The Religion Discussion

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 6:21 pm

weedja2 wrote:the bible,koran,gita is no different from an aesop fable

So the Christians, Hindus, and Muslims wasting time in worship then?

Seeing that normal man created these books! :!:

It all comes down to faith pappi :)

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 6:30 pm

QG wrote:Humes, God knows everything.
Remember he gave humans with the gift of FREE WILL.

We all make our own choices...Lucifer (Satan) made his, and he was a mighty Angel.
God knows everything, he knows what we are thinking and he knows our hearts...the rest of it all depends on what decisions we make.
From there, he moves accordingly :wink:

According to the Bible, God knows everything, including the future and the past. So free will is pointless from his perspective as he already knows what you're going to do.

So why would he need to test anyone when he already knows what their choices would be?

In fact why did he even get angry when he was betrayed?

Did he not know, or is he acting a role?

By the way...you haven't responded to my questions regarding the compilation of the Bible.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 6:33 pm

weedja2 wrote:
Humes wrote:I also find it ironic that King James, by many, many accounts, was a flaming homosexual whose dalliances with men were well-known even to the public at the time.

so wait christianity is based on what a homosexual guy wrote... ways

Not that simple. He didn't write it. He commissioned a translation. Many believe that a significant portion of the Bible was lost or altered due to this translation to another language.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 18th, 2009, 6:34 pm

QG wrote:
weedja2 wrote:the bible,koran,gita is no different from an aesop fable

So the Christians, Hindus, and Muslims wasting time in worship then?

Seeing that normal man created these books! :!:

It all comes down to faith pappi :)

Small minded / Uneducated people need something to believe in , to give them strength for thier limited understanding of the world.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2009, 6:50 pm

QG wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR, The bible states that GOD IS A JEALOUS GOD.

doesn't the Bible teach NOT to be jealous?

Galatians 5:19-21 wrote:The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

fits of rage sound like the great flood :|

or is it a case of "do as I say and not as I do"?

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » September 18th, 2009, 6:57 pm

weedja2 wrote:Small minded / Uneducated .

One can be an advocate for his beliefs in the the most humble way my friend. I humbly suggest that your definition of the above be done without making suggestions to users on the forum?....We all carry blood...for sure that is one thing that makes us similar...finally we all are cousins no closer than 50 degree...stay good family...
Last edited by slimshiney on September 18th, 2009, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 7:00 pm

Humes wrote:
QG wrote:Wrong dude!!!

Anyone has questions? :wink:

Yeah...what was so tough to understand about what I wrote?

God supposedly inspired men. But men wrote it. Men are not perfect. Men make mistakes.

Men selected which books would be compiled into the Bible you know today. Fallible men in positions of power.

The King James Version is NOT the first or "true" Bible used in Roman times at all. The Bible in Roman times comprised many more books than the current one, and multiple Roman councils dropped multiple books from canon. King James' translation was centuries later.

That is hundreds of men, scholars, politicians, priests etc, who have composed and manipulated the Bible over centuries.

Do you have faith that all of those men acted infallibly, that politics, dishonesty, and human mistakes don't figure into it?

Thanks for the little correction...The King James was the first ENGLISH TRANSLATED version of the Bible :lol:

To answer your question, NO.
I have no faith in MAN (human) whatsoever, just God.
I know there are scripts that were lost and removed by men.
Humes, there are men inspired by God to write these biblical scriptures...whether these same scriptures has been tampered with or OVER-EXAGERATED, we may never know.
But I know there are truth in the scriptures.

Heck, I asked pastors these questions when I was confused and now understanding God, not for hell I can get a straight answer till today lol.
It's only human of me to seek knowledge lol.

What they all said, was to believe and trust God; read the bible to get to know him more.
When I read the Bible, I feel a holy presence. I cannot explain it but it's true.

To answer another question:

God was not angry that Adam sinned...God knew he was gonna do it.
But..................................God wanted him to CONFESS what he has done, instead Adam hid his naked body from God (first time since creation was Adam shamed of his nakedness to God)
Adam could just apologize to God and none of us would have t suffer today :lol: ...but he too damn harden.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 18th, 2009, 7:05 pm

^^ still with the fairy tales bai? there was no adam

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 7:07 pm

Galatians 5:19-21 wrote:The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

HAHAHAHA...allyuh killing me here, :lol: :lol: good one!!

But you misunderstood it!!

That script you posted was more meant for people with bad minds who lives in Envy and jealousy of others who are fruitful.
That jealousy causes us Humans not to live in peace and always in hatred to one another...that script was simply telling us NOT to live in that state.

*sometimes the script can be misunderstood* it all depends on how you look at it 8-)

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 7:08 pm

weedja2, LOL

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 7:19 pm

QG wrote:To answer another question:

But..................................God wanted him to CONFESS what he has done, instead Adam hid his naked body from God (first time since creation was Adam shamed of his nakedness to God)
Adam could just apologize to God and none of us would have t suffer today :lol: ...but he too damn harden.

Yeah, but God knew Adam would not confess.

God knew everything Adam would do from the time God created Adam. So God created something that would betray him?

Again, is God just playing a role in a play he scripted, or are there limits to his knowledge?
Last edited by Humes on September 18th, 2009, 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 7:22 pm

QG wrote:What they all said, was to believe and trust God; read the bible to get to know him more.
When I read the Bible, I feel a holy presence. I cannot explain it but it's true.

So read this Bible that even you admit might be incomplete and flawed?

The holy presence you feel is great for you, but totally subjective. Others might not feel it at all. I sure haven't. And that's what faith boils down to...not reason, but a personal feeling (or claims thereof).

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 7:30 pm

QG wrote:HAHAHAHA...allyuh killing me here, :lol: :lol: good one!!

A quick note, QG: Passive aggressive condescension is a lot easier to spot than you might think. Just pointing that out.

QG wrote:

That script you posted was more meant for people with bad minds who lives in Envy and jealousy of others who are fruitful.
That jealousy causes us Humans not to live in peace and always in hatred to one another...that script was simply telling us NOT to live in that state.

*sometimes the script can be misunderstood* it all depends on how you look at it 8-)

QG, don't be ridiculous. That's your interpretation of the passage, and a poorly founded one at that. It says not to be jealous and not to have fits of rage. It says nothing about the context in which you can or can't be jealous.

You cyar just take liberties with a passage like that. Don't be jealous means don't be jealous.

And the funny thing is, even if it did, the Bible condemns jealousy many other times.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2009, 7:31 pm

QG wrote:

HAHAHAHA...allyuh killing me here, :lol: :lol: good one!!

I dont think i misunderstood it at all
jealousy is never a positive thing
is there a time when it is good for us to be jealous as God is?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 18th, 2009, 7:35 pm

@QG

bigga514 wrote: adam and eve and let there be light and all that where that fits in exactly, especially considering Homo Habilis the first Homo (human) was about 2.5 million years ago vs. T.rex a relatively "young" dino species is over 65 million years old :roll:

and if God is all knowing and powerful why not jus create those that are "worthy" and put them in heaven since he already knows the outcome?

as for your trinity talk

Nicene Creed look it up. and then follow tru.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2009, 7:42 pm

ah find bluefete get quiet

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2009, 7:53 pm

there is no spoon!!!
that is all

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » September 18th, 2009, 7:53 pm

bigga514 wrote:@QG

and if God is all knowing and powerful why not jus create those that are "worthy" and put them in heaven since he already knows the outcome?

i think thats unfair...give ah man a lil freedom to choose nah.....

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 18th, 2009, 7:55 pm

hmmmmmm

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 8:05 pm

bigga514 wrote: adam and eve and let there be light and all that where that fits in exactly, especially considering Homo Habilis the first Homo (human) was about 2.5 million years ago vs. T.rex a relatively "young" dino species is over 65 million years old :roll:

as for your trinity talk

Nicene Creed look it up. and then follow tru.

That's not how he operates. Read the Bible and get to know him, only then can you understand his MYSTERIOUS works :wink:

I have homework for you...read out Exodus in the Bible and when you are ready, tell me what you think lol.

I will look up Nicene Creed

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 8:12 pm

QG wrote:That's not how he operates. Read the Bible and get to know him, only then can you understand his MYSTERIOUS works :wink:

That's a cop-out. Share with us the sense in something that seems senseless and self-contradictory, since you're implying you understand it.

I get the feeling you're confusing acceptance with understanding.

By the way, you haven't responded to this.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 18th, 2009, 8:23 pm

QG wrote:When I read the Bible, I feel a holy presence. I cannot explain it but it's true.

have you tried other books ?

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 8:29 pm

Humes wrote:
QG wrote:What they all said, was to believe and trust God; read the bible to get to know him more.

So read this Bible that even you admit might be incomplete and flawed?

The holy presence you feel is great for you, but totally subjective. Others might not feel it at all. I sure haven't. And that's what faith boils down to...not reason, but a personal feeling (or claims thereof).

I did not feel that presence the same day I started reading the bible you know...it takes time. To be honest, I cannot show you physical proof to show that God is real. All there is to it are testimonies from people about the the good works that God did for them and I.

One day the truth will reveil onto us all, till then we need to make the best of things and live a good life.

Duane, no it's not right for humans to feel jealous like God did.
But at times we all do...ent?

Take for instance, the Ten Commandments...God said "Man should not kill". According to scriptures, Moses killed before he became the Prophet of God. Is Moses a Murderer? NO.
Why? because he Repented.

God is against Jealousy and Anger etc etc, ent we as humans do it??
That's why he gives us chances by forgiving us when we REPENT from our wrong doings.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 18th, 2009, 8:34 pm

Not that post, QG. The one above it.

By the way, Moses is a murderer. Just a forgiven one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2009, 8:35 pm

QG you are making blanket statements - if you are correct then this should be an easy argument you shouldn't have to say "One day the truth will reveil onto us all, till then we need to make the best of things and live a good life. " or "get to know him, only then can you understand his MYSTERIOUS works"

slimshiney wrote:

so then it is unfair that we have disease, unfair that we cannot fly, unfair that we must live in the shadow of Adam's mistake, unfair that are not told the truth, unfair that we never learn about reaching a state of Zen.

some may say the Bible IS the truth, or the Qu'ran IS the truth or the Gita IS the truth. But what of the billions of people who live their entire life not knowing that truth?

It is unfair to tell a man who was born and raised in rural China that only those who accept Jesus Christ or accept Allah and his Messenger will enter the kingdom of heaven. There are over 1 billion people living in China, that is 1/6 the world population, nearly all of them do not follow the Bible, Qu'ran or Bhagavad Gita.

If these religions are correct then how real is this freedom?
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on September 18th, 2009, 8:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 18th, 2009, 8:36 pm

aye dont play like you aint see adam and eve still waiting on your answer. also evolution didnt darwin prove that already, ever heard about the Galapagos isles and their significance . Three High-Altitude Peoples, Three different Adaptations to Thin Air, have a read on recent human evolution.
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news ... ution.html

Postby Monk BANzai » September 18th, 2009, 8:38 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:QG you are making blanket statements - if you are correct then this should be an easy argument you shouldn't have to say "One day the truth will reveil onto us all, till then we need to make the best of things and live a good life. "

slimshiney wrote:

so then it is unfair that we have disease, unfair that we cannot fly, unfair that we must live in the shadow of Adam's mistake, unfair that are not told the truth, unfair that we never learn about reaching a state of Zen.

some may say the Bible IS the truth, or the Qu'ran IS the truth or the Gita IS the truth. But what of the billions of people who live their entire life not knowing that truth?

It is unfair to tell a man who was born and raised in rural China that only those who accept Jesus Christ or accept Allah and his Messenger will enter the kingdom of heaven. There are over 1 billion people living in China, that is 1/6 the world population, nearly all of them do not follow the Bible, Qu'ran or Bhagavad Gita.

*Locks down building....

DE BORSE ASK AH QUESTION!!!!

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 8:38 pm

Humes wrote:
QG wrote:To answer another question:

Yeah, but God knew Adam would not confess.

God knew everything Adam would do from the time God created Adam. So God created something that would betray him?

Again, is God just playing a role in a play he scripted, or are there limits to his knowledge?

God gave us FREE WILL, did he really knew that Adam will not confess?
What I am saying is that there are things that we don't fully understand.

Yes God knows our thinking and the possible outcomes...but can we really prove that God knows EXACTLY what our decisions will be??
Maybe, or Maybe not!
What I will say is that he lays out options for us.
Example:
If boy picks A, he gets A+
If boy chooses B, he gets B+

I could be wrong, but to me it all comes down to CHOICE of free will that will determine our destiny to be or not. I am just saying.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » September 18th, 2009, 8:40 pm

The atheist H. G. Wells spoke of a the man CHRISTianity built upon, "...one is obliged to say, " This part of the tale could not have been invented."

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 18th, 2009, 8:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:QG you are making blanket statements - if you are correct then this should be an easy argument you shouldn't have to say "One day the truth will reveil onto us all, till then we need to make the best of things and live a good life. " or "get to know him, only then can you understand his MYSTERIOUS works"

slimshiney wrote:

ent!
@ slim
i wanna add your "choice" is already known regardless to the all knowing god you worship. so in effect your sayin he jus teasing yuh. cause d man kno if you gonna firetruck up and or repent.