****the official CRICKET thread*****

racedriverpro

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 5:13 pm

Samuels, Bravo and Edwards should be dropped next match.

trent

Postby trent » June 11th, 2014, 5:19 pm

^ What about Powell?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Boi drop all ah dem mc.....lol

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » June 11th, 2014, 6:18 pm

West Indies stood true to form yes !!!!!

Postby X_Factor » June 11th, 2014, 6:39 pm

they should drop that entire squad except chanders and taylor and go with a new team for the next test

Postby bluefete » June 11th, 2014, 6:50 pm

X_Factor wrote:they should drop that entire squad except chanders and taylor and go with a new team for the next test

X2.

Take the next generation from the high performance cricket team.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Bets on match finishing this afternoon??

Pay the man....

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 7:17 pm

west indies b side wouldve had a better performance. how about using shillingford as an allrounder?

west indies had good test players that they chose never developed or always raw deal due to geographical region.

brendon nash was a solid test batsman they just forgot about
deonarine was a good test player
sarwan, since return from injury he was never given a good chance
lendel simmons, a good batsman who could bat for long periods if given the chance
andre russel i think would perform well at test level
dwayne bravo as much as i criticize him alot he is a good test cricketer
dwayne smith is a great allrounder who can add value to a test lineup
there are also several players from smaller islands deserving of chances but cannot get

the only good players we have for test cricket that's playing are;

darren bravo
shiv
rhamdin
taylor
roach

the reasons they havent yet gotten rid of shiv is because the test team is performing so poorly and they have no valid excuse to let him go. if they were winning games he wouldve been forgotten about by selectors because of his age and the excuse that they want fresh blood to develop.

players like gayle, samuels are talented but lack the concentration to be consistent test batsmen. test cricket is completely different from odi and t20. then there are those like benn who have very limited talent and are consistently good at regional level but do not possess skill to be as good against better opposition.

the politics of west indies cricket is so messed up its puzzling to me at times why i really follow and support our team.

remember when darren ganga actually became mature as a batsman and started making good scores against tough opposition they permanently dropped him from the team after a little bad run.

so many instances of raw deal to good cricketers who are constantly bypassed in all forms of the game. thats why our cricketing nation will always suffer at the hands of these anti-snatches. i dont know what makes an ex player who wasnt even good enough to perform at national level a coach. how can a man who did not know what to do when the ball was in his hands teach capable bowlers what to do?

we have ex players who are selectors. these guys are old f#%ks who cant even see properly, they pick the players they like and give preference to countrymen. the best persons to be selectors are probably the commentators, who can watch and properly analyse skill and talent. those old men probably go to the games to catch up on old talk and have drinks.

anyways... its just a sad state of affairs... i may be wrong about alot of things but its my humble opinion.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 7:50 pm

speedmelter wrote:west indies b side wouldve had a better performance. how about using shillingford as an allrounder?

west indies had good test players that they chose never developed or always raw deal due to geographical region.

brendon nash was a solid test batsman they just forgot about
deonarine was a good test player
sarwan, since return from injury he was never given a good chance
lendel simmons, a good batsman who could bat for long periods if given the chance
andre russel i think would perform well at test level
dwayne bravo as much as i criticize him alot he is a good test cricketer
dwayne smith is a great allrounder who can add value to a test lineup
there are also several players from smaller islands deserving of chances but cannot get

the only good players we have for test cricket that's playing are;

darren bravo
shiv
rhamdin
taylor
roach

the reasons they havent yet gotten rid of shiv is because the test team is performing so poorly and they have no valid excuse to let him go. if they were winning games he wouldve been forgotten about by selectors because of his age and the excuse that they want fresh blood to develop.

players like gayle, samuels are talented but lack the concentration to be consistent test batsmen. test cricket is completely different from odi and t20. then there are those like benn who have very limited talent and are consistently good at regional level but do not possess skill to be as good against better opposition.

the politics of west indies cricket is so messed up its puzzling to me at times why i really follow and support our team.

remember when darren ganga actually became mature as a batsman and started making good scores against tough opposition they permanently dropped him from the team after a little bad run.

so many instances of raw deal to good cricketers who are constantly bypassed in all forms of the game. thats why our cricketing nation will always suffer at the hands of these anti-snatches. i dont know what makes an ex player who wasnt even good enough to perform at national level a coach. how can a man who did not know what to do when the ball was in his hands teach capable bowlers what to do?

we have ex players who are selectors. these guys are old f#%ks who cant even see properly, they pick the players they like and give preference to countrymen. the best persons to be selectors are probably the commentators, who can watch and properly analyse skill and talent. those old men probably go to the games to catch up on old talk and have drinks.

anyways... its just a sad state of affairs... i may be wrong about alot of things but its my humble opinion.

U talk rel sense they....I agree with most of what u sed. One other thing is men like Gayle and Samuels don't have a hunger for more success. Most of the others are not strong mentally and cognitively.

Narine wud have made a big difference. I eh know what to say about that situation.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 7:57 pm

narine could be a good test cricketer just by his skill level.. but cricket is changing, i have the feeling he is not that interested in killing out himself for 5 days when he can still have the fame and money bowling 4 or 10 overs a game.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 11th, 2014, 8:18 pm

well that was expected...btw,can SIMMONS make this test side,I think he can bat way better than Edwards et al inno

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 8:22 pm

simmons is a slow scorer. solid defence, if you look at his odi scores and even the t20 scores, he uses up alot of dot balls. only because he has good power he makes up for it with his sixes. usually ends up with scores like 60(50) with 5 sixes and 3 fours.

reason for this is because he defends the good balls and put away the bad ones.. which is what you want in a test cricketer!! but selectors would look at it like, "hmm he's a six hitter, cant be any good in test lets just use him for odi n t20"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 11th, 2014, 8:27 pm

well dem selectors should look forward to a whitewash.

Postby X_Factor » June 11th, 2014, 8:50 pm

i think simmo will be a good as an opener with with gayle

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Alyuh fellas talking rel sense. Bishop and dujon wud make good selectors. Fazeer is ah Ole goat.

trent

Postby trent » June 11th, 2014, 9:11 pm

What about Jermaine Blackwood, 22 yrs, scored 3 hundreds and a 90 odd in his last 3 First Class games,
Leon Johnson, 26 yrs, averaging over 75 in his last 4 First Class games,
Kraigg Brathwaithe, 21 yrs, had a good First Class season for Barbados this yr, averaging about 43... seems to hav the patience and temperament for Test cricket, also scored a big hundred for HPC vs Bangladesh A 2 wks ago.
These guys should b given a chance.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 9:13 pm

^^ samuels is a biggah name, he have experience and would strike fear into the opposition hearts. :D

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 11th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Yuh dun know. It will be funny if rain fall whole day in Kingston tomorrow.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 9:28 pm

i actually want us to lose, we have to lose every game for the next 5 years before they get some sense and revamp the entire board.

trent

Postby trent » June 11th, 2014, 9:29 pm

speedmelter wrote:^^ samuels is a biggah name, he have experience and would strike fear into the opposition hearts. :D

Ihu, b4 the start of the Test match, alot of ppl were saying "this is the best team the WI has selected in years"... i wonder what they r sayin nw?! The team just looks good on paper.

Time to select based on performance and not 'name' or 'reputation'

Postby X_Factor » June 11th, 2014, 9:37 pm

i actually still have a lil hope for the bowling
the batting....all i could say is poor chanders...hadda bat for a whole team

u all heard the comment bishop said where, 2yrs ago southee was #40th on the best bowler list, now he is 8th or 7th......and it shows how they put in the work to get better
unlike most WI players who get worse as time goes on

trent

Postby trent » June 11th, 2014, 9:46 pm

True, WI players start out with so much potential then go backwards... Kirk Edwards, Powell, Darren Bravo, Bharath, Deonarine, Dwayne Smith in Tests etc.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 11th, 2014, 9:54 pm

i was being sarcastic. samuels is not that good of a player... he may have a special innings once every 8 times at bat.the same could be said about gayle. if the team's admin is happy with that stat then that reflects alot on their thinking as selectors. the thing is these cricketers have reached a point where they are no longer improving or settling down.

its better to have a few experienced guys who are consistent mixed with a bunch of young guys with promise, who are continuously improving their game than what we have, which is just one consistent experienced guy, and about 8 experienced but inconsistent players who seem to just go out there and roll the dice.

we had a few good test cricketers about 3 to 4 years ago who by now wouldve been decently experienced despite us not playing that much test cricket.

they threw away sarwan, nash, pedro collins and the few good players they had back then so now we having guys like gayle and samuels as our seniors :D
after shiv is gone our test matches are going to last 3 days or so. just wait and see.

Postby X_Factor » June 11th, 2014, 10:31 pm

i think one of the main thing that will always hold back WI cricket is the fact that its a bunch of separate islands playing together as one....and because of this, the admin has to please every group within the caribbean and in doing so they pick teams based on god alone knows what

compared to any other country whose players all come from the same country so there is always that sense of pride and unity to play for your country which i think WI lacks in the tests or 50 over format

but in the t20's they know as an individual if they do good they can score a good contract overseas so they will all want to perform to their best

trent

Postby trent » June 11th, 2014, 11:37 pm

speedmelter wrote:i was being sarcastic.

Yea i think ev1 knew that :)
Samuels needs to get his act together or else is bye bye!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 12th, 2014, 7:03 am

trent wrote:True, WI players start out with so much potential then go backwards... Kirk Edwards, Powell, Darren Bravo, Bharath, Deonarine, Dwayne Smith in Tests etc.

I won't put Bravo in that ship just yet,he had some decent knocks before,prolly just a dry spell atm..depending on how he does against Bangladesh and South Africa then we go see what's his stories

trent

Postby trent » June 12th, 2014, 10:08 am

Daiz a dry season! Bravo needs to shape up or ship out cuz it hav other men gunning for his place. But I do hope he rediscovers his form and confidence soon cuz he has the potential b a great.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 12th, 2014, 10:20 am

We had a first class season. The best batsmen in that season were not picked for this test squad. After this match just by their rights of performance they should be picked for the next match. Blackwood and Thomas could do no worse than Bravo and Samuels has been doing for the past 6 months.

trent

Postby trent » June 12th, 2014, 10:44 am

What's the point of a first class season if u'r not gonna pick the best performers?
That will just discourage players.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 14th, 2014, 11:07 pm

2nd test begins Monday,two interesting additions...let's see how this work out