COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 19 discharged in T&T

Postby Gem_in_i » April 15th, 2020, 2:23 pm

In NY they sending you home to self quarantine. Relatives work at Hospitals and they had co workers who tested positive. The co workers were given 7 days off and told to return to work after. When they returned to work people are scared to be around them.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 113 cases, 8 deaths, 16 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2020, 2:25 pm

killercow wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.

Given Trump's directive, you think the gov't would send a plane to get him out or he could rent a 1% plane to come back?

Being 'stranded' is a state of mind. If you get stuck in a place you like and have the means to stay then the scenario changes.

zoom rader wrote:Rich folk like Chin and 1% don't really care cause they have the bank roll and most likely have one of those high rise condos. They have cash no stress

Zoom is right. You ever hear a rich person complain bout dey stranded? Most 'stranded' people are folks who lack the financial fortitude to endure / relax / be comfortable.

enough cash to pay off 'kidnappers' on a week end.

Postby hydroep » April 15th, 2020, 2:35 pm

"Textile Retailer" open back too yes. Looks like they will be forced to take more stringent measures...:|

Defiant limers, vendors back out in PoS

Andrew Gioannetti

THE TYPICAL flurry of activity in Port of Spain seemed to have returned to some degree on Tuesday, after the long Easter weekend.Most people were wearing facemasks, and there was an increase in police presence, but little else to indicate an unfolding pandemic.

Major food establishments and smaller bars remained shut, but that seemed to result in some would-be patrons seeking and finding alternative gathering points.

Newsday ventured through the town, noting an increase in people daring to defy the government's shut-down of non-essential businesses and services.

Police were in abundance but appeared to be lenient with older men seen drinking – presumably alcohol – out of styrofoam cups, as they sat on the ledges along the Brian Lara Promenade. On Charlotte Street, there were obvious lines of people, some too close together for comfort, waiting for their turn to enter the Chinese supermarkets.

Glaringly open but less active, however, were several variety stores, selling household items, with no apparent sign that they were offering essential products or services.

On Queen Street, Jimmy Aboud's fabric store was open. One of the city's landmarks, it is owned by Gregory Aboud, who is also the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association. Customers were seen entering at the discretion of the security guard, who only allowed masked people inside, although some two weeks ago the company issuing an advisory of its immediate closure.

The store was closed on Wednesday but will open again on Thursday from 9-12 am, according to a representative whom Newsday reached by phone. It is understood that many people will have sought fabric to make reusable masks.

In City Gate on South Quay, all businesses apart from two were dark and padlocked. One a small pharmacy had its door open, with a sign asking customers to respect social-distancing guidelines.

The other, the only food establishment, was a kiosk where pies and juices are sold, close to the staircase to the platforms, .

CoP: We will chase loitering drinkers

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith responded to questions about why some food places and non-essential businesses, which were ordered shut, were being allowed to operate uninterrupted. He said he does not have the resources to shut every business down without people reporting the violators.

"What would be so much easier for the police service to do their job, instead of persons putting on social media how they seeing this and they seeing that – if they could just report it. I have 5,000 police officers.

"Look at the square footage of this country. If at every corner, every crack and crevice in this country, there's someone who has a shop, who has a parlour, a casino running, police cannot go and find every single place. We are not Steve Austin and we do not have bionic eyes. We don't have the drome capability to look over every nook and cranny in every single street in the country.

"Instead of trying to perceive that the State is allowing one place to be open whilst another is not open, it would be so much better if instead of persons complaining and and crying about a misconception, send the information to 555...and it will be shut down if required."

Asked specifically about the men liming on the promenade, he replied, "Yep, you're very accurate about that, which is why I sent (inaudible) with about 50 officers to clear the Brian Lara Promenade.

"What's been happening now is that people are going to the supermarkets, purchasing alcohol and going on to the Brian Lara Promenade to drink.

"It is not going to be allowed. So we have cleared the promenade, and we will continue to do so every single day, because we can look at that as loitering. I will use that law to arrest persons via loitering if they continue to do so. What we will do first is give them a warning and disperse the crowd, which worked again today.

Pressed on a textile retailer being open to the public, Griffith said that would be addressed immediately.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/15/defiant-limers-vendors-back-out-in-pos/

Postby bluefete » April 15th, 2020, 2:44 pm

He did say that he wanted to come back home though. But ZR is right. I was wondering how it was possible for him to be running out of US$ cash given his means. Maybe the condo taxes are getting to him :lol: :lol: :lol:

But he will have to stay out until the ban is lifted.

sMASH wrote:
killercow wrote:

Given Trump's directive, you think the gov't would send a plane to get him out or he could rent a 1% plane to come back?

Being 'stranded' is a state of mind. If you get stuck in a place you like and have the means to stay then the scenario changes.

zoom rader wrote:Rich folk like Chin and 1% don't really care cause they have the bank roll and most likely have one of those high rise condos. They have cash no stress

Zoom is right. You ever hear a rich person complain bout dey stranded? Most 'stranded' people are folks who lack the financial fortitude to endure / relax / be comfortable.

enough cash to pay off 'kidnappers' on a week end.

Postby paid_influencer » April 15th, 2020, 2:46 pm

https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexandras ... 3715ad5479

Following the outbreak, Guangzhou officials announced that all residents of African descent—about 4,500 people—must quarantine for 14 days “regardless of their previous circumstances or how long they have been in Guangzhou,” reports the South China Morning Post, adding that African residents’ homes will be monitored with tracking devices that will alert officials if they “open the door.”

Postby bluefete » April 15th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Simply because he has the means to stay quiet. But if his finances were running low due to unexpected hotel bills, I do not know how he might have responded.

But, unfortunately, you are right with respect to behaviour and character.

Yeh bro i hear so,

but he not crying like the others and making up stories.

Note the difference in behavior and character.

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2020, 2:50 pm

any persons spending lockdown ddi ?
asking for a friend

Postby paid_influencer » April 15th, 2020, 2:51 pm

K74T wrote:Re: Jamaica

FB_IMG_1586972901343.jpeg

one person infected 32 others.

:drinking:

Postby bluefete » April 15th, 2020, 2:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexandrasternlicht/2020/04/13/black-people-are-not-allowed-reports-of-discrimination-after-chinese-city-orders-mandatory-quarantine-for-african-residents/#573715ad5479

Following the outbreak, Guangzhou officials announced that all residents of African descent—about 4,500 people—must quarantine for 14 days “regardless of their previous circumstances or how long they have been in Guangzhou,” reports the South China Morning Post, adding that African residents’ homes will be monitored with tracking devices that will alert officials if they “open the door.”

Very sad but not surprising. The African Union did hit back very strongly at China.

Biggest joke is the USA pretending to be concerned about them.

Like in so many other countries, some did not listen and Peter might be paying for Paul.

Postby bluefete » April 15th, 2020, 2:54 pm

pugboy wrote:any persons spending lockdown ddi ?
asking for a friend

Yuh think I coming back to pick you up orrr?

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2020, 2:59 pm

K74T wrote:2M+ globally FB_IMG_1586941450367.jpeg

death rate (based on total deaths/cases) at 5%. but that's based on all cases. cases which had an outcome: 21 % :shock:

we shouldn't really use the total cases because deaths are lagging behind 2-3 weeks, meaning those persons that died got infected 2-3 weeks ago- when total cases were a lot lower.

our death rate is 8% based on total cases (which in itself is already high) but we still have about 100 unresolved cases, which means a few more can die, bringing out death rate even higher.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 15th, 2020, 3:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:
K74T wrote:2M+ globally FB_IMG_1586941450367.jpeg

death rate (based on total deaths/cases) at 5%. but that's based on all cases. cases which had an outcome: 21 % :shock:

we shouldn't really use the total cases because deaths are lagging behind 2-3 weeks, meaning those persons that died got infected 2-3 weeks ago- when total cases were a lot lower.

our death rate is 8% based on total cases (which in itself is already high) but we still have about 100 unresolved cases, which means a few more can die, bringing out death rate even higher.

The World Economic Forum has estimated that there is severe undercounting of cases due to the lack of testing in basically all the countries of the world. Whilst the # of deaths is also under counted the total infected is much more so the death rate is actually significantly lower.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2020, 3:10 pm

hydroep wrote:"Textile Retailer" open back too yes. Looks like they will be forced to take more stringent measures...:|

Andrew Gioannetti
On Queen Street, Jimmy Aboud's fabric store was open. One of the city's landmarks, it is owned by Gregory Aboud, who is also the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association. Customers were seen entering at the discretion of the security guard, who only allowed masked people inside, although some two weeks ago the company issuing an advisory of its immediate closure.

The store was closed on Wednesday but will open again on Thursday from 9-12 am, according to a representative whom Newsday reached by phone. It is understood that many people will have sought fabric to make reusable masks.

could the selling of masks be considered an essential activity, allowing such a business who would otherwise be shutdown to open? considering Govt has recommended it.

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2020, 3:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:https://www.forbes.com/sites/alexandrasternlicht/2020/04/13/black-people-are-not-allowed-reports-of-discrimination-after-chinese-city-orders-mandatory-quarantine-for-african-residents/#573715ad5479

cockroach have no right in fowl party. every body know the chinese is some xenophobic mofos... they persecute the muslims, the christians... they hate every one else. they just around the world trying to get people to buy thier goods. apart from that, we mean nothing to them... probably exotic food.. but we eh reach so far yet.
black people being naive and too trusting of foreigners... again. remember ur history, it did not go that well the last time... 'travel to far off lands' should have been explained a bit more in detail.

Postby MaxPower » April 15th, 2020, 3:34 pm

hydroep wrote:"Textile Retailer" open back too yes. Looks like they will be forced to take more stringent measures...:|

Andrew Gioannetti

THE TYPICAL flurry of activity in Port of Spain seemed to have returned to some degree on Tuesday, after the long Easter weekend.Most people were wearing facemasks, and there was an increase in police presence, but little else to indicate an unfolding pandemic.

Major food establishments and smaller bars remained shut, but that seemed to result in some would-be patrons seeking and finding alternative gathering points.

Newsday ventured through the town, noting an increase in people daring to defy the government's shut-down of non-essential businesses and services.

Police were in abundance but appeared to be lenient with older men seen drinking – presumably alcohol – out of styrofoam cups, as they sat on the ledges along the Brian Lara Promenade. On Charlotte Street, there were obvious lines of people, some too close together for comfort, waiting for their turn to enter the Chinese supermarkets.

Glaringly open but less active, however, were several variety stores, selling household items, with no apparent sign that they were offering essential products or services.

In City Gate on South Quay, all businesses apart from two were dark and padlocked. One a small pharmacy had its door open, with a sign asking customers to respect social-distancing guidelines.

The other, the only food establishment, was a kiosk where pies and juices are sold, close to the staircase to the platforms, .

CoP: We will chase loitering drinkers

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith responded to questions about why some food places and non-essential businesses, which were ordered shut, were being allowed to operate uninterrupted. He said he does not have the resources to shut every business down without people reporting the violators.

"What would be so much easier for the police service to do their job, instead of persons putting on social media how they seeing this and they seeing that – if they could just report it. I have 5,000 police officers.

"Look at the square footage of this country. If at every corner, every crack and crevice in this country, there's someone who has a shop, who has a parlour, a casino running, police cannot go and find every single place. We are not Steve Austin and we do not have bionic eyes. We don't have the drome capability to look over every nook and cranny in every single street in the country.

"Instead of trying to perceive that the State is allowing one place to be open whilst another is not open, it would be so much better if instead of persons complaining and and crying about a misconception, send the information to 555...and it will be shut down if required."

Asked specifically about the men liming on the promenade, he replied, "Yep, you're very accurate about that, which is why I sent (inaudible) with about 50 officers to clear the Brian Lara Promenade.

"What's been happening now is that people are going to the supermarkets, purchasing alcohol and going on to the Brian Lara Promenade to drink.

"It is not going to be allowed. So we have cleared the promenade, and we will continue to do so every single day, because we can look at that as loitering. I will use that law to arrest persons via loitering if they continue to do so. What we will do first is give them a warning and disperse the crowd, which worked again today.

Pressed on a textile retailer being open to the public, Griffith said that would be addressed immediately.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/15/defiant-limers-vendors-back-out-in-pos/

Sigh,

Allyuh better pray this thing dont flare up eh, because these will be the people responsible for it.

I guess you cant fault the people for coming out to work...they need the money to survive. Now i have no issue with this, do allyuh do, but oh gosh, allyuh already going against what the Govt asked, but practice the SD and proper hygiene.

The people have the power to change this eh, remember that.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 15th, 2020, 4:31 pm

Jamaica being hit for 6 with that Call Centre

WhatsApp Image 2020-04-15 at 4.29.15 PM.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » April 15th, 2020, 4:32 pm

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:he in or he out ?

Halfbreed12 wrote:Ian got released today.

https://www.facebook.com/ianalleynenetw ... /?vh=e&d=n

I now see him ranting on the news about how he have release papers and they saying the test is positive (mistake ) and he don't have no Corona and they stinking up he name all over Trinidad.
It wasn't he (and his son ) who say he did a test and he have it ?

Re: Attorney Gerald Ramdeen Interview on Radio 104.7fm regarding Ian Alleyne.

Postby K74T » April 15th, 2020, 4:35 pm

FB_IMG_1586982568806.jpeg

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 19 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 15th, 2020, 7:11 pm

All,

When buying 3M respirator masks, 3M 8210 in particular, please ensure that its original 3M and not 3N 8210.
Last edited by MaxPower on April 15th, 2020, 7:11 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » April 15th, 2020, 7:11 pm

MATT letter on the crap going on in the daily briefings
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 1318549686

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 15th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Is it that the US is just testing more than any other country?

Screenshot 2020-04-15 at 7.04.53 PM.jpg

Postby hydroep » April 15th, 2020, 7:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:MATT letter on the crap going on in the daily briefings
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1112673912435089&id=684861318549686

"The control of information is something the elite always does, particularly in a despotic form of government. Information, knowledge, is power. If you can control information, you can control people." - Tom Clancy, American novelist

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Is it that the US is just testing more than any other country?

Screenshot 2020-04-15 at 7.04.53 PM.jpg

ABSOLUTELY CORRECT!!!

two news that updates on the corona, i watch usually, they said that they test the people and send them home, they are positive, and often the ambulances show up to remove bodies.
they are testing at a phenomenal rate, but their health systems arent able to cope with the rate of critical, far less for the merely positive.

thier numbers is because of expected spread, and highly effective and productive testing.

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2020, 8:25 pm

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 1318549686

who the frack is astrenut news?!!! or as cox says, 'astronaut news'

when u check their page, is a modern wellness center, that is gung ho on pnm support.

what i type ah time, these things becoming like live action FAQ sessions

Postby paid_influencer » April 15th, 2020, 8:25 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Jamaica being hit for 6 with that Call Centre

Jamaican team working.

Other Caricom countries are finding infected in large bunches (20 or 30 people connected to a single group). But here in T&T we only finding positive people one by one.

Either we very lucky or we missing something.

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2020, 8:26 pm

but then again, the common place news houses, they also ask some bla bla bla questions too. not sure if they get a lil cut to throw soft balls.

Postby Gladiator » April 15th, 2020, 8:27 pm

hydroep wrote:
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1112673912435089&id=684861318549686

"The control of information is something the elite always does, particularly in a despotic form of government. Information, knowledge, is power. If you can control information, you can control people." - Tom Clancy, American novelist

Finally they getting call out on these BS "press conferences"... like they bury Akash Samaroo.

Postby Gladiator » April 15th, 2020, 8:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Jamaica being hit for 6 with that Call Centre

Jamaican team working.

Other Caricom countries are finding infected in large bunches (20 or 30 people connected to a single group). But here in T&T we only finding positive people one by one.

Either we very lucky or we missing something.

The entire testing regime is set up to control the information.... and the Ian Alleyne fiasco exposing it live. If CARPHA only tests samples referred to them and persons can get no other place to do a test and added to that the test results can never be seen (no verification) since everything is verbal then the MoH has total control of the information available to the public. It all depends now on how much you trust Deyalsingh and Donna Cox... PNM people would drink down everything with no chaser and UNC people would watch the glass and die of thirst but refuse to even sip it.

Postby The_Honourable » April 15th, 2020, 8:49 pm

The CMO could not answer how Ian got discharge papers and yet tested negative then juss so... positive.

Dr Lisa Indar at CARPHA pretty much validated what Ian said. Results are delivered orally so there is no paperwork from Carpha to the patient stating patient name, date, time and results. Results goes only to the CMO which is VERY suspect. Every patient has a right for their test results to be documented and delivered to them or to someone authorized by the patient.

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2020, 8:55 pm

not having access to your medical tests is rather suspect
as they say, the first casuality in a war is usually the truth