Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Kasey

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Kasey » March 3rd, 2013, 9:09 am

I find Arowanas are one of the most beautiful, graceful fishes I have ever seen.

But on another note, that aro goin an clean our ur tank from from all dem other fish eh..........they WILL BE EATEN.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 3rd, 2013, 10:56 am

^ I agree, aros grow relatively quickly, hope you have a larger tank for him because he will decimate everything in your tank. He is a predator fish after all.

nixson

Postby nixson » March 3rd, 2013, 12:16 pm

anyone got some fragged softies they'd be willing to trade for Xenia? i got tons of xenia and would trade for other easy corals. kenya tree, mushrooms, yellow star polyps....

my pics are too big so you can see a vid here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWZO45tHisM
don't mind the music i was goofing off.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 3rd, 2013, 1:16 pm

nixson wrote:anyone got some fragged softies they'd be willing to trade for Xenia? i got tons of xenia and would trade for other easy corals. kenya tree, mushrooms, yellow star polyps....

my pics are too big so you can see a vid here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWZO45tHisM
don't mind the music i was goofing off.

This is the freshwater thread bro.... you may want to post that here:
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=488680&p=6916391#p6916391

fanbelt

Postby fanbelt » March 3rd, 2013, 2:24 pm

Thanks for the kind words.

Back in the day I grew a pair of arowanas from 8" to about 23" in a concrete pond. I'm trying to set up two - 6' tanks because I might also get my hands on a golden arowana. I just have him in this small tank temporarily.

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:32 pm

Small tank
35473_10151364439562897_1412798570_n.jpg
Small livebearer tank with a black Asian upside down cat that ate all other fish in 2weeks

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:36 pm

Royal pleco
387416_10151364427527897_1210201490_n.jpg

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:40 pm

Marbled headstander
644583_10151364424557897_447120100_n.jpg

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:43 pm

Yoyo Loach. And royals
12113_10151364425682897_774770630_n.jpg

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:53 pm

Cherry red shrimp
555376_10151364426127897_231532509_n.jpg
563389_10151364435627897_1801857238_n.jpg
Cuckoo catf
644551_10151364430287897_1653774974_n.jpg
Whiptail cat
528279_10151364431817897_333511473_n.jpg

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 3rd, 2013, 11:05 pm

A few more pics of my collection
563517_10151364437012897_2103108360_n.jpg
306228_10151364435077897_1721021387_n.jpg
Lep
12116_10151364432287897_649951003_n.jpg
Red tail Shark
555191_10151364428672897_2004132442_n.jpg
Yoyo Loach in quarantine tank

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 3rd, 2013, 11:30 pm

The red shrimp, where you got him?

kl122

Postby kl122 » March 4th, 2013, 12:25 am

Few more
374534_10151367806542897_1588597568_n.jpg
Koi angels
485001_10151367847977897_1647101388_n.jpg
Blue panaque
644755_10151367804792897_1450716632_n.jpg
Green phantom

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 4th, 2013, 11:53 am

Banded Knife fish

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » March 4th, 2013, 11:31 pm

Any crayfish keepers can identify the breed of this crayfish?
I think it may be the same white ones that are commonly seen for sale. Can anyone confirm?

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 7th, 2013, 7:41 pm

TURBOT wrote:Any crayfish keepers can identify the breed of this crayfish?
I think it may be the same white ones that are commonly seen for sale. Can anyone confirm?

its ah red claw crayfish

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 7th, 2013, 7:42 pm

its ah red claw crayfish

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 7th, 2013, 7:43 pm

its ah red claw crayfish

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » March 7th, 2013, 7:43 pm

its ah red claw crayfish

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 10th, 2013, 6:57 pm

What dirt do you guys use for a planted tank substrate?

link

Postby link » March 11th, 2013, 7:33 am

mojosodope wrote:What dirt do you guys use for a planted tank substrate?

I use a coarse gravel -not smaller that good 'big-crystal' brown sugar....the nutrients need to get to the plant roots & u need to keep those 'dirt thingys' (un-named organisms) OUT OF YR TANK !!
u can get the 'wash' material from the crushing plants...or most of those gravel pits all over have a pile u can ask for a bit.
rgds

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 12th, 2013, 6:54 pm

alright thanks for your suggestion man, won't that wash material raise your pH tho? I already have very hard water, can't do much with that besides anubias and crypts.

I'm looking for Denison barbs/ red line torpedoes. If you guys know where I can get some with good genetics let me know please.

http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/puntius-denisonii/

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » March 14th, 2013, 11:59 pm

hey guys I'm looking to purchase a pair of Stingrays as pets,8(see link) can anyone point me in the right direction.... this info would be greatly appreciated...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lT4As9EibLU

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 15th, 2013, 12:17 pm

South beach aquariums in grand bazaar has occasionally. They don't stay small tho.. You'll need a large tank eventually.

663-0836

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 15th, 2013, 3:10 pm

I got mine from chai but u can check around...dey are often in stock...need to get the italian ones, they much better lookin...

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 15th, 2013, 11:07 pm

fellas. ah have de 3 ft tank gearsin up fuh fish. was thinking of either ah arowana or a clown knife fish. I was thinking about a single oscar but I would like somthing out of the ordinary. Ppl tellin me that how the 3 ft tank (44 gallon) go be too small for it and I go need a 300 gallon tank soo but I was goin an grow it for a while and then sell it.

anyways, for substrate I did take up some river sand from lopinot and was goin an use that cuz it free and ah go get that natural effect. pics to come.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 15th, 2013, 11:09 pm

PS. - plecos scare the sheit out of me but those are some beautiful fish nonetheless.

Postby meccalli » March 15th, 2013, 11:43 pm

LOL, I have 2 tinfoils and 1 oscar in a 50 gallon, both tinfoils are 13 years old and the oscar is going on 19. I just run an HOB whisper filter with the bio inserts so bacteria can grow on it. I just have a sock on the intake to pick up debris only when i feed/change water. That's it for equipment. Keep in mind, the oldest pacu kept on record, 43 YO was kept in a 67 gallon @ 9kg's. Yes, room is important but people focus on it too much, there's alot more to keeping fish healthy, happy and their longevity than tank space.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 15th, 2013, 11:59 pm

I've been thinking to get a pair of small oscars to raise in my tank but I really do love chiclids.

Problem I'm having is sustaining plants to give chiclids a place to hide and not fight each other.

Postby meccalli » March 16th, 2013, 12:23 am

Cichlids will destroy plants over time, use rocks, its their native habitat course material in the great lakes of Africa. Lots and Lots of rocks. South American cichlids like deadwood but stock lots of carbon for tannins unless you enjoy the amazonian tinge.