The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby st7 » December 14th, 2022, 6:42 pm

kukulook wrote:
st7 wrote:Tropical Express screw this man over oui... even charge him online purchase tax for the TV with sea--freight... was not aware sea-freight charged by weight too

https://www.facebook.com/MrSethography/ ... h384kYzeLl

on tropical express website, you would not know that their seabox service charges by volumetric weight unless you go to their calculator page so i think this guy's lawyer will have something to work with. that said, tropical was pretty clear that opt will be charged since they are really an air freight service offering sea rates. interestingly, the seabox calculator page gave a pretty close estimate to what he got charged.

next, there is the issue of customs/vat. government charges 20% customs and 12.5% vat on TV but the values provided by shoptropical don't really add up. we know the guy paid 587 usd (4000ttd) for the tv and tropical charged him 1386 ttd for freight and did not offer insurance so the CIF is 4000+ 0 + 1386 = 5386. The duty should then be CIF x 0.2 (customs duty) = 1077 ttd - tropical charged 1535. having said that, customs known to assign their own value to items so that could explain this discrepancy. shoptropical will have to provide documentation if that is the case; they have done this before for similar issues.

the final issue is the broken tv that he got. fact of the matter here is that majority of skybox don't insure damage incurred during transportation of goods and the few that do, include exceptions for large tvs (lol) or they ask you to pay some fee to crate it. Even if your TV was not damaged in transport, you could be one of the few unlucky ppl that got a DOA item. Even if you are with a skybox that transports items back for you or you find one that does, the cost to ship back a TV is astronomical and you then have to deal with customs to get some RMA paperwork done so you don't get taxed twice. too much headache, stick to local or find a skybox that handles returns/taxes for you, preferably for free.

yeah that why it better to buy the tv down here. at least you wont get headache for repairs under warranty.

Postby Kenjo » December 14th, 2022, 7:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Kenjo wrote:Anyone has an average price of what customs jamming us on a ps5 these days ? Got it for a decent price of $600US

my total to clear a ps5 came up like $2000.

worked out about the same as buying it locally tbh

playing little biggy workshop on the PS+ sub right now very christmassy game highly recommend

I got through with an incidental invite from Amazon and yes I’m realising that cost only barely under local prices

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 8:38 pm

Does Aeropost charge by volumetric or actual weight?

Postby Kenjo » December 14th, 2022, 8:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:Does Aeropost charge by volumetric or actual weight?

Aeropost has always been actual weight . It’s their customs charges are rape

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » December 14th, 2022, 8:51 pm

Yet another instance of dotish level over 9000.
So apparently apple have trademark over the colour white :\

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2022, 12:01 am

S_2NR wrote:
Rivalry wrote:Anyone recently have to pay sales tax when using Aeropost's address. Never had to before but since last week it's coming up.

Yes. Ordered from Apple last wk and paid sales tax. Very strange.

placed two orders earlier. no sales tax to aeropost address.

Postby MaxPower » December 15th, 2022, 12:36 am

Team,

It’s just about 2 weeks for Christmas.

Hope everyone received their packages.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 15th, 2022, 1:20 am

MaxPower wrote:Team,

It’s just about 2 weeks for Christmas.

Hope everyone received their packages.

Hello Max,

De Fagon reported that he got his dildo.

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby S_2NR » December 15th, 2022, 4:18 am

S_2NR wrote:
Rivalry wrote:Anyone recently have to pay sales tax when using Aeropost's address. Never had to before but since last week it's coming up.

From Apple?
I still don't have sales tax on Amazon.
It's only on apple so far that i noticed it.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 15th, 2022, 7:15 am

Folks...if you or anyone you know lost items with bluesky shipping that was sent to them in the shipment they claim was held by customs, please contact consumer affairs. They are currently looking into it and hopefully bluesky should refund persons for their items. It is not an overnight process but it may be to your benefit to make consumer affairs aware that you have lost.

Postby redmanjp » December 15th, 2022, 9:53 am

Kenjo wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Does Aeropost charge by volumetric or actual weight?

Aeropost has always been actual weight . It’s their customs charges are rape

how would it differ from other couriers? customs charges apply to all of them?

killercow

Postby killercow » December 15th, 2022, 10:55 am

killercow wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:Websource is royally firetrucking up.
Items Delivered since Dec 6th not updated / received by them.
And the "new" website design is ugly and useless. much preferred the older version.
Same here. Package delivered since the 7th and no update on it yet. Their email that they sent out last week stated that once they receive your item by the 15th (tomorrow) you will receive it on or before Christmas Eve. Now I'm starting to wonder if that will really be true or not.
Finally received the acknowledgement of receipt from them a couple minutes ago. It took 8 days..

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2022, 8:19 pm

killercow wrote:
And the "new" website design is ugly and useless. much preferred the older version.
Same here. Package delivered since the 7th and no update on it yet. Their email that they sent out last week stated that once they receive your item by the 15th (tomorrow) you will receive it on or before Christmas Eve. Now I'm starting to wonder if that will really be true or not.
Finally received the acknowledgement of receipt from them a couple minutes ago. It took 8 days..

Finally got the email they received it.
10 days in my case. and thats after contating the supplier, and saying you say delivered, but they say they don't have it.

Not much hope for the other package that would have been delivered on the 13th.

Postby wagonrunner » December 15th, 2022, 8:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:how would it differ from other couriers? customs charges apply to all of them?

Does Customs check each and every shipments? I doubt they have that much manpower.
It much more likely these consignee's prepare a bill of lading, and tell customs, these are the type items, these are their values, and pay the various duties accordingly.

So maybe not the charges as much as the classification.
For exmaple my GPU would have been taxed OPT / VAT and 40% Duty, if i wasnt in their ass that it was a GPU and not a gaming console, I very much doubt customs would have seen that.

If customs was checking every item, I should have gotten a bill from customs, that i could take back to them and query.
Do any of these consignees provide that?

Postby paid_influencer » December 15th, 2022, 8:41 pm

the broker (who works for the skybox) declaring the item is legally responsible for false declaration tho. if they underdeclaring to lower your customs duties, it their tail in the fire if customs checks a few packages and finds discrepancies.

that gpu thing, probably the skybox broker ent know nothing about computer and see "gaming" somewhere in the invoice and get carried away. solution is to prealert so you do that part for them.

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2022, 9:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:If customs was checking every item, I should have gotten a bill from customs, that i could take back to them and query.
Do any of these consignees provide that?

they dont physically check every item, its not possible.

they do value based off the price the skybox provides.

and the skybox companies do have these documents which you can request from them if need be

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » December 16th, 2022, 8:46 am

killercow wrote:

10 days in my case. and thats after contating the supplier, and saying you say delivered, but they say they don't have it.

Did you call them about your package after waiting a certain number of days or you just continued to wait until it showed up in your account and never contacted them? I’m now waiting over 10 days and I’ve called numerous times and they keep telling me they have to wait on a response from Miami. Meanwhile, I’m here very concerned about my expensive package.

killercow

Postby killercow » December 16th, 2022, 9:51 am

2sweet wrote:
killercow wrote:

Did you call them about your package after waiting a certain number of days or you just continued to wait until it showed up in your account and never contacted them? I’m now waiting over 10 days and I’ve called numerous times and they keep telling me they have to wait on a response from Miami. Meanwhile, I’m here very concerned about my expensive package.
After waiting for 5 days I called. After waiting for about an hour I got cut off. I tried again 6th day and the lines weren't even ringing. I then sent an email to them that same day enquiring about the whereabouts of the package (I also provided the tracking # and the proof of delivery from FedEx). I got an emailed response close to the end of the next day (the 7th day) which pretty much looked like an automated response to any emails similar in nature to my enquiry.
The morning of the 8th day was when they finally sent confirmation of receipt.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 16th, 2022, 12:05 pm

I now collect my missing fedex package
They changed the tracking number to usps number
So i didnt know it was THAT package

But i GT

All packages now accounted for and in tranist with TE.
Taxes was good for the last few packages also, like somebody was in a good mood when they checked my stuff.

*does a drunk man wine and exits chat

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2022, 2:13 pm

killercow wrote:
2sweet wrote:Did you call them about your package after waiting a certain number of days or you just continued to wait until it showed up in your account and never contacted them? I’m now waiting over 10 days and I’ve called numerous times and they keep telling me they have to wait on a response from Miami. Meanwhile, I’m here very concerned about my expensive package.

After waiting for 5 days I called. After waiting for about an hour I got cut off. I tried again 6th day and the lines weren't even ringing. I then sent an email to them that same day enquiring about the whereabouts of the package (I also provided the tracking # and the proof of delivery from FedEx). I got an emailed response close to the end of the next day (the 7th day) which pretty much looked like an automated response to any emails similar in nature to my enquiry.
The morning of the 8th day was when they finally sent confirmation of receipt.

Same automated resposne when attempting to contact them.
Package only showed up after contacting seller, and saying it wasnt delivered. and sending the screenshot showing no such package was in the dashboard. and letting the seller investigate what went on there.
May have to do same for this one.
So i wait.

kukulook

Postby kukulook » December 16th, 2022, 3:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:

apple lets you use your aeropost address? had my order cancelled when i tried. had to use another skybox address.

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2022, 4:42 pm

i give jetpack a lil try out today again

ordered two of the same items, sent one to jetpack, one to websource

both arrived today at their relevant addresses

jetpack one i got a email immediately saying they received it and are processing it

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 16th, 2022, 7:23 pm

So I've applied for the Tax refund and within 2 hours I got it. About $15 USD refunded on 2 seperate orders. :shock:

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2022, 7:56 pm

How long ezone takes to clear items these days?

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2022, 8:33 pm

DMan7 wrote:So I've applied for the Tax refund and within 2 hours I got it. About $15 USD refunded on 2 seperate orders. :shock:

How u did this? Which skybox?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 16th, 2022, 8:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:
DMan7 wrote:So I've applied for the Tax refund and within 2 hours I got it. About $15 USD refunded on 2 seperate orders. :shock:

How u did this? Which skybox?

ezone.

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2022, 10:39 pm

***Effective December 1, 2022, the state of Florida no longer assigns a 0% tax rate to freight forwarders and sales tax may apply. Refunds are not issued in the absence of documentation.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » December 16th, 2022, 11:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:***Effective December 1, 2022, the state of Florida no longer assigns a 0% tax rate to freight forwarders and sales tax may apply. Refunds are not issued in the absence of documentation.

Damn

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2022, 11:37 pm

basically everybody hadda apply for their tax rebate themselves

krison123

Postby krison123 » December 16th, 2022, 11:53 pm

on the bright side now no reason to use aeropost anymore unless u really need returns lol