TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

shaq090

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby shaq090 » November 8th, 2011, 9:19 pm

usually around 2.3 nd stuff....i guess this time people kinda on it...but could play games nd watch movies good tho ^_^

Note this is the Wimax box

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 8th, 2011, 9:39 pm

WTF?

Since when is 2 Mbit/s considered 4G?
3G is already sustained 14 Mbit/s minimum.

You guys really buying into this sh¡t they calling "4G"?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2011, 12:13 am

jed 170 ms for my hotspot IYP is extremely good

Its about the same as landline DSL you can play online games with that wow.

This is excellent for when you go to work and must pass the time.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2011, 12:16 am

Geek-e-Zone wrote:Using the Hotspot IYP a few months now. I had the On the Go Turbo with the "3G/4G" and the software was krap, so decided to try the hotspot.

during peak hours i get speeds like below, but otherwise i get full 2Mb. Downloads cap at around 240MB/s but only on non peak hours.

ping.png

hmm thanks for the MS dos google ping dude.

I guess this is extremely good for wireless since my landline DSL is 94 MS ping to google

Kish

Postby Kish » November 9th, 2011, 10:20 am

yea they have no right to call it 4G which is why i put "3G/4G" in the quotes. Gimmicks ftw.

Postby pete » November 9th, 2011, 10:32 am

Strauss wrote:WTF?

Since when is 2 Mbit/s considered 4G?
3G is already sustained 14 Mbit/s minimum.

You guys really buying into this sh¡t they calling "4G"?

http://money.cnn.com/2011/06/22/technol ... /index.htm

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 9th, 2011, 12:49 pm

Then this thread should educate people.
For starters it should be in quotes : "4G"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2011, 6:40 pm

4G is a technology, not a speed.

I like the fact that there is legislation being put forward to have carriers be more forthcoming with the facts and details about their service though

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 9th, 2011, 7:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:4G is a technology, not a speed.

I like the fact that there is legislation being put forward to have carriers be more forthcoming with the facts and details about their service though

Exactly.

Although there are speed specs to help define it, it's much broader than that.

I'm just pissed at all these phones and networks advertising "4G" and everyone is just ignorantly jumping on the bandwagon.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 9th, 2011, 7:48 pm

Watch from 6:50

brickman

Postby brickman » December 5th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Advising all my hotspot users,if your device is starting to get problems connecting to a wimax signal,keeps dropping or has stopped getting a signal at all it is most likely defective.Getting more & more reports of them dying on people from blink techs,my own included.Checking around & it seems to be an increasing issue with this model (Franklin Wireless R536).If you are getting these issues you should take it to a blink/bmobile head office & get it checked or replaced.

Postby Stephon. » December 5th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Stephon. wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LOL i see.

Somehow I feel he went into TSTT and cuss them up :lol:

Yep, was discharging too fast and they still wanted to charge us for the next month.
No thanks tstt, take back your flop 4G. Not here for only 2hrs browsing time.

it is silly to think that a battery operated device this size is meant for hours and hours of constant use in this day and age.

If you want to use it for more than two hours then you can buy a spare battery or get an alternative power source - it charges with USB.

They guaranteed 4 hrs though, I didn't get 4hrs so they got back their device.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 10th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Anyone knows by chance if the wimax service works in Caura area like around the Hospital etc?

TSTT says they have no idea.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 11th, 2011, 7:17 am

currently I have EDGE internet on my galaxy ace

Wondering how much browsing of tuner pages would I get with the wimax prepaid 400 MB

Ctrl Salesman

Postby Ctrl Salesman » January 10th, 2012, 3:10 am

as for global a compassion with the leading portable wimax providers, blink/bmobile my hot spot is simply put... coming to come. however this technology is still very young in trini and should get better(10 fingers cross)..signed up for one last week been using it since for:

(1) mi blackberry..bbm , facebook, some youtube, web browsing, internet radio
(2) mi laptop...web browsing, dwnloading a lil movie , music album
(3) mi ps3 online gaming ....playing some fifa, mortal kombat, gta ect ect..

verdict: device works as advertised though speeds can dip slightly. fairly stable, expect to soft reset it(turn off then put on) once, twice for d day. tall buildings = weak coverage . thick walls = weak coverage common sense common sense ect..ect...this will work well for the casual data user and persons living in remote areas..btw i from kelly village saint helena.

pros ; small. fairly stable. remote area coverage. netzzzz on all your devices.

cons; heat. high pings. expensive if lost or stolen.

i like MY Hot Spot very mucH.. :l

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 23rd, 2012, 3:09 pm

Any updates on this device? Are they hard to get now at certain branches? Thinking of checking St James street branch for one.

TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 24th, 2012, 4:35 pm

St James street branch info officer states that they are only sold with iPhones now and not available separately even if you already own an iPhone :|

brickman

Postby brickman » January 24th, 2012, 6:57 pm

Say wha??Check other branches,everybody hot for the iphone so they are saving them for this.

Kish

Postby Kish » January 24th, 2012, 7:33 pm

i have a IYP hotspot that's on a 2 year contract, with a year and sumtn remaining. and i need to terminate that contract. i will call tomorrow and find out if i can transfer it to someone else, if so then i guess i can meet anyone at a blink office and work it out. since they short on devices.

most likely i'm sure they gonna say i can't transfer it.

brickman

Postby brickman » January 24th, 2012, 7:46 pm

Yep i highly doubt you can transfer it like a phone.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 24th, 2012, 7:54 pm

i have a question what exactly is the hotspot?

i srs here

and how much a month for what speed plz

Kish

Postby Kish » January 24th, 2012, 8:06 pm

The hotspot is one of blink's WiMAX devices. It allows a 2Mb internet connection via their WiMAX service and has a built in wireless router (can't remember if n or only g). Basically you can connect up to 5 devices via the wireless router built in and share the 2Mb connection.

You can also set the wireless ap as hidden and even use WPA, even though when I bought it and I asked them they said it can't be done. It's a bit buggy though, the autoconnect feature to reconnect to the WiMAX doesn't work. I need to manually connect at times. This is one of the reason I'm going to get rid of it, as i need a connection always on for the DVR

1yr contract for $475 and 2 year for $350 a month.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 24th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Geek-e-Zone wrote:The hotspot is one of blink's WiMAX devices. It allows a 2Mb internet connection via their WiMAX service and has a built in wireless router (can't remember if n or only g). Basically you can connect up to 5 devices via the wireless router built in and share the 2Mb connection.

You can also set the wireless ap as hidden and even use WPA, even though when I bought it and I asked them they said it can't be done. It's a bit buggy though, the autoconnect feature to reconnect to the WiMAX doesn't work. I need to manually connect at times. This is one of the reason I'm going to get rid of it, as i need a connection always on for the DVR

1yr contract for $475 and 2 year for $350 a month.

connect to the plug business?

what speed you getting at downloads?

i getting 34kbps-40 on a 2 mb connection at the moment
personally i need something faster and looking at other options

Kish

Postby Kish » January 24th, 2012, 8:30 pm

2Mb i used to get max 248kBps. but that's outside peak hours. during peak hours it goes down to half that or sometimes under 100kBps. it depends on your location though as i'm just a few hundred feet from the site.

but if you have a 2Mb connection you're supposed to get 248kBps max. check that.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 24th, 2012, 8:38 pm

Geek-e-Zone wrote:2Mb i used to get max 248kBps. but that's outside peak hours. during peak hours it goes down to half that or sometimes under 100kBps. it depends on your location though as i'm just a few hundred feet from the site.

but if you have a 2Mb connection you're supposed to get 248kBps max. check that.

daz blink broadband for you yes

ill give them a call tomorrow and see if they can up my speed

Master_RAGE3

Postby Master_RAGE3 » January 26th, 2012, 5:56 pm

does the device lock one to one area? cause mine seem to be doing that !!!

brickman

Postby brickman » January 26th, 2012, 8:37 pm

Nope can use it anywhere unless there isnt a wimax signal.

brickman

Postby brickman » February 4th, 2012, 3:35 am

Wimax people,any issues with the service the past 3 days?Getting real pressure (2-5 mins) to load a page or it just times out.Starting to see people on bmoble fb saying this too so just wanna know whats happening with y'all.....

Master_RAGE3

Postby Master_RAGE3 » February 5th, 2012, 2:07 am

stress in POS !!!

brickman

Postby brickman » February 6th, 2012, 12:25 am

100% times outs now,cant load anything!