Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Ree

Postby Ree » July 10th, 2009, 10:36 pm

looking to get some floating plants like lilies etc
any advice to help keep the green down ......it is for an out door set up....who can help me get some from south??

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » July 10th, 2009, 11:27 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vivarium

Any of you guys try something like this? I feel thas my nxt project. Not really into the frogs and lizards but i getting some ideas :lol:

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 11th, 2009, 7:04 pm

Alright fellas. Just posting some pics of my setup. I am actually selling the tank, stand and hood right now if anyone interested. I will even include the sump. Equipment is not included though as I need it. Only reason for selling is cause I am going bigger :D. Asking $5,000. Give me a shout at 299-1877 if you are interested

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 11th, 2009, 9:13 pm

Fishman, really nice setup dude...wat size is it? mite hav sumone interested...

djblademan, we hav 2 make a gd arrangement dred...

yea ppl went chai's today an saw that all dey tiger shovelnose cats were sick :(
dey got sum clown knife fish if anybody lookin fuh dem, i think was $70 each...got myself 4...lol

Fishman

Postby Fishman » July 11th, 2009, 9:29 pm

Thanks Ryan! It's a 90 gallon, 4ft x 20.5 inches x 20.5 inches. Give me a shout if you are interested.

wall

Postby wall » July 12th, 2009, 9:49 pm

any one selling tanks? looking for a 40 gallon or something close to that size

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 13th, 2009, 11:45 am

one quick question...WHO BUY OUT D PEACOCK BASS FROM CHAI???

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 13th, 2009, 11:52 am

ryan99tt, how the clown knife eating?
ah hear dey is vicious eaters. pics and video if yuh have time.

yeh ah want peacock bass too.
I bought some demonsoni and Venutus cichlids to add the pond from Chai weekend gone.

Ah looking for peacock cichlids (red,blue). Anybody know who selling?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 13th, 2009, 2:53 pm

had ah whole set buh they sold already.... but rm post some pics nah man.... appreciate pics please!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 13th, 2009, 5:00 pm

rmtuner, i already had one a wile bak and he was eatin feeders but got really large an then one day jus jumped out the tank...so i finally got bak...will post pics but from mu iphone so excuse the quality till weekend...

also lookin fuh peacock bass so if anybody hav and willin 2 sell a few call yuh price...

wall

Postby wall » July 13th, 2009, 5:22 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/8s81goz-uxU&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

any 1 sells these?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 13th, 2009, 6:44 pm

Hey Guys, help me out here:

I have a 10 gallon in my office with -
- Rainbow, Colombian, Bala Sharks
- Pearl, Powder Blue, Golden, Opaline, Dwarf Gouramis
- Clown Loach

The issue: The Clown loach has been picking near the the gills of the Power Blue Gourami for a few days now exposing flesh. I removed the loach. The Rainbow Shark has also been seen doing the same thing to the Gold & Powder Blue Gourami.

I had a gold algae eater who I believe partly shredded the caudal, dorsal and pelvic fins of the Golden Gourami and who I also believe killed two Dwarf Gourami males. I had a Chinese algae eater which I removed because of similar behaviour.

To date I lost (over a 6 month period) -
2 x Male Dwarf Gouramis
1 x Male Red-tail Shark
1 x Male Albino Shark

Clown loaches are noted to be peaceful, what can explain this behaviour? I can't speak for sharks and algae eaters.

All these fish were supposed to be compatible.

Any thoughts?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 13th, 2009, 6:55 pm

^maybe he got miserable being by himself?

would really like to know myself though, cuz i was thinking of adding a pair of clown loaches to my tank at home.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 13th, 2009, 8:35 pm

norstar2k, that's really strange behaviour indeed.
You say it's a 10 gallon you have all them fish in?
That may be part of the problem.
Sharks and clown loach need more space than that.

The peaceful Gouramis are jus being bullied by them fish it looks like to me.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 13th, 2009, 8:39 pm

^Isn't the rule one fish per gallon?

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2009, 8:47 pm

gouramis are peaceful?
i had gouramis and they were always aggressive
sharks are very aggressive though
i had a red tip that ate about 12 chiclids
funny story i thought he was dead before i put the chiclids in the water in the tank went down to about 2 inches after they were all eaten when i decided to clear it out i saw him hiding in the gravel filter

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 13th, 2009, 9:03 pm

rmtuner wrote:norstar2k, that's really strange behaviour indeed.
You say it's a 10 gallon you have all them fish in?
That may be part of the problem.

Sharks and clown loach need more space than that.

The peaceful Gouramis are jus being bullied by them fish it looks like to me.

I believe that is a part of the problem as well, try putting less fish in the tank. From my exp. Loaches are nocturnal feeders and if they are not getting sufficient food they will pester other tank mates, so try feeding them before you leave the office. Also bare in mind that they are bottom feeders and will obviously thrive better if you feed them with food that sinks to the bottom of the tank.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 13th, 2009, 11:27 pm

Oh, I feed them first thing in the morning. :?

I use TetraColor Tropical Granules so they sink to the bottom where the Colombian shark rushes in like a vacuum cleaner together with the loach and clears everything in their path. :)

These aren't large fish so I have 9/10 fish in a 10 gal tank.

Pestering/bulling the other fish is one thing, but breaking skin is really weird.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 13th, 2009, 11:41 pm

Help!!

Mih Crown fighter (about 1 year old) has white stuff on his fins

He is looking pretty badly off... I hope he lasts the night

I got an "ick" tablet in the mall... it is for 40 gallons and he is in less than 1, so I just average and saw off a lil piece an throw it in

I had on the air conditioning and the water in his tank get real cold (like 18-20 degrees)

I think that did him in :(

Any suggestions?

My wife will cry if he dies :cry:

chris600

Postby chris600 » July 14th, 2009, 7:50 am

this happen to me 1 time had a like 5 of them inside all died from that same "white stuff"...cud probably try sum methylene blue an put him outside sumwhere :roll:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 14th, 2009, 9:05 am

do sum water changes when yuh addin the methylene blue....

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 14th, 2009, 9:10 am

Any other comments/suggestions??

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 14th, 2009, 9:13 am

Also make sure that it is "ick" and not something else like fungus.
You could try some aquarium salt.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 14th, 2009, 9:48 am

norstar2k, I know it's only 9/10 fish you have dey.
But it's the type of fishes you have dey together.

Most of them fish you have dey either aggressive or semi-aggressive.

Better you large up the tank to ah 30g or even better ah 75g.

Whatever size you could fit in the office.

Also post sum pics ah d 10g tank nah or even a small video clip so we could see what goin on.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » July 14th, 2009, 11:09 am

norstar2k, 1st to begin your tank is really overcrowded & 2ndly dont ever put two rainbow/redtail/albino sharks in one tank unless the tank extremely large. The loaches tend to be aggressive when there are little space & also feeding is important...use sinkin shrimp pellets. A coloumbian shark is too big for that size tank...it will out grow that tank & will ned ah bigger home...
ingalook, could really be ick...do as ryan & rm said...

Fellas feel free to post up lil pics of d action or diseases seen in your fishes so we can all contribute & have an idea of wat is really takin place.
Right now tank is really overcrowded & i wanna seel some of my fishes...anyone interested let me know.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 14th, 2009, 5:18 pm

GUABINE

MY THREE FRESHWATER BARACUDAS Image

THEIR DINNER
[img::]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/20090714164509_fishes%20030.jp[/img] [img]

BUTIKOFERI AND LEPORANIUS
Last edited by SHARIFF on July 17th, 2009, 6:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 14th, 2009, 5:35 pm

[img::]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/[/img]
rafiel catfish

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » July 14th, 2009, 5:42 pm

one of my rafiel catfish

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » July 14th, 2009, 6:30 pm

norstar2k wrote:^Isn't the rule one fish per gallon?

Pal... the "rule" is one inch of fish per gallon... that 10 gallon tank you've got there is way too small for most if not all of the fish you've got there... reason being... even if the each of the fish are one inch now... when they grow and trust me... they will all grow... a lot... they will be too much for the tank...

it actually isn't even a rule to follow because of the fact that different fish produce different amounts of biological waste depending on their lifestyle, eating habits and all sorts of different things... the biological filter needs to be able to handle the bioload excreted into the tank for the fish to be healthy...

right now your 10 gallon is severly overstocked!..

i'd deal with the violence in another post when i look at the stocking list again...

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » July 14th, 2009, 8:42 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/kuYh5bi9SGo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

tank abit young in salt water terms only a year old.. progress is slow but steady..hopefully this tank could look like the other salt water tanks in this thread..