The Religion Discussion

d spike

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - Hawking's a Madman - Pg.

Postby d spike » September 19th, 2010, 11:01 pm

megadoc1 wrote: then the persons asking for proof knew very well it couldn't be displayed here ,yet still insists on seeing them ,was that a form of tactic or something?
was that person being deceptive asking for something that they knew cannot be displayed on here?

As usual, you missed my point completely.

(Sigh)

Proof, by its very nature, can be stated. Any sot could rise stiffly out of a wheel-chair screaming with joy, or caper around after discarding crutches used to hobble onstage with...
Doctors' statements, unbiased eyewitness accounts... these things are proof, whether in court, or church, doesn't change what it IS, and what its value is.
You chose to take part in a discussion... you chose to make certain claims in that discussion... all you need to do to back up your claim is to provide proof - not send somebody to look and see if they observe any...

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 19th, 2010, 11:02 pm

Duane ,, i feel we go hadda make a chuna lime in dis obeah church he does go to yuh know ,,,<sarcasm> let us go witness the awesomeness of his exorcisms....</sarcasm>

Christianity is not the thing with the problem here..... Its the way it attracts semi-literate loonies who happen to be the most gullible empty vessels ever born....

I said it before, and ill say it again...

Megadoc. yuh off yuh rocker. (see.. no long convoluted bible quote needed to get my point across)

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 19th, 2010, 11:05 pm

The Bible is different from all other text, it does not claim that man can make it to heaven you their own merit (good works).

d spike

Postby d spike » September 19th, 2010, 11:10 pm

toyo682 wrote:Megadoc, how can you say d spike is lying? It is obvious to all that what ever he post here you can't or refuse to understand. So how have you come to the conclusion he is a liar? Have you investigated?

Fixed. :lol:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 19th, 2010, 11:27 pm

toyo682 wrote:So there is not absolute truth then.
There is fact based on empirical evidence; do you have any?

the return of the empirical evidence man !
this is what caused me to make you the offer
I even remembered asking you how committed you were to science
just before I made you the offer
but it seems you think can you play these games as long as you limit the talk about God to a discussion
..............check my sig....lol @ prove it here :lol: :lol: :lol:
one set of grand charge and then backed down
d spike how can I bring empirical evidence to tuner?

megadoc1 wrote:great!! what do you think is the best way to show you proof?
what are your rules? would your mind be opened to it?
Is your proof so weak that it requires criteria to work? :lol: no but I just don't want yuh pulling long shot on meh ..yuh know how it is when men desperate
proof is proof; once you can bring empirical evidence then rules would not apply.
We do not need an open mind or rules to see that water turns to ice when frozen because there is empirical evidence of it :idea:
In case you do not know or understand what empirical research or evidence means, I have put this link here for you
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Empirical_research
"Empirical research is research that derives its data by means of direct observation or experiment",great!!!!! so what about you getting someone you know that may be in a situation in which we claim to deliver them from cancer, broken limbs etc.any situation of your choice and bring them to see for yourself
how that sound?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 19th, 2010, 11:34 pm

d spike wrote:
toyo682 wrote:Megadoc, how can you say d spike is lying? It is obvious to all that what ever he post here you can't or refuse to understand. So how have you come to the conclusion he is a liar? Have you investigated?

megadoc1 wrote:not even an investigation self ?
well then it is my belief

d spike

Postby d spike » September 19th, 2010, 11:44 pm

Toyo, you may not be aware of this in your "Help The Fellow Christian" blinkered state you are in, but Megadoc has some serious personal issues (that have absolutely nothing to do with religion or Christ) that have been causing him to spew his vituperation on Tuner.
When he started this nonsense in another thread, he would go into paroxysms of typing out songs and arbitrary words of praise, interspersed with nonsensical rantings and ravings. One tuner even allowed the folks in the university's faculty of behavioural science to view a couple of his posts... their response was that the lad was seriously mentally affected. (Feel free to check for yourself: the thread was "Did Jesus rise from the dead?")
Here is just one example of what had to be written (after I had to correct him regularly for quite a few pages, he accused me of putting on a show for the glory of men...)
d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:d spike,wow keep it up you are doing great
now look back and you will see
God's word
your word
and the stupid megadoc
Yes, okay... I see quotations from the scriptures, yes... I see what I've posted, yes.. I see your posts (stupid? tame, but apt description) yes... sooo... what's your point? I also see the posts of others, asking you to explain your statements, yes... no explanations given by you, though... I wonder why? Like an untrained house-dog, you seemed to have gone all over the place, leaving clutter and turds behind for others to clean up...Wouldn't the cause for Christianity be better served if you shut up????

you can say what you want about me
I am not saying what I WANT... What makes you think I WANT to say this about a fellow human being, who thinks he has found a way up the mountain that we are all meant to climb? (Just shut your arse, and climb, nah.) I am saying what NEEDS TO BE SAID.

(enjoy your show for the glory of men)
Where do you get this? My show? But I am just responding to you, you gormless worm. This "glory of men" horse-droppings? Man's glory is that God would see him fit to save...
Wait a minute. This smells like jealousy. All this production... and "Ah em saved" and "Ah see thu light"... are you upset that folks are just guffawing at you, but not me? You are have some guilt-ridden need to produce a "show for the glory of men", but I am stealing your thunder... now your best response is to project your own failings on me? Get a life!

but I have seen what the lord says about you and your future
I fear what he says about you more than what you say about me
I pray you turn away from those ways though
First of all, my life is of no concern of yours. Mind your own blasted business. Get a life!
Secondly, you only know of me through what little I have written here. Stop your damned assumptions about me. Due to my defending MG's right to say what he said (not WHAT he said) you assumed that I was an atheist/devil-worshiper... You are wrong.
Due to my not agreeing whole-heartedly with you and your nonsensical way of vending your religion, you condemn and rebuke me... You are wrong.
You call me a liar, without ever stating why... You are wrong.
You refuse to answer those who query or seek clarification of your bullshitified posts, ignoring them, to then continue producing even more twaddle, and again ignoring calls for clarification... You are wrong!

Save your prayers for your own arse, when you stand behind the door, pleading, "Lord, Lord..."

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 19th, 2010, 11:47 pm

^^ repost spike ,,, i said that before u ,,, many pages back .. lol

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 19th, 2010, 11:55 pm

so since when this should be about me?
allyuh not easy :( :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
why does satan feel my past can trouble me?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 20th, 2010, 12:08 am

cacasplat3 wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:seem like we are in the same boat just that I have proven what I believe is right

doc listen for the "POP".........

thats the sound u'll hear when your head comes out your ass........ :?

cool just make sure when you leave this life you do so clothed in HIS righteousness,
faith in Jesus Christ that is and not your own
Last edited by megadoc1 on September 20th, 2010, 12:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » September 20th, 2010, 12:10 am

Megadoc even tried to invite us to meet with him individually, just to stop holes from being blown in his ridiculous posts - all this was about six months ago:
d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:Sky, you're a better man than I am. I would lose it completely (or as Megadoc1 would say, "loose it completely") and beat the toad with a 2"x4" until my hands lost feeling. I abhor ignorance, and maintaining ignorance in the face of obvious truth is the worst/vilest of all.
says the man who declined on his own opportunity to do so

You really are an absolute twit. I dislike violence. In reality, I don't lose my temper over nonsense such as this. There are far more important things in my life to focus my energy on. As far as declining is concerned... what opportunity are you referring to? YOU??? You are an 'opportunity'? The ego of this man...
d spike wrote:You... have such an inflated ego you could be used for a weather balloon.

You are no opportunity. You are one of those myriad wastrels who have no concern for how other people feel, or think. In this present time where resources are limited and intelligent people are required, you are just taking up space, using up water, depleting food supplies and polluting air.

Growing up on an estate, we learned to value life, useful life, that is. A useless animal is tied to a short rope and you only spend one cartridge on him. The only way he could make himself more useful, is if he dug his hole first.

Read this one more time to understand why the only reason I would place you in the same sentence as 'opportunity', is if that sentence also contains the words 'target practice'...
d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:hey lets meet up and see, you seems confident
what yuh say?

Meet you? Whatever for? To what end?

Logic and rationality... the ability to define, explain clearly and rationalize what one believes... to see the truth in other beliefs, and appreciate them for what they are... are things that I hold dear to me. The exact opposites of this, Madness, Ignorance, Literalism, Bigotry... only nauseate me... I find them repulsive, disgusting... and contagious impediments in the path of man's journey home to where his Creator meant for him to ultimately be... and you, my boy, glorify in emulating, even personifying, these ghastly attributes.

We are all here for a time. The time we spend on whatever we choose to do, does not come again. I ensure that what time I have left is spent in some fruitful endeavour. What would talking to you achieve - apart from wasting precious time that could have been spent in worthwhile, intelligent conversation with someone whose intellect and presence brings joy? Or knowledge? Or both?

After all that you have said about me here, what makes you think that I would want to talk to you? To even wish to meet you? Respect and honour mean nothing to you... why then, should I waste time attempting to share, that which you have taken great pains to show all that you have none?

No, lad... no. I do what I do here to ensure that reason has a voice against the backdrop of your mindless diatribe. Not because I enjoy conversing with someone who has no care for what I say.

d spike wrote:Why this sudden urge to meet face-to-face? Twenty-something odd pages of ranting, raving and frothing at the jowls like a chained rabid dog... and now he wants to meet?
What for? For him to tell you that you are demonic? Evil? To rebuke, condemn and call me a liar to my face? I am sorry... I can get more enjoyment out of picking maggots out of a fly-blown stray dog - and thus be of more use to the Creation.

I'll tell you why he wants to meet in person... He wants to take this discussion (which reveals his failings and inabilities as a thinking and rational human being) OUT OF THE PUBLIC DOMAIN where it can be scrutinized by all and sundry.
megadoc1 wrote:Mr d spike,why a man with all your high knowledge and logic
could be bothered by a little idiot like me ?

you don't have better things to do?

cause i cyah really stand people laughing at me so all the time :(

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 20th, 2010, 12:31 am

I am still inviting anyone who dare to prove otherwise
lets not limit God to a conversation.....check sig
btw d spike did Jesus rise from the dead?
I remembered you had a hard time answering that

d spike

Postby d spike » September 20th, 2010, 1:07 am

illumin@ti wrote:^^ repost spike ,,, i said that before u ,,, many pages back .. lol

Nati, anything I could possibly say on the topic of this two-legged brayer is either a repost or a paraphrasing of something you wrote before... I just happen to be less abrasive! :lol: :lol: :lol:
illumin@ti wrote:We?? Maga is what? english monarch here or yuh issa french pig? doh insult yuhself. i might not be as long-winded as d_spike, but ill give it to u just the same. yuh goin round and round and round and cant see but further than 6 feet ahead of u. Like spike rightly said so many times before this, this ceased being a discussion about God and ended up being your roast. You jump up like a n00b attention whore and got/ sorry/ still getting the attention u deserve. There was intelligent discussion goin on before you kept on rudely interrupting. The OP had very valid questions, ideas were exchanged and so on , so forth. I dont get it tho, why?

Why do u think its ok and right to cast scorn, and damnation and rebuke and tralalee and tralala and not look at the mockery yuh makin of the faith that yuh supposedly representing here. i'm not going to quote from any scripture or anything, i taking it down to a real human level and attempt to find out why from you. This eh no 'rankin ting' i eh come here to look fuh pips or acceptance. Its a public forum and you, I and whoever else here have the right to express ourselves. At the end of the day, no one here needs to like me for me to feel good. That being said.....

why is it that its ok for you to shout and praise and rebuke in the name of God as yuh put it-- yuh want to ram it dong ppl throat, but cant accept nor respect that there are ppl who have different beliefs. you are truly one selfish and ignorant man if you cant grasp the concept that ppl have a right to be different and seek their own way, fortune, values system etc. I have no right to come grab u by the ear and put u to sit down and forcefeed u what i dictate. Then compound it by further trampling on that right by damning all else thats different. That.. incase yuh missed it is bigotry...And thats all we're getting from u

My belief is that the point of us all being different is for us to mingle, share, evaluate and BENEFIT from the knowledge and acceptance of our unique experiences and challenges, not spew hate because one book said that my idol is better than all other idols, and he says that all else is evil.. rah rah rah rah.

You at all in touch with the reality that is life today? yuh know how much suffering going on out here, how many people going to bed starving, how many good christian believers lookin for answers to death, strife, hunger, violence etc and how much of it, if not all of it has nothing at all to to with the all-powerful and merciful God that you misrepresenting here? How do you give them answers to thier questions? do you tell them its all in God's plan? You beyond sad, if as a big man, you have to follow a book penned by men exclusively for guidance in your life, ignoring what you see everyday.

Why cant we be tolerant of our fellow man? and respect another's right to be Muslim, Hindu, SDA, or Bhuddist and let that be it?. You could go on fartin that shyt yuh keep talking from here to when your judgement day comes. And i'll be comfortable if it pleases you to think that you've damned me in some way, you rebuked my evil spirit and i did not heed your warning to repent.. I believe differently. I believe that when your time comes, and ur face to face with the end of your existance here and you hype yourself up for the last time just for that great push into the light you'll still have missed the point of it all.. you'll still be talking about God... running around shouting the sky is falling,, i'll still have my head down, doing the work while you just yap. Ill be enriching the lives of my family and loved ones while you threaten them with doomsday... and i will embody the humility and dedication that earns real rewards..... what by your standards a 'good christian' does.

But eh... yuh and whoever you seein by you dey that makin up that 'we' yuh talkin bout eh dealin with me at all tonight. Get you stories right before yuh open yuh mout. And get over that tragic im-saved-ur-not complex eh. it disturbing
(Posted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:20 pm)

megadoc1 wrote:d spike how can I bring empirical evidence to tuner?[/color]

Do you actually have some? Good! What form/medium is it?

megadoc1 wrote:
lets not limit God to a conversation.....

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:d spike it seems all your knowledge and logic on this matter is limited to a conversation

So what other form of communication is there among men other than conversing?

btw d spike did Jesus rise from the dead?
I remembered you had a hard time answering that

I also remember you ignoring quite a few questions...

I didn't "have a hard time" answering that question, my lad... you just had a hard time accepting my answer - apparently, you still can't...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 20th, 2010, 1:19 am

megadoc1 wrote:

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:d spike it seems all your knowledge and logic on this matter is limited to a conversation

check out meh sig :)

d spike

Postby d spike » September 20th, 2010, 1:27 am

megadoc1 wrote:

d spike wrote:

check out meh sig :)

As cute as that may be, it still doesn't answer my question.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 20th, 2010, 1:33 am

then nothing will
good night

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2010, 2:06 am

in christianity, 3=1
god killed himself because there was no other way to allow man to be saved, even though god cannot die, so there was no point in doing it,,,,,, and also god could have made man back as he pleases, so i dont know why god have to go through such hard things as sacrificing himself,,, to himself for.

toyo, islam is the last revelation, and the religion we should follow, but most other major religions, were, once upon a time, before corruption, what was meant to be followed, but at that time.
what we have now, are modified versions of past instructions.

say for instance, u are a christian, and u come to hear about hinduism (or bhagvadgita-arianism or whatever), u should investigate and determine if that is a more realistic way of worshiping god and living. if it is, u should adopt, if it not, keep on doing what u are doing in the best and most honest possible way. for at judgment day, u would be judged accordingly. every one is different, just like the bari girl mega showed, people have different styles, tastes, preferences; god made us so. so we would do different things as they would appeal to us differently. u just keep the good commandments like being good to ur neighbors and standing up for truth and so on, u would be judged accordingly.

but i disagree with duane and show a myopic stance. islam is the way to follow, but god allowed for the variety there is today, and conformity is a choice, and a free choice. so i not goin an condemn no body else for following a different way, god is the judge in matters as these, not i. my purpose is not to convert u, but to let u know about it, if u so desire. what u do with that info is up to u, as a person free to choose.

Postby MG Man » September 20th, 2010, 6:48 am

what does islam say if i read your book, and still choose not to follow it?

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2010, 9:24 am

every one is free to choose what they will. as long as u have gave it honest consideration, and ur findings have not been colored with bias, there is nothing more to do. ur whole life of actions will be judged, and ur theistic belief is just part of it.

we believe that we were put here to worship god, and how we live is part of worshiping him. how we treat others, how fair we are, how honest we try to be, how well we make use of our resources etc.

again i am reminded of the story of where the prostitute was granted heaven because she came across a thirsty dog in the desert and used her shoe to fetch water from a well for it. for that act of kindness and selflessness, and consideration and empathy, she was given reward and forgiveness for her sins.

now islam teaches that we would go to hell for a time for those sins which were not forgiven, such as willfully cheating someone and not trying to stop doing it and not begging for forgiveness.
but the punishment in hell is very severe and for long times. so it would be wise to avoid it.

but, judgment is for god, not for i to do. for if u live life not harming others unnecessarily, standing up for justice, being fair, treating others with respect and decency, these are things that islam tries to get us to do and are pleasing in the sight of god, and ur already doing it, so it come like u doing plenty of it already, but not the actions specific and unique to islam.

there are plenty muslims who lie, drink, steal, cheat, oppress, and backbite. all their lipservice for the public to see, would give them no favor, so they might as well stop doing it.

for a religious person, praise without action is worthless.

to answer ur question briefly, dat is between god and u.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 20th, 2010, 9:36 am

sMASH wrote:in christianity, 3=1
god killed himself because there was no other way to allow man to be saved, even though god cannot die, so there was no point in doing it,,,,,, and also god could have made man back as he pleases, so i dont know why god have to go through such hard things as sacrificing himself,,, to himself for.true God could take away our freewill, and program us to do right and love him. Then we would be a planet of robots. So why did Moses makes sacrifices. If Muslims believe in the laws of Moses, why in the days of Moses there was a sin sacrifice?

toyo, islam is the last revelation, and the religion we should follow, but most other major religions, were, once upon a time, before corruption, what was meant to be followed, but at that time.So if we who are not Islamic are following corrupt versions of the past way and not the pure way, then we are doom. did Mohammed teach this as well? Is this taught in the middle east?
what we have now, are modified versions of past instructions.

say for instance, u are a christian, and u come to hear about hinduism (or bhagvadgita-arianism or whatever), u should investigate and determine if that is a more realistic way of worshiping god and living. I don't see what there is to investigate if Islam is the final revelation and the way we should follow. unless you are not truly sure. if it is, u should adopt, if it not, keep on doing what u are doing in the best and most honest possible way. for at judgment day, u would be judged accordingly. every one is different, just like the bari girl mega showed, people have different styles, tastes, preferences; god made us so. so we would do different things as they would appeal to us differently. u just keep the good commandments like being good to ur neighbors and standing up for truth and so on, u would be judged accordingly.
So the big question on this day of Judgment how do you know if you have done enough? What hope does Islam or any other religion provide for this? If you die today, have you done enough to undo your sins?

but i disagree with duane and show a myopic stance. islam is the way to follow, but god allowed for the variety there is today, and conformity is a choice, and a free choice. so i not goin an condemn no body else for following a different way, god is the judge in matters as these, not i.So what about the people who drank the kool-aid in south America, are they in heaven was that another way to God or were they deceived by a man. my purpose is not to convert u, but to let u know about it, if u so desire. what u do with that info is up to u, as a person free to choose.So I could be going to hell and at the end of the day you don't true care if I choose the right way only that I have heard about it? Where is the love in that?

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 20th, 2010, 9:41 am

sMASH wrote:every one is free to choose what they will. as long as u have gave it honest consideration, and ur findings have not been colored with bias, there is nothing more to do. ur whole life of actions will be judged, and ur theistic belief is just part of it.

we believe that we were put here to worship god, and how we live is part of worshiping him. how we treat others, how fair we are, how honest we try to be, how well we make use of our resources etc.

again i am reminded of the story of where the prostitute was granted heaven because she came across a thirsty dog in the desert and used her shoe to fetch water from a well for it. for that act of kindness and selflessness, and consideration and empathy, she was given reward and forgiveness for her sins.

now islam teaches that we would go to hell for a time for those sins which were not forgiven, such as willfully cheating someone and not trying to stop doing it and not begging for forgiveness.
but the punishment in hell is very severe and for long times. so it would be wise to avoid it.

but, judgment is for god, not for i to do. for if u live life not harming others unnecessarily, standing up for justice, being fair, treating others with respect and decency, these are things that islam tries to get us to do and are pleasing in the sight of god, and ur already doing it, so it come like u doing plenty of it already, but not the actions specific and unique to islam.

there are plenty muslims who lie, drink, steal, cheat, oppress, and backbite. all their lipservice for the public to see, would give them no favor, so they might as well stop doing it.

for a religious person, praise without action is worthless.

to answer ur question briefly, dat is between god and u.

So one act of kindness done genuinely from the heart wipes out a life time of sin?

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2010, 10:28 am

u've hit the nail on the head again, we do not know if we have done enough, and that is what judgment day is about, and that is why we should continue to do what god says to do.

the qur'an does not convert any body. it is a book about people, life, society, nature, and how we should interact with them. u should check it out and see if it makes sense, or more sense, and so much so that it points to the right direction. most other major religions still have the basic ideals to keep people living in a good way, so if one follows it they would still be doing some things according to how he decrees we should live.

the people who drank the coolaid, they could have been only exposed to those teachings which would seem as they support that act. they may have very well come across things that might have showed them not to go through with that, but they may have chosen to neglect it.

the person who willfully and knowingly does wrong, is bad, and more so if he encourages others.
that is why it is important to not be following other people too much, and think about things on ur own a bit. if u unsure, check with some one else who a lil more knowledgeable, but god gave most people functional brains, for us to use.

moses (pbuh) and their sacrifices, what ever they were, those were the laws they had to follow at that time. we have different policies now.

to be honest, i dont really know who u are, and to be actually caring,,,,? most people here tend to be a user name and avatar pic, to me.
let me consider ur question as some one whom i know in real life but is not actually muslim.
i have a general sense of caring for other humans, so i would not like to see someone being hit with a car or getting robbed or sumting. personally, i think that people are accountable for their actions, and if i see something that i think is wrong, i would inform them. but the choice is up to them, not i. if they doing sumthing which infringes on the rights of another person, that is a different matter.
if u want to follow ur way, fine by me, just dont infringe on my rights and the rights of others. if u want to learn more, i will try my best to give u answers or show u were u can. but that is all i can do , present u with stuff, i cannot make u choose.

like children, u may want them to become miss universe or p-didydudy, but they may want to be an environmentalist or a painter. no matter how much u want dem to do what u think is right, the right to do what they want to do is theirs, and it would be selfish to be badger them continuously to do what u want to do.

sometimes we should ease up on the caring and show some respect.

Postby MG Man » September 20th, 2010, 10:33 am

sMASH wrote:we believe that we were put here to worship god, .

I have always had a problem with this
God created beings to worship him
anybody else find this just a wee bit perverse?

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 20th, 2010, 10:51 am

sMASH wrote:u've hit the nail on the head again, we do not know if we have done enough, and that is what judgment day is about,Doesn't this bother you, don't you want to know how you will fear, to ensure that you make it. Does this sound like one of them timeshare scams, you only find out you are screwed when you get there. and that is why we should continue to do what god says to do.

the qur'an does not convert any body. it is a book about people, life, society, nature, and how we should interact with them. u should check it out and see if it makes sense, or more sense, and so much so that it points to the right direction. most other major religions still have the basic ideals to keep people living in a good way, so if one follows it they would still be doing some things according to how he decrees we should live.

the people who drank the coolaid, they could have been only exposed to those teachings which would seem as they support that act. they may have very well come across things that might have showed them not to go through with that, but they may have chosen to neglect it.

the person who willfully and knowingly does wrong, is bad, and more so if he encourages others.
that is why it is important to not be following other people too much, and think about things on ur own a bit. if u unsure, check with some one else who a lil more knowledgeable, but god gave most people functional brains, for us to use.

moses (pbuh) and their sacrifices, what ever they were, those were the laws they had to follow at that time. we have different policies now.

to be honest, i dont really know who u are, and to be actually caring,,,,? most people here tend to be a user name and avatar pic, to me.
let me consider ur question as some one whom i know in real life but is not actually muslim.
i have a general sense of caring for other humans, so i would not like to see someone being hit with a car or getting robbed or sumting. personally, i think that people are accountable for their actions, and if i see something that i think is wrong, i would inform them. but the choice is up to them, not i. if they doing sumthing which infringes on the rights of another person, that is a different matter.
if u want to follow ur way, fine by me, just dont infringe on my rights and the rights of others. if u want to learn more, i will try my best to give u answers or show u were u can. but that is all i can do , present u with stuff, i cannot make u choose.

like children, u may want them to become miss universe or p-didydudy, but they may want to be an environmentalist or a painter. no matter how much u want dem to do what u think is right, the right to do what they want to do is theirs, and it would be selfish to be badger them continuously to do what u want to do.

sometimes we should ease up on the caring and show some respect.

I agree with showing others respect, as I has said from the beginning I do not wish to offend. However, all the situation you have mentioned it makes sense. What about destructive behavior of a child or adult. Is it sufficient to merely for me to say for instance smash stop smoking crack it is not go for you and hope you follow. Or should I because of love fight to see you stop smoking crack. At the end of this life we both agree that we will face God and be judged. There is a possibility of hell hanging over every human. If I can help one truly escape then to me merely saying and leaving alone is not love. My love wants to see and ensure that persons escape. That is one of the thing that my faith in Christ has taught me, I love people as Christ loves them, he gave his life for them and I am willing to do the same. I have now devoted my life to seeing that people escape the fires of hell. The only thing truly foolish about the Christian concept of God himself laying down his life, is that we don't deserve it. So great is his love that he gives us what we don't deserve, by his grace and mercy. However, we need to receive his gift in the way he has ordained. Hear some of the words of Jesus.

"Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. Mat 7:12-14

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2010, 11:17 am

^^ and u mg are thinking about it instead of conforming to what ur ancestors did.

i think about that a lot. if not that, then what else?
who created god? the universe. who created the universe? god...

people are made differently and have differing experiences. people would be inclined to follow different things from others. god made us that way.

the first part of a declaration of being a muslim is 'la illaha illallah' - 'there is no god but the one god. when we think of god, we think about him according to what we know and are accustomed to. this statement starts of by saying that there is no god. we are immediately to get rid of all our notions of god we are accustomed to. many peoples try to humanize god by giving him human emotions of jealousy and human forms. we are to dispel those things.
we are told that god is in a form that we cannot comprehend. it makes no sense trying to envisage god because we are limited in imagination and capacity to do so, or rather god is too great that it would overload us.. imagine, the universe,in all its expanse and wonders, and trying to understand it totally, and trying to understand a being which could have made it and the laws of physics which governs the interaction, some of which we know , but a vast majority we may not.

so, coming to the conclusion there is no god is logical, and we need to think like that, in a sense, as what we have come across before are more like human misrepresentations, borne of modifications.

god made the variety we encounter, and could easily have made u a believer. but he has not. i will not question that, and will not try to encroach on ur rights and comfort to force u to be otherwise. my purpose, wrt you, is to inform when i can and show u where u can be when i cannot.

the single act of genuine kindness wiping out the life of sin, i do not know. but i do know, wrt life here on earth, god wants u to act in this manner. again, that is the purpose of judgment day and the property of the judge. i am not the judge and cannot say what sins he would forgive on that day and why.

Postby MG Man » September 20th, 2010, 11:35 am

sMASH wrote:^^ and u mg are thinking about it instead of conforming to what ur ancestors did..

my ancestors learned to walk upright, thump each other with clubs, and walked out of africa...............they spent thousands of years hunting and gathering and mating.....they killed each other for food and survival......................they invented religion, waged wars, settled down, had farms, learned to smoke weed and opium.............which part you want me to conform to?

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2010, 11:37 am

the timeshare scams, only finding out that ur screwed in the end, at the end. that is how i view the concept of being saved already. u give urself a false sense of security. i do not know about the time share thing, but my analogy is like being in an exam; some time in between u get the idea that u have passed, and continue to do the exam as if u dont need to do any more. that is foolhardy. from my personal experiences and observation, most people who always said they could have done better and fighting to the time limit were very bright and came out at the top, plenty people who said they did what they should and left when they felt they need not do more, did not fare very well.
do what u can, and try to do more; u done when u dead. that simple statement of saying that u have done all that u are supposed to do, and will be granted a space in heaven, may perceived arrogance and control over the affairs of judgment day when god alone is in charge and wants u to be the opposite of arrogant. and that may be the sin that damns u, not the prostitution, not the alcoholism, but irreverence and disrespect for god.

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » September 20th, 2010, 12:12 pm

sMASH wrote:the timeshare scams, only finding out that ur screwed in the end, at the end. that is how i view the concept of being saved already. u give urself a false sense of security. i do not know about the time share thing, but my analogy is like being in an exam; some time in between u get the idea that u have passed, and continue to do the exam as if u dont need to do any more. that is foolhardy. from my personal experiences and observation, most people who always said they could have done better and fighting to the time limit were very bright and came out at the top, plenty people who said they did what they should and left when they felt they need not do more, did not fare very well.
do what u can, and try to do more; u done when u dead. that simple statement of saying that u have done all that u are supposed to do, and will be granted a space in heaven, may perceived arrogance and control over the affairs of judgment day when god alone is in charge and wants u to be the opposite of arrogant. and that may be the sin that damns u, not the prostitution, not the alcoholism, but irreverence and disrespect for god.

You are still not understanding what I speak of when I talk about faith in Jesus. I do not teach that Jesus is a rocking chair to heaven, and that one does not have to be good or do good deeds. I do not do good deeds to be saved but I do good deeds because of am saved. My good deeds are not to bribe God into forgetting my sin, as one would by passing a judge a few dollars on the way to court. You must understand how holy God is, yes god is love, but he is also righteous and just, and good. We tend to focus on the goodness of God as a means to save us from sin, but it is the exact thing that would condemn us. God being good will see justice is done. You say that in the days of Moses sacrifices for sin was the order, when did the order change, did God just wake up one day and decide I am going to overlook sin. Where was that decree made? Has God changed, or has he became less holy that the sin he once required man to make sacrifice to atone for can now be done by works of righteousness? Why did he not set this in place from the beginning then rather than burden Moses and those of that time? Does not God know the beginning from the end?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2010, 12:17 pm

toyo682 wrote:Doesn't this bother you, don't you want to know how you will fear, to ensure that you make it. Does this sound like one of them timeshare scams, you only find out you are screwed when you get there.
Oh so you are scared, weak and insecure so you use religion to comfort you? Now I understand.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 20th, 2010, 12:20 pm

toyo682 wrote:
d spike wrote:We each follow a path of our own choosing... to be derided or abused for our choice interferes with our ability to choose - if the true God gave us the ability to choose freely, who is this mortal to interfere and harass us?

(1)Did God give us a choice as to which way to reach him. Or a choice to love or reject him?

(2)If the former where did he say this?

(3)Is this what the Bible teaches?

So is worshiping the mango tree in my backyard an acceptable way to reach God?

Can I answer this? Oh and for clarity, please state your questions in a numbered fashion like I have done, so that us illiterate readers can view plainly.

(1) If I choose a way to God I believe that I already seek interest in him (love him?), so the latter question is already answered. Example, if I goin buy a bottle of puncheon in the rumshop, I can take any road (because I want puncheon!). bUT what is the reason for going (taking a path) if I do not want puncheon? If u take a path to reach God (Hindu, Muslim, Christian), you already love him / be with him (or want to love him / be with him)
(2) You confuse your words. I do not understand

(3) I do know if the Bible teaches this, but the Ramayan teaches this. i.e. there is more than one path to God.

toyo682 wrote:
sMASH wrote:wrt other religions, islam teaches that messengers came to many peoples at various times. they sent messages to meant for those people for a time period. the central theme of all the messages is that god is one, but small details would have differed. after the time period for those message have served their purposes, protection over them was relinquished, and men modified them to suit their own desires, and the originals were not allowed to continue to exist. the final revelation was the qu'ran, and that is what man should follow.This contradicts what you have written below, if the qu'ran is the final revelation and what man should follow, then there is no room for finding better.

god made most people with brains and some with the ability to observe, think, and consider for them selves. they are to evaluate if what they put their faith in worth putting their faith in, in that, most people have an inherent understanding of good/bad, right/wrong, is worth putting their faith in.
all major religions teach basic ethical concepts so one can be a 'good' person. but when presented with another way, it is up to them to consider if what they come across is better than what they have.If all is the same then there should be none better. Or are you trying to say some parts are easier than others?

so, this is between u and god. u do the best with what u have. if u encounter islam, investigate it. if u see the signs it shows and think it makes more sense, follow it. if u think what u already have is better, then stick to it,

u can still be doing things which please god even if u don't do every thing which pleases god.

.. oh yeah, and the incentive to not do any thing u want; judgment day. where ur good and bad would be accounted for. (yes, judgment day is real, and has a purpose, and is not a farce)
god is all powerful, he will bless what he wants, forgive what he wants and condemn what he wants, we just have an idea as to what he would like us to do and not to do.

So should we call him Allah, Shiva, Buddha or all are fine. does this not contradict the god is one?

No kalpat. My name is "Kamla Bissessar", I am "Kamla", I am "Mrs Bissessar", I am "Mummy", I am "Sister", I am "accountant", I am captain of a cricket team (So I am "Captain"), I am "Daughter", I am "Tigress" (in bed), etc. You get the point. Depending on the circles I am in my peers / associates will see and call me a different name.

Am I plural?