Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2013, 10:53 am

baked and dry ?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 21st, 2013, 11:14 am

pugboy wrote:I see pricesmart have ninja blenders
anybody ever use them high power blenders like vitamix/blendtec/ninja ?

i see price club have them too ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2013, 11:26 pm

Pics don't do this one justice at all.
Merry Christmas from Tastum Goodum, beyotches.

Garlic Pork with a Peanut-Coconut Sauce

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » December 22nd, 2013, 2:30 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1387737018.268773.jpg

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 23rd, 2013, 8:33 am

playerskrew wrote:
pugboy wrote:deep fried second turkey yesterday along with one for a padna, worth the trouble
doing 2 more on boxing day

My turkey somehow comes out dry

A good Brine recipe and procedure usually takes care of that, also cooking to doneness and NOT over cooking.

My dad invested in a Char-Broil Big Easy - Oilless Infrared Turkey Fryer..
This chit it THA BOMB!!! It deep fries your turkey without a drop of oil, turkey is golden brown and crisp on the outside and moist and healthy on the inside.

It's a must get for those of us who will never bake a turkey again, not when frying it is so damn delicious!

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2013, 8:55 am

^ Frying without oil????.......................sorcery!!!!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 23rd, 2013, 9:18 am

It's really like cooking with indirect heat, sorta like a propane powered cooking oven.
The end product though is VERY like something that's been deep-fried.
Which is why they market it as a deep fryer.

Postby shogun » December 23rd, 2013, 10:21 am

VexXx Dogg you better be rotund as hell, or i'll be disappointed.

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Image

Liking this. My stomach is not a fan of oil anyways. Great product.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 23rd, 2013, 11:40 am

shogun wrote:VexXx Dogg you better be rotund as hell, or i'll be disappointed.

Nah dawg,lost a bunch of weight and on a strict diet. Saturday is cheat day,that's when I started posting recipes.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » December 23rd, 2013, 11:59 am

any ideas on keeping a chicken moist when baking? like what to stuff or baste it with. i was thinking of using some melted butter and stuffing with bread.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2013, 1:27 pm

99% of turkeys are pre-brined now, if you read the labels
they say already treated with an 8% solution.

Turkeys I fried were straight out of pack, no seasoning.

That infrared looking good, can it do stuff like fish, pork pieces etc ?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 23rd, 2013, 1:44 pm

kevin5211 wrote:any ideas on keeping a chicken moist when baking? like what to stuff or baste it with. i was thinking of using some melted butter and stuffing with bread.

Best chicken to use is fresh chicken. Not frozen. If it's frozen, let it thaw and clean thoroughly, lime it, wash, and soak it in clean water. After you can take it out, wash again, season it normal, and marinate. You can make little incisions, and stick in your seasoning. Any water remaining from the seasoning you can put in the pan with the chicken to bake. Freezing meat takes away moisture. That's why I love to by chicken straight from the local supplier. While baking, you can leave a small pot with water in the stove. It helps to keep it moist. Maintain proper temperature and time. Different parts take longer or less time to cook. If it's whole, rotate on the shelves. I hope my wisdom can help. These are things I went through, to establish a tender juicy inner meat, with a light crispy outside.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2013, 2:34 pm

truss the chicken and don't over cook it,
use a thermometer
google "Thomas keller roast chicken"

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 23rd, 2013, 6:29 pm

Bought a turkey... Gonna try the fry seen.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2013, 6:51 pm

have a big pot with at least 6" clearance from the top with oil and turkey in it for safety

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 23rd, 2013, 6:56 pm

I thinking half baked an then fried.

Postby X_Factor » December 23rd, 2013, 9:07 pm

kevin5211 wrote:any ideas on keeping a chicken moist when baking? like what to stuff or baste it with. i was thinking of using some melted butter and stuffing with bread.

depending on the size of thje bird i jus cover the bird/tray with foil for the first 15-20mins at around 200-250 deg f.
and then 20 mins without foil at 450deg f.
and use a thermometer to check the deepest part of the breast and thigh

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2013, 9:15 pm

try the keller method, 450-475 all the way
crispy skin, salt/pepper only
you would be surprised

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 24th, 2013, 10:35 am

playerskrew wrote:I thinking half baked an then fried.

No no it should be the other way around.
Fry it to seal the juices in and get that skin crispy, then finish off uncovered in the oven.

Pugboy, see this review..

http://bbq.about.com/od/charbroilgasgri ... 11407a.htm

I do find the food basket a little restrictive, or maybe not restrictive enough. Above the 16-pound turkey there are a lot you can do with this unit (like big kebabs of Brazilian beef) but you will need to be creative to get foods to sit properly so they can cook evenly. Char-Broil is apparently looking at some accessories that will make this unit more versatile in the future.

So I suppose anything that fits in the basket you can "fry".

Postby meccalli » December 24th, 2013, 6:12 pm

Searing to 'seal' juices is an absolutely ridiculous myth, been blown apart many a times, the act of searing itself is basically browning via maillard. Searing itself begins dehydration, that's why i like sous vide so much, you sear, fry or torch the meat lastly, your meat is already cooked to perfection and still retaining the majority of your flavorful liquids. For me, when i do stuff like brined turkey breasts, its seared fast with some aromatics in a skillet, put in the oven covered @ low, and then uncovered and blasted shortly to crisp up. Couldn't get a butterball for this christmas, people snatching up really fast lol.

Postby pugboy » December 24th, 2013, 6:26 pm

thawing out some sous vide beef chuck I did a week ago for tomorrow, 3 days at 135f
expected to be like butter
20131224_182353.jpg

Postby meccalli » December 24th, 2013, 7:08 pm

looking good :wink:

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 25th, 2013, 3:11 pm

Ham an bread.....

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 26th, 2013, 5:00 pm

shogun wrote:VexXx Dogg you better be rotund as hell, or i'll be disappointed.

Where sells this locally? Definitely gonna have to get me one

Postby Trini Hookah » December 26th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Bright Ideas had sale on Rotisseries and George Foreman grills, barely any left when I reached the branch in Rio Claro

Postby X_Factor » January 3rd, 2014, 1:08 pm

did some burgers, 2 lbs breast meat, 1lb thigh meat

seasoned meat chunks

good ole meat grinder

after the grinder

burger with a cabbage/carrot slaw, and pieces of lettuce

cut shot, super tender, moist and full of flavor

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 3rd, 2014, 1:13 pm

Where did you get the meat grinder? I still want one, pref all stainless steel. Comes with sausage stuffing attachment?

I want to make some gattdamn sausage!

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » January 3rd, 2014, 1:42 pm

Postby X_Factor » January 3rd, 2014, 1:54 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-Grinder-Mi ... at+grinder

thats it, and yeah it has the attachment and a finer blade for sausage making
its a bit tedious if you are alone, and have to do large amounts, but for around 5lbs of meat
it will work easily

i also have this somewhere in a cupboard
http://www.amazon.com/Eastman-Outdoors- ... y_k_text_y

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2014, 2:38 pm

that is some serious mayo you have there