Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 121683 (+412) cases, 3544 (+9) deaths, 21132 active, 97007 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2022, 7:22 pm

US$15 a shot... imagine if they got a 10% kick back to push the vax on the nation of 1.5m people.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 121683 (+412) cases, 3544 (+9) deaths, 21132 active, 97007 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » February 18th, 2022, 9:04 pm

matr1x wrote:So, why are the illegals getting our sheit?

Slim,

You studying illegals.

WHERE are the dead Venes?

WHERE are the Venes overcrowding the healthcare system?

Anyways…..continue macooing and making false accusations i guess.

Postby paid_influencer » February 18th, 2022, 9:17 pm

https://twitter.com/CDCDirector/status/ ... 2898706436

Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH
@CDCDirector
In recent months, we have seen hospitalization rates among children higher than any point in the pandemic.

Parents, I strongly encourage you to get your eligible children vaccinated against #COVID19. To best protect children not eligible, surround them with vaccinated people.

https://twitter.com/CDCgov/status/1493661419274919936
CDC
@CDCgov
New @CDCMMWR
found #Omicron #COVID19 hospitalization rates among children and adolescents almost 4x as high than during Delta peak. Adolescents who were unvaccinated had 6x as high hospitalization rates compared w/ adolescents who were vaccinated. http://bit.ly/MMWR7107e4

Gov't realllll sticking with the 5-12 vaccine. Nobody in the media even saying boo about the lack of the vaccine. Why isn't this a bigger issue?

Postby matr1x » February 18th, 2022, 11:02 pm

Slim,

You studying illegals.

That stale doubles really drop you on your head.

If many of the venes are asymptomatic, obviously they are carriers and haven't shown the physical manifestation of covid. Are you having difficulties?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 18th, 2022, 11:02 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1645230443569.jpg

People were double and triple counted in those numbers and real men buy dey vaccine card lol

I wonder how many people actually got vaccinated but fuh sure it aint 700K

Postby matr1x » February 19th, 2022, 1:11 am

Let's talk about Johnson and Johnson. They are setting up shell companies to defer the payment to lawsuits over their cancer causing baby powder.

Let's that sink in. Some members here are salivating dumb dumbs who are insisting that any suspicious thinking about these vaccines and companies makes you antivax.

Postby MaxPower » February 19th, 2022, 7:23 am

Good Morning Team

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2022, 7:40 am

Ivermectin doesn't prevent severe disease from Covid-19, new study finds

(CNN)The antiparasitic drug ivermectin doesn't prevent severe disease from Covid-19 any more effectively than symptom management and close observation by medical professionals, according to a study published Friday in the journal JAMA Internal Medicine.

The study enrolled nearly 500 people 50 and older who were at risk of severe Covid-19 because of their age and underlying health. These patients were treated at 20 public hospitals and a quarantine center in Malaysia in 2021.

Half of the patients took a relatively high dose of oral ivermectin for five days, and the other half -- the comparison group -- received treatment for their symptoms, such as fever-reducing medications. All were monitored for progression of disease.

There was no difference in outcomes between the groups. In fact, slightly more patients in the ivermectin group went on to need extra oxygen compared with those who took a placebo, though the difference was not statistically significant.

This was the main outcome researchers studied, but they also looked at whether patients needed to be hospitalized, had to go on a ventilator, needed intensive care or died from their infections. There was no meaningful difference in outcomes between the group that took ivermectin and those who got the placebo treatment.

The study had several important strengths:

- It was a randomized-controlled trial, the gold standard of medical research, in which researchers test an intervention against a placebo.

- The study enrolled patients most likely to be at risk from severe Covid-19 disease: those over 50 with at least one additional risk factor and mild to moderate symptoms. People who had no symptoms or who had advanced disease were excluded.

- Participants were enrolled only after a PCR test confirmed Covid-19 infection.

- It was a multicenter trial conducted at 20 public hospitals and a Covid-19 quarantine center in Malaysia between May 31 and October 25, 2021.

In addition to the fact that ivermectin didn't work, people who took it had more side effects than those who didn't, and sometimes those side effects were severe, including heart attacks, anemia and diarrhea that led to shock.

"The higher incidence of side effects with ivermectin in our study raises concerns about the widespread use of this drug outside clinical trial setting," lead researcher Dr. Steven Lim told CNN in an email.

"The public should understand that the highly touted safety profile of ivermectin is related to its use as an anti-parasitic drug. The use of ivermectin as an antiviral in COVID-19 is a totally different ball game, with notable differences in dosing, duration and mechanism of actions," wrote Lim, an infectious-disease specialist at Raja Permaisuri Bainun Hospital in Perak, Malaysia.

Two previous randomized-controlled trials of ivermectin for Covid-19, from Argentina and Colombia, concluded that there was no significant effect on symptoms or hospitalization rates, prompting the World Health Organization to advise that ivermectin be used to treat Covid-19 only within the setting of clinical trials.

Both the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the US Food and Drug Administration have warned the public and prescribers not to use ivermectin to treat Covid-19.

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/02/18/health/ivermectin-severe-covid-19/index.html

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 19th, 2022, 7:48 am

Slim,

You studying illegals.

many venez living in one small place, working different places and not getting covid. rum corks and village idiots liming since covid start outside them chinese grocery and by the block and got no covid. folks in laventille doing the same and no covid. all this show is that covid is FAKE and the deaths should be classified as murders. someone killing these random people all over the world. the death shot possibly coming in the swab stick, the vaccine, the sanitizer, the soap or some other medium that is used in common by those who died from "covid"

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 8:19 am

K74T wrote:
Ivermectin doesn't prevent severe disease from Covid-19, new study finds

(CNN)The antiparasitic drug ivermectin doesn't prevent severe disease from Covid-19 any more effectively than symptom management and close observation by medical professionals, according to a study published Friday in the journal JAMA Internal Medicine.

The study enrolled nearly 500 people 50 and older who were at risk of severe Covid-19 because of their age and underlying health. These patients were treated at 20 public hospitals and a quarantine center in Malaysia in 2021.

Half of the patients took a relatively high dose of oral ivermectin for five days, and the other half -- the comparison group -- received treatment for their symptoms, such as fever-reducing medications. All were monitored for progression of disease.

There was no difference in outcomes between the groups. In fact, slightly more patients in the ivermectin group went on to need extra oxygen compared with those who took a placebo, though the difference was not statistically significant.

This was the main outcome researchers studied, but they also looked at whether patients needed to be hospitalized, had to go on a ventilator, needed intensive care or died from their infections. There was no meaningful difference in outcomes between the group that took ivermectin and those who got the placebo treatment.

The study had several important strengths:

- It was a randomized-controlled trial, the gold standard of medical research, in which researchers test an intervention against a placebo.

- The study enrolled patients most likely to be at risk from severe Covid-19 disease: those over 50 with at least one additional risk factor and mild to moderate symptoms. People who had no symptoms or who had advanced disease were excluded.

- Participants were enrolled only after a PCR test confirmed Covid-19 infection.

- It was a multicenter trial conducted at 20 public hospitals and a Covid-19 quarantine center in Malaysia between May 31 and October 25, 2021.

In addition to the fact that ivermectin didn't work, people who took it had more side effects than those who didn't, and sometimes those side effects were severe, including heart attacks, anemia and diarrhea that led to shock.

"The higher incidence of side effects with ivermectin in our study raises concerns about the widespread use of this drug outside clinical trial setting," lead researcher Dr. Steven Lim told CNN in an email.

"The public should understand that the highly touted safety profile of ivermectin is related to its use as an anti-parasitic drug. The use of ivermectin as an antiviral in COVID-19 is a totally different ball game, with notable differences in dosing, duration and mechanism of actions," wrote Lim, an infectious-disease specialist at Raja Permaisuri Bainun Hospital in Perak, Malaysia.

Two previous randomized-controlled trials of ivermectin for Covid-19, from Argentina and Colombia, concluded that there was no significant effect on symptoms or hospitalization rates, prompting the World Health Organization to advise that ivermectin be used to treat Covid-19 only within the setting of clinical trials.

Both the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the US Food and Drug Administration have warned the public and prescribers not to use ivermectin to treat Covid-19.

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/02/18/health/ivermectin-severe-covid-19/index.html

alllll the studies that come out and say ivermectin sheit shiet, is because they using it to TREAT covid cases. its use is not when u already have it. it use is before u get infected.

Postby adnj » February 19th, 2022, 8:27 am

Omicron Vaccine Booster Plans Slowed, May Not Be Needed

Moderna says an omicron-specific booster may be ready by August, but it was still gathering data to see if the shots actually provide better protection for omicron. Pfizer and BioNTech said slow data-gathering delayed their plans for an omicron-specific shot and also said it may not be necessary.

https://khn.org/morning-breakout/omicro ... be-needed/

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2022, 8:30 am

Oh no how will PFIZER ever make more billions now...oh wait I know
FFNMNAtX0AEIYSA.jpg

Postby matr1x » February 19th, 2022, 8:49 am

CNN is as reputable as the Blast newspaper

Postby adnj » February 19th, 2022, 8:49 am

Lots of natural immunity on the forum.

--------

Risks of mental health outcomes in people with covid-19: cohort study

Objective: To estimate the risks of incident mental health disorders in survivors of the acute phase of covid-19.

Conclusions: The findings suggest that people who survive the acute phase of covid-19 are at increased risk of an array of incident mental health disorders. Tackling mental health disorders among survivors of covid-19 should be a priority.

https://www.bmj.com/content/376/bmj-2021-068993

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2022, 8:49 am

matr1x wrote:CNN is as reputable as the Blast newspaper
Blast still around?

Postby matr1x » February 19th, 2022, 8:50 am

If it's not, then CNN need to go the same way

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby adnj » February 19th, 2022, 10:30 am

sMASH wrote:https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/71/wr/mm7104e1.htm#contribAff

https://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/a4/covid%20reinfection%20vax%20previous%20infection.JPG

from the publication. previously infected people had less hospitalizations than vaxed alone. and, the previously infected+vaxed was the same as those with only previous infection.
vaxed offers protection, but previous infection offers better protection.

and from israel and uk, natural immunity lasting longer than that 4 month booster from the vax.
I assume (because it isn't clear to me) that you are attempting to say that previous infection with COVID provides similar protection as a two dose vaccination regimen against delta. Then, yes. Research indicates that is likely the case due to the nature of infection vs. vaccination. I am fairly certain that there are countries that understand this and are offering vaccination boosters as a consequence.

It is not contrary to what is commonly stated but it is not complete.

If your position is that infection offers superior protection, I don't agree.

If your position is that you choose to not be vaccinated, once COVID became widespread amongst the population, why would anyone care about your vaccination preference?

Unless an office, restaurant or organization specifically becomes involved with you, it no longer matters to the public. It matters to that particular office, restaurant or organization. They will let you know what is required.

Postby st7 » February 19th, 2022, 10:51 am

much like how antivaxxers going?

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2022, 10:55 am

sMASH wrote:Yes old people and immune compromised people are vulnerable to the covid even omicron.

And those are also vulnerable to the common cold and flu.
The rest of everybody is a lil cough and fatigue.

So, sars cov 2 has become another common cold virus.

u forgot a 3rd category- everyone with underlying conditions including simply being overweight. you know how much ppl that is?

1 big difference is everyone has immunity to the flu and common colds from past infection or vaccination so almost everyone can fight it except a few very old immunocompromised ppl who may die but that figure is very small - the last flu season before covid hit there were about 44 flu deaths - that's less than 1 per week. but most ppl with NCDs can fight it due to that immunity. we dont have that level of immunity in the population against covid yet - though omicron is building natural immunity in those who got infected by it - only when the population as a whole gets immunity from either past infection or vaccination can we say covid is now like the flu - but lets not declare victory before we reach the finish line.

i suppose we should aim for non-sterilizing herd immunity. yes u could still get infected but 99% of us across ALL ages including those with NCDs don't end up in a hospital bed and there aren't daily deaths.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 10:58 am

check, the graph, those with no infection or vax, highest rates of hospitaliztion.

the next categories are : vaxed alone, previous infection alone, vaxed and previously infected.
the hospitilization rates of previously infected and previously infected +vaxed were practically the same, the curves overlap mostly.
the hospitilization rates of ONLY vaxed was more than those categories.

u can see that distinction clearly in the graphs.

but, admittedly, the difference in hospitilztion rates are still reasonably close.
its just academically interesting to see that in a group of previously infected persons, that whether vaxed or not did not have a bearing on their chances of being hospitalized.
and, that in a group of vaxed persons, u can reasonably predict that those without previous infection are statistically more likely to be hospitalized.

with that data, i am saying that natural immunity needs to be considered for immunity, and that legal restrictions based of vaxes is an autocratic measure to deal with a health situation.
cause the point of vaxes is to offer immunity, but u get better immunity from previous infection.

no to mandatory vax... for covee.

and with omicron gonna infect every body, that means most every body gonna get immunity.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 19th, 2022, 11:04 am

sMASH wrote:check, the graph, those with no infection or vax, highest rates of hospitaliztion.

the next categories are : vaxed alone, previous infection alone, vaxed and previously infected.
the hospitilization rates of previously infected and previously infected +vaxed were practically the same, the curves overlap mostly.
the hospitilization rates of ONLY vaxed was more than those categories.

u can see that distinction clearly in the graphs.

but, admittedly, the difference in hospitilztion rates are still reasonably close.
its just academically interesting to see that in a group of previously infected persons, that whether vaxed or not did not have a bearing on their chances of being hospitalized.
and, that in a group of vaxed persons, u can reasonably predict that those without previous infection are statistically more likely to be hospitalized.

with that data, i am saying that natural immunity needs to be considered for immunity, and that legal restrictions based of vaxes is an autocratic measure to deal with a health situation.
cause the point of vaxes is to offer immunity, but u get better immunity from previous infection.

no to mandatory vax... for covee.

and with omicron gonna infect every body, that means most every body gonna get immunity.
So what's the point of trying to get 'natural immunity' from a virus if it requires you to get the virus in the first place?

It's like getting chickenpox to prevent chickenpox, it kinda defeats the point.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 11:16 am

whats the point of calling a chemical a vax if u have to take it every 4 months? thats not a vax, that a medicine, a treatment.

and with chicken pox,, u should read up on how that vaccine was discovered. it ties in with ur post there, rather swimingly

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 19th, 2022, 11:21 am

sMASH wrote:whats the point of calling a chemical a vax if u have to take it every 4 months? thats not a vax, that a medicine, a treatment.

and with chicken pox,, u should read up on how that vaccine was discovered. it ties in with ur post there, rather swimingly
It is a vaccine whether you like it or not. Multiple vaccines have boosters. That's not new.

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2022, 11:33 am

ed360123 wrote:
sMASH wrote:whats the point of calling a chemical a vax if u have to take it every 4 months? thats not a vax, that a medicine, a treatment.

It is a vaccine whether you like it or not. Multiple vaccines have boosters. That's not new.
If you have to be persuaded, reminded, bullied, pressured, bribed, incentivized, lied to, guilt tripped, coerced, socially shamed, censored, threatened, paid, punished and criminalized, to gain your compliance... You can be absolutely certain what is being promoted is NOT in your best interest.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 19th, 2022, 11:36 am

hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

If you have to be persuaded, reminded, bullied, pressured, bribed, incentivized, lied to, guilt tripped, coerced, socially shamed, censored, threatened, paid, punished and criminalized, to gain your compliance... You can be absolutely certain what is being promoted is NOT in your best interest.
I guess seatbelts and taxes are against the best interest now then.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 11:38 am

hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

boosters for the simple flu is once a year. and that is tailored to the NEW variants that are observed and expected to be domintant the next season.

u keep adding salt to ur soup, to maintain the salinity level and say, 'if i dont take it, the salinity will drop'

bro, u keep taking ur coolaid. i good with my coolaid. and thats what i am for. the freedom of choice with this covee 'vax'

Postby hover11 » February 19th, 2022, 11:39 am

ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

False equivalence sir...

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 11:46 am

ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

seatbelts is another one. how is me not dying in an accident, a benefit to u? i can understand mandatory seatbelts for underaged and mentally defficient, as those persons arnt respnsible for them selves. if i want to kill my self driving, why u wnat to charge me for dat? it only affecting me.

taxes not applicable to this scenario. unless u take from the view point of, the individual sacrificing someting to the herd, otherwise they will come down and remove ur freedoms.

the treatment of this virus and its 'vax' need to be on par with the flu. take it if u want, and if u fraid, take ur precautions to suit.
0.2% of the country dead from covee, and plenty of those is with covee and not from covee, dat not bothering me.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » February 19th, 2022, 11:48 am

hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

False equivalence sir...
How? you get fined if you get caught without a seatbelt and you can literally be jailed for not paying taxes.

Postby Redman » February 19th, 2022, 11:48 am

When it is you that defines the definition you can call piss rain, and have people dancing in it.

See the CDC definition change to accommodate their needs.