Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby Cjruckus » May 20th, 2010, 10:59 pm

digicel ftw.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 21st, 2010, 12:26 am

whey just read through all 18 pages ah this thread,

i have my storm almost 2 years now and i never use any of the features you guys talking bout i doh even know if i have them,

i just bought the phone cause i thought it looked good and was a relieable phone.

i really need to get someone to show me how to get emails and thing yes

speedy007

Postby speedy007 » May 21st, 2010, 7:35 am

liking this thread very informative, good work.

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2010, 2:08 pm

KK, no more free codes.

laertes

Postby laertes » May 23rd, 2010, 6:40 pm

can anyone assist with the unlocking of a BB 8830 from Verizon?

STi-N

Postby STi-N » May 23rd, 2010, 8:21 pm

how to geh google maps to work on the 8520?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 23rd, 2010, 9:28 pm

STi-N wrote:how to geh google maps to work on the 8520?

x2 and how to get it to login to 2nr? i'm still running the original firmware

Postby r3iXmann » May 23rd, 2010, 9:38 pm

what u mean how to use google maps? it's a straightforward install :?

http://latitude.google.com/

login/signup for a google account and that's it

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 23rd, 2010, 9:50 pm

think the maps on the bb is what i'm talking about

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 23rd, 2010, 10:25 pm

How To Perform Diagnostic Tests on your Blackberry Hardware

Step 1 : Navigate to your Blackberry home screen.

Step 2 : Click on Options.

Step 3 : From the on screen menu, select Status.

Step 4 : On the status screen which open ups, type the word "test".

Step 5 : Open the menu in the Device Self Test Application Screen that appears.

Step 6 : Choose Start from the on screen menu.

Step 7 : You will now see a list of components that you can choose to test.

The features that you can test include:

* Keyboard and Trackball
* Misc
* Handset Audio
* Headset Audio
* Bluetooth Audio
* RF Components
* GPS (If supported by your phone)

Step 8 : Select the component you want to test and click Run.

After you have performed a test, the Device Self Test Application main screen will display a report. The reports provides additional information and details for each test. The RF antenna test will even dial a number to test the signal reception. You also have a vibration test under the Misc category.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 23rd, 2010, 10:51 pm

BlackBerry WSOD - White Screen of Death

If you go for too long without restarting your BlackBerry, you may eventually experience the dreaded white screen of death. Here's info on how to fix it and prevent future WSOD errors.

This past weekend, I left my BlackBerry smart phone unattended for about an hour and came back to find it had locked up. The background of the screen had turned white and it was displaying some kind of nondescript error message with some numbers. No matter what I pressed, none of the buttons would respond and I couldn’t get the phone to turn on or off.

What my BlackBerry phone had experienced is called the WSOD, or White Screen of Death. The name comes from the infamous BSOD, or Blue Screen of Death, that is associated with Microsoft Windows crashing. Just like a BSOD in Windows, the WSOD on my BlackBerry meant that my phone had, for lack of a better term, crashed.
What Causes the White Screen of Death?

Your BlackBerry is basically a miniature computer. It runs programs, stores data, plays sound and video, and much more. Just like any computer, it needs to be restarted every once in a while. What happens is little issues called memory leaks can make your phone eventually reach the point that it can’t handle any more information and it locks up. By rebooting the phone, just like with a computer, it flushes out the memory and helps to prevent overload.
How to Fix a BlackBerry White Screen of Death

The only way to fix the BlackBerry WSOD is to remove the battery for a few seconds, then put it back in. If you’re like me and use a tough BlackBerry case that isn’t very easy to remove, the act of popping the battery is pretty bothersome. I’ve seen a variety of ‘battery pull’ type applications for the BlackBerry and actually tried one of them, but nothing seems to work as well as manually removing the battery. Don’t be alarmed if it takes your phone a while to boot back up after a battery pull. My BlackBerry Curve 8330 takes about three minutes to restart.

When I bought my BlackBerry, it wasn’t until after I had signed all the papers and was about to walk out of the store until the clerk at the cellular phone store kindly informed me that I would need to pop my battery out about once a week. I thought she was joking, but apparently this is just something that some BlackBerry users have to do in order to keep their phones working properly. I sure hope Research in Motion gets this problem figured out soon, otherwise I am switching to a different kind of phone as soon as my contract runs out.
Preventing the White Screen of Death

The only way to prevent your BlackBerry from having the white screen of death is to do like the clerk said and pop the battery out about once a week. It’s a pain, but necessary. If you don’t and your phone crashes like mine did, you could miss an important phone call, email, or text message and not even realize it.

©2010 Bright Hub Inc.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 23rd, 2010, 11:01 pm

Blackberry Curve Smartphones: 24 Shortcut Keys For The Message List

Blackberry Smartphones are designed for messaging services, therefore it shouldn't come as a surprise that the Blackberry Curve series offers 24 different messaging shortcut keys to make mobile messaging easier than ever. Here's a guide to Blackberry Curve shortcut messaging.

Shortcut Keys: What To Use When Your In A Message

If you're already in a message here's a few shortcut keys that will allow you to manage important functions with just one to two button clicks.

* Quick reply to a message: Press the "R" Key
* Quick Reply to all: Press the "L" Key
* Quickly Forward a message: From the "F" Key
* File away a highlighted email: Press the "I" Key
* Find the email address for a contact: Highlight the contact name and then press the "Q" Key.

Shortcut Keys: Within The Message List

There are 9 main shortcut keys that can be used from within the Blackberry Curve message list.

* Opening Highlighted Messages: Press the Enter Key
* Create a message from the message list: Press the "C" Key
* Make a message display as opened or unopened: Press the alt "Key" along with the "U" Key
* Quick Review a new message: Press the "Alt" Key and the "I" Key
* View your Sent Message: Press the "Alt Key" plus the "O" Key
* Check your Voicemail messages: Press the "Alt" Key plus the "V" Key
* Check your SMS messages: Press the "Alt" Key along with the "S" Key
* Check your call logs by pressing "Alt" and the "P" Key
* Review all your messages by pressing the "Escape" Key

Shortcuts Keys: Navigating Around The Blackberry Curve Message List

Since at the time of this Blackberry Curve shortcut article only one touchscreen device (The Blackberry Storm) is available the use of shortcut keys makes navigating the message list much more manageable than the Blackberry trackball or d-pad options.

* Move Up The Messaging List: Shift + Space Keys
* Move down the same screen: Space Key
* Go to the top of the message list: T Key
* Go to the bottom of the message list: B key
* Go to the next date: N key
* Go to the previous date: P key
* Go to the next unopened date: U Key
* Go to the next related message: J Key
* Go to the previously related message: K key

The shortcut saga continues

Virtually every key on the Blackberry Curve line of devices allow for some type of shortcutting, now that we've examined how to navigated around and use the message list with shortcut keys we'll continue to look at other Blackberry Curve shortcut keys in our continuing series.

Stay Tuned................

©2010 Bright Hub Inc.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 23rd, 2010, 11:10 pm

Top Tips for New BlackBerry Bold 9700 Users

So, you just got yourself a new BlackBerry Bold 9700 and you don't know how to get started using it? If you're like me and don't read manuals and just explore a new device on your own, here are our top tips for new BlackBerry Bold 9700 users.
Navigating your BlackBerry Bold 9700 Menus

Shortcut Keys: What To Use When Your In A Message

First off, if you're upgrading from the BlackBerry 9000, you'd quickly notice that the infamous trackball is now replaced by a nifty soft-touch-enabled trackpad. This is a good thing since that trackball received several complaints among BB Bold 9500 users.

You use the trackpad to navigate through the phone's various menus and options. You can softly swipe from left to right or down and up. To select an option, slightly press on the trackpad.

Another basic button that you will see on your device is the "back arrow" button. You use this to go back to the home screen or to the previous screen if in case you're deep into your phone's various menu screens.

On the left side of the trackpad is the BlackBerry Menu key. You use this key to view more applications if you're on the home screen. If you press this key while inside the applications screen, you will pull down the various options available that you can do to your applications.

Some more shortcuts to make your life easier when navigation through your BlackBerry Bold 9700 phone.

* To switch apps, hold alt key and press escape key, continue to hold alt key and select app, release app key.
* Press the space bar to select or clear a check box
* Type first letter of an item while viewing list or menu items to select an option

BlackBerry Internet Services, BlackBerry Enterprise Service

A BlackBerry device is just like any other mobile phone if you don't register it at the BlackBerry Internet Services. Depending on the mobile carrier that you are using, you need to register your device to make full use of the BlackBerry Messenger service.

Your BlackBerry Bold 9700 just like any other BlackBerry devices rely so much on your 3G data plans to push emails and application updates. If you don't want to incur high data charges, make sure to turn on/off these settings from time to time.

BlackBerry allows you to connect your web-based email accounts and your corporate accounts such as Lotus Notes, or Microsoft Outlook. You need to ask your office systems administrator for the enterprise activation password to connect to the BlackBerry Enterprise Server. Once you are connected, you will receive your emails on your device like a normal SMS messages.

BlackBerry Bold 9700 Messenger Service

Your BlackBerry Bold 9700 is equipped with several internet messaging client including Windows Live Messenger, Yahoo Chat, Google Talk and BlackBerry Messenger. If you use any or all of the free web-based IM client you can set up your account to connect with your BlackBerry device.

The BlackBerry Messenger Service is a unique messaging facility that utilizes your BlackBerry devices PIN. A PIN is a unique identifier for each and every BlackBerry devices. You can use this PIN to communicate with other BlackBerry users. To find out your device's PIN, go to Options->Status->PIN.

BlackBerry Messenger Service is the fastest and quickest way of communicating with your friends who are also BlackBerry users.

There you go, some of the basic things that you need to know if you just got a new BlackBerry Bold 9700 devices. The smartphone you currently have is a very powerful device that could help you become more productive with your mobile computing needs. It is a feature-rich device that could help with so many things.

©2010 Bright Hub Inc.

Postby Gem_in_i » May 24th, 2010, 6:06 am

anyone noticed tht with bmobile the BIS slows down or completely stops every night until around 11pm?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 24th, 2010, 8:00 am

i find is get faster around that time.

flat_out

Postby flat_out » May 24th, 2010, 9:02 am

norstar2k wrote:BlackBerry WSOD - White Screen of Death

Your BlackBerry is basically a miniature computer. It runs programs, stores data, plays sound and video, and much more. Just like any computer, it needs to be restarted every once in a while. What happens is little issues called memory leaks can make your phone eventually reach the point that it can’t handle any more information and it locks up. By rebooting the phone, just like with a computer, it flushes out the memory and helps to prevent overload.

Memory leaks are caused by poorly coded software. Whether it be a theme or an app, it is up to you to find out what is causing a memory leak.

In some cases, it is caused by the OS.

Either way, it's wise to pull your battery every week or two.

My 9700 havs 140mb app memory free :D :D :D

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2010, 9:51 am

BIS for me is fastest from 10pm -12am

flat_out

Postby flat_out » May 24th, 2010, 2:00 pm

My BIS is always slow :|

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 2:10 pm

1. To avoid memory leaks use the memory cleaner OS.5+
2. Even my htc tp2 needs a battery pull every once in a while (winmo 6.5)

I have a nice collection of apps games and software, some that are supposed to be ota only (Bolt browser, bbm5 (os4.5+), google maps etc. ) hit me up let me know what yall need i will upload alx/cod files for desktop manager.

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2010, 3:04 pm

how about listing so those can know what they want out of the pile you have

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 4:40 pm

thats alot to type out but here is a few
Ascendomoney
Ascendophotosv3.11_bb
Autolock
Autostandby 1.5
Avantgolauncher
Bblight-1.82
Bbnotepad V1.0.4
Bbreply-1.1
Bbtoday-1.5
Bbweather_0.83
Bbweather-0.74
Berryannoying
Blackberry Screen Shooter
Bscjartoalxsetup_1_4
Colorpearl
Colorpearlhalloween
Devide_info_utility
Dictionaries
Docs2go Premium & Pdf2go [storm, 9500, 9530]
Docs To Go 1.05
Emobiletoday
E-mobile Weather 3.1 (81xx, 83xx, 87xx, 88xx, 9000, 95xx)
E-mobile Weather [storm, 9500, 9530]
E-mobile Weather Today View Plug-in (81xx, 83xx, 87xx, 88xx, 9000, 95xx)
Fileexplorer
Filelock
Flipside (audio Player)
Freelight
Iberry Black_whitelist
Jx Ovulation Calendar
Menstrual Calendar
Mobi Ebook Reader
Myalarm
Myclock204
Opera-mini-4.2
Pimpmypearl
Rambooster-memoryup
Ringz
Softreset
Ultimate Convert
Worldmate_live_rim
Concise_Oxford-Duden_German_Dictionary_V6.01.11.zip
Msdict_Concise_Oxford_American_Dictionary_And_Thesaurus_V6.01.11.rar
Msdict_Concise_Oxford-Hachette_French_Dictionary_V6.01.11.zip
Msdict_Concise_Oxford-Paravia_Italian_Dictionary_V6.01.11.zip

google the names for a basic explanation if you dont know them

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 4:46 pm

I found a way to copy paste all names this next post is just games if somebody want everything one shot there is a torrent file i can link up where youd get all the games and apps from this.

Also i have alx maker if you have a cod file only, jad 2 cod for creating desktop install files from ota if you want a ota file but dont have bis/bes send me the jad file or link to the download. (sorry i cant give the maker as its a registered dev. app)

(81xx)/81xx_activision Anthology
(81xx)/81xx_age Of Empires 3
(81xx)/81xx_ama Iq Booster
(81xx)/81xx_aquaria
(81xx)/81xx_bbtetris
(81xx)/81xx_bionicle Challenge
(81xx)/81xx_bomberman Deluxe
(81xx)/81xx_bomberpilot
(81xx)/81xx_boxing-game
(81xx)/81xx_call Of Duty 4
(81xx)/81xx_carmageddon
(81xx)/81xx_castlevania - Order Of Shadows
(81xx)/81xx_christmas Midnight Pool
(81xx)/81xx_cooking Mama Spanish
(81xx)/81xx_counter Strike
(81xx)/81xx_cs
(81xx)/81xx_curlingchallenge
(81xx)/81xx_die Hard 4
(81xx)/81xx_disneys - Cars
(81xx)/81xx_disney Summer Games
(81xx)/81xx_dopewars
(81xx)/81xx_ew4
(81xx)/81xx_f1 Challenge
(81xx)/81xx_ferrari Gt Evolution
(81xx)/81xx_fifa 09
(81xx)/81xx_finalfury
(81xx)/81xx_guitar Hero World Tour
(81xx)/81xx_hamster Loco French
(81xx)/81xx_happy Tree Friends
(81xx)/81xx_hexic
(81xx)/81xx_[java]_blackberry_games
(81xx)/81xx_kane & Lynch Dead Men
(81xx)/81xx_leisure Suit Larry - Love For Sail
(81xx)/81xx_megaman - Space Rescue
(81xx)/81xx_metal Gear Acid
(81xx)/81xx_metal Slug X
(81xx)/81xx_might And Magic 2
(81xx)/81xx_might And Magic 2 - French
(81xx)/81xx_mike Tyson Boxing
(81xx)/81xx_mini Golf
(81xx)/81xx_mr Revolver
(81xx)/81xx_nba Street
(81xx)/81xx_need For Speed Undercover
(81xx)/81xx_nfs Pro Street
(81xx)/81xx_petz
(81xx)/81xx_pirates
(81xx)/81xx_pirate Ship Battles
(81xx)/81xx_poker Blast
(81xx)/81xx_poppin Panda
(81xx)/81xx_power Rangers - Mystic Force
(81xx)/81xx_quarks2
(81xx)/81xx_resident Evil - The Missions
(81xx)/81xx_shaun Of The Dead
(81xx)/81xx_skate
(81xx)/81xx_sketcher
(81xx)/81xx_skyforce
(81xx)/81xx_snoopy Ace
(81xx)/81xx_super K.o. Boxing
(81xx)/81xx_super Yum Yum 2
(81xx)/81xx_tmnt - Fast Forward
(81xx)/81xx_tony Hawk Project 8
(81xx)/81xx_turbo Atv Arena
(81xx)/81xx_underworld Vampire Night
(81xx)/81xx_vampires Night
(81xx)/81xx_villagepeople
(81xx)/81xx_virtua Tennis
(81xx)/81xx_woody Woodpecker Waterfools
(81xx)/81xx_worms

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2010, 4:47 pm

i have buzz me and smart sig which i use on the bold 9000

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 4:51 pm

Also forgot it is possible at times to create a working module from non bb specific java files (make a winmo/winxp java app/game work on a bb)

8xxx_pirate Ship Battles
8xxx_sotd
8xxx_spacerescue
8xxx_uno Classic
82xx_nba Street
83xx_3dothello
83xx_6in1solitaire
83xx_air Hockey
83xx_alienshooter3d
83xx_alienxenocide
83xx_asterix2008
83xx_asteroidjane
83xx_asteroid Jane
83xx_atari Asteroids
83xx_atvarena
83xx_bassfishing
83xx_bejeweled
83xx_bomberpilot
83xx_bowling
83xx_brainchallenge
83xx_burger
83xx_call Of Duty 5 World At War
83xx_call Of Juarez
83xx_c&c 3
83xx_cranium
83xx_dead Rising
83xx_desert Commandos
83xx_devil May Cry
83xx_dragon Treasure
83xx_evilpinball2
83xx_ferrari Gt Evolution
83xx_fifa 2009
83xx_gravitydefiedtrialracing
83xx_guitarhero3
83xx_guitar Hero World Tour
83xx_hearts
83xx_iceage2
83xx_mars
83xx_metal Gear Acid
83xx_metalslugx
83xx_monsters Vs. Aliens
83xx_motogp
83xx_nba Street
83xx_need For Speed Undercover
83xx_pac-man
83xx_piratesofthecarribean3
83xx_pokerblast
83xx_princeofpersia
83xx_quantum_of_solace
83xx_quarks
83xx_rayman3
83xx_redfaction
83xx_resident Evil Genesis
83xx_sbh
83xx_scarface
83xx_sega Monkey Ball Golf
83xx_sonicgolf
83xx_street Fighter 2
83xx_sudoku
83xx_taxi
83xx_ufopredator
83xx_underworld Vampire Night
83xx_wicked Soccer
83xx_wickf
83xx_world Championship Snooker 08
87xx_californiapoker
87xx_ghostrider
87xx_jaws3d

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 5:10 pm

(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_air Hockey
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_alien Xenocide
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_aqua_pearls
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_atariasteroids
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_bassfishing
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_burger
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_call Of Duty 5 World At War
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_cannon Fodder
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_cooking Mama
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_cranium
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_deadlyagent
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_dead Rising
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_deltaforce
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_fifa 2009
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_goozers Fire Frenzy
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_iceageskater
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_la Rush
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_lemmings Tribes
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_liaozhai Attractive Female Ghost
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_metalslugx
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_monsters Vs. Aliens
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_nba Street
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_need For Speed Undercover
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_paperpalne
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_pool
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_rhex1.0.3
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_ronaldinho Puzzle Tricks
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_silenthill
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_sonicgolf
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_tetris
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_underworld Vampires Night
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/9xxx_wikingwinter
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/89xx_call Of Duty 5 World At War
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/89xx_rhex1.0.3
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_asphalt 4 Elite Racing
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_bubble Army
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_ferrari Gt Evolution
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_guitar Hero World Tour
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_nba Street
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_pirate Ship Battles
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_rhex1.0.3
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_spore
(89xx - 9xxx - 95xx)/95xx_spy Mission

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » May 24th, 2010, 5:18 pm

There are a few tutorials online on how to upgrade to the latest os 5.x.xx even if bmobile/digi ain't release the update for your model yet. Not sure if you have the ability (BBM 5.0+) easy way to verify is if you can see pics of your contacts and use codes like *TT* to display trini flag as a smiley, you can scan code.

EDIT: AH get eeen
Last edited by bigga514 on May 24th, 2010, 5:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2010, 5:30 pm

yea there's a small group in it, put up your pin

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2010, 5:44 pm

I just got screwed on a new blackberry I bought.

Trying to unlock it and it says "no tries left" for mep code unlock.

Anyone know any solutions? or do I have to send it back to the seller? or sell it to someone on AT&T

Postby tr1ad » May 24th, 2010, 5:48 pm

i suggest sending it back

imo the seller already tried to unlock it a few times