Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

link

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby link » April 3rd, 2013, 10:10 pm

dirtyjames wrote:went to buy some feeder fish today by Charrans and saw they had Arapaima fishes for sale. This is the number for the guy I deal with 295-9594

So long I looking for these fishes when I had my freshwater tank and I couldn't get them. Now they available when I no longer have the tank :(

just think....if u DID take one, u would have need for a minimum 5ft diameter tank base to relocate 'him' at the end of the year :!: :shock: :!:
my alligator gar went from abt 4 ins to 12ins in the 'blink of an eye'....shrimp IS nutritious :wink:

superman cre8tions

Postby superman cre8tions » April 3rd, 2013, 10:40 pm

Need some african cichlids , anyone has for sale pls PM me

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 3rd, 2013, 11:15 pm

^^ pm user kasey, had some beautiful chiclids for sale

xplicit

Postby xplicit » April 4th, 2013, 1:03 pm

5ft tank f.s. USED

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=487564

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 4th, 2013, 4:04 pm

xplicit wrote:5ft tank f.s. USED

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=487564

yeah its a nice tank, but the price lil steep. I paid $3500 for an indentical setup but the tank was a 6ft instead!

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » April 6th, 2013, 2:37 pm

hey, im new in this fish scene but i bought 5 cichlids for a 1 ft aquarium and they ended up killing each other 1 by 1...now i have 1..i know they're territorial but how do i overcome this(carnivorism) and what stocking density should i maintain in a 2ft tank
And where to buy compatible cichlids at a good price. Thanks

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 6th, 2013, 3:21 pm

You cannot overcome the aggression in that size of tank. Cichlids need space, and thats just simply it. Minumum 4 feet for 4 maybe 5 cichlids IMHO. And plenty of hiding places. Thing is, Cichlids are actually more territorial than aggressive, hence the space requirement.

For that size of tank, dont consider cichlids, try small community fish eg, guppies, hilaries, mollies, zebras, tetras, etc. ...............Or of course, be satisfied with ur ONE cichlid.

Postby DFC » April 6th, 2013, 3:34 pm

i just spent 2 hours playing and scratching my dogs and hugging them .

Loads of fun.

Hey when did you guys ever play with ollor fish?

LOL

get a REAL pet nah.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 3:41 pm

Fixed my tank today, added some new lines in the rockbed and new air stones to clean up the look of the tank a little and provide the air coverage to 4corners.

Also started building up some hiding spots with rocks I got, need a bit more but I'm concerned about the weight.

The bigger stone there is elevated by some old air stone I had, my pleco seems to enjoy the spot

Paid $4 for one of those valves, only thing was I had to hot glue them to the tank as the tape they came with was "dried"

Hope I get my filter and stuff by next week. 8-)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 3:46 pm

Kasey wrote:You cannot overcome the aggression in that size of tank. Cichlids need space, and thats just simply it. Minumum 4 feet for 4 maybe 5 cichlids IMHO. And plenty of hiding places. Thing is, Cichlids are actually more territorial than aggressive, hence the space requirement.

For that size of tank, dont consider cichlids, try small community fish eg, guppies, hilaries, mollies, zebras, tetras, etc. ...............Or of course, be satisfied with ur ONE cichlid.

Would you believe a pet shop owner told me the exact opposite? He said to pack the tank so they can't get space to claim :lol:

I will admit a school of chiclids sounds awesome :|

DFC wrote:i just spent 2 hours playing and scratching my dogs and hugging them .

Loads of fun.

LOL

get a REAL pet nah.

Awwww had fun scooping up sheit? :lol:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 6th, 2013, 4:44 pm

Some new stock...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 6th, 2013, 8:10 pm

link

Postby link » April 6th, 2013, 8:19 pm

DFC wrote:i just spent 2 hours playing and scratching my dogs and hugging them .

Loads of fun.

LOL

get a REAL pet nah.

I considered 'playing' with one of my big male tilapias...but don't trust them since three of my fingers fit easily into d mout'... :shock: :!:
an I def don't interfere with the albino oscars...
if u brave...u can come 'play' with dem ...no probs :P
oye kasey...
ah cyar find one of d loaches (so far)...he's somewhere...nobody cyar interfere with dem, no matter which tank they reach...
rgds

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 8:32 pm

@mojosodope

BEAUTIFUL man!! New stock or same as before?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 6th, 2013, 9:00 pm

Would you believe a pet shop owner told me the exact opposite? He said to pack the tank so they can't get space to claim

I will admit a school of chiclids sounds awesome

I heard of this too, and I actually tried it, but unfortunately it did not work. I put 20 4" M. Auratus in a 20 Gallon tank. That was two months ago. Lets just say now I have 5, 4" fish in the same tank. One by one they killed each other.

But still, no matter what, I still love my cichlids. They just so smart.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 6th, 2013, 9:03 pm

link wrote:

Loads of fun.

LOL

get a REAL pet nah.

I considered 'playing' with one of my big male tilapias...but don't trust them since three of my fingers fit easily into d mout'... :shock: :!:
an I def don't interfere with the albino oscars...
if u brave...u can come 'play' with dem ...no probs :P
oye kasey...
ah cyar find one of d loaches (so far)...he's somewhere...nobody cyar interfere with dem, no matter which tank they reach...
rgds

Oh gaad. I hope you find him. One of these I want to take a drive down by you to see how big they get and check out ur setup eh link.

I am currently working on a project home. When finished, I will post up some pics.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 6th, 2013, 9:30 pm

@ kurpal_v2

Thanks bro, same two albino leopards I have for sale, they got a little bigger so wanted to show their progress, plus I really like how that pic came out.

Postby meccalli » April 6th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Cichlids have pharyngeal teeth, mine has gotten my fingers in its mouth numerous times while feeding squid/herring. Pacu on the other hand, is a different case O.o

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 6th, 2013, 9:58 pm

i usually play with my panther grouper and eel....they actually seem to like being played with...will get a vid next time...by the way, anyone know wat are in the vid i posted earlier?

birdykins11

Postby birdykins11 » April 6th, 2013, 10:21 pm

Kasey wrote:You cannot overcome the aggression in that size of tank. Cichlids need space, and thats just simply it. Minumum 4 feet for 4 maybe 5 cichlids IMHO. And plenty of hiding places. Thing is, Cichlids are actually more territorial than aggressive, hence the space requirement.

Ok thanks, the petshop i bought it from told me to pack them to prevent the territorial-ness and on doing research online as well same ting pack the tank...I'd take your word for it tho cuz packing did not help...which small community fish would look good under LED lightin system? cuz i bought 1 "for my soon to be huge community of cichlids". Tetras cant be mixed with guppies etc right?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » April 6th, 2013, 10:58 pm

ryan99tt wrote:i usually play with my panther grouper and eel....they actually seem to like being played with...will get a vid next time...by the way, anyone know wat are in the vid i posted earlier?

ARAPAIMA!!!!!!!!!!!

my fish tank. got like 10 guppies and 1 snail in it. waiting for money to buy discus and ghost knife fish and moar plants.

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » April 7th, 2013, 10:56 am

discus people do you used carbon in your filtration systems ? or di u remove it?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 7th, 2013, 6:15 pm

evil_twin wrote:discus people do you used carbon in your filtration systems ? or di u remove it?

No carbon in any tanks, I would only use it if I finish a treatment and I want to remove all traces of it, haven't had to do that yet.

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 7th, 2013, 10:41 pm

ryan99tt wrote:i usually play with my panther grouper and eel....they actually seem to like being played with...will get a vid next time...by the way, anyone know wat are in the vid i posted earlier?

I really wouldnt trust dat red tail with them, atleast at that size....seem what a red tail is capable of doing with fish almost same size...but you gona need a much bigger tank soon!! Monster tank ftw!!! :D

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 7th, 2013, 10:43 pm

I really wouldnt trust dat red tail with them, atleast at that size....seem what a red tail is capable of doing with fish almost same size...but you gona need a much bigger tank soon!! Monster tank ftw!!! :D

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 7th, 2013, 10:53 pm

evil_twin wrote:discus people do you used carbon in your filtration systems ? or di u remove it?

it doh matter, i have a 4 yr old discus tank running carbon normal, now running a uv light, more filtration, aeration the better, just watch the turbulence when introducing new ones, once they get acclimatized treat them as normal, i even find too much care for them may be to their detriment, as they get "soft" and lowers their resistance. Look out for cloudy eye problems, its the first sign that your water conditions need adjusting.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 7th, 2013, 11:09 pm

kl122 wrote:

nah, they too big for him to get in his mouth ftw but i will move them into a bigger tank soon, well after i train dem to eat pellets first...

link

Postby link » April 8th, 2013, 7:04 am

u really think a cat knows if something too big for 'im to eat...??? it's almost guaranteed he will at least make a try....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 8th, 2013, 8:42 pm

I never thought that was the prices of ARAPAIMAS........... :shock: :shock: :shock:

went petshop boys and natures world today and thought was a mistake.........$3000 :shock: :shock:

WOW

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 8th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Can anyone guess the size of this tank? I currently have some cichlids growing out.