Official Gaming Console Thread (XBOX, PS4, Switch etc)

speedfreak99

Re: Official 360, PS3, PC Gaming Thread v4.something

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 6:57 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:metalgear

How I hooking up the Audio for this PS3? I have a nice Logitech Theater Speaker. And I have an adapter with one end is female 3.5mm headphone jack and other side is 2 RCA white and red.

Or PS3 does do everything through HDMI but monitor speakers does be crappy.

If you is a FPS fanatic... the closest thing to 22inches would be fine. Being a fanatic assumes that you have a dedicated gaming area so you can adjust your viewing distance to suit...MLG goes for 22inches cause the pros claim you can visually scan the entire screen most effectively for movement etc..I plan on downsizing from my 32' Toshiba to one of Acer's or Viewsonic's "lagless" 24' monitors. They about $150 us.
For the sound you will have to use the RCA cables that come with the ps3 and get the necessary adapters...if your system uses Fibreoptics and a decoder box ...better yet, buy the cheapest fibreoptic cable you can get...remember with fibreoptics and Hdmi it either works or doesnt...dont buy into hype like"gold plated this and that" to justify any price hike

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 7:07 pm

pioneer wrote:I really don't get why people (who serious bout games) does play on large screens...it makes no sense

X2 unless you does have plenty people in the same room and is FIFA lol

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2011, 7:12 pm

eh speedfreak, is u ah see on tv6 u-report jus now?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 7:13 pm

I understand now how to connect the Audio so this is great. I dont care much for the digital right now until I build my Home Audio Later on. I actually have Audiophile headphones but if I use those that means the PS3 will have to have some sort of volume control. Else will just use my logitech for now.

I certainly hope they dont release no PS4 until 2014 or 15. Wanna get as much of my moneys worth wit this PS3 Generation as it has finally after so many years become affordable/

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 7:22 pm

sharkman121 wrote:eh speedfreak, is u ah see on tv6 u-report jus now?

oh lawd tell me is about collecting a nobel peace prize or something that would help society!!! :oops:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 7:26 pm

RapToR wrote:got these PS3 games to sell off

new and sealed

offer something for it

1pc - trinity universe

1pc - my sims 3

1pc - my sims sky heroes

4pcs - bioshock 2

6pcs - naughty bear

Raptor I go take Naughty Bear with the PS3 one time lol
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 4th, 2011, 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 7:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I understand now how to connect the Audio so this is great. I dont care much for the digital right now until I build my Home Audio Later on. I actually have Audiophile headphones but if I use those that means the PS3 will have to have some sort of volume control. Else will just use my logitech for now.

I certainly hope they dont release no PS4 until 2014 or 15. Wanna get as much of my moneys worth wit this PS3 Generation as it has finally after so many years become affordable/

well we go see when the next release go be...
what model audiophiles you have?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2011, 7:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
RapToR wrote:got these PS3 games to sell off

new and sealed

offer something for it

1pc - trinity universe

1pc - my sims 3

1pc - my sims sky heroes

4pcs - bioshock 2

6pcs - naughty bear

Raptor I go take Naughty Bear with the PS3 one time lol

i will give you that for free

delivery tomorrow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 8:08 pm

Check this video

so does kratos appear on 360 version also

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 8:09 pm

EFFECTIC wrote:Plus I fedup of them dotish morons them does claim everybody with an accent is a terrorist. If da is the sh!t on XBL me eh want no part of that. I rather go where it has less of these immature morons.
If its PSN even better.

hard luck...cuz we get alot of that still on PSN... :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2011, 8:12 pm

anywhere u go ull find immature morons on any platform. Dont know how come it bothers u though, dont really give a sh!t about those kids.

Plus theres always the mute button.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 8:14 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I understand now how to connect the Audio so this is great. I dont care much for the digital right now until I build my Home Audio Later on. I actually have Audiophile headphones but if I use those that means the PS3 will have to have some sort of volume control. Else will just use my logitech for now.

I have Sennheiser HD555 and Denon D2000

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 8:25 pm

casper wrote:
EFFECTIC wrote:Plus I fedup of them dotish morons them does claim everybody with an accent is a terrorist. If da is the sh!t on XBL me eh want no part of that. I rather go where it has less of these immature morons.
If its PSN even better.

They like to tell people to get outa their country (US).. like EVERY one on psn with an accent is an illegal immigrant :lol:

Postby Stephon. » May 4th, 2011, 8:27 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:
casper wrote:
If its PSN even better.

They like to tell people to get outa their country (US).. like EVERY one on psn with an accent is an illegal immigrant :lol:

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 4th, 2011, 8:35 pm

wtf!? alyuh fellaz real exercisin' alyuh fingaz for wen PSN com back up, dred...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 4th, 2011, 8:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
speedfreak99 wrote:

you should be able to adjust the volume of the headset in the ps3 menu

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2011, 9:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Check this video

so does kratos appear on 360 version also

no

only for ps3 version

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 9:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
speedfreak99 wrote:

Sweeeeeet!!!!! if i were u i would order a decoder box for dolby digital surround sound, and a boom mic and do like this guy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obOVQb7w ... re=related
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 4th, 2011, 9:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2011, 9:33 pm

pioneer wrote:I haven't used my PS3 in months - selling it

Fat PS3 80GB + games - $4500

:? :? :? :? :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 11:31 pm

Well then I guess all the more for this new mortal kombat to be worth it for me.

I really do hope WB makes a sh!t load of money from this. It would be very sad to hear that MK did bad in sales. I can't imagine how. Heck its the main reason in me actually buying a console.

BTW is there a website that publishes data on revenue earned on video games?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 4th, 2011, 11:32 pm

scientist wrote:
rodfarva wrote:Its graphical capability surpasses the 360.

That is untrue since the graphics processor on the 360 is more capable than the graphics processor for the PS3. In theory and on paper the cell processor is better than the 360's.

You just contradicted yourself. The Ps3 IS Capable of better graphics than the 360. Its a Fact. I said nothing about GPUs there. Aside from what i said being completely true, you can see Uncharted 2 or God of war 3 for actual proof. We are measuring Overall graphical output, not GPU only.

scientist wrote:
rodfarva wrote:What gives the 360 its advantage is that Its hardware is easier to develop for. So publishers make games first for the 360 and then port them over to the ps3, bypassing many of the hardware advantages that the ps3 has to offer
I wonder how well the 360 would do if the tables would turn
the ps3 has the raw power to run games that are NOT optimized for its hardware configuration
the same is not true vice versa

This was only true in the past, not today. Games ported to 360 from PS3 don't suffer the same issues. Games nowadays are developed by seperate teams...they have both their xbox and their playstation, pc etc developers.

So they say. I refuse to believe that the ps3 gets a fresh build.. based on playing more than a few recent multiplatform games. They may have seperate dev teams, but in many instances, its quite obvious which console suffers the most slowdown and other issues. (ps3).
And Im going to say it again, I dont believe that a game like Uncharted 2 or God of War 3 can be rendered by the 360.
If the 360 had the power, then the completely re-designed Halo : Reach would have had graphics on par with those ps3 games.

Lets face it. Microsoft took a technically inferior product and beat the sh1t out of Sony with it.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 4th, 2011, 11:43 pm

money talks..

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 5th, 2011, 12:45 am

rodfarva wrote:

Lets face it. Microsoft took a technically inferior product and beat the sh1t out of Sony with it.

well said, well put

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2011, 12:57 am

The issue with Microsoft beating Sony has nothing to do with graphics.

Its the simple fact the xbox was CHEAPER. Made it sell more. Then they had better exclusive games to the point no one cared for a PS3 really.

But then along came better exclusives on the PS3 that people preferred PS3 over 360.

However still because Microsoft did so good with xbox live on their original ugly xbox that most people into online gaming had friends only with xbox so to play with them they needed a xbox. So most people preferred buy the xbox and get it over with.

However from a technical stand point the PS3 is superior to the 360 I aint seen any game better looking than Uncharted 2 and god of war 3. It really is a marvelous piece of work I give them that.

As for Halo series? I prefer not play a game with annoying 12 year old nerds in their basement screaming over the mic and calling you a terrorist because you have a foreign accent. Thank you very much.

Whatever graphical differences there is in PS3 and 360 in games like COD is insignificant. I eh care about a shadow missing behind ah rock. Da doh count it looks the same to me. When you talking Radeon HD 6870 DX 11 vs a PS3 then we go talk about graphical difference. Until then I find it rather idiotic to argue which has better graphics when both look near identical give or take on exclusives. Meh besides I find shadows in Dead Nation looks frecking incredible. Better than Left 4 dead 2 which is supposed to be a MODERN PC game.

Just my 2 cents.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 5th, 2011, 1:11 am

Videophiles and HD freaks; all better get a High end gaming pc rig. Once you talking consoles, you really talking about the Living room crowding(a la Wii) or online multiplayer experience for the masses... yes mainstream..casual gamers...yes that includes us. Thas where the money is.... xboxlive online actually SAVING microsoft right now since they getting licks from apple... now that says alot. They got online gaming down...I hope sony build the new PSN to suit..if not boy i eh know. Being able to talk to your friends VOIP, across games, managing party systems and the cheap start up cost (headset included) made XBOX a winner.

p.s if it were bout graphics the Wii would never beat all a dem....non HD, cheap, not "hardcore" lol... but the US moms bought that sheit up like woow. Yup the spender, budget maker: single moms, soccer moms etc..that is a formidable market...ask Oprah... :mrgreen: and we all know the japanese support their own. Yall forgetting how dat wii used to sell!?!? Dey used to ration it like sugar during a shortage... you have to spend x$$ in the store order to buy one lol
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 5th, 2011, 1:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2011, 1:36 am

Well yeah the wii is a totally different scenario. Nintendo outsells everyone they own everyone in gaming. Nintendo has the philosophy that Gameplay is more important than Graphics and it has worked for them nicely the only console that Nintendo has not beaten is the Playstation 2. That still holds the world record. Also cheap console will get you sales.

Sony's biggest mistake was putting in Blu Ray in the PS3. At the time a Blu ray was as expensive as a PS3 so why bother buying a Blu ray when you can put a lil more and buy a PS3? Also making a PS3 with a pS1 and PS2 built in? ever taught of the cost? even though they lost $200 US on each console they sold they still couldn't compete till they get smart.

Removed everything and put PS3 hardware alone. I think they pelt out linux also since some people buy PS3 just for the crazy ass rendering of the CELL CPU for certain research. However Blu Ray came in handy, it got cheap and they could make games like Unchartered. Developer said it would be impossible to put that game on a 360 because its to big. Can only fit on Blu ray.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2011, 1:41 am

Another thing I heard, Sony was busy milking PS2 to death. they still made more money than Microsoft whatever the PS3 lost against the 360 the PS2 made up for that.

Anyways whatever mistakes they made that is history. I just glad the PS3 has good games now so I could finally justify buying one. I hope it lasts till 2015. As I really do not see the need for a PS4. Most fun games don't even use more than 30% of the PS3 power. I cannot in anyway see they announcing a PS4 before 2014. Leh we hope they support the PS3 till 2020.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 5th, 2011, 2:28 am

Effectic, you constantly pushing this idealized notion of Nintendo, but yuh not seeing the full picture. The Wii outsold the other consoles, true, but Nintendo isn't making as much money as Sony or MS. They don't sell anywhere as much software as their competitors, and they don't get anywhere as much money from third-party licensing.

Nintendo games aren't any more "fun" (as if fun is an objective term) than games on the PS3 or 360...they're just more simplistic, so casual gamers and non-gamers can pick them up more easily. That's why the Wii was so successful...it's a novelty for the general public. But look at the number of games sold per system compared to the 360 or PS3. This is exactly why Nintendo is coming out with a new console so early...they realise the Wii isn't sustainable. Mummy and Granny interest fading already, and the kids getting older.

Compared to the sheer perfection of the Super Nintendo library (that was Nintendo's golden age), the Wii is a big joke. A real big joke. And it prove that Nintendo cannot do it on its own, as much as they try to prove otherwise. If Nintendo can keep the casual crowd but woo back third-party developers to make games on this new console, I will be real happy.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 5th, 2011, 2:48 am

well if we gonna talk about golden days of nintendo then why did they morph into the hideous games u dislike... dude i had a nintendo back in the day and it is what really got me into video games...i grew up (sorta...lol) and moved on... the games u call hideous still work their magic for the relevant age group and crowd...i know of big men who into pokemon...cause it never lost its appeal to them...to each his own. Nintendo in a slump cause they setting the stage up for the Wii 2... unlike sony and microsoft they know when to move on...they have talented and developers of unique gameplay and they have this asset called Shigeru Miyamoto...oh lawd...now if he dead they would be in worse agony than the pain sony feeling right now. Not to mention dominating the handheld gaming market...though they under pressure now from smart phones...but who would buy a smart pnone for a kid?

Nintendo fanbase is HUGE,even if they move on eventually, its always on good terms...unlike Sega and apparently soon to be the company formally known as Sony. Any new console they come out with will eventually do well... Nintendo company like the sesame street of gaming...lol even when u get older u still get kix from it
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 5th, 2011, 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 5th, 2011, 8:49 am

^ Nintendo has no real choice but to move on. The Wii is on the outs. The graphics are really at this point inexcusable. Good gameplay or not.
And as Humes said, its more about simpler gameplay than good, deep gameplay.
Nintendo needs to stop being so gimmickey...no system has ever had as much crapware as the wii.
I admit, there are good and fun games on the Wii, but its time for them to push the graphics and make balanced games again.