Reefplanet wrote:HondaB20B wrote:Reefplanet wrote:We seriously need a reef site for trinies where we could chat and ting
There is still this stigma that saltwater aquariums, equipment and fishes are VERY expensive. Due to certain petshops in the country that has made this high cost a reality, in true reality, one can set up a small tank that will not break the piggy bank. I've seen the petshop that used to be by twin walls in gulf city come by raj and buy clowns for $200 each, sell it for $600 each, blue/green chromis - $100 and sell it for $500, cleaner shrimp - $350 and sell it for $900. When the customer asks, they say thats because of the shipping & quarantine.........![]()
Allot of people can have a decent tank for a couple thousand dollars. Many people also say that monthly maintainance is also high but its actually a myth. I pay under $250 mth to run my tank and if i really want i could still save. I'm sure there are allot of freshwater people that pay the same amount mthly
+[/quote
No wonder the petshop in gulf city move. They prolly see 2customers every 4 hours and they dont buy anything. Sometimes they dont even know what they sellin. I ask for a coral dosing thing and they say the didnt have it but it was right on the shelf ..i show them it and they were like orrrr right this is for corals.
How this post not quoting!!!
HondaB20B wrote:Reefplanet wrote:HondaB20B wrote:Reefplanet wrote:We seriously need a reef site for trinies where we could chat and ting
There is still this stigma that saltwater aquariums, equipment and fishes are VERY expensive. Due to certain petshops in the country that has made this high cost a reality, in true reality, one can set up a small tank that will not break the piggy bank. I've seen the petshop that used to be by twin walls in gulf city come by raj and buy clowns for $200 each, sell it for $600 each, blue/green chromis - $100 and sell it for $500, cleaner shrimp - $350 and sell it for $900. When the customer asks, they say thats because of the shipping & quarantine.........![]()
Allot of people can have a decent tank for a couple thousand dollars. Many people also say that monthly maintainance is also high but its actually a myth. I pay under $250 mth to run my tank and if i really want i could still save. I'm sure there are allot of freshwater people that pay the same amount mthly
+[/quote
No wonder the petshop in gulf city move. They prolly see 2customers every 4 hours and they dont buy anything. Sometimes they dont even know what they sellin. I ask for a coral dosing thing and they say the didnt have it but it was right on the shelf ..i show them it and they were like orrrr right this is for corals.
How this post not quoting!!!
Yeah they move to a big place (right hand side) after brians gate leading to Debe. Just after the garden supply place.
Whats a coral dosing thing?![]()
I bought one of these on thursday to feed my acans and blastos
http://www.amazon.com/Two-Little-Fishie ... ians+thing
meccalli wrote:Wow that's a darn good price. How often do you guys go through filters?
greenlime100 wrote:Think about it... if Raj wasnt there... Reef aquariums might be some kind a dream lol...
greenlime100 wrote::oouuu didnt know saltwater aquariums had all that history in Trinidad. I know for the wildlife convention they use to have in Center of Excellence, they use to go catch angels and eels and stuff DDI an in Tobago... didnt know men adopt it lol
Some nice facts there.... Nu Image started a decent thing with all the billboards and the store in the mall with getting people interested in Salt aquariums but he should have had some more experience and some better prices to encourage people into the hobby... Them making it only about the $$![]()
As Raj said "By the time people come by me... they money done"lol True talk
greenlime100 wrote::shock:
larddd ae.... He and he padna from Deigo need to do their homework and start growing a passion for this if they want to become successful.
greenlime100 wrote::lol:![]()
I coulda dead with the music in that video lol yea hopefully looking to check raj this week, get some corals an start the rowaphos. The bioplellets I a little shaky because im not sure if my skimmer could handle it. I have a marineland 100 btw.
As it is, its working great but if I started the biopellets and my skimmer couldnt keep up I would then see a raise in Nitrate of PO4 rite ?
Santoo showed my a tank in Diego very near to him, the tank was reallll nice and well maintained, He also mentioned he saw a couple other better tanks as well
greenlime100 wrote:Yea I was thinking to just get the rowaphos but introduce it to the tank prob by the next week, I'll wait till the new corals get stable and look healthy for a good few days before I start the rowaphos.
You think the marineland 100 skimmer could handle biopellets ?
I looking to get proactive here lol Fighting brown algae wasnt fun
Ronnie203 wrote:i think 2nr should split this thread now...Fresh water and salt water
Reefplanet wrote:How allyuh use carbon in a reactor or just floating in the tank..i use it in my powerfilter