:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » July 18th, 2020, 9:32 pm

rspann wrote:
Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Just my 2 cents. Some grinder switches usually have some sort of safety mechanism whereby they cannot be operated accidentally. It may not be that safe to utilize a switch without a safety mechanism. There is a risk of injury. A friend of mine got cut behind the ankle when a grinder fell on the floor still running.
adnj wrote:
Rovin wrote:as i suspected

a welder i know told me recently that over time he had 3 different brand of grinders with worn switches , was more cost effective for him to simply buy a new tool & continue his work ...
You can always use a generic 120V 10A switch. They cost less than TT$5. Find the size that you want and mount it into the tool's case. You can cover any gaps with a piece of thermoplastic (1-1/2" PVC pipe can be cut and flattened using a heat gun) and mount the switch there.

Correct . If you want to use a substitute , use a rocker type button or a press type that will turn off when the pressure is removed . One with a spring action. I keep all my old machines for parts and believe me , they come in handy.
Many grinders come with a lock-out switch. Others come with a paddle or trigger with momentary contact -- I believe that is what rspann is referring to.

You can add an interlock if you want -- a small latching switch in series with a momentary switch to reduce accidental starts. You should have plenty of space on a 7" grinder.

hindian

Postby hindian » July 18th, 2020, 9:43 pm

adnj wrote:

a welder i know told me recently that over time he had 3 different brand of grinders with worn switches , was more cost effective for him to simply buy a new tool & continue his work ...
You can always use a generic 120V 10A switch. They cost less than TT$5. Find the size that you want and mount it into the tool's case. You can cover any gaps with a piece of thermoplastic (1-1/2" PVC pipe can be cut and flattened using a heat gun) and mount the switch there.
You mean the regular toggle switch? I was more thinking along the lines of a press button as Mr spann said above but I duthoe well it gonna work out. Right now it's wired directly to the plug so as you plug in it comes on, I know, very dangerous so I looking at switch options and where to find it

Postby adnj » July 18th, 2020, 10:01 pm

hindian wrote:
adnj wrote:

You mean the regular toggle switch? I was more thinking along the lines of a press button as Mr spann said above but I duthoe well it gonna work out. Right now it's wired directly to the plug so as you plug in it comes on, I know, very dangerous so I looking at switch options and where to find it

What is important is the rating: 120V 10A or better. You need a single-pole switch (SPST or single-pole, single-throw). You can use whatever switch you want. You will have to decide if the switch is latching (stays on) or momentary (normally open). Let them know what you want to do with it just to limit any confusion.

Steve's Electronics (if you want sub-miniature), Peakes, Modern, Anands, etc., will have something.

Whosoever wires it has to install the switch on the hot wire from the cord.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2020, 6:29 pm

What allyuh think about INCO branded tools?

Postby rspann » July 20th, 2020, 7:40 pm

INGCO.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2020, 9:05 pm

Thanks for the correction.I was looking at ladders and saw some hardwares locally selling INCO ladders
rspann wrote:INGCO.

RH Digital Truck Parts

Postby RH Digital Truck Parts » July 23rd, 2020, 8:15 pm

Call or whatsapp 299-9708
20200723_163140.jpeg
IMG-20200723-WA0073.jpeg

altec

Postby altec » July 23rd, 2020, 9:23 pm

Hey folks, my jigsaw kicked the bucket and I am looking for a reasonable replacement to build the occasional sub enclosure and also home projects. What is a reasonable brand and price? Bhagwansingh Piarco only have one dewalt model and that is professional level and not suited for one or two projects a year use.

Postby Rovin » July 24th, 2020, 10:50 am

^^^check kelvin ghany , they shud have some econo black\decker & stanley stuff or look around for skil

personally i wud never buy econo brands even if its for occasional use , they jes feel so cheaply built , flimsy & under powered

good ting is good ting ...

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2020, 10:55 am

check allied in south
wide variety and they have bosch

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 25th, 2020, 8:30 am

altec wrote:Hey folks, my jigsaw kicked the bucket and I am looking for a reasonable replacement to build the occasional sub enclosure and also home projects. What is a reasonable brand and price? Bhagwansingh Piarco only have one dewalt model and that is professional level and not suited for one or two projects a year use.

Seeing the Total brand advertising a lot for cheapish if you're so inclined.

I agree with Rovin however but I do understand the reluctance to pay so much for something that's not going to be used much.

Stick to better known budget brands, Skil, B+D etc, I would trust those any day.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2020, 9:38 am

anybody know offhand what is the psi of a regular switch type(not knob) lpg 20lb regulator head ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 25th, 2020, 9:52 am

pugboy wrote:anybody know offhand what is the psi of a regular switch type(not knob) lpg 20lb regulator head ?

I think 0.7 bar or around 10psi. Bought one for my gas grill and pressure was too low, had to get the adjustable one yesterday incidentally.

Postby adnj » July 25th, 2020, 11:47 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pugboy wrote:anybody know offhand what is the psi of a regular switch type(not knob) lpg 20lb regulator head ?

I think 0.7 bar or around 10psi. Bought one for my gas grill and pressure was too low, had to get the adjustable one yesterday incidentally.

They aren't all the same but typically around 50 mbar or less -- so 0.7 psi rather than 0.7 mbar.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2020, 12:24 pm

ok, that sounds about right.

I am looking at rigging up a pid temperature controlled lpg burner with pilot light and honeywell electronic gas valve.

what I noticed is that all the valves seem to only work with .5psi or so, any higher and the solenoid would not be strong enough.

jackal

Postby jackal » July 25th, 2020, 1:14 pm

Anybody selling rivitnuts and the kits down hear?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 25th, 2020, 1:31 pm

Question for the guys that use power washers, total or ingco. Saw a hardware have a total powerwasher for $900 1900psi and a ingco for $1090. Any one used either , what is alyuh take on them.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2020, 1:36 pm

i have some somewhere
used them to replace the screw holes on bike bottle cage holder

jackal wrote:Anybody selling rivitnuts and the kits down hear?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 25th, 2020, 2:20 pm

adnj wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

They aren't all the same but typically around 50 mbar or less -- so 0.7 psi rather than 0.7 mbar.

Now looking at the boxes, nothing written about PSI on either.

jackal

Postby jackal » July 25th, 2020, 3:03 pm

pugboy wrote:i have some somewhere

Wanna get a kit to keep around, never know when you will need it.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 25th, 2020, 3:24 pm

Yea boi

I wanna invest in one on these too
jackal wrote:

jackal

Postby jackal » July 26th, 2020, 6:07 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Yea boi

jackal wrote:

When i come off work, i will look and see if i get it, if not, Amazon always have.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 26th, 2020, 7:39 am

So anybody could help ah brother out with this decision?
trinibajan34 wrote:Question for the guys that use power washers, total or ingco. Saw a hardware have a total powerwasher for $900 1900psi and a ingco for $1090. Any one used either , what is alyuh take on them.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2020, 8:25 am

trinibajan34 wrote:So anybody could help ah brother out with this decision?
trinibajan34 wrote:Question for the guys that use power washers, total or ingco. Saw a hardware have a total powerwasher for $900 1900psi and a ingco for $1090. Any one used either , what is alyuh take on them.
INGCO and Total spec tools to be made by many, many Asian manufacturers. They do not manufacture their own products.

This year's model may not be the same as last year's. Unless you can be model number specific and get those users' opinions, the only option remaining is to decide for yourself.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 26th, 2020, 9:23 am

jackal wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Yea boi

jackal wrote:

When i come off work, i will look and see if i get it, if not, Amazon always have.

Yea, but i aint in the mood to spend 50US and then deal with 100weeks of "in transit", then rape from customs.

i go hold a strain

Postby Chimera » July 26th, 2020, 9:31 am

whats the best way to cut granite to install a sink?

i see some diamond cutting blades in those tile places for between $300 to $500

thats the correct thing?

same thing as this?

Postby rspann » July 26th, 2020, 10:11 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:whats the best way to cut granite to install a sink?

thats the correct thing?

same thing as this?

I used those blades to do mine and it came out perfect . I used it on a circular saw though . Just keep a hose with water running slowly to deal with the dust .

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2020, 10:24 am

rspann wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:whats the best way to cut granite to install a sink?

thats the correct thing?

same thing as this?

I used those blades to do mine and it came out perfect . I used it on a circular saw though . Just keep a hose with water running slowly to deal with the dust .

I agree. A wet saw will work best at keeping the blade cool and minimizing dust.

You can put a diamond blade on a circular saw and get much more control than cutting free-hand with a grinder.

Smoother and thinner equals less chances of chipping. The cheapest diamond blade will last long enough to cut a kitchen sink opening.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2020, 10:27 am

them fellas use discs like that all the time
need to have a lil skill and be careful not to break the slab with the resulting thin edge after cutout

and wear a good dust mask

hindian

Postby hindian » July 26th, 2020, 1:37 pm

As we on the topic of cutting discs. Anybody know where I can get a diamond metal cutting disc like in the pic below? Any actual user reviews locally before I buy?
ridgid-diamond-blades-hd-mtl45-64_1000.jpeg