Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 120895 (+510) cases, 3531 (+5) deaths, 21621 active, 95743 recovered in T&T

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 9:04 pm

everyone entering canada by air has to abide by this
looks like they are testing everyone who lands rather than random testing though

IF YOU:

Were randomly selected to complete COVID-19 molecular testing; AND,
In the 14 days before your arrival in Canada, you were in a country OTHER THAN Canada and the United States
THEN, YOU MUST:

quarantine for 14 days starting on your date of entry in Canada OR until you have received a negative test result from the day 1 COVID-19 molecular test, whichever comes first;
report your arrival at your place of quarantine within 48 hours after entering Canada by calling the Public Health Agency of Canada at 1-833-641-0343; and
report your COVID-19 symptoms status daily for 14 days starting on your date of entry in Canada OR until you have received a negative test result by calling the Public Health Agency of Canada at 1-833-641-0343
IF YOU:

Were randomly selected to complete COVID-19 molecular testing; AND,
In the 14 days before your arrival in Canada, you were ONLY in the United States or Canada
THEN, YOU MUST:

complete the DAY 1 test within 24 hours of entering Canada;
for the 14 days after you entered Canada, monitor yourself for symptoms of COVID-19; and
maintain a list of the names and contact information of every person you have come into close contact with during the 14-day period AND all of the places you have been
IF YOU:

Were NOT randomly selected to complete COVID-19 molecular testing
THEN, YOU MUST:

for the 14 days after you entered Canada, monitor yourself for symptoms of COVID-19; and
maintain a list of the names and contact information of every person you have come into close contact with during the 14-day period AND all of the places you have been
For the 14 days after you entered Canada, if you test positive for COVID-19 or develop symptoms, you must:

immediately isolate yourself from other members of your household for a period of 10 days that starts from the day you received your positive test result, swabbed your nose, or developed symptoms;
report your symptoms or positive test to the Minister of Health by calling 1-833-641-0343; and
contact your local public health authority.
REQUIREMENTS FOR UNVACCINATED CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 12
For 14 days after entering Canada, unvaccinated children under 12 who entered Canada with vaccinated guardians, must:

complete COVID-19 molecular tests on day 1 and day 8 of entry to Canada (unless under the age of 5);
avoid contact with vulnerable persons;
not attend school, camp or day care;
avoid crowded public settings including parks and sporting events;
wear a mask AT ALL TIMES in both indoor and outdoor public settings when these spaces cannot be avoided; and
remain with their fully vaccinated parent or guardian as much as possible.
Further details are available here: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/ ... dians.html.
A screening officer may contact you to confirm your compliance with these requirements. Failure to comply may result in fines of up to $5000 and/or transfer to a designated quarantine facility.

We urge you to be diligent in meeting these requirements; this will help slow the spread of the virus and save lives.

Thank you for continuing to do your part!

FOR MORE INFORMATION

General Inquiries

1-833-784-4397 or canada.ca/coronavirus

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 120895 (+510) cases, 3531 (+5) deaths, 21621 active, 95743 recovered in T&T

Postby S_2NR » February 15th, 2022, 9:18 pm

canada rel overdoing it

Postby paid_influencer » February 15th, 2022, 9:30 pm

US dropping mask mandates. CDC set to relax masking guidance.

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... -rcna16331

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is expected to loosen its indoor masking guidelines to states soon, according to several people familiar with the matter. The agency’s update could come as early as next week.

Dr. Rochelle Walensky, the director of the CDC, is expected to discuss masking guidance Wednesday at a White House Covid-19 Response Team briefing.

Dr. Anthony Fauci, the White House’s chief medical adviser, said Tuesday on MSNBC that the CDC will continue to modify recommendations as the trajectory of cases goes downward.

States’ making changes to their mask rules is “entirely understandable,” Fauci said. “At the local level, there is a strong feeling of need to get back to normality.”

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 9:40 pm

The only science change in the US is political science
paid_influencer wrote:US dropping mask mandates. CDC set to relax masking guidance.

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... -rcna16331

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is expected to loosen its indoor masking guidelines to states soon, according to several people familiar with the matter. The agency’s update could come as early as next week.

Dr. Rochelle Walensky, the director of the CDC, is expected to discuss masking guidance Wednesday at a White House Covid-19 Response Team briefing.

Dr. Anthony Fauci, the White House’s chief medical adviser, said Tuesday on MSNBC that the CDC will continue to modify recommendations as the trajectory of cases goes downward.

States’ making changes to their mask rules is “entirely understandable,” Fauci said. “At the local level, there is a strong feeling of need to get back to normality.”

Postby paid_influencer » February 15th, 2022, 10:09 pm

in the future tho you going to need updated vaccines to target the new variant threats. not "boosters"

re-vaccinated with a full course, i.e., two or more shots of a new primary series of the updated vaccine (again, not just a booster).

Postby paid_influencer » February 15th, 2022, 10:13 pm

1g4xcW9.png

:drinking:

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2022, 10:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:in the future tho you going to need updated vaccines to target the new variant threats. not "boosters"

re-vaccinated with a full course, i.e., two or more shots of a new primary series of the updated vaccine (again, not just a booster).

dont think we will need a new primary series, (unless u got sinopharm) just like with the flu its updated yearly and its 1 shot. u already have some level of immunity to a previous covid variant - a booster with an updated vaccine should be enough.

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2022, 10:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:1g4xcW9.png

well both pfizer & moderna working on an omicron vaccine :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 10:38 pm

Except vaccines are not killing large numbers of people

"With the Omicron variant now accounting for almost 100% of COVID-19 cases in the United States, the seven-day average of daily COVID-related deaths hit 2,600 recently, the highest rate in about a year,The Washington Post reported.

That’s higher than the approximately 2,000 daily deaths last autumn during the Delta surge, but less than the 3,000 daily deaths last January, when COVID vaccines were not widely available, The Post data analysis said.

The Omicron variant generally causes less severe disease than other strains of COVID, but because it is so transmissible, Omicron is infecting higher raw numbers of people that previous strains.

“Even if on a per-case basis fewer people develop severe illness and die, when you apply a small percentage to a very large number, you get a substantial number,” Jennifer Nuzzo, an epidemiologist at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, told The Post.

The unvaccinated, people over 75, and people with underlying medical conditions are the groups most endangered by Omicron, The Post said. About half of the deaths in January 2022 were among people over 75, compared to about a third in September during the Delta surge."
https://www.webmd.com/lung/news/2022020 ... elta-surge

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 16th, 2022, 12:14 am

redmanjp wrote:

They are, even after they said the 3rd booster effective against omicron .... Hmmmmmm

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2022, 12:54 am

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

They are, even after they said the 3rd booster effective against omicron .... Hmmmmmm

might encourage those who had 0 doses to get it as their primary doses if this 1 is more effective against omicron
Last edited by redmanjp on February 16th, 2022, 10:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » February 16th, 2022, 1:55 am

Vaccines had nothing to do with the downward trend. Hospitals were incorrectly treating patients, thus killing them. You can't have them running on 100% oxygen. Idiots

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 16th, 2022, 5:48 am

matr1x wrote:Vaccines had nothing to do with the downward trend. Hospitals were incorrectly treating patients, thus killing them. You can't have them running on 100% oxygen. Idiots
Hospitalization down to we were only at 47 percent recently

Less Hospitalization means automatically less deaths

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 5:59 am

paid_influencer wrote:in the future tho you going to need updated vaccines to target the new variant threats. not "boosters"

Your comment is based on what? The protein of a virus is what triggers the immune system.

Moderna and Pfizer are currently testing an Omicron-specific booster.

Postby matr1x » February 16th, 2022, 6:04 am

PariaMan wrote:
matr1x wrote:Vaccines had nothing to do with the downward trend. Hospitals were incorrectly treating patients, thus killing them. You can't have them running on 100% oxygen. Idiots

Not if you treating patients incorrectly

Postby alfa » February 16th, 2022, 6:54 am

The entire world were treating patients wrongly? I think COVID already took the most susceptible and the remaining population was already not to affected by it so hospitalizations will be down

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 7:24 am

matr1x wrote:
PariaMan wrote:

Your comment is based on what? How should the hospitalized COVID patients be treated?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 120385 (+382) cases, 3562 (+7) deaths, 21491 active, 95368 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 7:33 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
PariaMan wrote:I have AZ and pfizer already zero side effects

As long as I getting boosters I taking them

Virus Risk >>> Vaccine Risk

What is the difference in risk of hospitalization and or death from a 2 shot vaccine victim vs a 3 shot victim?
You should really know this before running off to take boosters.

Serious side effects rate remains at 5 per million.

Of course, if you have some reference to contravening adverse reaction rates and wish to post it, any reference at all, feel free to do so.

You can also just post something that is based solely on your personal experiences, imagination and opinion. We've become accustomed to that as the preferred response.

Otherwise, current test data suggest that a booster is beneficial:

Among individuals seeking testing for COVID-like illness in the US in December 2021, receipt of 3 doses of mRNA COVID-19 vaccine (compared with unvaccinated and with receipt of 2 doses) was less likely among cases with symptomatic SARS-CoV-2 infection compared with test-negative controls. These findings suggest that receipt of 3 doses of mRNA vaccine, relative to being unvaccinated and to receipt of 2 doses, was associated with protection against both the Omicron and Delta variants, although the higher odds ratios for Omicron suggest less protection for Omicron than for Delta.

https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/f ... le/2788485

Your study does not show a difference between Risk of hospitalization and or death in 2 shots vs 3 shots.
So you just distracting with bull sheit as usual by just talking about infection risk.
No one cares about infections ...

It's not my study.

The study shows the impact on positive testing. But of course you may choose to ignore the causality associated with testing positive for a disease and the possible subsequent hospitalization, intubation and death.

If you truly need to see the unvaccinated vs. fully vaccinated vs. vaccinated + boosted hospitalization and death rates for the omicron variant, Ontario, Scotland and Ireland each publish those statistics monthly. Well informed physicians stay up to date with those briefings.
Last edited by adnj on February 16th, 2022, 7:33 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby timelapse » February 16th, 2022, 7:39 am

adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:
PariaMan wrote:

Your comment is based on what? How should the hospitalized COVID patients be treated?
He doesn't have an answer to that, and probably won't understand the answer if he has one.
Men couldn't grow a red bean in primary school but want to be experts on health care.

Postby st7 » February 16th, 2022, 9:30 am

first i hearing of this. can you provide a source for it?

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 9:48 am

st7 wrote:

Postby st7 » February 16th, 2022, 9:49 am

man pulling a hover... throwing any sheit at the wall and seeing what sticks.

Postby Chimera » February 16th, 2022, 10:26 am

Things ramping up in Hong kong again.

Imports limited or banned from Hong Kong to mainland China.

Screenshot_20220216-102538_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20220216-102533_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20220216-102504_Chrome.jpg
IMG-20220216-WA0009.jpg

Postby alfa » February 16th, 2022, 10:56 am

st7 wrote:

He is the king of baseless accusations

Postby matr1x » February 16th, 2022, 11:19 am

alfa wrote:
st7 wrote:

I was at the meeting. That's all you need to know

Postby Chimera » February 16th, 2022, 11:55 am

matr1x wrote:
alfa wrote:
st7 wrote:

Matrix yuh still have the job to put out bottle water and wipe down the table at the meetings? Glad to hear you didn't lose the work with the pandemic. Allyuh using lysol to wipe tables still or a off brand now?

Postby alfa » February 16th, 2022, 12:04 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
matr1x wrote:
alfa wrote:
st7 wrote:

Matrix yuh still have the job to put out bottle water and wipe down the table at the meetings? Glad to hear you didn't lose the work with the pandemic. Allyuh using lysol to wipe tables still or a off brand now?

I'm surprised he didn't say is venezuelans causing COVID patients to die

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 12:19 pm

matr1x wrote:
alfa wrote:
st7 wrote:

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2022, 1:15 pm

mRNA vaccine-induced antibodies more effective than natural immunity in neutralizing SARS-CoV-2 and its high affinity variants

Several variants of SARS-CoV-2 have emerged. Those with mutations in the angiotensin-converting enzyme (ACE2) receptor binding domain (RBD) are associated with increased transmission and severity. In this study, we developed both antibody quantification and functional neutralization assays. Analyses of both COVID-19 convalescent and diagnostic cohorts strongly support the use of RBD antibody levels as an excellent surrogate to biochemical neutralization activities. Data further revealed that the samples from mRNA vaccinated individuals had a median of 17 times higher RBD antibody levels and a similar degree of increased neutralization activities against RBD-ACE2 binding than those from natural infections. Our data showed that N501Y RBD had fivefold higher ACE2 binding than the original variant. While some antisera from naturally infected subjects had substantially reduced neutralization ability against N501Y RBD, all blood samples from vaccinated individuals were highly effective in neutralizing it. Thus, our data indicates that mRNA vaccination may generate more neutralizing RBD antibodies than natural immunity. It further suggests a potential need to maintain high RBD antibody levels to control the more infectious SARS-CoV-2 variants.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-022-06629-2

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2022, 3:37 pm

at how many months after vaccination and infection were those antibodies measured?