3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2011, 12:50 pm

wow. then you missed the point entirely. do carry on yes.

the benefit of digital photography is it doesn't cost to take multiple pictures.
That is you can experiment with all the settings, and see the effects they give, If you don't "get" the principle behind it.

If your pic as a beginner, who "too big too learn", what changing those settings actually does, needs other to emulate it. Get orn.

nothing wrong with posting your settings, but i asked a pointed question.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 10th, 2011, 12:56 pm

not you WR, was directing my point @ crossdrilled. I just meant the way he stated it was as if there isn't anything that can be learned from beginners, be it something as simple as correcting one's own mistakes

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2011, 1:20 pm

vrampersad14, :lol: no scene. but oh gorm, next time quote, or mention who you really directing to nah. :lol:
*does the x2 fella wish to expose his thoughts*

Postby RBphoto » November 10th, 2011, 2:34 pm

Ok... lemme explain..

1) Posting an appature is pointless unless you want to show how you separated a backgrond from a subject, such as using f/1.4- f/2.8 for portraits, or how you got great depth of field for a landscape using something like f/16- f-32. Really, if you don't know how to focus/ manual focus and your camera does not have DOF preview, or live view, you won't see the effect until after you take the picture. Even with DOF preview, you won't see any effect for lenses faster than f/2.8 on crop sensor bodies because of the way the focusing screens are made. Try it and see. I am shooting in the dark when I am using f/1.4 on my D90 (Unless I use live view). When I use f/1.8 on my film camera, I can see a difference at f/2.8 when I press the DOF preview. Appature is chosen based on the subject, and is not an arbitrary choice, and what is good for one scene, is not nesescarily good for another.

2) Shutter speed is a slave to appature, not the other way around. After you you set appature, you need to set the shutter speed to get propper exposure. Using shutter priority mode on most cameras can produce great results, such as motion blurr or automatically freezing action. However, you just gave up creative control, and depending on how your camera is set up, after it bangs the largest appature to try to meet the shutter speed you are calling for, it will start boosting ISO. People use manual mostly when they want to nail a shutter speed instead of shutter priority for this reason. Shutter priority is mostly for action where you are tracking things that are moving from bright areas to dark areas.. usually with a long tele.

3) ISO- I use whatever ISO I need to get the appature I want with a reasonable shutter speed to prevent hand shake. If I am on a tripod, I use the lowest ISO I can to get at least 1/10s shutter speed... I just ask my subjects to hold still. I have to do this when I am shooting film as there is no way to change it, except change the roll.

That said, if I posted a picture of an arbitrary flower, at f/2.8, 10 second shutter speed, ISO 200, or a beach secene at f/22, 1/100 exposure ISO 50, would you have learned anything? Would you know if I spot metered off of the sky, the petals, the beach for each shot? Did I use matrix or spot metering?

None of those settings would matter because they would not have helped me compose my shot and decide in my mind how I want my shot to look like, and nobody would be there the exact same time to have exactly the same light meter readings as me. If the light was a little darker, guess what, I would use a slower shutter speed and get almost the exact same picture. Stop worrying about what settings other people use and use the settings to make the picture look how you want it to look. I am not saying that I am not willing to learn or share, I am saying that there is nothing to learn or share from seeing someone else camera settings. I can make almost the same picture with a disposable camera as I can with my DSLR or film SLR or my TLR, or my P&S digital (except in extreme conditions, that digital can't handle very well.) Anyahoo, take care and god bless.... and keep taking photos!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » November 10th, 2011, 4:31 pm

wagonrunner wrote:vrampersad14, :lol: no scene. but oh gorm, next time quote, or mention who you really directing to nah. :lol:
*does the x2 fella wish to expose his thoughts*

expose yuh say? I understood what vrampersad was saying thats why i second it.

@crossdrilled, if i see a picture that i like on flickr per say and the EXIF data is available, i look at it so i can have an idea how the photographer took his/her shot..and from there i will figure out why they used the particular setting.
ALSO i've seen on photography forums. when users are asking for critique, they often put exif data so that other users can tell where they went wrong or right.
So to say u cannot learn from EXIF data is not true.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 10th, 2011, 6:19 pm

By no means am I any sort of photo guy, but honestly while EXIF may help in certain aspects, it won't help the general one.

Case in point: Taking shots in Crown Point this week... with the sun going down to my left you set your camera settings based on taking sample shots and then set the camera to when you think is the best. And you may get a great shot of an aircraft coming in, but then when it flies over you and then you shoot it from the side or behind what happens?

The shot goes dark cause there isn't enough light for the settings you choose...

IMHO EXIF in photography forums etc help when it's a particular subject which uses a common setting (for example: shooting the moon or even planes where a slower shutter speed will give you a nice prop blur). Others are relative to your camera, your lens and the hour of the day. I've read many forums where a guy whould say shoot this seabird at this exif and you'll get good shots but then the person's camera is like a 100-400L and a 7d... while my pitiful T1i and a 70-300 non L lens set to the same EXIF produces startlingly disappointing results...

So yes it helps but for generalised situations, but ask any photog; most will tell you that you need to take many test shots throught the day. Take a picture with the sun more in front of you vs a pic of it behind. See what settings you used and take shots till you find what is good for you in the middle... and 15 mins change in light or even a cloud going over the sun can screw up your settings, which is why it's best to keep taking little shots about and adjusting to suit.

DSLR people even can use liveview and the histogram to help them adjust quickly to a situation. So IMHO EXIF isn't gonna help an individual very much as much as you learning to fiddle with the camera and make the mistakes... loearn from them and put them to different use. Nice that you can afford to take hundreds of crap till you get it right because it's digital.

phenom

Postby phenom » November 10th, 2011, 6:26 pm

Taken from a "farm" flight I did
IMG_2382 - Copy.jpg
IMG_2382 - Copy.jpg (29.27 KiB) Viewed 1925 times

Postby tr1ad » November 10th, 2011, 6:51 pm

Good thing I only use green rectangle yes

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » November 10th, 2011, 6:55 pm

IMG_0785 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_0779 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_0769 by A.M Production, on Flickr

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 10th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Something I took for a school compition then realized I was off topic.

F-11
1/320th
400 iso

Postby MG Man » November 10th, 2011, 7:44 pm

did u take that shot standing up?
next time try squatting down for a more dramatic perspective..........would add more drama with the lines of convergence being more pronounced
well IM(very amateur)O

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2011, 8:01 pm

MISHI wrote:So yes it helps but for generalised situations, but ask any photog; most will tell you that you need to take many test shots throught the day.

Amen
tr1ad wrote:Good thing I only use green rectangle yes

and Ramen

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 10th, 2011, 9:38 pm

MG Man wrote:did u take that shot standing up?
next time try squatting down for a more dramatic perspective..........would add more drama with the lines of convergence being more pronounced
well IM(very amateur)O

Would try going lower when they fix the pipe and the ground isnt muddy.

Cid

Postby Cid » November 11th, 2011, 11:25 am

crossdrilled wrote:
Cid wrote:photographers can i suggest a few things to benefit those who would like to learn more and also those who frequently use use this thread as a source of inspiration ...

Can we give Exif data along with the pics we post , and also a small description and situational info would be greatly appreciated...
If we can also limit pics to just a few at a time .
And more comments on pics...

I find this to be a waste of time. Copying settings would not let you make the same picture as someone else in a different situation, unless you know what artistic effect you want to acheive, and what each setting does. Worst yet copying settings from beginners.

crass....did u read my suggestion? where did i say we should "copy" each other?

You cant tell me that as a beginning intermediate or advanced photographer you're not curious about the exif data of a pic...,It can give you an idea of the performance of the camera , the lens ...and also an idea of the style of the photographer..

I reject your idea of copying altogether .....As photographers we should be prepared for a shoot....from a racing shoot to a day at the zoo to astrophotography .. We only get one chance to take that perfect shot......so its a good idea to know what to expect, and not everyone has the luxury of trial and error for every situation, some do this as a hobby in their spare time and cannot take every picture there is out there because of work and family commitments etc... So we go online and get some tips for the zoo....(av mode, small -medium f-stop ,low iso ,pl filter) or to get good motion blur at a race... (shutter priority , low shutter speed , pan the target and take off IS or use only vertical correction ) or ......we could come in this thread and look at the great shots the users posted, look at the exif data and have an idea of where to begin. Its certainly better than being frustrated all day trying to find the best settings to take the shot.. If we had an idea where to start it would make things alot easier to fine tune the settings for a great end result......That was the purpose of the suggestion...and you missed the most important point...the situational info.the conditions , lighting at the time , and reason for the shot, what u wanted to capture etc..

And i would gladly "copy" settings from a beginner if he took a great shot and has good technique and advice.... Im never too good to learn something from any photographer .

At the end of the day it was just a suggestion, and sharing information and tips is optional.There is no downside to it, it will make us all better photographers....and make our work easier to critique in a constructive way ....

Postby mitsu_chick941 » November 11th, 2011, 12:01 pm

miguel granville wrote:Image
IMG_0769 by A.M Production, on Flickr

squeaky clean

Postby RBphoto » November 11th, 2011, 12:38 pm

Oh, I agree with helping as much as possible and sharing everything you know. I don't keep anything back if I see a discussion I can contribute to.

My only contention is that looking at things like EXIF data and techno garbage takes away from looking at the asthetics of an image and appreciating the true beauty of an image. In the end, if you see the EXIF data without an explanation of what the photographer was trying to acheive, how he set up the shot, how he metered, what he metered off, and what he focused on and why, the raw data alone will not tell the story of the photo.

If you heard that Schumaccer won a race, at the end of it, you want to hear what he was thinking of goin into each turn, how he was fighting for position and how he felt during the race.. You dont want him to rattle off specification on how he set up his car, how much fuel he used etc. That is all that EXIF data is and is useless without the story behind the picture, or an explanation of what the photographer wanted to acheive. If I don't know what a beginner was trying to acheive, posting his EXIF data is useless to me also to try to help him.

Anywway, beginners should use film, much less to go wrong than with digital... and it looks better too without spending hours behind a computer screen.

On and Tr1ad, green rectangle mode on my camera wear out how much I use it... everytime I give my wife my camera to use ...lol...

She does take better pictchas then me sometime with it :|

Postby meccalli » November 11th, 2011, 6:50 pm

Crystal Minnow by meccalli, on Flickr

It Moves by meccalli, on Flickr

Some stuff

Bacon

Postby Bacon » November 12th, 2011, 12:35 am

Took this a couple days ago...

Sometimes I like it.....Sometimes I don't.....

Your thoughts???????.......

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2011, 12:44 am

^^beautiful!
niagara falls right, there is soo nice in the night

Bacon

Postby Bacon » November 12th, 2011, 12:45 pm

Thanks...S_2NR

Correct......I'll have to go back sometime as I was not able to see it in the day....

Postby shogun » November 12th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Beautiful pic there, Bacon. I've never seen Niagara at night, now i might have to make it a must do.....just wow!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 13th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Bacon

Postby Bacon » November 13th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Tks...Shogun...

And I hadda make the day a must...:)

A couple days earlier...(from a moving car :))

Postby MG Man » November 13th, 2011, 10:31 pm

looks like a shot my wife took once, somewhere between vegas and hoover dam

Bacon

Postby Bacon » November 14th, 2011, 3:03 am

Dias the geography self MG...

The drive was vegas to the hoover dam to the grand canyon etc......This was somewhere in between the dam and the canyon...

Bacon

Postby Bacon » November 19th, 2011, 3:12 am

One of the other falls....

And another of the same side as above....

I am still kicking myself for forgetting to put the tripod in the car :?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 19th, 2011, 10:43 am

Awesome shots Bacon! 8-)

prop

Postby prop » November 19th, 2011, 12:36 pm

UssKidd1.jpg
Cathedral1.jpg

Taken on my trip to New Orleans and Baton Rouge...

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2011, 7:19 pm

nice comp. but tone mapping is a bit flat.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 20th, 2011, 7:18 pm