3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 1:12 am

yeah they said the same to me as well but I also said the same. Meh, as I said still considering options... maybe I'l just save more money in the year and go "L"

Postby SMc » December 20th, 2011, 3:12 am

I just bought the 550D (Rebel T2i) this weekend, It came with the 18-55 kit lens but I looking to go with a used Tamron, either 18-270 or 70-300 Tamron lens-> either one I get will have IS/VC, I just nned to make sure I get one quivelant to the Canon EF vs EF-s range :(

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 3:50 am

MISHI wrote:That second pic is brilliant though...

Strange enough that very day was when I realised the lens was broken in a Cambodian temple. :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2011, 6:20 am

Nobody likes to talk about getting a fast prime oui :lol:... only zoom this and zoom that.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 6:35 am

crossdrilled wrote:Nobody likes to talk about getting a fast prime oui :lol:... only zoom this and zoom that.

I have commitment issues :oops:

If I was shooting in more "controlled" spaces Id look into primes but for now zoom's satisfy my needs..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 8:21 am

crossdrilled wrote:Nobody likes to talk about getting a fast prime oui :lol:... only zoom this and zoom that.

Actually... I would like a 400mm L...

But if the others cheaper I'll have to go zoom L. Oh wait those expensive too :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2011, 10:15 am

SMc wrote:I just nned to make sure I get one quivelant to the Canon EF vs EF-s range :(

2 eh?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
SMc wrote:I just nned to make sure I get one quivelant to the Canon EF vs EF-s range :(

2 eh?

I was now about to 2eh? myself . SMc the Camera you got can use both EF and EF-S Lens .

Postby K74T » December 20th, 2011, 12:43 pm

16 cycles wrote:Image

Nice!!!

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2011, 1:18 pm

Dragist wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

2 eh?

I was now about to 2eh? myself . SMc the Camera you got can use both EF and EF-S Lens .

Well, unless he is thinking ahead and wants to upgrade to film or full frame later on.... Then he can only buy EF. I did not have this problem before I bought a real FF camera.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 20th, 2011, 2:28 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:Would be for the odd events, mostly portraits and landscape.

Two different applications there bro. For landscapes, I prefer canon. If choice of lenses is your concern, go for canon, they have nikon beat in that department.

I don't mind losing the option of events, not so much a big deal for me. But I'd need it to cover landscape. What about macro shots? This would be dependent on lens not so?

Update: With respect to the selection, i've seen the T3i for $50USD more. Although so far the only difference that stood out to me is the 1020p vs the 720p of the t2i, thoughts guys?

Postby SMc » December 20th, 2011, 3:16 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Dragist wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

2 eh?

Well, unless he is thinking ahead and wants to upgrade to film or full frame later on.... Then he can only buy EF. I did not have this problem before I bought a real FF camera.

Yay..somebody thinking

Seeing that an individual lense can be more expensive than the body alone, I wanted to get stuff that would work if I were to upgrade to a full frame in the future. I tend to take pictures more of wildlife than macro while being on the move most of the time, so a well balanced lens is important to me...plus alot of the aftermarket stuff (Kenco or Jessops in particular) is not compatable with EF-S.

I also have a point and shoot with a full manual mode, high picture resolution and a really good zoom with IS built in that allows me to get some really good shots both close up and from a distance...

so feel free not to panic I think I know what I am heading for

Postby RBphoto » December 20th, 2011, 3:28 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

Two different applications there bro. For landscapes, I prefer canon. If choice of lenses is your concern, go for canon, they have nikon beat in that department.

I don't mind losing the option of events, not so much a big deal for me. But I'd need it to cover landscape. What about macro shots? This would be dependent on lens not so?

Update: With respect to the selection, i've seen the T3i for $50USD more. Although so far the only difference that stood out to me is the 1020p vs the 720p of the t2i, thoughts guys?

Well, I believe that all digital is junk, so you are better off buying the latest model of anything digital for manufacturer support... so good going. I never said the canon is bad for events, I just said I just prefer the way the nikon ITTL works. Most Pro photographers in Trinidad I know (As in 100% income) shoot canon, so don't think you are losing anything. Film has always been better for landscapes, but you can draw your own conclusions when you start to actually print big. That said, I realize that I have bumped my gum for a long time without posting a pic...wil post something just now.

Postby DVSTT » December 20th, 2011, 4:02 pm

so faster lens, or speedlight??? :/

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » December 20th, 2011, 6:35 pm

Shot with a normal camera:
DSC02153.jpg
DSC02128.jpg

napster16

Postby napster16 » December 20th, 2011, 6:48 pm

What kinda camera may i ask?

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 6:51 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

One of the main differences is the flip out screen, IMO if its $50usd more for the t3i Id pay that extra just for the flip out screen. It makes taking shots where you cannot see into the viewfinder way much easier and takes guess work outta it.

For example:

Since I dont have a flip out screen, I had to put the camera to the ground/ take a shot/ refocus/ take a shot/ refocus/ take another and refocus then adjust my lighting and dof which is 9 odd shots in all. Had I the flip out screen, Id make that shot in one, maybe two.

Postby DVSTT » December 20th, 2011, 7:21 pm

BT D T3I is huge compared 2 d t2i and it has a start up time of 1.5 secs vs the t2i's almost instantaneous start up. T2i FTW!!!!!!

Postby DVSTT » December 20th, 2011, 8:01 pm

pplz chk dis!!!!! relll bad!!!!!!
https://www.lytro.com/living-pictures/1690

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 8:30 pm

So I had this one done a while now... thinking of fraiming it and putting it on the wall :lol: :lol:

"When I embarass myself..."

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2011, 8:39 pm

^ ROFL - hahaha - cool

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2011, 8:40 pm

^^ I must ask, what was your inspiration behind that lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 20th, 2011, 8:42 pm

DVSTT wrote:pplz chk dis!!!!! relll bad!!!!!!
https://www.lytro.com/living-pictures/1690
lightfield cameras are cool - hopefully they will pick up in popularity

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Light-field_camera

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 20th, 2011, 8:44 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ I must ask, what was your inspiration behind that lol

You wouldn't believe...

I watched the open wall behind me and then the camera and said "WHY NOT!" :lol:

Postby meccalli » December 20th, 2011, 9:02 pm

don't worry i've done some uncanny self portraits as well.
A SPAH'S SAPPIN MA by meccalli, on Flickr

O.0 by meccalli, on Flickr

Postby RBphoto » December 21st, 2011, 9:34 am

Like the self portraits there man. The eyes look good in the second shot.

Postby RBphoto » December 21st, 2011, 10:01 am

I have a few paid portrait shoots that I would have loved to share, but I don't think the tuners would like their family and children up here.... So I decided to post a few of my own child to show what a 50mm @ f/1.4 can do.

No flash, just some soft lighting, with a reflector, ceiling light, and diffuser.

Sleeping:
DSC_9748_01.JPG
Sleeping mini me
DSC_9748_01.JPG (117.47 KiB) Viewed 2176 times

Disco Inferno:
DSC_9758-flip_01.JPG
Anyone caption this with UDFR will be shot dead
DSC_9758-flip_01.JPG (62.62 KiB) Viewed 2176 times

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 21st, 2011, 11:01 am

cuteeeeee...

nice portraits :lol: :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 22nd, 2011, 12:02 pm

Holy Cross. Taken with my 50mm f/1.8 canon. Not the focal lenght I needded on my full frame camera. Will revisit with a telephoto one of these days.
cross2.jpg
cross2.jpg (436.96 KiB) Viewed 2128 times

Postby DVSTT » December 22nd, 2011, 12:16 pm

crossdrilled wrote:I have a few paid portrait shoots that I would have loved to share, but I don't think the tuners would like their family and children up here.... So I decided to post a few of my own child to show what a 50mm @ f/1.4 can do.

No flash, just some soft lighting, with a reflector, ceiling light, and diffuser.

Sleeping:
DSC_9748_01.JPG

Disco Inferno:
DSC_9758-flip_01.JPG

Hoss u using the 1.4 canon? How is that working??? I read some terrible reviews of that lens wrt the microusm motor being horribly fragile. Turned me off from that lens....