K74T wrote:2M+ globally FB_IMG_1586941450367.jpeg
Kamla claims covid19 testing sham
Clint Chan Tack
The Opposition Leader is alleging that Government is misleading the public about testing people for covid19, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh has fallen down on the job and Government is wasting taxpayers’ dollars.
In a statement on Tuesday, Kamla Persad-Bissessar claimed Government has no plan of action to deal with the covid19 pandemic despite saying it was prepared to do so since January.
She said the low covid19 positive numbers do not reflect the need for Government’s “drastic, prolonged national shutdown” to combat the pandemic. Persad-Bissessar alleged Government “must therefore be fully aware of the true state of the coronavirus spread across the country.” She said the obvious conclusion was the State’s covid19 testing apparatus, equipment and capacity “continue to be woefully lacking and now dangerously inadequate.”
Questioning figures being issued by the Health Ministry, Persad-Bissessar said 10,000 covid19 tests should have been done by now. Persad-Bissessar called on Deyalsingh and Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram to say how many actual unique people were tested by the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA); how many deaths with flu-like symptoms that were never tested for covid19 have been recorded as suspected cases; what is the total number of deaths in the population from January compared to the total number of deaths for the same period from January to April 2019; how many deaths were recorded of people who exhibited flu-like symptoms but were refused covid19 tests and how did health authorities know covid19 was not in TT before March, when there was no testing taking place.
She claimed Government was using its reporting on the covid19 pandemic to mislead and distract the population. Persad-Bissessar alleged one distraction was Government withdrawing over $20 billion from the Heritage and Stabilisation Fund.
She also said the food cards and salary relief grants being offered by Government to those affected by the pandemic “are considerably insufficient to meet the needs of citizens.
Stranded TT nationals must be medically examined
Jada Loutoo
National Security Minister Stuart Young has advised TT oil and gas workers stuck in Suriname that they must be medically examined before any consideration of an exemption to traverse TT’s borders, to return home, is given. Young told the group’s legal representatives that their situation is not identical to that of the cruise line passengers who, in trying to return home, ended up stranded in Barbados.
While those Trinidadians in Barbados have been medically examined, the 31 workers, who have been locked out for 21 days in Suriname, have not been.
Young also told attorneys for the group that they have completed their period of mandatory quarantine in Barbados – a condition which has not been waived by the TT Government and “is a critical condition in the applicable procedure and protocols with respect to consideration of an exemption to the current border control.”
Young said on Monday the Government has reached out to the Surinamese authorities to request that the group be medically examined. He said they were awaiting further information from the Suriname government. The minister pointed out not only were the TT borders closed but also Suriname’s.
“Nevertheless, before any consideration can be given with respect to the grant of an exemption for your client(s) to enter Trinidad and Tobago, we require them to be medically examined by the equivalent Ministry of Health in Suriname,” Young said. “We are actively following-up with the Government of Suriname on having this exercise carried out and hope to revert soon with the Government’s response.”
Speaking to Newsday, one of the men stranded in Suriname, pleaded with Government to bring them back home. He said they have received no information from the TT consulate in Suriname on the medical examinations. He said they are now running out of food and money and have since started pooling their resources to survive.
“We want to come home too,” the stranded Trinidadian said. “Yes, we have engineers, advance safety consultants and certified petrochemical and refinery inspectors plus accountants and torquing engineers,”
He also said they were prepared to pay for their own plane tickets but needed assistance from the Government to arrange a flight for them. “We may not be able to arrange a flight, as this will have to be arranged and agreed to by both governments to grant airspace to whichever airline can be used,” he added.
Ministry: Application process not difficult
Carol Matroo
Covid19 has not only caused hundreds of people to be on the breadline, but it is also causing children to go hungry. Some 79,000 children are enrolled in the School Feeding Programme and they depend on meals they receive at school, but with school out for the month, many of these children have gone hungry.
To mitigate this, the Social Development Ministry has instituted a food card programmed aimed specifically at parents of these children who are enrolled in the schools feeding programme.
The ministry had asked for the names of students who are enrolled, and for principals to identify those who were most in need. Education Minister Anthony Garcia said there are some students who receive school meals, but there are some who are more in need than others.
The lists were sent to all Members of Parliament and they were asked to provide food cards to parents who reside in the constituency who were most in need. Garcia assured that all those needed the food cards will get access to them.
Social Development Minister Camille Robinson-Regis, in a release on Tuesday, dispelled rumours that the social support grants were difficult to access. The ministry has disbursed $46 million to those who need food support, public assistance and disability assistance and families with children of the food programme.
She said the ministry has received over 4,000 applications for processing and directives to commence payments were sent to banks on April 9. Although the procedure involved only electronic transfer of applications to avoid social contact, access forms were made available on the websites of all government ministries and agencies, and at local municipal corporations and social welfare district offices.
Robinson-Regis said application forms were also available at selected police stations throughout TT and completed forms should be returned to the social welfare district offices closest to where the applicants resides.
People can also receive assistance from the ministry’s call centre and through the TTConnect Chat Box facility for completion of the form. The minister said procedures for application may seem stringent, but this was put in place to avoid instances of fraud and to ensure that payments were made to the correct bank accounts.
Port-of-Spain South MP Marlene McDonald has advised her constituents that contrary to what they were told by principals, she did not have any food cards at this time for distribution to the children on the school feeding programme.
She said all cards received so far have been distributed all those so qualified. McDonald said while she understand that many people were depending on the cards, she asked that they be patient as Government continued to do its work.
Chairman of the Penal/Debe Regional Corporation Dr Allen Sammy said there was rising anger amongst residents in Barrackpore after they could not find their names on the list for temporary food support relief. He said parents of children who benefitted from the school feeding programme have also not received the food card relief.
The former is distributed by by the Disaster Management Unit of the corporation and the latter by the MP’s offices. Sammy said 210 families have lost their jobs and none has received any relief. He said the councillors were being abused daily as residents vented their anger on them.
He said the councillors have been using their own resources to purchase hampers for families. Sammy said one councillor, Brian Julien, said “The Government is failing to meet its commitment to the people and deflecting their managerial incompetence unto the councillors.”
The_Honourable wrote:Well that's what happens when the Wuhan Health Organization batting for China until chit hit the fan.
Trump eh care... who vex loss. I like it.
boxy wrote:When you think Gerald Ramdeen couldn't go any lower than still trying to represent a dead client and prison gate he outdoes himself by trying to be a savior for having people positive with covid 19 released from the facility that quarantines and treats them before they get better.
How are we even at this point?
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/woman-2-children-with-covid19-threaten-lawsuit-over-stay-at-caura-6.2.1098220.3d9077ce29
pete wrote:Where else in the world do COVID +ve patients get put into mandatory state quarantine at a hospital? If people have mild symptoms and do not need medical assistance then why lock them up in a hospital?
It should have been optional, so people without a support net to get food delivered to them could utilise the hospital but if you can quarantine at home then do that.
This alone has probably deterred people from getting tested.
Redman wrote:We can open up small parts of the economic to resupply in a phased way.
As smash said....one person on one flight boat or pirogue and we back to square one
The end of this is a vaccine.
Until then we manage hospitalization and keep numbers down.
pete wrote:Where else in the world do COVID +ve patients get put into mandatory state quarantine at a hospital? If people have mild symptoms and do not need medical assistance then why lock them up in a hospital?
It should have been optional, so people without a support net to get food delivered to them could utilise the hospital but if you can quarantine at home then do that.
paid_influencer wrote:pete wrote:Where else in the world do COVID +ve patients get put into mandatory state quarantine at a hospital? If people have mild symptoms and do not need medical assistance then why lock them up in a hospital?
I'm trying to prep a quarantine room at home and logistically it is difficult to keep a high level of separation. You still need food, bathroom, laundry, wash dishes, garbage service, medication, etc. It is very hard to do that without interacting with shared spaces or other people.
You need arrangements and lots of unused space. Most people won't be able to do it unless they put a lot of thought and work beforehand.
a hospital takes care of all that for you.
hydroep wrote:Well, there are claims that the 'Wuhan' Health Organization's Director General is a puppet of the CCP and in trying to protect China's reputation has plunged the world into chaos.
So Trump's move isn't surprising but it did come a little earlier than expected. One would think his decision is based on some hard facts because it will be scrutinized thoroughly...
bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
Given Trump's directive, you think the gov't would send a plane to get him out or he could rent a 1% plane to come back?
He probably staying at the best hotels so no need for to cry.MaxPower wrote:bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
Given Trump's directive, you think the gov't would send a plane to get him out or he could rent a 1% plane to come back?
Yeh bro i hear so,
but he not crying like the others and making up stories.
Note the difference in behavior and character.
zoom rader wrote:He probably staying at the best hotels so no need for to cry.MaxPower wrote:bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
Yeh bro i hear so,
Normal folk have to watch their bank accounts.
Strugglerzinc wrote:paid_influencer wrote:pete wrote:Where else in the world do COVID +ve patients get put into mandatory state quarantine at a hospital? If people have mild symptoms and do not need medical assistance then why lock them up in a hospital?
I'm trying to prep a quarantine room at home and logistically it is difficult to keep a high level of separation. You still need food, bathroom, laundry, wash dishes, garbage service, medication, etc. It is very hard to do that without interacting with shared spaces or other people.
You need arrangements and lots of unused space. Most people won't be able to do it unless they put a lot of thought and work beforehand.
You just need to keep Ramdeen number on speed dial for when you change your mind after 21+ days in said hospital.
zoom rader wrote:He probably staying at the best hotels so no need for to cry.MaxPower wrote:bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
Yeh bro i hear so,
boxy wrote:I'd rather keep my parents alive than further the ambitions of Gerald Ramdeen whose reputation only seems to be taking up the worst of the worst breifs. How is this not making sense? If there is already a stay home order and people still outside whats to stop these people from "taking a chance" to go in the grocery or pharmacy? like Allyuh don't think things through past the face value.Strugglerzinc wrote:paid_influencer wrote:pete wrote:Where else in the world do COVID +ve patients get put into mandatory state quarantine at a hospital? If people have mild symptoms and do not need medical assistance then why lock them up in a hospital?
You just need to keep Ramdeen number on speed dial for when you change your mind after 21+ days in said hospital.
Yeh bro i hear so,
Yes, cause they may be running out of cash. They will feel better in their home s.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:He probably staying at the best hotels so no need for to cry.MaxPower wrote:bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
Yeh bro i hear so,
Hello zoom,
So are you implying that the less fortunate react differently in times of crisis?
bluefete wrote:So Derek Chin, allegedly, stranded in Miami.
zoom rader wrote:Rich folk like Chin and 1% don't really care cause they have the bank roll and most likely have one of those high rise condos. They have cash no stress