2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2012, 8:07 pm

There are gas/lpg forklifts.. why not apply it to cars as well?

Postby nervewrecker » October 2nd, 2012, 8:07 pm

pete wrote:There are gas/lpg forklifts.. why not apply it to cars as well?

This has had me baffled for quite awhile.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 2nd, 2012, 8:15 pm

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2012, 8:45 pm

pete wrote:Question: Why have they been pushing CNG instead of LPG? Propane and butane in LPG would have much more energy than the methane you get in CNG so would be better for the small engined cars we have here.

i dunno boy. normal late mode, ketchass leadershup?
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report_explained-cng-vs-lpg-fuel-kits_1702370

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » October 2nd, 2012, 10:00 pm

Jonathan wrote:
turboconch2 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Can somebody confirm for me the recommended fuel for a HR15DE engine, please?

Super from manual,90/91

That's not quite correct, that 90/91 octane they talking about? Is actually the AKI (Anti-knock Index), which is the average of the RON and MON.
So this AKI, is what's displayed on gas pumps in other countries. But in Trinidad, they only display the RON on the pumps.
So back to the point I was making.... What they calling premium in Trinidad, has a RON of 95, and an MON of 85...the average of these two figures is 90.

So there you go. You need the "premium" gas..

Hope I ain't confuse anybody :lol:

Well then i suppose the warranty from massey on the bluebird sylphy carrying the hr15de is void now? When i get the manual i'll double check as i am sure i saw ron 91 for both the hr15de and the mr20de.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 2nd, 2012, 10:26 pm

This is unequivocally the worst budget I have ever had the displeasure of allowing my ears to endure such verbal diarrhea. :evil:

Tonight I heard Minister Howai say that GATE will be reassessed so that it will will go to either 50-50, or 100 percent on a case by case basis :evil:

I remember specifically our Prime Minister saying that GATE will not be touched.

I have no problem with them making people pay whose GPA is not up to par that is fair but now they will be judging my income to decide that yes I could pay for GATE :evil:

We are hear falling for mis-direction as the State does not stand to gain substantial revenue but we are distracted from these and other issues. I use GATE and I personally have alot of debt and I consider myself part of the working poor, even though I have a job. What criteria will they use? Who will be doing this? etc...etc

They are breaking promises left and right but what can you expect from people who get ketch with their pants down so much they just tellin us to look at their balls now.LOOK AT IT :|

I can't believe I get caught up in this backward, dung beetle country. I shoulda leave when I get the chance. If this goes through mark my word, I will organize a march that will make Rowley's march look like a pow -wow :evil:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 2nd, 2012, 10:32 pm

turboconch2 wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
turboconch2 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Can somebody confirm for me the recommended fuel for a HR15DE engine, please?

Super from manual,90/91

That's not quite correct, that 90/91 octane they talking about? Is actually the AKI (Anti-knock Index), which is the average of the RON and MON.
So this AKI, is what's displayed on gas pumps in other countries. But in Trinidad, they only display the RON on the pumps.
So back to the point I was making.... What they calling premium in Trinidad, has a RON of 95, and an MON of 85...the average of these two figures is 90.

So there you go. You need the "premium" gas..

Hope I ain't confuse anybody :lol:

Well then i suppose the warranty from massey on the bluebird sylphy carrying the hr15de is void now? When i get the manual i'll double check as i am sure i saw ron 91 for both the hr15de and the mr20de.

Back to Panday dollar for dollar. That was good. That should be implemented once more. Too much assholeness going on in all these schools. New school popping up everywhere like chiney restaurants and every tom dick and harry going to school....WHY? Cuz it free. "Son, why you doing a degree in management?" - "I duno...didnt know wa else to do". Half of these morons the state paying for are not capable of the demands of tertiary education yet they just go and do it cuz it FREEEEEEEEEEEEEE and then drop out wasting ppl time, money and efforts.

Dollar for dollar. Why not? NO right? Cuz money hada come out YOUR pocket. Hmmm..

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 2nd, 2012, 11:43 pm

Government appealing to get the support of the masses / working poor by appearing to hit the wealthy who use premium.

Postby rfari » October 2nd, 2012, 11:49 pm

PP administration shoulda drop this shitbudget just before carnival tbh

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 3rd, 2012, 12:36 am

every time,and i mean everrytime i go to fill gas or pass by a gas station there is someone at the premium pumps....6% my azzzz....just by trying to pass that statment of as the truth says the goverment thinks we chhupid.....

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 3rd, 2012, 12:48 am

AdamB wrote:Government appealing to get the support of the masses / working poor by appearing to hit the wealthy who use premium.

This statement is asinine :roll:

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 3rd, 2012, 12:52 am

I will not accept the social filters being put in place and the regressive policies currently advanced.

This government is about exclusion whilst their Public Relations machinery is working overtime to say otherwise.

Its in our faces lets start telling i like it is

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 3rd, 2012, 1:31 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/SWI ... 92201.html

SWITCH TO SUPER
PM advises motorists hit by 44% hike in premium gas:

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Oct 2, 2012 at 9:59 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 2, 2012 at 9:59 PM ECT
Some motorists who use premium gasoline in their vehicles do not need to, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday.
And she advised that they can use super gasoline instead.
In his 2012/2013 national budget presentation on Monday, Finance Minister Larry Howai announced the price of premium gasoline had moved from $4 to $5.75 a litre—a 44 per cent increase—from yesterday.
Persad-Bissessar had told the media, following the budget presentation, some six per cent of the motoring public would be affected by the increase—mainly users of high-end luxury vehicles, such as Audis and BMWs.
The Prime Minister clarified yesterday that only six per cent of the subsidy (and not motorists) would be affected by the move to reduce the subsidy bill. "I am advised that it is about six per cent of the subsidy and nine per cent of the volume which will be impacted... I am also advised that some people use premium but they do not have to," the Prime Minister told the Express by phone.
Persad-Bissessar said the decision to increase the cost of premium fuel was well thought out and took into consideration all aspects.
"There is no justification for 'maxi' and taxi drivers to increase fares," she stressed, as she reiterated that motorists who own high-end vehicles such as Audis and BMWs were the ones who can afford to pay the increase.
Questioned on whether Government would be moving to convert State vehicles to use Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), Persad-Bissessar noted that Howai, in his budget presentation, stated that Government was putting in place a framework for the greater use of CNG.
The Prime Minister noted further that a comprehensive business plan was developed, which will invest $1.5 billion in converting gasoline vehicles to CNG.
Asked what kind of feedback she has had on the budget thus far, Persad-Bissessar said, "The reports have been very positive... and we are very encouraged. As I said before, the budget is a statement and the real challenge lies in implementation."
"Over the next several days, after the Opposition Leader's reply, the Ministers will give flesh to the skeleton and go into all the details, also give specifics in terms of the accomplishments, a review of what was done," Persad-Bissessar added.
Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine yesterday told the Express measures would be put in place for the increased demand for super gasoline.
According to Ramnarine, as of August 2012, data showed that six per cent of the subsidy was attributable to premium gasoline, 52 per cent to diesel, 41 per cent to super and one per cent to other fuels.
Ramnarine added that some nine per cent of all the fuel consumed in Trinidad and Tobago (volumes) was attributable to premium gasoline. "Information from one new car dealer indicates that five per cent of new vehicles sold are classified as "premium compelled". This means they must use premium gasoline. Information from another new car dealer indicates that three to four per cent of new vehicles must use premium," said Ramnarine.
The Minister explained that the difference between Super RON 92 and Premium RON 95 is the octane rating. "There are many people who have cars that ought to use premium, but they use super. Some people also opt to use super with an additive. It is expected that with the price increase there will be a level of switching from premium to super. This was anticipated.
"With regard to the supply of super gasoline, there is sufficient supply of super gasoline in the country to meet the increase in demand," said Ramnarine.
"Most taxis already use super gasoline or diesel. Most maxi-taxis use diesel. There should therefore be no increase in taxi fares. Most company fleets use diesel to transport goods. As diesel has not been increased, there should be no impact on food prices," he added.
The Finance Ministry, said Ramnarine, has recognised that the subsidy is a serious strain on the nation's finances.
"In fiscal 2012 alone, the subsidy will be around $4.47 billion. You would appreciate that this money could be allocated to build hospitals, schools and roads. The subsidy in fiscal 2012 is actually twice the budgetary allocation to Tobago in fiscal 2013," said Ramnarine.
"The increase in the price of premium is therefore a signal that the Government plans to tackle the subsidy in the medium term. As Minister Howai mentioned in his budget speech, that will be done in a manner that takes into consideration possible impacts on inflation," he added.
The difference between premium gas and super, according to the National Petroleum (NP) website: The octane requirement of an engine determines the type of fuel to be used. The gasoline fuels marketed by NP are all unleaded, and these are their octane ratings: Super unleaded: 92 minimum Premium unleaded: 95 minimum The owner's manual of every vehicle indicates the minimum octane of the fuel to be used. Here are two scenarios: A vehicle requiring a fuel octane rating of 91 minimum can safely use super unleaded (92 minimum). A vehicle requiring a fuel octane rating of 93 minimum needs to use premium unleaded (95 minimum), and not super unleaded. No special requirements are necessary to switch from premium to super. In an engine with an octane rating of 92 or less, moving from premium to super should not cause any of the following: damage to the engine, clogging of fuel injectors, increase in vehicle maintenance cost, an abnormal amount of carbon build-up. If, however, a fuel is used that is lower than the octane rating required by the engine, it will result in "pinging" ("pinking", "metal-on-metal clinking").

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 3rd, 2012, 1:34 am

IF KAMLA SAY USE SUPER THEN USE IT.....

dont bother what your car manufacturer says....kamla knows it all......

she knows that its only BMW and AUDI does use premium alone.....

how dotish can these ppl be?>.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 3rd, 2012, 1:41 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Slu ... 92161.html

Slump in sale of premium
By Carolyn Kissoon
Story Created: Oct 2, 2012 at 9:59 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 2, 2012 at 9:59 PM ECT
THE sale of premium unleaded gasoline appeared to have slumped at service stations in San Fernando yesterday.
Pump attendants said some customers were switching to the cheaper super unleaded gas, while others reluctantly paid the increased price for premium gas.
Minister of Finance Larry Howai announced in his first budget presentation on Monday that the environmentally-friendly premium gasoline would increase $1.75 as of yesterday, from $4 to $5.75 per litre.
An employee at C Nobbee Service Station, Pointe-a-Pierre Road, San Fernando said: "Sale is very slow today, since the increase in price. But when people heard about the increase yesterday (Monday) they came and filled up, so we will have to wait and see."
The employee said the first sale of premium gas came two hours after the service station was opened yesterday.
At La Carib Service Station, Carib Street, San Fernando, customers were switching to super gasoline.
"The sale of premium gas is really bad today. People are looking at the cost now, so they are asking for super instead," an attendant said.
Motorist Clarence Joseph said "the price has increased, but I will have to pay if I want to continue driving a working vehicle".
He added: "I have to look at how it will affect my car. The last owner used premium gas and I continued. I will have to pay the price."
Joseph drives a Nissan AD wagon.
Another driver, Marlon Johnson, said he too will continue to buy premium gas.
"I drive a normal Toyota Corolla car but my mechanic advised that I use premium gas, so I will have to pay the increased price," he said.

Postby Morpheus » October 3rd, 2012, 1:42 am

^^I'm at a loss for words with these idiots. :evil:

Suddenly I'm thrust into the wealthy bracket because my car requires premium. I "can afford to pay for it"

A man already put up his Evo for sale eh......

EDIT: My post is referring to your previous post. i.e. Idiots = Gubberment. Not the car owners above :)

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 3rd, 2012, 5:56 am

All the people complaining...what they expected the gov't to do?? When you bought your car, you knew it would cost more to full up, you made that choice. When super goes up you'll still have to be paying more.
Next year most likely Super will increase. They have to put things in place this year to encourage people to use CNG, that's the alternative they're pushing. An increase of super and diesel will affect the entire country.

Gov't is pushing to have a floating gas price price at the pump based on the price of Oil. The price of Oil is beyond our control and the subsidy was meant to be a temporary measure but people got spoiled by the gov't.

The Gas boom is over!!, USA is producing it's own gas in large quantities and other countries have started producing natural gas.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 3rd, 2012, 6:27 am

shaneelal wrote:All the people complaining...what they expected the gov't to do?? When you bought your car, you knew it would cost more to full up, you made that choice. When super goes up you'll still have to be paying more.
Next year most likely Super will increase.

u fall in that 6% category or what?

Postby crazybalhead » October 3rd, 2012, 6:30 am

Lots of fun yesterday as I filled up in Mayaro. :lol: :lol: :lol:

$248 from a lil less than quarter tank.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 3rd, 2012, 6:35 am

I use super, expecting it to increase between $4 - $5 next year, that time we'll hopefully have more CNG buses on the road. Gov't needs to improve on the public transportation. They mentioned putting GPS on buses, but I want to be able to track a bus on my phone.

Oh, and I'm not supporting gov't, they all do good and bad. But putting country first, we can't continue with this subsidy, there has to be alternatives.

Postby rfari » October 3rd, 2012, 6:45 am

According to the newsday, vasant bharat was quoted as saying tht the removal of vat on food prices is a temporary measure until inflation has stablised.
The ball is not where we think it is.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 3rd, 2012, 6:54 am

rfari wrote:According to the newsday, vasant bharat was quoted as saying tht the removal of vat on food prices is a temporary measure until inflation has stablised.
The ball is not where we think it is.

and the idiots in Mid Centre Mall rejoiced :roll:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 3rd, 2012, 7:04 am

shaneelal wrote:I use super, expecting it to increase between $4 - $5 next year, that time we'll hopefully have more CNG buses on the road. Gov't needs to improve on the public transportation. They mentioned putting GPS on buses, but I want to be able to track a bus on my phone.

Oh, and I'm not supporting gov't, they all do good and bad. But putting country first, we can't continue with this subsidy, there has to be alternatives.

Why can't we continue the subsidy?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » October 3rd, 2012, 7:23 am

either continue to buy the premium and keep your Highly tuned Evolutions, or sell your car and stop your complaining.

Many of those who own these high performance machines can afford to maintain them, so as Rihanna said, SHUT UP AND DRIVE.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 3rd, 2012, 7:40 am

Nearly all them EVOs can run alternative crappy fuel / timing maps at the flip of a switch eh....

turboconch2

Postby turboconch2 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:06 am

Seriously i think people need to educate themselves, yesterday evening on my way home,I was listening to an "ignarant" ( can even use the proper word on this person) commentator on a radio station telling people that everybody driving b11,b12,almera,b13,b14 is in the luxury car bracket and the government dotish.
The point here was that he is very sure that these vehicles only use premium and that super would "mash up d engine".
The best was a man call in with a AD and say he can't afford to put premium again and say he gonna switch to super, the ignarant say "bredren u go mash up ur engine".
When a next caller tried to correct the commentator, he tell him he dotish.

This goes to show the quality we have on the radio and people actually hear and believe this.I hear a woman on d radio say she b14 pinging with super :shock: :drinking: laaawwwwwd

Lance

Postby Lance » October 3rd, 2012, 8:17 am

so if she encouraging everyone to switch to super won't it just offset the subsidy saving from premium?

kamala logic

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 3rd, 2012, 8:18 am

BRZ wrote:either continue to buy the premium and keep your Highly tuned Evolutions, or sell your car and stop your complaining.

Many of those who own these high performance machines can afford to maintain them, so as Rihanna said, SHUT UP AND DRIVE.

Noted for Famous Last Words in 4 years...

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2012, 9:05 am

So according to anil roberts, premium gas is a luxury item which people choose to put in their vehicles as there ARE alternatives.

What qualifications/level of education/common sense it takes to be a minister?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 3rd, 2012, 9:08 am

As Anil himself said, the only place that doesn't require qualifications for work, is the Red House.