getting cramped

Anybody use anything like this?

Racor B-1R Solo Vertical Bike Rack

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2013, 7:54 am

fyi, Marty Ashton was paralysed in Sept during filming of that stunt video

bgh

Postby bgh » December 12th, 2013, 8:20 am

I'm going to Chaguaramas about 4, will anyone else would be there?
If the trails is to muddy I may just ride on the road. I haven't ridden in a while so I need to get at lease an hour in. Hope I remember how to use those clipless... :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2013, 7:36 pm

I am worried about something here.

Did Bike Inn forget to put in a part in this? this looks like its missing a part where water can get in. Somehow it looks incomplete. I certainly hope this pic is normal and this is the way its supposed to be.

The derailleurs are so badly adjusted on this bike, again I can't stress enough to NOT go by Bike Inn. If you intend to buy cheap bikes is ok. But its not nice to spend this much money and get such anal wrecking service from a company. It is as the other user on tuner said, they are a typical trashy trini mentality with who you know and who know you. They will only properly service their Special customers.

I waiting for my tool kit set from Amazon so I can do my own adjustments.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2013, 7:57 pm

Is there play in the crank axle moving side to side ?

post a pic more sideways in the gap
a lot of the bottom bracket bearings nowadays have a wavy washer
which leaves a little gap so the bearing is not compressed too much sideways and damaged.

Derailleur adjustments typically involve adjusting two screws(screwdriver) and cable tension.
Cable is usually held with allen key.
Don't really need a fancy toolset.
Check Park Tool website for instructions, not hard at all.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Nah boy no play at all

here is 3 more pics

This thing looking like it missing something, like water can go inside there and damage the bearings you know. That green thing look like grease?

It under 6 month warranty so I can always carry it back when I get a chance but seriously these fcking people. If the crank good and thats how it supposed to be well no scene, I go just allign the derailleurs myself etc

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2013, 9:31 pm

Those bottom brackets come in a few different standard designs.
You should check the fuji website to find out what type your bike uses and you can surely get info online how they are setup and taken apart to get an idea.

The bearings are usually designed to take water exposure so dont worry too muc about it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2013, 10:18 pm

aight cool will check up on it.

Does only use this for commuting to work on paved roads alone anyways so not like anything to worry about I suppose, I am sure it will die a natural death from service alone before anything else can damage it.

Anybody know where trinirider shop located? I need to get some dry lube for this chain.

WD 40 would be more convenient though. I can buy that 3 houses away from me LOL

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 12th, 2013, 10:20 pm

Check this

http://wd40.com/about-us/myths-legends-fun-facts/

Says people who say WD 40 is not for bike chains is a complete myth. And that Wd 40 is indeed an excellent product for bike chains. LOL

Doh make Joke look WD 40 promoting Fuji Bikes yes

http://www.wd40bike.com/products/

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 13th, 2013, 10:25 am

Fellow mountainbikers.
A few friends and I will be heading down to Chaguaramas to ride tomorow from 3 pm.
Feel free to fall in.
We are all newbies so slow pace.
We meeting at the Aboratoreum Carpark which is the first carpark on the right after you pass the Golf Course road.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 14th, 2013, 7:41 pm

Here this some people tell me that I am making a mistake commuting on a MTB

They say the knobby tiers area no no and I should get slicks. But is this a myth? I hear the difference knobby fat offroad tiers make is near non existent especially riding at slow pace like I do.

what you guys think? I feel all that is hype and is my Fat arse that makes it hard for me to pedal since I am so out of shape and obese.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2013, 8:47 pm

Smooth tires will roll and feel better on asphalt than knobbies,
The knobbies will wear out faster too.

You need to get a good bike computer which shows cadence rpm
So yo learn to pedal efficiently

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » December 14th, 2013, 9:10 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am worried about something here.

Did Bike Inn forget to put in a part in this? this looks like its missing a part where water can get in. Somehow it looks incomplete. I certainly hope this pic is normal and this is the way its supposed to be.

The derailleurs are so badly adjusted on this bike, again I can't stress enough to NOT go by Bike Inn. If you intend to buy cheap bikes is ok. But its not nice to spend this much money and get such anal wrecking service from a company. It is as the other user on tuner said, they are a typical trashy trini mentality with who you know and who know you. They will only properly service their Special customers.

I waiting for my tool kit set from Amazon so I can do my own adjustments.

I can assure you there is nothing wrong with your B.B. and nothing has been left out. What you have there is a standard issue square taper bottom bracket. Set mind at ease.

limbobreak

Postby limbobreak » December 14th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Oh, and it carries a pair of sealed bearings so chillax.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 15th, 2013, 6:04 am

here's a pic of my bb from my fuji nevada 1.5 just to put ur mind at ease
tmp_2013-12-15 05.59.14-2140829202.png

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 15th, 2013, 10:05 am

Thanks a lot guys my mind is at ease glad to know the bb are normal and nothing is missing :)

So u all recommend I buy a pair of slicks for it? Or leave this to wear down and become slicks? Lol

I heard slicks because its so thin has less turbulence its the physics of rolling tiers. Apparently less turbulence = more efficient and less force required.

If I am buying slicks send me a amazon link to what u guys recommend

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 15th, 2013, 10:12 am

you can go by Geronimos for dougla tyres tgat is tyres that give both mixture that is if you need it now , price point . com

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 15th, 2013, 10:13 am

you can go by Geronimos for dougla tyres tgat is tyres that give both mixture that is if you need it now , price point . com

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 15th, 2013, 11:18 am

^Got my Bontrager All-weather Hardcase Race 26x1.5 from Geronimos, $250each

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2013, 12:11 pm

yes, the bontrager hardcase are a good allround tire,
good puncture resistance.
I have them on my road bike,
the expensive light tires all puncture very easily.

If you are really paranoid you can also put a tuffy tire liner which is goes between the tube and inside tire. They wear out eventually though.