3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2011, 8:13 pm

Yea i can pick that up afterwards, i want to get a USM lens first :) thanks for all d help!!!!

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 6:54 am

DVSTT wrote:ok thanks alot guys!!! i tink im goin wid an 85mm f1.8. suposedly "L" performance. the 50mm 1.4 has too much bad reviews with the microUSM dying on alot of people. anyone uses this 85mm f1.8???

Low light performace handheld is a product of shutter speed and focal length. The wider 50mm wins in this aspect as

1) It is wider (hand shake produces less blurr with wider lenses)
2) f/1.4 allows (slightly) greater shutter speed than f/1.8

I could only afford the canon 50mm f/1.8, which is pretty good optically, but the slow focus and ergonomics suck. I have shot the 50mm f/1.4 and besides being an all round better performer (focus speed, ergonomics), the bokeh is to die for. I was actually going to buy it, but decided I needed a nikon 50mm f/1.4G instead for my digital system, which is spectacular in its own right.

Longer focal lenghts make more flattering portraits because of the perspective compression. If you want to use the 85mm on a monopod or tripod, it will be a good bet, but not for handheld shooting.

Also, while you are in the range of the 85mm, why not also look at the 100mm F/2.8 macro (non IS). You def. need to use this on a tripod for portraits (or handheld if you jack up iso), but the longer focal lenght will be flattering and you get a decent macro lens as well to capture fine details. This is considered optically perfect by some. I have not shot this particular lens, but the shots I see people getting with this online and our brother Guru have convinced me to buy it (and a good tripod) without even trying it if I had the money.

Oh, and forget the hype about "L performance". Many of canon's non L glass is optically perfect, just it does not have all of the professional bells and whistles, or does not have the large appature of the "L" counterparts. The new 100mm L macro only adds VR and better ergonomics, but some say it is optically identical to the old non L model.

The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM is identical to the L version opticaly and in performance, but the L version is all metal... L= luxury, not performance sometimes.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » December 7th, 2011, 7:14 am

first time with water

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2011, 8:45 am

hhmmm i'll take a look at that 100mm lens, but I was saving up for the 50mm 1.4 but the thing is its a microusm and i have read alot of reviews on amazon about the focus dying on people and stuff so i'm very reluctant about it. Additionally, i'm just a kid 17yrs so its a big investment for me to buy a lens making me even more reluctant about the 50mm 1.4. However i knew about the 85mm 1.8 and it gets great reviews plus it uses the ring type usm which seems to be the proper kind.

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2011, 8:49 am

WOW! that 100mm photos are amazing, well the ones on amazon. but its way more expensive that the 85mm f1.8 and its 2.8 vs the 1.8. I wish canon fitted the ring usm to the 50 f1.4, that would have made this decision so easy lol

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 9:18 am

The ring USM will not make your pictures any better. People have problems with IVTEC and electronic injection etc against carb cars. They both get you from A to B. I now read about your experience level/ budget there and I stronly suggest the 50mmf/1.8. It is cheap and it is good. I personally own it and love it. Yes i have a nikon F/1.4 prime, but say what, I also had the 35mm f/1.8 nikon for many years and never needed the f/1.4 (or thought I had the skill nesescary to get the most out of it) until a few months ago. If your 50mm f/1.8 breaks and is replaced three times from rough use, you still won't have spent as much as on one f/1.4.

Bottom line, the f/1.4 is tangibly better than the f/1.8, but only subtly. Actually rent one and try it from Kennesis studio as I did and you can tell if the money is worth it. I loved it, but thought that the f/1.8 was enough for me. I tried the nikon f/1.4 and liked it better, so I bought that. Forget the reviews/ advice, actually try the thing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2011, 9:27 am

crossdrilled wrote:Oh, and forget the hype about "L performance". Many of canon's non L glass is optically perfect, just it does not have all of the professional bells and whistles, or does not have the large appature of the "L" counterparts. The new 100mm L macro only adds VR and better ergonomics, but some say it is optically identical to the old non L model.

The Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM is identical to the L version opticaly and in performance, but the L version is all metal... L= luxury, not performance sometimes.
after seeing how the L lenses hold up to shooting events like rally with dust and rain and mud, I'd have to say it's waaay more than luxury and definitely worth the extra money. I've seen regular Canon, Sigma, Tokina etc fail very quickly under those conditions.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 7th, 2011, 9:37 am

i have my 50mm 1.8 about 5 years and going strong...1.8 is more than adequate for low light...

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 9:40 am

I am not saying that L= bad. I am saying that many non "L" lenses have just as good optics as L glass... just lacking in

1) Build quality (all metal instead of plastic)
2) Slower f number
3) Lack of IS
4) Instant manual focus override

If one can live with a slower, dinkier, less ergonomic lens on a tripod for 1/4 the price, they can get the same optical performace as some of their "L" breathrin. The 70-300 L is exactly the same lens as the non L, but in white painted bulletproof metal. Is it better?... definitely a tank compared to cheap plastic. Will it ake a better picture under normal conditions... nope, exactly the same.

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2011, 9:51 am

hhmmm ok i will try d 1.8 50mm for now. where is kenesis studios???

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 10:23 am

In maraval side. Their studio is at Bldg7–
Studio7
Fernandes Industrial Estate
Eastern Main Rd.
Laventille
(868)785‐7565
info@kinesisstudios.com

Marcus is a cool tess who I dealt with:
marcus@kinesisstudios.com

Cost me $390.00TT for a three day rental of the 50mm f/1.4 lens
$1,500.00TT for three day rental of the 70-200 f/2.8 IS L

but the cost was transfered to the client, so it really cost me nothing 8)

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2011, 10:34 am

lol wow, dats alot. tink i'd jus buy d 50mm 1.8. :). buy d 100mm later on :)

Postby RBphoto » December 7th, 2011, 11:01 am

If you get a client to foot the bill for your enjoyment, you can shoot whatever equipment you want. I could have actually made some good money on the few jobs that I did, but I decided to rent exotic equipment that I never used before and try out new equipment instead of using my own perfectly good equipment. Ate up my profit (I actually came out at a loss on a job), but I got good experience from it trying new stuff, and seeing what new equipment would do for me.

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2011, 11:09 am

LOL i will have to get a client first cuz i jus do it as a hobby atm lol

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2011, 10:31 pm

low light in little carib theatre

Dragist

Re: Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM

Postby Dragist » December 8th, 2011, 6:41 am

cornfused wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Canon 50mm f1.4 USM vs Canon 85mm f1.8 USM
hey tuners, which would you recommend???

DV this is question more likely to get an answer on phototrini. I am not qualified but I recently got the 50mm and that is my first prime lens and yeah it pick up light like that and is crystal clear and it has a motor while the 85 mm seem to be full manual.

A better review can be found here

http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=canon_50_1p8_ii&products=canon_85_1p8

Both the 50mm 1.4 and 85mm 1.8 have USM - Ultra Sonic Motor's I have the 85mm and it's a great performer , it all depends on what you want to shoot and are you on a cropper or FF ?

Postby DVSTT » December 8th, 2011, 6:57 am

much rather ff bt if i must crop i will. Hey by chance u kno hw much customs charge to bring down a lens???

Dragist

Postby Dragist » December 8th, 2011, 7:22 am

General rule is take US price and X10 that's how I work it to Skybox anything in .

Postby RBphoto » December 8th, 2011, 8:10 am

DVSTT wrote:much rather ff bt if i must crop i will. Hey by chance u kno hw much customs charge to bring down a lens???

Check my sig... no I am not biased in my lens recommendations :lol:

Postby DVSTT » December 8th, 2011, 8:20 pm

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 9th, 2011, 12:25 am

Soon they will be gone...

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2011, 12:34 am

Some shots I took over the weekend

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 878&type=1

I should be getting a tripod later in the month in aid to improve my low-light shots. Lemme know what you guys think.

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2011, 6:39 am

HEY nice pics!!! wat lens u used? n wat shutter speed?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 9th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Undercover00

Postby Undercover00 » December 9th, 2011, 3:53 pm

Tobago

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2011, 4:58 pm

DVSTT wrote:HEY nice pics!!! wat lens u used? n wat shutter speed?

canon kit lens, 18-55mm. Shutter speed varied a lot

Postby 16 cycles » December 10th, 2011, 1:18 pm

merry christmas tuners...

Postby DVSTT » December 10th, 2011, 1:46 pm

SAME TO YEW DUDE!!!! GR8 PICS!!!!!! WHAT LENS YOU USING???

Postby 16 cycles » December 10th, 2011, 4:09 pm

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Revi ... eview.aspx

bought to handle the low light instances....the kit lens can only do so much and this probably is one of the best values you can get for the canon lens

Postby DVSTT » December 10th, 2011, 9:19 pm

i have to order dat lens wei.