Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 11:30 pm

greenlime100 wrote:The chemipure media helps with reducing your nitrates also right ?

Yes it does. But in my case i use it to pollish my water and it actually takes out the yellowish tinge. your water gets crystal clear.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 11:33 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:The chemipure media helps with reducing your nitrates also right ?

Yes it does. But in my case i use it to pollish my water and it actually takes out the yellowish tinge. your water gets crystal clear.

Nice, I have a bag I bought just for emergency like if my nitrates were high and didnt have time to do a water change but ill add it in a couple of weeks. I have that yellow tinge you talking about, took a pic of my sump and never noticed it before :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 1st, 2013, 11:48 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

Nice, I have a bag I bought just for emergency like if my nitrates were high and didnt have time to do a water change but ill add it in a couple of weeks. I have that yellow tinge you talking about, took a pic of my sump and never noticed it before :(

water needs to be flowing tru it effectively to work properly. Hang on or cannister can be used.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 11:54 pm

Yeah... high flow like other filter media... i have a place by my overflow where it will work nicely.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2013, 12:00 am

greenlime100 wrote:Yeah... high flow like other filter media... i have a place by my overflow where it will work nicely.

can work but not effectively. I tried it that way already. I get best results with it in my hang on filter.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 2nd, 2013, 6:21 pm

How much of it you run? 3 or 4 bags for your size tank ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2013, 7:58 pm

greenlime100 wrote:How much of it you run? 3 or 4 bags for your size tank ?

I should be running 4-6 of them but i usually run 2. I usually change them every 3-4mths.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 2nd, 2013, 8:39 pm

Thats what I get after about a week....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2013, 9:38 pm

I have a heavy bioload (fish) in my tank so i get alot of heavy black skimmate.
Also because of biopellets. My skimmate also changes color depending on the amount of feedings per day and what i feed. I feed about 10-15 times per day and about 4-5 different types of food which is high in protein. All my fish kinda on the fat side..........LOL

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 2nd, 2013, 10:19 pm

10 -15 times a day :| wow lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2013, 10:50 pm

greenlime100 wrote:10 -15 times a day :| wow lol

yes, i give them about a little more than a teaspoon (each serving) of pellets 7-8 times and then other foods the rest. Its allot of fish in there. The tangs eat the most and are the biggest. Whatever extra foods they dont eat feeds my corals, shrimp or various snails. whenever i feed all the nasarius snails emerge from below the sand to feed

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 3rd, 2013, 7:53 am

3pO wrote:my new stand and tank

Really liking the eurobrace. I am going to be building a new tank soon with a similar design except I want to do an external coast to coast overflow. Do you mind telling me who made the tank for you? Also is that standard or low iron glass?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 3rd, 2013, 7:54 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote::shock: wayyy you does paint your coraline on the rocks or wahh i have to see your tank!!!

Those pics are not even color enhanced, Actually they are allot brighter in real. Thats because i dose Alk & Cal (ESV, B-Ionic) on a daily basis. If you see how my coraline grows and plates in bulk on my powerheads, magnifier and mag-float. Its in junks. Will take some pics. Coraline grows on all my rocks real heavy.

Ey Fishman, I end up doubling up on the dosage and the Alk moved from the 7.0 dKH up to 8.6 dKH.
Those corals & coraline sucking Alk & Cal up like a sponge. The Cal is still rather high but the Cal depletes fast.

Glad you are getting it under control. Coraline sucks litterally!

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 3rd, 2013, 8:03 am

cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:
cichlidboi wrote:woi woi wazzup salt peoples, i join tuner for this thread :D .Anyhow I upgrading my 33 gallon saltwater to a 65g reef and i wanna use leds(diy) on the new tank. Anybody know how much customs ill have to pay if i bring in one of them diy led kits or just leds. The skybox i using have 20% on light fixtures and lights and 0% on light bulbs wondering wat category leds fall.

They charge about 20% duties for the led kits.

Honda I should be finished with your leds this week, was rell busy for the past few weeks.
Your tank looking amazing as usual...

arite cool what about heatsink ill have to order that or i could get it here in trinidad

You can get complete led kits from Rapid Led or if you want to save a bit you can customize an buy from different suppliers:

Led's (I don't recommend using anything other than Cree or Philips Luxeon) - Get Cree from Rapid led or Luxeon from Steves leds.

Heatsink - Rapid led has the best looking heat sinks (black anodize aluminum with integrated splash guard)

Driver - Meanwell seem to be the best and easiest to use and you can find them cheaper on electronics wholesale websites such as trcelectronics.com and jameco.com, just use the part number form Rapid led.

Hope the helps.

yeah i do rel research and either going with cree or luxeons. Wanna do a full spectrum with 10 cree 2:1 royal blue to neutral white 3ups, about 4 ocw and 8 violet from led group buy, or go with steves and mimic the guy in this nano reef thread :D http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/312669-p ... ?p=4175669 6 x royal blue:neutral white:cool blue 3ups 12 x luxeon es royal blue, 6 x neutral:turquiose:red 3up,8 X violet.

For heatsink i was hoping it have in trinidad so i could cut some money on shipping cost but if not was gonna get from heatsinkusa.com or from ledgroupbuy.com.

for the drivers i planning to buy 5 meanwell 60-48D drivers from http://store.bravoelectro.com/ledpowers ... p-228.html price seem good :D

Check out the new Meanwell LDD drivers. You only need one Power Supply with many drivers. The eln series are not a good idea if you are using many on the same circuit because of harmonics. Plus the LDD's are much cheaper and can dim all the way to shutoff. The eln's don't always dim to shut off.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 9:54 am

Fishman, seeing that you're an SPS person, Have you ever checked out whats your Alk, Mag & Cal range for best growth/color. Like for instance i've seen better growth with certain corals when my dKH is above 8.5 (mainly in the mid to high 9's). But when it was below 8.0, i got better color in some.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » February 3rd, 2013, 10:21 am

HondaB20B wrote:Fishman, seeing that you're an SPS person, Have you ever checked out whats your Alk, Mag & Cal range for best growth/color. Like for instance i've seen better growth with certain corals when my dKH is above 8.5 (mainly in the mid to high 9's). But when it was below 8.0, i got better color in some.

Yup. Definitely get my best color between 7-8 dkh. I rarely move from 7 though as swings also impact SPS color. I've never seen a correlation between color, cal and mag though. That being said they are both stable at 420 and 1400 respectively.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 1:32 pm

Fishman wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Fishman, seeing that you're an SPS person, Have you ever checked out whats your Alk, Mag & Cal range for best growth/color. Like for instance i've seen better growth with certain corals when my dKH is above 8.5 (mainly in the mid to high 9's). But when it was below 8.0, i got better color in some.

Yup. Definitely get my best color between 7-8 dkh. I rarely move from 7 though as swings also impact SPS color. I've never seen a correlation between color, cal and mag though. That being said they are both stable at 420 and 1400 respectively.

Hopefully for me i'll get my Alk & Cal allot more stable with less fluctuations so i can find the perfect dosage. Hoping to see how dosing twice a day can keep it stable. The thing is a few mths ago i had it real good and when i stopped thats when the readings dropped. I realy thought the large water changes i do every 3wks would of sustained everything in he tank.................. :shock: :shock: :(
Guess i was wrong :( .
I learned my lesson though

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 1:32 pm

WOW i guess i need to buy some chemipure..how much is it. another question..i saving up to buy the rodi unit and skimmer ..should i buy the skimmer first or ro unit cause a month again till i'm able to buy the unit.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 1:40 pm

Reefplanet wrote:WOW i guess i need to buy some chemipure..how much is it. another question..i saving up to buy the rodi unit and skimmer ..should i buy the skimmer first or ro unit cause a month again till i'm able to buy the unit.

Skimmer first.
Dont make sense putting good/clean water in a dirty tank? Get the skimmer, start to deal with the nutrient problem by getting your nitrates down, and getting rid of your hair algae and cyano problem.
And its not a RO unit you need, Its a RO/DI unit. If you just run RO water in your tank you'll just fuel the algae again and you will be back to square one.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 2:55 pm

Oh well i will be able to buy the skimmer all now..just need to know when i could go up by raj :( parents again....
So far all the cyano gone so i guess i have no more phos but some sea grass starting to grow so i still have nitrates. Luckily the snails find the rock with the sea grass and hair algae and they ripping it up plus i found a stomatella snail about 3cm long :D

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 3:11 pm

Yeah I regret not knowing better before and buying a larger skimmer than my tank needs.

You found a snail :? lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 3:35 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Yeah I regret not knowing better before and buying a larger skimmer than my tank needs.

Dont worry, alot of people go tru that. In starting up is only after poor water quality sets in thats when they realize that a bigger and bigger skimmer is needed. I also find that out years ago with my other tank. Good thing with certain skimmers now, you can upgrade the pump as an upgrade. My skimmer runs a 500GPH pump and i can go the bigger size (900GPH) while still maintaining my same skimmer housing.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 3:46 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:Yeah I regret not knowing better before and buying a larger skimmer than my tank needs.

Dont worry, alot of people go tru that. In starting up is only after poor water quality sets in thats when they realize that a bigger and bigger skimmer is needed. I also find that out years ago with my other tank. Good thing with certain skimmers now, you can upgrade the pump as an upgrade. My skimmer runs a 500GPH pump and i can go the bigger size (900GPH) while still maintaining my same skimmer housing.

I dont mind having to get a new one, after all this is my first tank and its a decent size. For sure my next tank would be alot bigger and it would be worst to have to buy over equipment for a 300 gal tank

And your skimmer inna a gear lol, Ill check out the AGM when I ready

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 4:00 pm

^^^^ASM

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 3rd, 2013, 4:15 pm

lmao I thinking batteries whole day... ASM it is

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 4:28 pm

Look at the ASM-G1X or G2 or even go the reef octopus brand.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 4:30 pm

so that skimmer for 100g that someone showed me raj had would be just enough for my system(50g)

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 3rd, 2013, 4:37 pm

You found a snail :? lol

yeah an awesome snail!!!! :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 4:45 pm

Reefplanet wrote:so that skimmer for 100g that someone showed me raj had would be just enough for my system(50g)

its not raj selling it, its the person who put it up.
PM netsket. It will more than work for your tank. Will be passing for the bottles tom during the day.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2013, 4:53 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Oh well i will be able to buy the skimmer all now..just need to know when i could go up by raj :( parents again....
So far all the cyano gone so i guess i have no more phos but some sea grass starting to grow so i still have nitrates. Luckily the snails find the rock with the sea grass and hair algae and they ripping it up plus i found a stomatella snail about 3cm long :D

What kinda sea grass............take pics