COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 112 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 6:43 am

redmanjp wrote:the spanish flu came in waves- i think the second or third wave might have been worse. and a vaccine is AT LEAST a year away if not more. we in this for the long haul

And what evidence you have that Covid will be the same?

Allyuh do realize that Trinidad going and reopen in about a month time right?

at most 2 months and that is it, no year or anything like that nonsense

greggle71

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 113 cases, 8 deaths, 16 discharged in T&T

Postby greggle71 » April 13th, 2020, 6:46 am

With regard to the 33 nationals in Barbados, National Security Minister said they will have to secure their own travel arrangements. I’m guessing they could charter a plane themselves and provide the particulars to the government as part of the exemption request so local authorities can do the needful upon arrival. It more a matter of cost at this time. Would CAL or some other Caribbean based airline take up the opportunity? What airline did the cruise ship group used for their charter flight? At this stage is more about solutions rather than blame. Seems like the govt is saying if yuh could reach I’ll re-open the border.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 113 cases, 8 deaths, 16 discharged in T&T

Postby Kenjo » April 13th, 2020, 7:42 am

greggle71 wrote:With regard to the 33 nationals in Barbados, National Security Minister said they will have to secure their own travel arrangements. I’m guessing they could charter a plane themselves and provide the particulars to the government as part of the exemption request so local authorities can do the needful upon arrival. It more a matter of cost at this time. Would CAL or some other Caribbean based airline take up the opportunity? What airline did the cruise ship group used for their charter flight? At this stage is more about solutions rather than blame. Seems like the govt is saying if yuh could reach I’ll re-open the border.

Hopefully by the time they come back and get isolated Again for a next minimum of 14 days they won’t be trying to run away from the facility and complaining like Goldilocks for everything . I can’t imagine seeing roaches that have to be photoshopped into a picture and not asking for insect spray

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 112 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby adnj » April 13th, 2020, 8:14 am

Minister of Health Terrence Deyalsingh said, “So if and when the second and third waves come, we can cope with it because no one can tell me or tell you or anybody how big the second and third waves are. Every country in the world that has thousands of cases, tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands of cases, every country that tried to do modelling, all the models have failed to predict exactly what is going on or what will happen because you simply can’t predict how this virus behaves and you simply can’t predict how humans behave and if we continue, especially our young men who I am asking to man up and be responsible, they are the ones that are going to drive the second and third waves. If it drowns us, I put it on their heads but we are prepared, we are building redundancy into the system so if and when we get it, we can cope with it."

[URL]https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/young-men-bent-on-destroying-covid-gains-in-t-t/article_55f10260-7d6f-11ea-a124-2b608d75643c.html
[/URL]
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
redmanjp wrote:the spanish flu came in waves- i think the second or third wave might have been worse. and a vaccine is AT LEAST a year away if not more. we in this for the long haul

And what evidence you have that Covid will be the same?

Allyuh do realize that Trinidad going and reopen in about a month time right?

at most 2 months and that is it, no year or anything like that nonsense

rebound

Postby rebound » April 13th, 2020, 8:22 am

Can the Barbados 33 come by Sea?

Postby sMASH » April 13th, 2020, 8:25 am

redmanjp wrote:now testing positive with no symptoms and long after incubation period.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/13/experts-baffled-with-new-covid19-infections/

Experts baffled with new covid19 infections
SHANE SUPERVILLE 54 MINUTES AGO
Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram - SUREASH CHOLAI

Medical experts are trying to understand an aspect of the epidemiology of the coronavirus, as three of the latest confirmed cases tested positive long after the 14-day incubation period, and none of the three had any symptoms.

Three of the four patients to test positive were among 68 cruise ship passengers who were put in isolation at a facility at Balandra on March 18 after their return to TT.​

They had all previously tested negative for the virus and were being readied to be sent home. ​

Speaking at a media conference on Sunday, Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram described the most recent infections as "quite unusual," as the coronavirus was originally thought to have an incubation period of only 14 days.​

In this case, the three most recent cases tested positive after being kept in isolation for 24 days. ​

He said information was forwarded to virologists at the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) to try to explain the apparent change in the behaviour of the disease.​

Parasram said one of the most recent cases was the wife of a confirmed coronavirus patient, and suggested she may have contracted the disease by being in close contact with him, but could not explain the source of the other two infections.​

He was working with the county medical officer to get more details of these cases. ​

"In terms of those three people that tested positive, they would have had a first negative (result), just like the other 19 people before them,” he said. "They had no symptoms. But we are beginning to look at why they had a positive (result), so long after testing negative and then having no symptoms as well, so it is an unusual situation biologically. ​

"I had discussed it with the head of virology as well at CARPHA to some extent.

“What I can say for one of the patients who turned out to be positive had very close contact with another positive patient in Balandra who was her spouse, so there was a close link."​

Parasram said also said despite the anomalous nature of the latest infections, proper hygiene and social distancing protocols were practised at the Balandra facility.

He also pointed out that the virus was new and therefore relatively unknown in its behaviour and patterns of infection. ​

On March 21, three days after the group was sent into isolation at the Balandra camp, it was confirmed that of the 68 passengers, 40 had tested positive for the coronavirus. They were transferred to the Couva Hospital for treatment.​

The 14-day quarantine period for the remaining 28 at the Balandra camp was restarted.​

By March 27, the Ministry of Health confirmed that 47 people of the original 68 at Balandra tested positive for the coronavirus. ​

As of Sunday afternoon, the number of confirmed coronavirus cases from the cruise stood at 52. This number includes three people who returned separately from Guadeloupe.

kindergarten level protocols; one bad apple spoils the barrel. u dont keep ur rotten meat mix up with ur good one.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 8:30 am

So you saying a 2nd and 3rd save is VERY likely to happen? or very UNLIKELY because I think it is very UNLIKELY.

We doing super duper good so far, 3 new cases per week, just now it go be down to none. The real question is when bars and the likes are reopening. When taxi will be allowed to carry a full trip and when P cars will be allowed back on the roads to wuk taxi

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2020, 8:55 am

i think we all need to realize that 2020 is fully cancelled. no more fetes, maybe even no more christmas.

second wave is likely. prepare from now

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 9:01 am

paid_influencer wrote:i think we all need to realize that 2020 is fully cancelled. no more fetes, maybe even no more christmas.

second wave is likely. prepare from now

HOW????????

Sh!t going very good as we speak, the curve is flattening, things are improving all over the world.

PNM isn't going to shut down the country for a year, they love capitalism way too much to do that. Plus they work for the 1% who again isn't going to just sit by and allow something like that you know. Trinidad will reopen in a month or 2 regardless if we like it or not because business and the economy needs to go on.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 9:13 am

Hard to believe but the left wingers are maybe reaching breaking point and are starting to call out China for what they have purposely done to the world, Bill Maher recently ripped the butt holes of leftists in the media for saying it is racist to call it the Chinese Corona Virus, why is this?

Because finally this impact is hitting the leftists hard where it hurts which is their money, they thought they would be protected people like Stephen Colbert who has now been reduced to a low grade comedian who doesn't even know how to setup a semi decent external microphone connected to his laptop without a paid team of engineers or without an audience / music band to help his phony jokes actually exposes him for who he really is which is NOT a comedian but a mediocre political analyst. The same thing is happening to Trevor Noah, doh Trevor is probably the ONLY one with some jokes since he is a genuine stand up comedian.

It hasn't hit the left that hard because most jobs held by leftists can be done via teleworking. However slowly but surely it is exposing the left for who they are as their pockets are hit harder and harder by this Covid and as they realize that society particularly in the US may not recover for years. Bill Maher famously PRAYED for a recession to get rid of Trump on one of his shows, now the real recession has hit and he is already crying because unlike the recession he was praying for that would only affect the middle class this recession is affecting him and is even threatening his existence and life.

matix

Postby matix » April 13th, 2020, 9:18 am

MaxPower wrote:Lmao @ the group being willing to pay for a flight at a reasonable price. What they thought it was? Free?

Beggars cannot be choosers.

We have to know the cost if we are to send a plane for them and charge them based on that inclusive of a profit for the govt/airline and extra pay for ALL departments risking their health and safety in this pandemic. Round the figure up substantially and hit them that.

Its still to early to open our borders and the Govt is in their right NOT to send a plane.

I understand all of your concerns of sympathy and humanity etc, but these are dangerous times with irresponsible people. Time to toughen up to avoid this happening in future.

Can you all imagine if Stuarty went in pantyman mode and open his border to tom, dick and harrylal? Trinis would know they can get what they want with social media whining and racial blaming. Not today.

Let this be a lesson learnt for all.

Aren’t you the same person who glorifies Venezuelans? Our borders are wide open for Juan, Diego and Isabella.

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2020, 9:19 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Sh!t going very good as we speak, the curve is flattening, things are improving all over the world.

Correct. We are nearing the end of the first wave.

The second wave will start with people showing up at the hospitals in severe respiratory distress, approximately 2-3 weeks after they've been infected and spreading the virus in the population.

The current lack of testing of asymptomatic persons, symptomatic persons without travel history or primary contact, and persons already deceased with pneumonia, means we may have missed some potential reservoirs of the virus.

PNM isn't going to shut down the country for a year, they love capitalism way too much to do that. Plus they work for the 1% who again isn't going to just sit by and allow something like that you know. Trinidad will reopen in a month or 2 regardless if we like it or not because business and the economy needs to go on.

"We don't set the time line. The virus sets the time line" - Minister of Health

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 13th, 2020, 9:28 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So you saying a 2nd and 3rd save is VERY likely to happen? or very UNLIKELY because I think it is very UNLIKELY.

We doing super duper good so far, 3 new cases per week, just now it go be down to none. The real question is when bars and the likes are reopening. When taxi will be allowed to carry a full trip and when P cars will be allowed back on the roads to wuk taxi
3 cases because they not testing as they should.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 9:32 am

^ I dunno nah, by now we would have seen the hospitals flooded... Everything dead quiet at the hospitals unless you saying Trinis have immune systems like the latrine cleaners in India?

I agree the way Trinis were choking up in pricesmart and massy and kfc etc you would think everybody is infected but nobody showing signs. It could be the heat of this country slowing it down rapidly I feel, plus most places making Trinis wash their hands for the very first time in their life.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 13th, 2020, 9:50 am

Until they start testing everyone with symptoms an not just ppl with travel history the numbers won't show. Look how long the balandra ppl quarantined an they now test positive

Postby 88sins » April 13th, 2020, 9:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I dunno nah, by now we would have seen the hospitals flooded... Everything dead quiet at the hospitals unless you saying Trinis have immune systems like the latrine cleaners in India?

I agree the way Trinis were choking up in pricesmart and massy and kfc etc you would think everybody is infected but nobody showing signs. It could be the heat of this country slowing it down rapidly I feel, plus most places making Trinis wash their hands for the very first time in their life.

I seriously doubt climate having that much of an impact on this virus, especially when you look at countries like Iran that is much hotter than Trinidad, even Brazil climate is closer to ours and they have more confirmed cases than us. What's happening here is in no small part a direct result of measures being implemented early and the larger population taking it seriously enough so that each individual does their part to avoid potential self contamination, in addition to the very limited testing being done thus far. We haven't tested 1000 people to date. That's an abysmally low rate, when you consider the nearly 20 thousand people that arrived here for the carnival season.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 13th, 2020, 10:09 am

Hmm six weeks now I home. ... starting to feel the symptoms of lockdown

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 10:12 am

^ But ent the Government said it eh make sense testing people who have no symptoms? they said it is waste of test kits to test most people.

I feel what the health ministry plans to do is to reduce testing then once we don't get any new cases for a while send back everybody to work. I want to believe what allyuh saying is true that this country not reopening until the end of the year, but I doubt this is the reality.

America already looking to reopen by next month, big businesses will NOT allow such a long shutdown and there is no reason to believe the 1% will allow such a long shutdown in Trinidad. I find allyuh not looking at reality man, allyuh talking about 4 month and 1 year shutdown etc. That will never happen when there is so much money at stake, we are going to have to do like China which is go back to work during the pandemic and just practice social distancing and washing our hands
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 13th, 2020, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » April 13th, 2020, 10:12 am

IF we get through the next 3 weeks at these levels in general...I think we in a great spot.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 10:17 am

Sooner or later we may have to live with Covid as the norm if we can't eradicate it back into the wild.

Going forward what we have to do is ban business with China and Africa or any place that has these wet markets and refuse to do anything about it. In China the wet markets has just begun to reopen, everything is a joke.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 13th, 2020, 10:20 am

Yea don't test ppl who asymptomatic an walking around infecting others. Good logic there pal.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ But ent the Government said it eh make sense testing people who have no symptoms? they said it is waste of test kits to test most people.

I feel what the health ministry plans to do is to reduce testing then once we don't get any new cases for a while send back everybody to work. I want to believe what allyuh saying is true that this country not reopening until the end of the year, but I doubt this is the reality.

America already looking to reopen by next month, big businesses will NOT allow such a long shutdown and there is no reason to believe the 1% will allow such a long shutdown in Trinidad. I find allyuh not looking at reality man, allyuh talking about 4 month and 1 year shutdown etc. That will never happen when there is so much money at stake, we are going to have to do like China which is go back to work during the pandemic and just practice social distancing and washing our hands

Postby paid_influencer » April 13th, 2020, 10:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I dunno nah, by now we would have seen the hospitals flooded... Everything dead quiet at the hospitals unless you saying Trinis have immune systems like the latrine cleaners in India?

It comes in waves.

The first "wave" was directly from the 20,000 travelers (almost all imported cases). It is likely we did not detect everyone with the virus from that first group, given that majority of cases are mild or even asymptomatic.

The second wave would be the persons locally infected by the first group. We will not see this right away because of the incubation time and the first few rounds of exponential spread are relatively small numbers. Once those numbers get up though, we're looking at 100 cases becoming 200 cases becoming 400 cases in a very short period of time. By the time those persons get to the hospital, we are already at a problem.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 13th, 2020, 10:25 am

Well said.
paid_influencer wrote:

It comes in waves.

The first "wave" was directly from the 20,000 travelers (almost all imported cases). It is likely we did not detect everyone with the virus from that first group, given that majority of cases are mild or even asymptomatic.

The second wave would be the persons locally infected by the first group. We will not see this right away because of the incubation time and the first few rounds of exponential spread are relatively small numbers. Once those numbers get up though, we're looking at 100 cases becoming 200 cases becoming 400 cases in a very short period of time. By the time those persons get to the hospital, we are already at a problem.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 10:25 am

ST Auto wrote:Yea don't test ppl who asymptomatic an walking around infecting others. Good logic there pal.

Not me padner it is the local health experts who said it is a waste of time testing asymptomatic people because according to them they show no signs and when tested they show no positive test either. They also said they don't have test kits to test everybody anyways

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 13th, 2020, 10:27 am

paid_influencer wrote:

It comes in waves.

Yeah but ent that second wave already supposed to happen?

Postby adnj » April 13th, 2020, 10:33 am

I seriously doubt climate having that much of an impact on this virus, especially when you look at countries like Iran that is much hotter than Trinidad, even Brazil climate is closer to ours and they have more confirmed cases than us. What's happening here is in no small part a direct result of measures being implemented early and the larger population taking it seriously enough so that each individual does their part to avoid potential self contamination, in addition to the very limited testing being done thus far. We haven't tested 1000 people to date. That's an abysmally low rate, when you consider the nearly 20 thousand people that arrived here for the carnival season.
You're right.

[IMG]https://thevoiceofpelham.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/52.png
[/IMG]
Last edited by adnj on April 13th, 2020, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 113 cases, 8 deaths, 16 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 13th, 2020, 10:35 am

matix wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Lmao @ the group being willing to pay for a flight at a reasonable price. What they thought it was? Free?

Beggars cannot be choosers.

We have to know the cost if we are to send a plane for them and charge them based on that inclusive of a profit for the govt/airline and extra pay for ALL departments risking their health and safety in this pandemic. Round the figure up substantially and hit them that.

Its still to early to open our borders and the Govt is in their right NOT to send a plane.

I understand all of your concerns of sympathy and humanity etc, but these are dangerous times with irresponsible people. Time to toughen up to avoid this happening in future.

Can you all imagine if Stuarty went in pantyman mode and open his border to tom, dick and harrylal? Trinis would know they can get what they want with social media whining and racial blaming. Not today.

Let this be a lesson learnt for all.

Aren’t you the same person who glorifies Venezuelans? Our borders are wide open for Juan, Diego and Isabella.

Hello Matilal,

Let’s not forget Carlos, Pablo and Maria.

Where are the Vene Covid cases you and your countrymen were so excited about?

I hope everyone is noticing their behavior in this pandemic. See the discipline? Yeh it have one or two displaying Trini like irresponsible behavior but they are generally cooperating.

Doh study the Venes and open borders bro, allyuh have more important matters to deal with i.e - new hygiene and social distancing practices etc

Keep well.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 13th, 2020, 10:41 am

10am update. No new tests done
93421042_3273192456043873_4656935126683353088_o.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » April 13th, 2020, 10:56 am

Never been to Iran I assume? The climate is nothing like ours and not hot as you think. Generally it is more temperate and even the deserts get cold at nights

IMG_20200413_105527.jpeg

computercentral

Postby computercentral » April 13th, 2020, 11:03 am

ST Auto wrote:10am update. No new tests done
93421042_3273192456043873_4656935126683353088_o.jpeg

Today is a holiday bai