Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » February 18th, 2013, 4:27 pm

The forum dead now or wah?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 18th, 2013, 8:41 pm

when you aint hearing nothing.... That means everything going good in the tanks LOL and everybody comfortable to a point.

was getting worried about my kenya not opening up in a few days... but today it started back with ALOT of new shoots

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 18th, 2013, 8:54 pm

^^^^^^.............hmmmmmm

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 19th, 2013, 2:29 am

Contemplating buying an Apex Lite from neptune systems, anyone have any experience with their products?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 6:17 am

mojosodope wrote:Contemplating buying an Apex Lite from neptune systems, anyone have any experience with their products?

Check fishman............. Also it all depends what you going to use it for. Some people just buy it to say they have a computer for their tank and just use it to turn on their lights and run their ATO only (where 2 simple timers could do the trick at the fraction of the cost), then there are the people who use it for lights, chiller, dosers, wavemakers, PH & salinity monitoring, pumps, failsafes, etc, etc...........etc

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 19th, 2013, 8:26 am

Alright cool na I'm going to use it to monitor ph, control temp, complete water changes, lights, water and magnetic door sensors over multiple tanks.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 11:00 am

mojosodope wrote:Alright cool na I'm going to use it to monitor ph, control temp, complete water changes, lights, water and magnetic door sensors over multiple tanks.

:shock: :shock: I could imagine your tank lol...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 11:43 am

mojosodope wrote:Alright cool na I'm going to use it to monitor ph, control temp, complete water changes, lights, water and magnetic door sensors over multiple tanks.

:shock: :shock:
For a fresh water tank or a FOWLR tank i'll do that but i really aint trusting no computer to do a complete water change in no reef tank.You know what it is to have your tank salinity @ 1.026 and your computer or someone at home screw up something and your salinity drop to 1.022 or lower? Thats a good bit of your precious corals or inverts gone. The fish can take that. I prefer you throw a switch and X amount of water dumps from your tank, then you take that switch off and throw another switch on to replace the water. I take about 15-20min to replace 50gal of saltwater.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 19th, 2013, 11:59 am

Haha I agree with you completely if it was for a reef tank I would probably do it myself, but I'm only into freshwater for now. I think I'm going to hold out on the purchase until my fish room is ready, plus the line is pretty old even though they regularly release modules and updates so by the time I'm ready they will probably have something new.

I'm setting up a 65 gallon discus grow out and I want to monitor ph/temp easily so I saw Digital Aquatics lifeguard. Looking for alternatives to that as it is pretty pricey for what it does and got horrible reviews out of the gate.

If you guys know any monitors for ph/temp I'm welcome to suggestions, thanks.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 4:23 pm

Temp wise, i'm using the Lifeguard Aquatics Digital Temp Alert over a year now with no problems as stated in the reviews. I also have my Temp unit on my chiller along with 2 stick on temp thermometers. All my readings are within 1 deg C +/-. My tank is constantly maintained at 78F. I set it that anything above 82F, the alarm will go off.
http://www.amazon.com/Lifegard-Aquatics ... ture+guage
http://www.amazon.com/ATI-Aquarium-Ther ... ermometers

stand alone PH meters to expensive really

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 5:08 pm

Honda you use any digital monitor for PH on your tank ?

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » February 19th, 2013, 5:09 pm

anyone know where can i get a wide range of live aquarium plants to buy ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 5:54 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Honda you use any digital monitor for PH on your tank ?

Nope................. I have one of these, http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Tester-Po ... l+ph+meter

I check my PH in tests of 5 throughout the day to see the differences. It ranges from 8.2-8.4. I do this like every 1 or 2 mths. I really dont bother with PH. The more water you have in a tank, your parameters are more stable with little to no fluctuations. I've never seen any difference in my readings so far. When ever yo take PH readings, it should be at around the same time as the last if you want a comparison. Reason is your PH is the lowest early in the mornings so sometimes people may read it mid day and read eg: 8.4, and then take a reading 7:00am and see 8.1 and start to panic. Then they use PH buffers to raise it. When mid day comes and they check, its up to 8.7, then they try to use something to drop it. Thats what causes imballance in tanks and causes stress in fish, corals & inverts.
Ammonia, nitrates & nitrites are all undetectable and i also just do checks every 2 mths or so. Mag i do twice a mth. My Cal/Alk i check every 3-4 days now because im trying to fine tune my dosers. When i properly fine tune it, i'll be back to every 2 wks.
Temp @78F
Sal @ 1.026
Mag @ 1400+
Cal @ 480-500........ when i fine tune it will be 460-480
Alk @ 9.3........... finally got it locked

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 19th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Ronnie203 wrote:anyone know where can i get a wide range of live aquarium plants to buy ?

Check Fishy Bizniz in Dinsley & W&S Fish Farm

http://www.wsfishfarm.com
http://www.fishybizniz.triniplanet.com/ ... ontact.php

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 6:38 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:Honda you use any digital monitor for PH on your tank ?

Nope................. I have one of these, http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Tester-Po ... l+ph+meter

I check my PH in tests of 5 throughout the day to see the differences. It ranges from 8.2-8.4. I do this like every 1 or 2 mths. I really dont bother with PH. The more water you have in a tank, your parameters are more stable with little to no fluctuations. I've never seen any difference in my readings so far. When ever yo take PH readings, it should be at around the same time as the last if you want a comparison. Reason is your PH is the lowest early in the mornings so sometimes people may read it mid day and read eg: 8.4, and then take a reading 7:00am and see 8.1 and start to panic. Then they use PH buffers to raise it. When mid day comes and they check, its up to 8.7, then they try to use something to drop it. Thats what causes imballance in tanks and causes stress in fish, corals & inverts.
Ammonia, nitrates & nitrites are all undetectable and i also just do checks every 2 mths or so. Mag i do twice a mth. My Cal/Alk i check every 3-4 days now because im trying to fine tune my dosers. When i properly fine tune it, i'll be back to every 2 wks.
Temp @78F
Sal @ 1.026
Mag @ 1400+
Cal @ 480-500........ when i fine tune it will be 460-480
Alk @ 9.3........... finally got it locked

You got that by raj ? think I might check him sometime this weekend.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 6:49 pm

Nah, i bought it online along with my refractometer. My second best investment for my tank. I've had bad experiences with my plastic hydrometer
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_sabc? ... ractometer

hoping to check raj tom.

link

Postby link » February 19th, 2013, 7:09 pm

Ronnie203 wrote:anyone know where can i get a wide range of live aquarium plants to buy ?

Pet Shop Boyz on Mucurapo Street, San Fernando has a nicely populated aquarium with several varieties for sale...
I saw a 'goodish' amount at the guy in Arouca (forgot his name...but mentioned several times in this thread) ...lots of other fish too...
rgds

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 9:28 pm

Just for some clarity, how long does it usually take for salt to dissolve into 50gal of water.... threw in the salt this morning, water still very cloudy (cant see the bottom) I have a 300gph pump circulating the water and seems to be stirring well. Using reef crystals btw.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » February 19th, 2013, 9:33 pm

ramafingers1 wrote:
Ronnie203 wrote:i think 2nr should split this thread now...Fresh water and salt water

A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
but only in expressing his opinion

:? :?

:lol: my point exactly...express yuh self pal

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 9:37 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Just for some clarity, how long does it usually take for salt to dissolve into 50gal of water.... threw in the salt this morning, water still very cloudy (cant see the bottom) I have a 300gph pump circulating the water and seems to be stirring well. Using reef crystals btw.

i dump a bag in a 50gal tank and leave it there to circulate and it actually does stay cloudy past 12hrs. Within a day it totally clear. Mine stays in my mixing tub for 3 wks plus till i use it. When i do a water change, as its empty, i mix another batch one time so it ends up being my emergency backup water.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 9:54 pm

nice... just wanted to make sure.

android79

Postby android79 » February 19th, 2013, 9:55 pm

Anyone know where i could get the larger species of red fin tinfoil barbs , i understand it have large and small varieties. Looking for the that could reach about 14 inches. Call or pm meh nah 381-1893
tinfoil.jpg
tinfoil.jpg (13.11 KiB) Viewed 2356 times
tinfoil_barb_7_800_600_wiki_Catxx.jpg
tinfoil_barb_7_800_600_wiki_Catxx.jpg (35.9 KiB) Viewed 2356 times

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 19th, 2013, 10:20 pm

Like the freshwater fellas really want us to keep quiet :-(

Is either the saltwater fellas start a new thread or we stay silent and give the fellas their thread back............... i'll try to keep my posts to the minimal from now. :( :(

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » February 20th, 2013, 5:40 am

Folks any info on who does water fountain features and koi ponds?
I already did a DIY pond with the liner but I am now looking at building a concrete pond and wanted some references

link

Postby link » February 20th, 2013, 5:52 am

thetriniman wrote:Folks any info on who does water fountain features and koi ponds?
I already did a DIY pond with the liner but I am now looking at building a concrete pond and wanted some references

u doing an above-ground pond or a landscaped item which contours the surroundings ?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 20th, 2013, 9:41 am

I have a couple ponds home, One of which is a above ground.... it was done by PROLAS. expensive but does good work. It is roughly around 200 gal I only have 6 koi ... each about a foot in length, will be adding some more soon.

Just a heads up, make sure and in cooperate a filter in your ponds return line, because having koi wasnt the original plan, I have a canister filter externally.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 20th, 2013, 4:45 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Like the freshwater fellas really want us to keep quiet :-(

Is either the saltwater fellas start a new thread or we stay silent and give the fellas their thread back............... i'll try to keep my posts to the minimal from now. :( :(

i guess we should make a new thread lol or make a fish site where we could post picks chat message post vids and stuff.

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » February 20th, 2013, 7:09 pm

link wrote:
thetriniman wrote:Folks any info on who does water fountain features and koi ponds?

u doing an above-ground pond or a landscaped item which contours the surroundings ?

I would like to do a landscaped pond which contours the surroundings

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 20th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Like the freshwater fellas really want us to keep quiet :-(

i guess we should make a new thread lol or make a fish site where we could post picks chat message post vids and stuff.

I think if you guys leave this thread may die. :lol:

Even doh I don't post much about my tank etc I still read the saltwater posts and learn from them a little.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 20th, 2013, 9:09 pm

Noticed my tank got some little white worms on the aquarium surface. After doing some research the only conclusion I came up with is planaria. Apart from the suggested water changes what can I do to kill these guys off.