Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2013, 4:39 pm

pugboy wrote:None whatsoever,
whatever bike you use you still have to pedal it and your lungs have to provide the oxygen fuel.
Until they sell bikes that come with legs, heart and lungs dont fall for the hype.

Yeah thanks I feel much better. And its not like I using it for 1 million mile its just 5 miles or so to commute to work. And the 1.6 nevada is better value for money since it is tougher and has hydraulic disk brake

Plus the MTB go be better cause when coming home in day light in the afternoon between Katerserv and CAL head office I does often have to hit the mud diving off road due to insane truck drivers. After that is suck eye mostly shoulders and pavements to reach St Helena. Offcourse since they close the bridge I does hadda pass kelly by the new bridge and well da is some more mud diving a lil bit deeper mud.

I lost 10 pounds so far in November just riding alone and 2 inches off the waist also. A major improvement for me to say the least. People saying $4k is too much money for a bike how you could buy a car with that money but they don't realize is quality you pay for.

And lets be real look how sexy this looks :D

I should have it by next week and best of all bike inn has it in this exact color :)

trinirider

Postby trinirider » December 3rd, 2013, 8:47 pm

Warranty warranty
Cannondale = lifetime

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pugboy wrote:None whatsoever,
whatever bike you use you still have to pedal it and your lungs have to provide the oxygen fuel.
Until they sell bikes that come with legs, heart and lungs dont fall for the hype.

Yeah thanks I feel much better. And its not like I using it for 1 million mile its just 5 miles or so to commute to work. And the 1.6 nevada is better value for money since it is tougher and has hydraulic disk brake

Plus the MTB go be better cause when coming home in day light in the afternoon between Katerserv and CAL head office I does often have to hit the mud diving off road due to insane truck drivers. After that is suck eye mostly shoulders and pavements to reach St Helena. Offcourse since they close the bridge I does hadda pass kelly by the new bridge and well da is some more mud diving a lil bit deeper mud.

I lost 10 pounds so far in November just riding alone and 2 inches off the waist also. A major improvement for me to say the least. People saying $4k is too much money for a bike how you could buy a car with that money but they don't realize is quality you pay for.

And lets be real look how sexy this looks :D

I should have it by next week and best of all bike inn has it in this exact color :)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2013, 8:39 pm

I got my Fuji 1.6 29er today from bike inn. Its an absolute attention grabber anywhere I go.
I will post pics tomorrow

I had strongly considered the cannondale Trail 7 but the specs simply didn't come close to the fuji 1.6 29er.

I was originally going for the Fuji Absolute 1.4 but the 17 " bike inn had in stock was too small for me. Just a little bit and was not comfortable, the fuji is 17" but so much more massive. the stem is tall infront and it has a upward incline on the frame design that coupled with the 29 inch wheels gave me a 100% perfect fit. But I tried all how to avoid hydraulic disk brake because from advice everyone gave me its too complex to service.

Too bad I could not get the absolute 1.4 but honestly I cannot beat up about it cause it could never grab the attention this one gets and can't compare to the comfort.

Bike inn service is garbage to say the least. They mount up the bike in 15 minutes which was fast infact too fast. I ask them if they checked everything and if its in 100% working order cause I don't want to come back the mechanic and the girl say yes.

Is my brother who carry it out and put it on the van tray when I reached home I realized the back brake is too tight, you not even squeezing the brake leaver and you can see the brake pad is latching on the disk it was incredibly hard to pedal in this state. Noway to adjust it normally because again this thing is hydraulic. I call them and the mechanic fella say doh worry it need to break in because it new, it go get lose. I catch my arse pedaling trying to wear out the tightness and nothing works.

Had to carry it back because I insist he knew nothing he was saying, he take out some brake fluid from it and did some adjustment now it works great. Bike has one or 2 small scratches on it at certain points not noticeable really. But I can't complain it don't bother me.

the front derailleur somehow lock up the chain together when shifting and almost fack up the back derailleur at the same time. Scratched the frame the lower triangle when this happened but I get it back in gear somehow and realized I have to shift carefully.

So I strongly recommend you all go somewhere like Mikes Bikes and purchase a bike there. This is ASSUMING they have competent mechanics who know what they doing and don't make up stories just to avoid work.

The fuji is an absolute beauty it just reeks of something you would expect of German Quality to say the least but only buy this if you are good at fixing your own bikes and adjusting derailleur and servicing hydraulic disk brake.

I plan on buying a bike tool kit on Amazon and fully educating myself on building and servicing these bikes. Since the brake is hydraulic I expect it to last 10 years without requiring service.

I get 6 month warranty on this bike.

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2013, 8:43 pm

Problem with most of them mass market bike shop is they overloaded with work.
A lot of them practice backburner favours depending on who you are.

The Cannondale rep has proper training and full tools.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 5th, 2013, 10:42 pm

Yes I realize this now. With cannondale you pay for service.

Bike Inn is more concerned about building kids bikes than taking time to thoroughly see about this bike. They are cheap for a reason and I suggest anyone value their money and sanity to stay away from them.

Its better you spend the little extra money and go by trini rider for a cannondale or go mike bikes for a specialized.

Postby eliteauto » December 6th, 2013, 12:23 am

There are tuners here who service their bikes at Bike Inn without issue and I'm talking high end very expensive bikes, I'm happy with how they service my 2 bikes one of which was bought there, when I bought my 29er they fitted it to my height even changing the stem to a longer one to accommodate my 6'3' height and told me after my first trail run to bring it back for a run thru and service, I guess you had a bad experience

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » December 6th, 2013, 9:24 am

Bike Inn in Tunapuna has excellent service.
They mounted up my Niner Jet 9 RDO and also serviced it recently.
No complaints at all.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2013, 9:45 am

^ yeah probably just bad luck, maybe I caught them at the wrong time. Mechanic probably was having a bad day or something.

pugboy could be right aswell about the backburner favor he was talking about. Who knows, atleast it works now and thats whats important. Later on will buy my bike tool kit on amazon and do any necessary changes to be done in the future.

I swapped the oval saddle that came with it for my cloud 9 gel saddle I bought on amazon. It looks nice on it but I think the white oval brought out the color more on the bike :lol: let me put up a pic of it and show allyuh

http://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Cloud-9-B ... rds=saddle

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2013, 10:04 am

here it is

under the saddle has suspension springs. I know the oval probably more expensive and the white would match the bike but this one so comfy

What allyuh think? keep this or put back on the oval?

http://oi39.tinypic.com/ojounk.jpg

Postby eliteauto » December 6th, 2013, 10:08 am

is whatever your buttocks prefer and what works for you

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2013, 11:58 am

^ yeah ah go keep this gel saddle.

Just do a 5 mile ride and so comfy front and back suspension I feel like I riding on air.
for a fat man like myself, I need my comfort. lol

One neat thing about this bike is almost every single thing can be removed with a Allen key.
Just need ah headlight and tail light for night/early morning riding.

thinking of buying these 2 items.

http://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Update-Sur ... e+tool+kit

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DR4 ... PDKIKX0DER

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 6th, 2013, 3:54 pm

could have checked trinirider ,he sells lights as well plus tools ,gear etc ,the lights he sells are nite rider www.niterider.com

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2013, 4:20 pm

Park Tool website has many videos on bike repair

a 5 mile ride ain't no comfy check,
try a few hours, lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2013, 5:34 pm

LOL yeah but I studying where I can take a ride thats more than 5 miles. Las Lomas sounding good but them big trucks go kill me. I go check out park tools website.

Eco Park in St Helena sounds like a plan.

btw nite rider lights is like $600 TT and up, that is top brand you talking about to light up the whole road LOL

I opt to buy the $20 ones on Amazon just so cars can see me, just some flashing stuff lol

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2013, 6:59 pm

Blinky superflash is the best for rear, it not watwrproof though,
So dab some gasket silicone over the bottom and seam.

Knog frog for front.

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » December 6th, 2013, 8:14 pm

i have nite riders in the front and back , both bought from trinirider ....excellent stuff .. rechargeable via usb is convenient

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 6th, 2013, 9:28 pm

he has the mako 5 for $175 its a combo

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 7th, 2013, 7:45 pm

sounds good

What kind of chain lube do you all use?

WD 40 does work or should I buy this?

http://www.amazon.com/Finish-Line-Bicyc ... chain+lube

or use regular sewing machine oil? These chain look so expensive and sexy I don't wanna use diesel oil like I used to with my old bike lol

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 7th, 2013, 7:50 pm

Don't use diesel oil on ur chain

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » December 7th, 2013, 7:58 pm

http://blogs.calgaryherald.com/2013/12/07/war-veteran-forced-to-change-bike-shops-name-after-threat-from-u-s-bike-giant-specialized/

That caused a good bit of hate towards Specialized. You should see their FB page now.

Time to buy some paint stripper now :lol: :lol:

@Effectic Designs, I use "Clean Ride" for my chain http://www.whitelightningco.com/products/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 7th, 2013, 9:04 pm

good thing I read this yes

Law prohibits ORM-D materials from shipping by air.

LOL I cannot buy anything like this off Amazon LOL

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2013, 9:42 pm

belray 6in1 oil
clean chain with a toothbrush and purple blaster, rinse and let dry and a drop of oil on each rivet
cleaning chain regularly will make it last longer and not put accelerated wear on the chainring or cassette sprockets in back which is more costly than replacing the chain.
The chain is considered the consumable part.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 7th, 2013, 10:13 pm

^ Where can I get that to buy locally? normal auto parts place?

I don't think you can ship these stuff from Amazon by plane.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 8th, 2013, 4:28 pm

Christmas came early for me :grin: mallet 1 pedals, shimano sh 45 shoes and cygolite 300 lumens
1386534374835.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2013, 6:31 pm

few more pics I took today with my Nexus 4 in work.

She is a true beauty.

I have a video of it uploading to youtube I will post a link when its finished uploading I record it in 1080p in sun light this morning. So should be clean and this should give people a good idea of what the bike looks exactly

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on December 8th, 2013, 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 8th, 2013, 6:37 pm

looks good with the matt finish, my road bike has same matt black.

I would suggest you get a piece of rubber tubing or an old road bike tube to
put the chain in to avoid the chain scratching the bike when you chain it up.

If you commuting with this, you will need to carry a spare tube, small pump and possible tire levers to remove the tire.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 8th, 2013, 6:42 pm

Good thread,
Will be starting to do some group rides off-trails soon, now trying to form a work group.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2013, 6:48 pm

^ Yeah the matt finish is a true beauty it brings it out. Gives it the true respect it deserves if you ask me. Yeah I have a old bike tube I will cover the chain with it when locking.

I had a bike cable lock but all them thing cheap and no good does mash up after a while thats why I went out and got some old fashion gate chain and pad lock in the hardware, it does the Job.

I wonder if there is something you can spray on the chain to protect it and give it a soft layer when it dries something like silicone?

I order a kit of Tip Top Rema patch from Amazon "I was trying to fill the cart for free super saver shipping and had nothing else to put in it" Bought Bell tire levers aswell as this

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DR4 ... UTF8&psc=1

and a topeak $13 Allen key bike chain tool set. Just need a pump now so I can keep with me, don't want to have a flat in work as its a 5 mile journey.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 8th, 2013, 6:56 pm

ok here is the video hope u all like it. Its in 1080p

Whoever considering this bike you not gonna find this much detail anywhere on the internet, believe me I know I researched before I got it LOL

hell it don't even have a video of a 1.6 29er 2013 model anywhere on the internet.

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » December 9th, 2013, 11:10 am

i use the park tool chain cleaning set and then use the park tool chain lube... both bought by trinirider