.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2015, 7:55 am

rfari wrote:
TheDemiGod wrote:Gladiator returned today, special program for those who missed it.
Could he be sued for what he said about Dr Rowley in this program?

I would like to get Zoom Rader's opinion about this show today, its 24 minutes long basically a shortened version. But it has all the main part in it.

I need to get feedback from Zoom Rader and Bluefete about this show today. See video below.

If u hadda choose between a b14 stock and a BMW e90, which one u gonna take?

uze a cornt eh....tryna sniff him out wit dat muffler bearing question

Postby RASC » July 9th, 2015, 8:06 am

Hyperion wrote:So the State has dropped the case against the UTT board, Ken Julien et al. Anand Ramlogan and his cronies were on a witch hunt and they failed, they tried to say that the UTT board was mismanaging finances when in fact they were turning a profit.

Now the state has to pay the legal fees of the defendants.

Let me hear ZR and UML try to brush this off. What they will say, that Judge Vashiest Kokaram is a PNm too?

That UTT argument was one of the corner stones of UML/ZR...they used it at least once a month when they wanted to say PNM had no legacy of improving education in this country. None!

Trust the Judge Is a PNM-wait and see :lol:

Postby RASC » July 9th, 2015, 8:08 am

For all the EMPTYING of the treasury... Crimes against the population... Misappropriation of funds by the PNM-according to Kamala...not ONE has been brought to "justice".

Postby pete » July 9th, 2015, 8:10 am

Blame the TTPS

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2015, 8:12 am

so the whole ah TTPS is PNM supporters?

Postby RASC » July 9th, 2015, 8:14 am

dougla_boy wrote:so the whole ah TTPS is PNM supporters?

Yupz 8-)

Play yuh doh Kno!

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2015, 8:17 am

TheDemiGod wrote:Gladiator returned today, special program for those who missed it.

I would like to get Zoom Rader's opinion about this show today, its 24 minutes long basically a shortened version. But it has all the main part in it.

I need to get feedback from Zoom Rader and Bluefete about this show today.

Why must I must drink poison????

Postby pete » July 9th, 2015, 8:27 am

Is it just me or is really that around election time industrial shredders start to be advertised on the news?

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2015, 8:29 am

Hamel_Smith said last night that they have no affiliation with the UNC.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 9th, 2015, 8:33 am

rfari wrote:

I need to get feedback from Zoom Rader and Bluefete about this show today. See video below.

If u hadda choose between a b14 stock and a BMW e90, which one u gonna take?

b14 stock all d way.

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 9th, 2015, 9:24 am

UTT lawsuit against former directors collapses
‘Breach of fiduciary duty’
Published on Jul 8, 2015, 9:53 pm AST
By Rickie Ramdass

DISCONTINUANCE FILED: Attorney Gerald Ramdeen leaves the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain yesterday after representing the State.

DEFENCE: Douglas Mendes SC who appeared for Rene Monteil leaves the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain yesterday.
Former UTT president: Prof Ken Julien
THE multi-million-dollar lawsuit filed by the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) against its former president Prof Ken Julien and five other former directors in 2012 has collapsed.
The Office of the Attorney General yesterday filed notice of discontinuance at the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain.
The State may have to fork out even more millions of dollars in legal cost to attorneys who represented the defendants and in the event those defendants emerge victorious in civil claims for malicious prosecution which legal sources say they intend to file.
The first indication that the case was about to collapse came on Tuesday, just minutes before Julien was scheduled to testify in his defence via video link from South Africa where he is currently residing. On that day, lead attorney for UTT, British Queen's Counsel Vincent Nelson informed presiding judge Justice Vasheist Kokaram that the Office of the Attorney General wished to review the evidence based on the testimony of witnesses last Thursday and Friday to determine if the State would be proceeding further with the trial.

UTT was seeking to recover more than $11.4 million it claimed it lost after the defendants' alleged breach of fiduciary duty, and their failure to exercise due diligence.

This alleged failure came in the form of the sub-leasing of the university's Aripo guest house with Consolidated Services Ltd for a five-year renewable lease at a monthly rental of $50,000, as well as accommodating Rev Juliana Pena, the spiritual adviser to former prime minister Patrick Manning.

No reasons given

Yesterday, when the matter was called before Justice Kokaram, attorney Gerald Ramdeen, who also appeared for UTT, informed the judge that notices of discontinuance had been filed and that the State had no intention of filing any fresh claims against Julien and the other defendants. However, the attorney did not outline the reason(s) for the discontinuance of the matters.

Those against whom the claim was filed were Julien, Dr Rene Monteil, Giselle Marfleet, Scott Hilton-Clarke, Ravindra Nath Maharaj and Errol Pilgrim.

On Thursday last, just minutes into the start of the trial, the claim was discontinued against Marfleet.

Julien was able to listen in and view the proceedings from South Africa through the video link equipment that had been installed in the courtroom.

After the announcement by Ramdeen that the State was not proceeding in the matter, attorneys on both sides argued for close to an hour on what the appropriate legal cost to be awarded to the defendants should be.

Judge disagrees

Ramdeen stood his ground that under law the judge could not make and order cost in the circumstance that the State discontinues its case but Justice Kokaram disagreed. In the end, Maharaj, who was represented by attorney Larry Lalla, was awarded cost in the sum of $288,499.90. Attorneys for the other defendants and the State were advised by Justice Kokaram to hold discussions and attempt to arrive at an appropriate sum to be awarded to them. In the instant they are unable to agree on an amount, the court will assess the amount to be awarded.

UTT contended that the former members of the board entered into a five-year lease, between 2006 and 2011, for the Aripo facility and failed to comply with a recommendation to terminate the lease based on a report by their internal legal adviser Celeste Mohammed which resulted in a loss to UTT.

The defendants have maintained they relied upon the legal advice of UTT to enter into the agreement and that they made a well-informed decision not to terminate the lease. Further, they said, there was no loss to UTT and therefore there can be no liability under Section 99 (of the Companies Act) under which the claim was filed.

Ill-advised litigation

In delivering brief remarks prior to the end of yesterday's hearing, Justice Kokaram commented: “Decisions to institute legal proceedings against previous boards (as in litigation) must not be taken lightly. The threshold to cross in bringing such an action for breach of statutory duty is not an easy one to satisfy having regard to the fact that the court takes into account the prevailing social economic factors of decision making. It is no licence for ill-advised litigation to make a point as it is no shield for corporate recklessness.

“Careful thought must be given to the need to pursue such claims balanced against its utility in corporate governance and the corporate mandate. I have seen in this matter only one pre-action protocol letter when there should be seven and certainly it is the pre-action activity (far too often overlooked) which helps parties to better understand their respective cases and make the appropriate decisions to find solutions to their disputes before taking the serious and expressive and risky step of litigation.”

Ramlogan: Attempts were made before to end case

Former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, under whose tenure the claim was filed said in a brief telephone interview yesterday evening that while he was AG, there were attempts to have the case dismissed on the ground of no merit but all those attempts failed.

“The court had ruled that there was sufficient evidence for it to proceed to trial... I am no longer attorney general so I cannot account for any decision taken by anyone else as I am no longer there to manage the case,” he said.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 9th, 2015, 9:29 am

Only contractors go eat ah food?? Lawyers is people too!!!

kaylex

Postby kaylex » July 9th, 2015, 9:35 am

This aforementioned post.. has me gravely upset.. Thank God for some semblance of Judicial Independence../

Now .. this Fella gone and try and fool up the population he going to recoup money spent by UTT board.. Now there is a no Case submission.. which I am quite sure he knew from the get go..

It is now going to cost the tax payers 288,499.90 to cover the defendants cost.. Probably double that was paid to Gerald Ramdeen and co for their legal fees... Additionally Ken Julien and the entire board is going to sue the state .. i guarantee you and we will have to pay again or settle out of court and pay again with my tax paying money..

This is pure sheit... I cant take it no more..

Who suing breach of fiduciary duty on issues like
Reshmi Ramnarine and he pay she recieved for how ever long? How we getting back that money ?
Powers collecting money for housing allowance he wasnt entitled to? WHo suing how we getting back that?
Hafizool Mohammed aka the "Prince of Zamoonda" who come in the comission of enquiry in 1990 coupe de etat??? man had false credentials and stayed and was wined and dined at the hilton and recieved in excess of 50k a month in salaries while sitting on comission? how we getting back that money
Devanand Birgu from Airport Authority.. Collected salaries and perks at airport authority that he had a fraudulent resume and bogus degrees... how we getting back that money

There are countless others.. .

why does ramdeen et al get back our money for that...
Ah sick of this sheit

Postby rfari » July 9th, 2015, 9:37 am

The case coulda win unno. Is just that dem ppl so duncey.

Postby Redman » July 9th, 2015, 9:58 am

Whats the story with the Bamboo Technologies 'investment'?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 9th, 2015, 10:00 am

rfari wrote:The case coulda win unno. Is just that dem ppl so duncey.

if ZR and UML did advise dem, dey woulda win for sure

Postby rfari » July 9th, 2015, 10:21 am

Redman wrote:Whats the story with the Bamboo Technologies 'investment'?

Last I heard, eteck has bamboo shares and the company in China is profitable. Will verify later
Hyperion wrote:
rfari wrote:The case coulda win unno. Is just that dem ppl so duncey.

if ZR and UML did advise dem, dey woulda win for sure

ZR yes. Not uml. She too hot headed and misinformed

Postby Redman » July 9th, 2015, 10:31 am

The co is Bamboo Networks

Well the investment was made against the instructions of the Ministry of Finance.....true/ false?
If true how we deal with that?

Also is it within the UTT mandate to be making speculative investments???

President of the University of T&T (UTT) Prof Ken Julien ignored the written advice of Minister in the Ministry of Finance Christine Sahadeo and went ahead to invest $31 million in a financially unsound company to assist UTT, Opposition backbencher Ganga Singh has said.

Speaking during yesterday’s budget debate in the House, Singh labelled UTT “a technology scam.”

He said four companies were involved with UTT, and Sahadeo’s ministry was not happy with the findings on one of them—Bamboo Networks (BN).

A 2005 letter from Sahadeo’s ministry outlined the findings of a Dunn and Bradstreet investigation of BN, he said.

The letter advised e-Teck, which supervises UTT, not to invest in BN, he said.

Singh said the letter noted a high risk of financial distress by BN, evidence of three legal suits against the company, two collection notifications and late payments and supplies as well as a negative worth of US $7 million.

Despite this, Singh said Julien went ahead and invested the $31million in BN.

“This is institutionalised corruption—how can Government explain this? Where is BN today?” Singh asked.

“I can tell you BN is nothing but a shell today, nothing has happened with the company, it provides no technological solutions—$31 million gone in somebody back pocket,” he said.

Singh said UTT sought an opinion from legal counsel Martin Daly to see whether the institution could escape “the embrace” of the Integrity in Public Life legislation.

He said Daly advised the UTT, and the institution later went to court on the matter.
Last edited by Redman on July 9th, 2015, 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2015, 10:31 am

she still toting that she eh make the cut for Ms TnT to represent Ms Universe?

Postby K74T » July 9th, 2015, 4:13 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1436472801.438328.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1436472801.438328.jpg (19.42 KiB) Viewed 2724 times

indeed

Postby rfari » July 9th, 2015, 9:38 pm

B14 or BMW e90?

Postby K74T » July 9th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Effectic stfu

Postby UML » July 11th, 2015, 5:15 am

1436606148928.jpg

Lance

Postby Lance » July 11th, 2015, 7:50 am

nick639 wrote:did screening start already for PP in Rienzi? Anyone knows?

These things should be aired live.

Would make for excellent prime time comedy.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 9:58 am

UML what you think about the new name people give the PNM?

listen to the first 7 minutes to hear the new name. This was from yesterday, the special guest on the program you are hearing is PNM Politician Barry Garcia.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 11th, 2015, 10:44 am

this man eh get ban yet?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 10:56 am

^ for what exactly?

So only PNM supporters are allowed to express their views on Trinituner? if so then please put it in the rules.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 11th, 2015, 11:04 am

I recalled admin advising you on your advertisements

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 11th, 2015, 11:27 am

huh? I am not advertising anything, it is the most listened to political talk show in Trinidad and that person who has the youtube channel "talkshow program" is the only person in Trinidad who records and uploads this program.

The fact that he uses that particular picture in the youtube is not of my doing. Bezman told me about advertising what time the program would be on, the overdoing it on multiple threads which I agree was my fault. And advertising it saying the name of the program. I no longer advertise the time the program will be on air, I simply post up or as you can say I forward the recorded program for those of us here who would have liked the opportunity to hear all sides of the political debate but did not get the chance to tune in on the station at said time.

What I am doing here is not advertising, its simply giving genuine citizens a chance to get information regarding political matters. Furthermore you should be thanking me since the person on the program was PNM Politician Barry Garcia. That Program is not PRO UNC as you seem to think, Gladiator has always been a PNM he makes no secret of it.

I mean what century are you living in?

PS: There are NO commercials in the program. No sort of advertisement whatsoever. This is a clean recording, with no ads whatsoever from sponsors etc it is 100% Political Debate affecting citizens of this country and who we are selecting as our next political leader. This is the furthest thing from "advertising" because by your logic people who post racing videos or Trailers to new cinema movies on tuner are also "advertising"

Postby RASC » July 11th, 2015, 12:10 pm

Yup. You advertising.